ATTACKING CRIME FROM ITS ROOTS

July 12, 2015 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

Crime is like a wild vine.  If it is not pulled out from the roots it grows and spreads and consumes every available space.  In the human society, it affects people everywhere, people from all walks of life.  No one is spared, not the elderly, not defenceless children, not the infirm nor the hard working shopkeeper or bottom-house refrigerator repairman or woman struggling to make ends meet. Without any active or effective measures to curb criminal enterprise, Guyana’s mostly youthful denizens who were most likely attracted to the easily gotten spoils, became much bolder in recent years, so much so that that they no longer depend on the cover of darkness. Ordinary citizens, relatives visiting from abroad, small and large scale entrepreneurs and senior citizens living alone are being attacked with alarming frequency in the secure comfort of their homes, or on the way home at any time of day or night.  Often it appears that the bandits know just what they intend to collect – foreign currency, jewellery, travel documents and expensive electronics, and they’re not shy about demanding it. This new underground industry was not spawned yesterday.  The masterminds learnt the trades many years ago.  In the last two decades, especially following the infamous 2002 Camp Street jail break and the rise of Roger Khan’s Phantom Squad (reminiscent of former Haitian Presidents Papa and Baby Doc’s Ton Ton Macoutes), people have been able to acquire guns of every calibre. We’ve received reports that certain criminal masterminds conduct training ‘schools’ for boys and girls that specialize in the techniques of identifying vulnerable citizens, taking their possessions and making a clean get-away. This ‘industry’ evolved into bolder crimes such as tailing unsuspecting citizens from the airports after they had picked up visiting relatives, and from commercial banks after they had collected large sums of money. Home invasions have become much more frequent.  The incidents occur with such a mind-boggling sameness that citizens have begun to wonder why law enforcement including Community Policing are not better prepared or willing to nab the perpetrators. Prior to the advent of the new government, little to no effort was made to deconstruct this scourge in Guyana, anticipate the crimes and institute citizens’ education programmes. Recently President Granger and Prime Minister Nagamootoo called in every Minister with any responsibility for lawful or social security and the heads of every law enforcement agency to iron out a strategy to minimize major and petty crimes. They began an arduous process to identify the types of interventions by every Ministry and agency which is needed to curb the spike in crime and to sustain national security. Statistics compiled by an enterprising journalist revealed that this recent uptick in deadly criminal activities could be traced back to 2014, but in the first 6 months of this year approximately 80 murders were committed, 14 of which were execution-style killings in Georgetown, in near rural areas and the hinterland gold fields.  Some of these incidents were the result of domestic discordance that resulted in crimes of passion (6 women slain by their partners), and the vast majority it could be assumed, were fuelled by greed, drugs and alcohol. The President’s initiative will go to the roots of the problem that most likely has its genesis in the social conditions in which criminals were raised and the influences on their pre-teen and adolescent lives. This is the purview of the Ministries of Social Cohesion, Labour and Social Welfare. Much like court-ordered investigations for probation reports, the ministries’ investigators will have to delve into the lives of the known criminals.  One dares to hope that in the process they will unearth information that will lead to other, more dangerous criminals who have so far been able to evade the law. The broad anti-crime strategy that was already devised and put on the table includes an amnesty for carriers of illegal weapons of any calibre, and those deadly knives the likes of which were seen in the series of Rambo movies. The Commissioner of Police by today should have presented to the Minister of Public Security a workable strategy for the gun amnesty programme.  It is expected that the amnesty initiative will not be executed by the Guyana Police Force. This is to encourage the owners/carriers of unlicensed guns of any age and from any community to feel free to walk in to the specified civic or religious centres and voluntarily give up their weapons without fear of being held. It should be known, however, that this amnesty will last for a specific period of time after which, the full force of the law will be applied to any person caught with unlicensed firearms. Simultaneously, the strategy addresses the avenues of infiltration or importation of guns, tracking devices and the electronic paraphernalia used in the execution of crimes.  It will likely involve an arm of the Customs Administration Department as well as the Guyana Defence Force’s border protection unit to patrol by air, sea and land Guyana’s long, forested borders with neighbouring countries that manufacture and sell small arms. Additionally, the anti-drug smuggling units that monitor smuggling along the Atlantic coastline in Demerara and Essequibo, along the Corentyne River, and at the Takutu Bridge, would also be involved in this initiative.   The Police Force’s Marine Wing as well as the mounted branch and canine units will also be equipped to contribute to the daily crime-fighting effort. Communication among police units on the streets and their base command will also be improved with new internet-ready equipment for real-time communication while post-event investigations will be helped by additional CCTV cameras mounted on major streets and minor roads, inside communities and on selected buildings. All of this indicates that a major revamp of the Police Force will soon be underway.  Apart from intensive at-home and overseas training in basic and advanced policing, the force’s institutional capacity will be simultaneously enhanced.  All ranks over time will be exposed to computer training, beginning with operators and peripheral staff for the emergency 911 system. In addition, the ranks functioning in non-core policing work, e.g. financial management and human resource development, will be re-trained to improve their efficiency and transform the police force into a fully functional public service entity.

