December 18 2018

PPP Headquarters, Freedom House

Assuring that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate for the 2020 general elections will be named before year end, the party’s leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that criminal charges will have no impact on the selection process.

“This (the candidate) will be decided shortly…we could very well be going to elections in three months,” he said in response to questions during a press conference at his Church Street office.

Earlier in the year, Jagdeo had said that the candidate would have been named before the November 12 local government elections. It was later said that this had been pushed back until after the budget debates and consideration of the estimates. The budget was passed last Friday and since then there has been no word coming from the opposition’s camp as to who will be the presidential candidate. Earlier this year, a possible third term as president for Jagdeo was ruled out by the Caribbean Court of Justice.

So far, Opposition Chief Whip Gail Teixeira and Charles Ramson Jnr have expressed an interest in the post. Party insiders have also identified former minister Dr. Frank Anthony; Dr. Vindhya Persaud, the daughter of the late Pandit Reepu Daman Persaud; former Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall and former Housing Minister Irfaan Ali as possible picks.

Jagdeo, while stating that the party has had a hectic few weeks said that at a party meeting today, it will be decided “whether it makes sense to do it just before or just after the no-confidence motion.” The motion which was brought by the PPP/C several weeks ago is scheduled to be debated in the National Assembly on Friday.

Jagdeo assured reporters that the party is sticking to the year-end deadline, regarding the announcement of the candidate.

Asked what is the relevance of the candidate being named before or after the no-confidence motion, he responded “just pure tactic.”

Observers have expressed concern that criminal proceedings against Nandlall and Ali may diminish their chances of being chosen and impact negatively on the selection process.

In responding, Jagdeo said “no, if we allow APNU to decide who our candidates would be they will charge every one of our potential candidates…We cannot allow APNU to determine who our candidate would be.”

He informed that some government MPs are filled with venom when it come to the opposition MPs as they would issue threats and warn that if they speak, SOCU will visit them or that they will be charged. “This is very, very worrying,” he said.

Jagdeo added that personally he does not see the criminal charges being a factor in the final decision.

He later declined to say who he is supporting. “You would know whenever…Do you think I would come to a press conference and say who I am supporting? I will discuss that within the party circles,” he said when asked whether he was supporting Ali.

Later, he said that he only has a single vote and said that it would be improper of him to say how influential he is in the selection process.

Jagdeo while speaking to reporters, expressed annoyance that Ali and Nandlall would be made targets. With respect to Ali, he said that the PPP Executive member is not a beneficiary of the land at Pradoville 2 but was charged anyway and that in the case of  Nandlall the law books in question cost $300,000.

He said that the Pradoville  2 matter is prominent in the news only because he is living there.

Jagdeo added that decisions he made to the benefit of persons aligned to the current government are never questioned. He singled out the five acres of prime land in the city that were given to the Burnham family while he was president and the 60 acres of land at Sophia which is in the possession of APNU. In each case he said the lands were acquired free of cost.

Ramson Jr, a former parliamentarian was criticised by some in the party for publicly announcing his interest in being the party’s presidential candidate.

Jagdeo said that at a recent Executive Committee meeting, the issue was discussed and a decision was taken to put out a statement on what the process would entail.

“The party Ex-Co (Executive Committee) has agreed that we put a statement outlining the process. The congress appointed 35 to sit in the Central Executive of the party. They then elected another 15 to serve as the Executive of the party. Right now, the procedure that  we have used  and will in all likelihood use again unless the Central Committee decides to change it…they will vote in a secret ballot on all of the persons whose names are before them on the ballot,” he had said.

In August this year, Teixeira said that Volda Lawrence’s victory in the race for PNCR Chairman may have “tantalised” her into joining the race to be her party’s next presidential candidate.

She was asked whether given Lawrence’s rise to the Chairmanship of the PNCR, she felt as a woman it was time for her to make a bid to be the presidential candidate for her party.

Teixeira had previously indicated that she was considering the idea.

"Assuring that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate for the 2020 general elections will be named before year end, the party’s leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that criminal charges will have no impact on the selection process."

Seeing that BJ gonna do the choosing it seems like he has Irfart in his sights..or possibly Nandalaandaaa.

"Assuring that the PPP/C’s presidential candidate for the 2020 general elections will be named before year end, the party’s leader Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that criminal charges will have no impact on the selection process."

Seeing that BJ gonna do the choosing it seems like he has Irfart in his sights..or possibly Nandalaandaaa.

If you don’t understand how the selection process works it would be best not to utter foolishness here. You can save that for when the bashing begins as soon the candidate is named.  

BTW, how is the President doing?  Notice he has been getting a free ride hoping that no news is good news.  

