Guyana will not forget
August 14, 2016 By Editor
By Ryhaan Shah

After all the accusations levelled at the PPP/C Administration about its alleged corruptions, the David Granger Government has, in no more than a year, racked up an impressive number of shady deals, financial wastage and displays of arrogance.
The National Assembly sitting this past week uncovered a few more. We learned that Government wasted over $406 million from the Contingency Fund on one of President David Granger’s pet projects for which there was no public consultation, namely the D’Urban Park Development Project. This was the centrepiece for what turned out to be a PNC/Afro-Guyanese Golden Jubilee celebration which was completely forgettable for its mediocrity, confusion, and its less-than-gala dinner.

But it was the line item of $25 million also spent from the Contingency Fund in July for a security deposit on a building that caught the Opposition’s eye and started a line of questioning that unravelled a scandalous corruption with Health Minister George Norton at its centre.
It appeared that way until it was disclosed Norton was simply following directives from Cabinet. This only heightens the fiasco and places Government itself at the centre of the sole-sourcing and financial corruptions involving the deal that was made with a company named Linden Holding Inc, a bottom-house outfit in Sussex Street, Charlestown, which is undergoing renovations to make it suitable as a drugs storage unit.

For this unfinished facility, Government is already paying out more than a $1000 per square foot rental which is over three times the New GPC’s rates for its state-of-the-art and fully certified drugs storage facility. Government’s decision to forgo the arrangement with the New GPC appears to be driven more by a refusal to work with anyone affiliated with the previous Administration than by good business sense and a concern for the nation’s welfare, especially since it is essential that medical drugs and supplies are always stored in well monitored and secured facilities.
Also dogging Norton’s heels is his interference in the management of the Georgetown Public Hospital where the board has reinstated CEO Michael Khan after a government audit cleared him of any wrongdoing.
In overturning the board’s decision, Norton contravenes the Public Corporation Act which places the responsibility for the appointment of the hospital’s CEO within the board’s remit.

Staffing and other issues at the GPHC continue to make headlines and, for the sake of the nation’s health, the CEO is needed back at his desk where he will remain with the board’s support. On this issue, Government seems more interested in saving face than in doing what is right and just.
Amidst all the reports of corruption over the past week, the most worrying of all was the ongoing attempt by government’s main coalition partner, the PNC, to rewrite Guyana’s history according to their playbook. Letters writers to the press have started to correct the untruths being peddled about Burnham and show him for the brutal, corrupt and racist dictator that he was.

No progressive nation is ever built on a body of lies and Granger and the PNC should be embarrassed by their revisionist statements about their party’s past. Except that they are not. Their arrogance is well learned from their founder/leader Burnham.
Social cohesion – of which Burnham is now hailed as the author – is being pushed down the public’s throat even as the Granger Government engages in some of the most blatant acts of prejudice. It’s Burnham’s way, that kind of haughtiness.
Those who ignored the clear warning issued by the coalition during its elections campaign to forget the past are beginning to understand why the past matters. It matters because those who forget are bound to repeat it.

Thus far, there seems no danger that Guyana will forget.
Whereas Burnham muzzled the press and dictated everything that was disseminated by his state media, Guyana still has a free press and this past week even the usual sycophants reported fully on Government’s latest crop of corruptions.
One such report was that the project to widen Carifesta Avenue has been abandoned. Granger, in true Burnham style, held no public consultation on fashioning his vision of a widened avenue with a median lined with light poles that were to be hung with the flags of the Caricom nations.
The vision, costing 180 million taxpayers’ dollars, was to be his showpiece for the Caricom Heads of Government conference last month. Well, the project has been abandoned and the renaming of Carifesta Avenue to the grander Avenue of the Caribbean has been abandoned along with it. Abandoned like so many of Burnham’s visions.

1.  Even top PPP supporters didn't go to the GPHC. Jagdeo has diarrhea and was off to Miami at taxpayers' expense.  He didn't go to GPHC. so cease pretending as if all was well.  Know that the top management were hard core PPP.

2.  KN did a whole expose on PPP "hijacking of Guyana". It might still be on their website.  A mere building pales in comparison with the blatant theft that occurred then.

3.  While Durban park was a waste so was Providence stadium.  At least Durban park doesn't encumber Guyana with having to pay debt service with US dollars as Providence did.  Please note that even DOMINICA now gets more international cricket than Guyana and this has been true for the past 3 or 4 years.

4. Please tell me at what point did Jagdeo have public discussions about ANYTHING.  It was "we have a mandate and you cannot tell us what to do!".  Even PPP supporters were upset about their behavior with the Berbice bridge!

Uncle Tom told the GNI @#$% Dummies the Contingency Fund is ILLEGAL and the new Govt will abolish it. Dem Dummies still believe a house Slave. It shows the depth of stupidity of GNi PNc supporters!!!!!

PNC SHIT HEADS like you have to read and learn to enhance your craft of theft, violence, intimidation and Mo Fiah Slo Fiah!!!1

BANG ON!!!~! 

I posted that especially for your breakfast. Yuh swalla am quick.

PNC SHIT HEADS like you have to read and learn to enhance your craft of theft, violence, intimidation and Mo Fiah Slo Fiah!!!1

BANG ON!!!~! 

Thank you for posting now go and turn to Mecca and call the DAAG name!!!!!!!!

BANG ON!!!~! 

Thank you for posting now go and turn to Mecca and call the DAAG name!!!!!!!!

Kari posted:

Ryan Shah should be so diligent in her scrutiny of corruption in the previous Administration......hehe

ALL shameless Parasits do is Laff at the suffering of amn entire Nation.  You are not only dangerous but the biggest FOOL on the Planet. Poor QC, one person has caused your Institution to be renamed Berbice Mad House!!!!!!!!!