Well, hope he just as brave with the vines lead under the PNC feet.  The roots of crime was planted by the PNC in the 60's and sprout to this day.

ok

so why u and the PPP having shittings and begging/lobbying hard for no investigations?

Well, hope he just as brave with the vines lead under the PNC feet.  The roots of crime was planted by the PNC in the 60's and sprout to this day.

ok

so why u and the PPP having shittings and begging/lobbying hard for no investigations?

PPP and we seh furnish the proof, don't go off doing your ethnic cleansing campaign on a hunch, show proof.  Dem bais looking comfortable.  Anil's concern was not where the facts will lead, but alyuh old tactic of attacking without proof, just like alyuh did in the 60's.  Those minds are in today's generation, handed down by their fathers/grandfathers.

ok

PPP and we seh furnish the proof, don't go off doing your ethnic cleansing campaign on a hunch, show proof.  Dem bais looking comfortable.  Anil's concern was not where the facts will lead, but alyuh old tactic of attacking without proof, just like alyuh did in the 60's.  Those minds are in today's generation, handed down by their fathers/grandfathers.

the ABC countries have the "proof" . . . we doan need PNC proof

tell abee bout how Axel Williams and Shawn Hinds were not tasked in their murder-for-hire by PPP minister Ronald Gajraj

oh wait . . . weren't u just on GNI promoting dem 2 blackman, dem 2 death squad killers as national heroes?

raise yuh haan bai

ok

tell abee bout how Axel Williams and Shawn Hinds were not tasked in their murder-for-hire by PPP minister Ronald Gajraj

oh wait . . . weren't u just on GNI promoting dem 2 blackman, dem 2 death squad killers as national heroes?

raise yuh haan bai

ABC have opinions, they were not on the ground.  The PNC/Buxton nexus is also there, so play ball.

ok

raise yuh haan bai

ABC have opinions, they were not on the ground.  The PNC/Buxton nexus is also there, so play ball.

"ABC" opinions count more than those of the ignorant, narco-murder-tainted, visa-challenged Rohee, no?

baseman I challenge you to be a CONSTRUCTIVE critic of APNU/AFC.  They aren't perfect and will make their share of mistakes.  Within their ranks will be the corrupt, the incompetent and the ethnic triumphalists thirsting for revenge for the "23" years.

I suggest that you focus your criticism in areas where they are warranted and cease engaging in ethnic panic. 

You have no proof that APNU/AFC will be like Forbes Burnham.

Were you not the racist twat that you are, you wou8ld admit that the PPP made many errors in sugar and rice, and now these are becoming manifest. 

Why did the PPP put the rice industry in the hands of a country which claims 70% of its land area, and almost 20% of its people?  It was inevitable that Venezuela would use this to hold Guyana hostage, as it attempts to develop the resource potential, which mainly exists in regions claimed by Venezuela.

Did the PPP plan to stop the EXXON exploration.  No they squealed that Marriott was opening at the right time, and was guaranteed success, EVEN AS MADURO BEGAN TO COMPLAIN.

So either the PPP would have wimped out and send EXXON packing, or they would have had to face down Maduro hostility!

baseman I challenge you to be a CONSTRUCTIVE critic of APNU/AFC.  They aren't perfect and will make their share of mistakes.  Within their ranks will be the corrupt, the incompetent and the ethnic triumphalists thirsting for revenge for the "23" years.

I suggest that you focus your criticism in areas where they are warranted and cease engaging in ethnic panic. 

Were you not the racist twat that you are, you wou8ld admit that the PPP made many errors in sugar and rice, and now these are becoming manifest. 

Why did the PPP put the rice industry in the hands of a country which claims 70% of its land area, and almost 20% of its people?  It was inevitable that Venezuela would use this to hold Guyana hostage, as it attempts to develop the resource potential, which mainly exists in regions claimed by Venezuela.

