Originally Posted by Rev Al:

This city should not have been closed since yesterday.

3PM TOSDAY WOULD HAVE BEEN A BETTER CALL.

You know it takes at least 8 hours to shut the transit system down, right ?

Bloomberg made the right call----he couldn't wait until today---better safe than sorry.

Thank you Rev. chief like fuh wait till shit hold am to start building his Outhouse.

You know it takes at least 8 hours to shut the transit system down, right ?

Bloomberg made the right call----he couldn't wait until today---better safe than sorry.

Thank you Rev. chief like fuh wait till shit hold am to start building his Outhouse.

hahahaha, typical AFC mentality

Originally Posted by Vish M:

Chief it right

The mayor over reacted.

PS

Pls advise on why it takes 8 hour to shut down the transit

Vish, It is NOT easy to stop and stard a large System like the MTA. I dont understand your surprise.  No one is 100% sure when exactly a Storm will get dangerous, do you want to risk the lives of School Children, Office workers, Drivers by playing God?? I dont think so.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

Pls advise on why it takes 8 hour to shut down the transit

Last year, during hurricane Irene, was the first time the NYC transit syatem was ever shut down---officials explained then that it takes at least 8 hours to shut down the system and secure all equipment.

Now, there is a strong likelihood of flooding in low lying areas---that will affect the subway. Also, when winds are above 39 MPH trains above ground trains cannot operate safely.

Bloomberg made the right call----I hope Hurricane Sandy turns out to be a dud----but on TV it looks quite ominous.

Why????

Hugh finacial loss for the city and businesses.

Don't get me wrong the safety of people comes firast but please don't over react .

Never before was there such a Storm. Al YUh like to react after the fact. That is NOT Leadership nor good Governance. This is NOT a Third World Dictatorship. An Elite Panel is always available to assess the situation and make the BEST decisions.

Con Ed has made Chief and Vish's observation more to the point. The transit system shut down could have waited for 8 hours before the expected surge which looks like its going to be later today. Lower Manhattan has 3 ft surges right now and it can withstand up to 5 ft. I am in the thick of the business side of a Con Ed shutdown, but he Exchanges have suspended business for today and tomorrow - both physical and electronic.

The key for me is Con Ed - continued power to our network or failover to DR site.
With an 8 ft storm surge in the Battery, we on Wall St will surely get hit with a power shut down

Right now it looks like the New York stock exchange will be closed again tomorrow---I'm still hoping Sandy turns out to be a dud---high tide is around 8PM---hope the surge turns out to be a pipsqueak---con ed says they are ready to cut power if their equipment is in danger.

The key for me is Con Ed - continued power to our network or failover to DR site.
With an 8 ft storm surge in the Battery, we on Wall St will surely get hit with a power shut down

Right now it looks like the New York stock exchange will be closed again tomorrow---I'm still hoping Sandy turns out to be a dud---high tide is around 8PM---hope the surge turns out to be a pipsqueak---con ed says they are ready to cut power if their equipment is in danger.

I  wish the same. Con Ed asked our building management to shut down last night to prevent equipment damage when they are forced to shut down. Our building demurred. Then they said they may preemptively shut down. And so far Con Ed has shown sensible restraint.

guyana had a flood of all flood in 05,but this flood was not cause by no storm but by the ppp government.

The PPP sent the rains and the high tide?

Worse than that. They refused to build practical defence shields against the floods. Their intention is to hand out large sums of money to friend sin the future with the excuse that it is to restore the sea defences. Of course we all know where the money is going to end up.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

guyana had a flood of all flood in 05,but this flood was not cause by no storm but by the ppp government.

Worse than that. They refused to build practical defence shields against the floods. Their intention is to hand out large sums of money to friend sin the future with the excuse that it is to restore the sea defences. Of course we all know where the money is going to end up.

Mouth like battie can only talk sh*t and fart.

Is no use trying to divert attention away from the wealth you and your family have amazed off the back of corruption by the PPP.

As I have said before, I am related to most of the PPP theives. We have 4 mansions in region 6. We have 24 hours police protection(dem same police wah tief and murda, dem ah watchman abie battam house). We have free cars with chauffeurs. We get free food. We get free land lines and cell phones. We even employ negroes to clean. We even beat the hired help when they do sloppy work. During the PNC thieving days, we had to stand in line for 4 hours for 2 lbs of sugar. Man me tell you, abie prappa deh happie. Me glad PPP deh in pawa. Deh go deh in pawa fuh 128 years. Me family set fu life.

If yu want me can link yu up wid dem tiefin PPP comrades.