I don’t see anything wrong with what Jagdeo said.  It’s their process and they will decide. I hope Vindhya plays a more prominent role going forward but not sure she is ready for the top post in 2020.

And I agree with him, in principle, PNC bringing charges should not affect their decision.  PNC don’t decide for the PPP. 

If you don’t understand how the selection process works it would be best not to utter foolishness here. You can save that for when the bashing begins as soon the candidate is named.  

BTW, how is the President doing?  Notice he has been getting a free ride hoping that no news is good news.  

Why don't you explain to him how the selection process works? I assumed some folks are looking up to you for political guidance on this board. Ah how you rude so, gyal?  

Merry Christmas to you too.  

Ow Bibi, dont beat up on him. He lil stupidy.

Sissy is setting fire up Cain ass and Buddy is giving her fuel. Two genius in the works.   

Two experienced samplers in a similar culture.  Degrade and trying to conquer to their level in the sewer.  

Tell us how "sticking your hand in the air selection process" works nuh.

All you rass mind all you own business. 

Let the PPP do what the PPP has to do. Look at the deadbeat PNC jackass President and his donkey cart cabinet combined with their Ali Baba thieves.

Deal with that first. 

None of your business.  Go and focus on the deadbeat President who you were jumping up and down about.

I heard Granger lost his voice, now, tell me is he fit and proper to be the Head of State?

He or she will have to quit if the illness prevents him or her from fulfilling the duties of the office of the President. Granger will make that decision if it reaches to that stage. 

That's a no-brainer. Recalled how the Rat was selected.

I heard Granger lost his voice, now, tell me is he fit and proper to be the Head of State?

When a head of State becomes ill, he/she have to quit ?

They should if they have the nations best interest at heart. He can take an example from Janet Jagan. 

The process is the same crappy one they used all the time where the ideological cabal alone gets to decide for the entire country who stands to be elected as their potential president. This can only come from a party clinging to a creed born in 1921. It is obscene and anti democratic and should be trashed if they are ever to be taken seriously as custodians of democracy.

Yuji, he cannot know facts from fiction, nah waste time

is that the PPP candidate drappin he pants...maybe he want  up he rear

Is wha wrang wid you? Why are you striving to be frat brothers with Nehru and stupid Ugli. And please Warn Ugli about his constant reference to Cain and drug use. Does he know the fellow is a druggie or simply taking into divining again? 

Funny thing is the butthead always speak of spinning Bob Marley tunes and about legalisin it then next mouth he say if another banna advocate its use and say stuff he is a druggie. Dah banna deh in a stupid league of his own..oh yeh a woman who does lie also in his league.

VThe process is the same crappy one they used all the time where the ideological cabal alone gets to decide for the entire country who stands to be elected as their potential president. This can only come from a party clinging to a creed born in 1921. It is obscene and anti democratic and should be trashed if they are ever to be taken seriously as custodians of democracy.

Tell us about the selection process that gave Guyana Volda as head of the PNC.  

kp posted:b

When a head of State becomes ill, he/she have to quit ?

No he doesn't have to quit because he was voiceless to begin with.  There was never any leadership.  So nothing changes.

VThe process is the same crappy one they used all the time where the ideological cabal alone gets to decide for the entire country who stands to be elected as their potential president. This can only come from a party clinging to a creed born in 1921. It is obscene and anti democratic and should be trashed if they are ever to be taken seriously as custodians of democracy.

Correct, d2 will be mum on pnc internal election process. But on that note, it would be an expensive process to hold primaries like the US does, but it would be the solution and an expense that taxpayers should bear. Also this type of democratic process has to be legislated. I don't see any politicians from either party pushing for primaries through changes to the constitution.

The process is the same crappy one they used all the time where the ideological cabal alone gets to decide for the entire country who stands to be elected as their potential president. This can only come from a party clinging to a creed born in 1921. It is obscene and anti democratic and should be trashed if they are ever to be taken seriously as custodians of democracy.

PNC_Orderly

• PNC_Orderly

Correct, d2 will be mum on pnc internal election process. But on that note, it would be an expensive process to hold primaries like the US does, but it would be the solution and an expense that taxpayers should bear. Also this type of democratic process has to be legislated. I don't see any politicians from either party pushing for primaries through changes to the constitution.

D2 has no clothes. He will stoop as low as he can in order to defend PNC thugs.

ALL of those PNC members who attended Congress cast their votes and on that basis Volda was selected.

Do all of the PPP members attending their event have that right?  No its limited to 35, or maybe just 15, which means that Jagdeo can intimidate them as he will quickly guess who voted for which candidate.

The PPP is a communist party.