Did the PPP plan to stop the EXXON exploration.  No they squealed that Marriott was opening at the right time, and was guaranteed success, EVEN AS MADURO BEGAN TO COMPLAIN.

So either the PPP would have wimped out and send EXXON packing, or they would have had to face down Maduro hostility!

Clown, the PPP did not "put the rice industry" in their hands. Fine without that, Guyana would not have been pumping out 700k tons.  When that deal was struck, output was some 400k tons with that deal being 200k tons.  In 2015 the output was 700k tons with that deal still being 200k tons so the growth is outside of that market.  So shut yuh rass.

Ok, alyuh go now, Nigeria say they can take Guyana rice, go open that deal.

Clown, the PPP did not "put the rice industry" in their hands. Fine without that, Guyana would not have been pumping out 700k tons.  When that deal was struck, output was some 400k tons with that deal being 200k tons.  In 2015 the output was 700k tons with that deal still being 200k tons so the growth is outside of that market.  So shut yuh rass.

Not unless they meet Dangouthie's prices.

Attacking crime from the root by releasing criminals back into society? You think you talking to fools?

On Target there Bhia.   GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA AND THERE IS NO TURNING BACK FOR 5 YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!

Aside from Venezuela what markets did the PPP open?  You scream that the PPP did great wonders for rice, and in 6 weeks all of this has been undone.  Drainage was good under the PPP.  GONE.  Rice farmers were happy with how quickly they were paid.  NO MORE.  Rice production costs were competitive.  No MORE.  That is a laugh, and a sign of your fundamental rage that Guyana isn't an Indo elite monopoly any more.

Indo KKK racist APNU/AFC have been in power for 6 weeks.  WHy do you demand miracles from them that clearly the PPP didn't deliver.

What I expect from you is to state your expectations from APNU/AFC and then hold them to account when they don't deliver.  To pretend as if all of the problems of crime, rice, sugar, and gold are due to APNU/AFC, with the PPP being held blameless is silly.

The PPP lost the majority of the votes TWICE, so clearly the MAJORITY of the population did NOT think that they were doing a good job.

Attacking crime from the root by releasing criminals back into society? You think you talking to fools?

Perhaps by such actions, Granger is implying to the former prisoners that their deeds are acceptable to him and his political organization.

Crime is like a wild vine.  If it is not pulled out from the roots it grows and spreads and consumes every available space.  In the human society, it affects people everywhere, people from all walks of life.  No one is spared, not the elderly, not defenceless children, not the infirm nor the hard working shopkeeper or bottom-house refrigerator repairman or woman struggling to make ends meet.

ATTACKING CRIME FROM ITS ROOTS, July 12, 2015 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists

Usual nonsensical items from this group.

Crime existed for eons.

Criminal activities may be reduced, but it definitely will never be eliminated .. or as in their words .. pulled out from the root.

Perhaps by such actions, Granger is implying to the former prisoners that their deeds are acceptable to him and his political organization.

What signal was the PPP and Rummouthar sending to the Guyanese population by pardoning a murderer who butchered an innocent child?

ok

The PPP and you are in barefaced degenerate mode. If you in your capacity as an independent thinking being cannot grasp their depraved administration over the past two decades then you simply do not think and is just a brain in vat.

Anil is a barefaced man with criminal bent who in his own words illustrated the depth of his depraved disposition. No one need proof beyond his personal confession of using the state as his piggy bank or threats about murder an mayhem not to mention his leering disgustingly at your young women.

Do you need proof that Jagdeo is a liar given his lie to us that he had a wife? Do need proof that the PPP are crooks when everyone of them to a man now own assets hundreds of times their earning power since in office? Jagdeo did not have a pot to piss in according to a former PPPite now he is among the patrician class of the obscenely rich.

Indeed the APNU need to empanel a team to hold them each on a long list of charges so they spend all of that asset to clear themselves. 

Aside from Venezuela what markets did the PPP open?  You scream that the PPP dif great wonders for rice, and in 6 weeks all of this has been undone.  Drainage was good under the PPP.  GONE.  Rice farmers were happy with how quickly they were paid.  NO MORE.  Rice production costs were competitive.  No MORE.

Indo KKK racist APNU/AFC have been in power for 6 weeks.  WHy do you demand miracles from them that clearly the PPP didn't deliver.

What I expect from you is to state your expectations from APNU/AFC and then hold them to account when they don't deliver.  To pretend as if all of the problems of crime, rice, sugar, and gold are due to APNU/AFC, with the PPP being held blameless is silly.