I've come to realized that this infighting over political foes will continue unchanged for the next decade. Some of us may leave this earth with a heavy heart, knowing that you haven't done anything practical to fulfilled your political dreams. 

This is a political episode we're seeing from year to year. If you are not willing to encourage cutlass wielding drunks to take matters in their own hands, then call yourself a loser. 

You can take the streets in a civil manner, or violent way and prepare to die. Take your pick, but chose one. 

I've come to realized that this infighting over political foes will continue unchanged for the next decade. Some of us may leave this earth with a heavy heart, knowing that you haven't done anything practical to fulfilled your political dreams. 

This is a political episode we're seeing from year to year. If you are not willing to encourage cutlass wielding drunks to take matters in their own hands, then call yourself a loser. 

You can take the streets in a civil manner, or violent way and prepare to die. Take your pick, but chose one. 

You need to stop being a cutlass wielding drunk in Queens and go to Guyana and lead the cutlass wielding drunks brigade. Just remember the licking Sheik gave you the last time you were drunk and wielding a cutlass running around in your green bukta.

At the current pace of corruption and fraud under the PNC, I would not be surprised if Guyanese start a mass uprising against these crooks. It is boiling up right now, it might overflow in a year or two.

They lied through their teeth and are now defending each other while looting the treasury and taxpayer's monies.

Nothing is impossible, a Guyanese spring uprising is quite possible.

Kari posted:

Ryan Shah should be so diligent in her scrutiny of corruption in the previous Administration......hehe

Ryan Shah is one of the Indo elites who think that when Indo elites are abusive that is fine.  The fact that the coalition are engaged in corruption with the SAME cast of business elite characters doesn't matter.  Note that BK pops up under both the PPP and the PNC and I am sure he isn't the only one.

At the current pace of corruption and fraud under the PNC, I would not be surprised if Guyanese start a mass uprising against these crooks. .

They didn't under the PPP, who were way more blatant.  We have yet to see rags to riches with this new gov't.  The Hughes already had money so their wealth doesn't count.  Granger wasn't poor either when he became President.

Ryan Shah is one of the Indo elites who think that when Indo elites are abusive that is fine.  The fact that the coalition are engaged in corruption with the SAME cast of business elite characters doesn't matter.  Note that BK pops up under both the PPP and the PNC and I am sure he isn't the only one.

So even though these people had a known history with the previous administration, this government still couldn't connect the dots to avoid them. Nehru may be on to something when he say that this government is clueless.

Why are they clueless? Ageing men who only got crumbs for 23 years. Saw how paupers like Jagdeo, YOUNGER than them, got rich, and want to do the same.

Well the fastest way to get rich is to jump into bed with the same frauds who made Jagdeo rich.

Ryan Shah needs to just be honest and admit that this is what is going on, instead of screaming just because the outer PPP circle aren't getting their cut of the action.

The fools like the PPP frauds who pretend that any one in leadership really cares are stupid.  Guyana is done and will not be undone until Guyanese wish that to happen.  People get the gov't that they deserve. 

No way that what goes on in Guyana OPENLY will be tolerated in T&T.  A minister accidently brushed the breast of a Carib Air cabin attendant when she was telling him to get off his phone, and he objected. GONE.  Several ministers who couldn't keep their corruption quiet also gone.

Not Guyana.  PPP minister drunk and knocks down a PPP supporter, and flees the scene.  Nothing happened.  Another top PPP has a son who raped some one and he paid off the girl to keep quiet.  Nothing. 

A Presidential advisor under the current regime has a name which always pops up when something fishy is going on.  Still there.

Guyanese get blatant thieves because the entire population wants its cut, and then whine when they don't get it.

Why are they clueless? Ageing men who only got crumbs for 23 years. Saw how paupers like Jagdeo, YOUNGER than them, got rich, and want to do the same.

Well the fastest way to get rich is to jump into bed with the same frauds who made Jagdeo rich.

Ryan Shah needs to just be honest and admit that this is what is going on, instead of screaming just because the outer PPP circle aren't getting their cut of the action.

The fools like the PPP frauds who pretend that any one in leadership really cares are stupid.  Guyana is done and will not be undone until Guyanese wish that to happen.  People get the gov't that they deserve. 

No way that what goes on in Guyana OPENLY will be tolerated in T&T.  A minister accidently brushed the breast of a Carib Air cabin attendant when she was telling him to get off his phone, and he objected. GONE.  Several ministers who couldn't keep their corruption quiet also gone.

Not Guyana.  PPP minister drunk and knocks down a PPP supporter, and flees the scene.  Nothing happened.  Another top PPP has a son who raped some one and he paid off the girl to keep quiet.  Nothing. 

A Presidential advisor under the current regime has a name which always pops up when something fishy is going on.  Still there.

Guyanese get blatant thieves because the entire population wants its cut, and then whine when they don't get it.

They don't even try to pretend that they have a clue.

But I mostly agree with the rest of your arguments.

They don't even try to pretend that they have a clue.

But I mostly agree with the rest of your arguments.

Isn't that something, coming from Caribj.  The banna stop pretending he even cares!

At the current pace of corruption and fraud under the PNC, I would not be surprised if Guyanese start a mass uprising against these crooks. .

They didn't under the PPP, who were way more blatant.  We have yet to see rags to riches with this new gov't.  The Hughes already had money so their wealth doesn't count.  Granger wasn't poor either when he became President.

Why doesn't the Hughes wealth count?  Nigel Hughes became the richest black man in Guyana under the PPP.