The PPP lost the majority of the votes TWICE, so clearly the MAJORITY of the population did NOT think that they were doing a good job.

Hey banna, rice output from 400k tons to 700k tons with Venez being 200k tons on both side of the equation, where do you think the 300k tons went?

True, the PPP had their failings/difficulties and the people, many of whom were too young in 1992, actually believe the utopian message of the PNC/AFC, in particular the AFC who sold them a pig in a bag story.  Now they all squealing.

But I hope alyuh turn things around.  I met several Guyanese relatives last week and they are supportive of the Govt and none plan on leaving.  If the PNC don't deliver, they taking it back.  Dem a wach alyuh.

ok

The PPP and you are in barefaced degenerate mode. If you in your capacity as an independent thinking being cannot grasp their depraved administration over the past two decades then you simply do not think and is just a brain in vat.

Anil is a barefaced man with criminal bent who in his own words illustrated the depth of his depraved disposition. No one need proof beyond his personal confession of using the state as his piggy bank or threats about murder an mayhem not to mention his leering disgustingly at your young women.

Do you need proof that Jagdeo is a liar given his lie to us that he had a wife? Do need proof that the PPP are crooks when everyone of them to a man now own assets hundreds of times their earning power since in office? Jagdeo did not have a pot to piss in according to a former PPPite now he is among the patrician class of the obscenely rich.

Indeed the APNU need to empanel a team to hold them each on a long list of charges so they spend all of that asset to clear themselves. 

No, it not law of the bush you accustomed to.  You accuse, then provide evidence.  Don't go taking unsubstantiated punitive action people without proving they did something wrong.  Accusation and public opinion are not proof.  In that case, OJ would have been in jail since 1992 and maybe even [rapeman] Corsby.

APNU (PNC) need to "empanel" themselves with some competency and address the nation's issues and stop whining and running after mirage.

ok

No, it not law of the bush you accustomed to.  You accuse, then provide evidence.  Don't go taking unsubstantiated punitive action people without proving they did something wrong.  Accusation and public opinion are not proof.  In that case, OJ would have been in jail since 1992 and maybe even [rapeman] Corsby.

APNU (PNC) need to "empanel" themselves with some competency and address the nation's issues and stop whining and running after mirage.

The expected shallow ignorant response of the poorly morally grounded. It has to be your up bringing....being dragged up from the logie can imprint a false sense of worth.

The accusations that those people are thieves is self evident to any rational mind. Dragging them before the court is another story but the APNU need to haul everyone of their asses for misappropriation of assets because they will be blamed by ignorant racists like you for being unfair regardless of what they do.

I would have liked to see that fellow who recently paid himself 26 million dollars from the depleted guyoil funds immediately placed im manacles because he had no authority to do so. I would also have had Ashni and Brazzington in a cell somewhere for their excesses. You are lucky te APNU is deliberative and overly cautious. these days.

I am sure some of those fellows will be in jail. OJ is in jail and only because he was in the sight of the law. Cosby is going to face financially crippling legal problems and he is already done for given he has achieved full pariah status among his peers and even among his previously ardent supporter. That is so because black people can reason. Apparently the PPP despite their prodigious corrupt practices are forever saints among the class of brains in vats that is the status among most indians. They do not see beyond kind.

It's a shame amongst many East Indians if they cannot boast about how corrupt they are. Most East Indians also pride themselves for being bale to "have a friend who can fix it for you". The PPP is full of those sort.

You mean that the PPP should continue to whine and wail and scream that all the problems that Guyana has started on May 11th?''

Continue to beg Indians to take Maduro's ID card as you rage that Guyana is no longer Indesh.

ok

The expected shallow ignorant response of the poorly morally grounded. It has to be your up bringing....being dragged up from the logie can imprint a false sense of worth.

The accusations that those people are thieves is self evident to any rational mind. Dragging them before the court is another story but the APNU need to haul everyone of their asses for misappropriation of assets because they will be blamed by ignorant racists like you for being unfair regardless of what they do.

I would have liked to see that fellow who recently paid himself 26 million dollars from the depleted guyoil funds immediately placed im manacles because he had no authority to do so. I would also have had Ashni and Brazzington in a cell somewhere for their excesses. You are lucky te APNU is deliberative and overly cautious. these days.

I am sure some of those fellows will be in jail. OJ is in jail and only because he was in the sight of the law. Cosby is going to face financially crippling legal problems and he is already done for given he has achieved full pariah status among his peers and even among his previously ardent supporter. That is so because black people can reason. Apparently the PPP despite their prodigious corrupt practices are forever saints among the class of brains in vats that is the status among most indians. They do not see beyond kind.

Listed banna, investigate, fact-base and then take action.  The banna at GPL should be investigated and appropriate action taken.  This is not the law of the jungle.  Now run along and sip you piwari.

You mean that the PPP should continue to whine and wail and scream that all the problems that Guyana has started on May 11th?''

Continue to beg Indians to take Maduro's ID card as you rage that Guyana is no longer Indesh.

Well, if he promises to leave it as an autonomous region "Amerindia", I may be tempted to consider.  Until then, no to Mad-uno.  Indians gat nuff nuff power in Guyana as it is.

. . . Indians gat nuff nuff power in Guyana as it is.

so what's the problem . . .?

why so much antiman like you, prashad, cobra, nehru dem wandering around GNI, pulling down yuh panty, wailing, wringing yuh haan?

Well, if he promises to leave it as an autonomous region "Amerindia", I may be tempted to consider.  Until then, no to Mad-uno.  Indians gat nuff nuff power in Guyana as it is.

You not the same fella that seh there's going to be an Indian holocaust in Guyana? And you and susie man hoooo geeeeee seh there is "ethnic cleansing"? Listen fool, make up your mind. One day "Indians gat nuff nuff power", or they're going to cause a "whiplash", then they're "more powerful than 1992". Next day yuh begging fuh a US flotilla fuh rescue alyuh from black man. Such pathetic shyte from a supposedly grown man.

.  Indians gat nuff nuff power in Guyana as it is.

OH and yet you daily wail that they are an unwanted group of refugees whose best plan is to pack their bags immediately and flee from the reincarnation of Forbes Burnham.

Originally Posted by Itaname:
Next day yuh begging fuh a US flotilla fuh rescue alyuh from black man. Such pathetic shyte from a supposedly grown man.

You got it wrong.  He wants the flotilla to be from Maduro.  The USA has a black president, who installed a black regime.  This is what baseman thinks.

I am not of the opinion that Venezuelans think highly of Hindus though.

why so much antiman like you, prashad, cobra, nehru dem wandering around GNI, pulling down yuh panty, wailing, wringing yuh haan?

Well we know that cobra likes to be slapped about by a certain big Amazonian PNC woman with a super cyat, before being poled by a big strong PNC man.  Maybe the others now have the same pleasures.

Imagine if Cobra winds up sharing a prison cell with Westford?

He will say that it is a complete waste of his time. First she is a PPP woman, and also her husband is an Indian.  He is more the type who fantasizes over well endowed and angry black men with rippling muscles.

Next day yuh begging fuh a US flotilla fuh rescue alyuh from black man. Such pathetic shyte from a supposedly grown man.

You got it wrong.  He wants the flotilla to be from Maduro.  The USA has a black president, who installed a black regime.  This is what baseman thinks.

I am not of the opinion that Venezuelans think highly of Hindus though.

Listen banna, I was born in Mabaruma and lived on Hosororo hill as a boy.  If I want to be Venez, I have umteem chance even back in GT.  That Venezuela offer was long-standing, not yesterday.  My fam never did, I never did.  I am Guyanese of Indo origin first and foremost.  I will always support my Indian brothers/sisters who you try to make out like they are "occupiers". We will own our rights in Guyana and you will never subjugate us again.

  If I want to be Venez,.

1.  You screamed when Moses said he was Guyanese of Indo origin, so please don't come off and that lie about how you consider yourself.  You are an Indian, and consider yourself Guyanese only when the PPP is in power.

2.  Now black man in power, of course you don't consider yourself to be Guyanese.  You have rolled out the carpet for Maduro, and are enraged that Granger didn't join you.

  If I want to be Venez,.

1.  You screamed when Moses said he was Guyanese of Indo origin, so please don't come off and that lie about how you consider yourself.  You are an Indian, and consider yourself Guyanese only when the PPP is in power.

2.  Now black man in power, of course you don't consider yourself to be Guyanese.  You have rolled out the carpet for Maduro, and are enraged that Granger didn't join you.

Hey jackass, see my post, where did I embrace Mad-uno.  HE Granger need to not be tempted by those PNC wash-up [like you] if he wants a legacy.

Banna, you are a con man, taking 6 words out of a complete statement and carving your caricature.  you are not that good. 

We will own our rights in Guyana and you will never subjugate us again.

Too late. Look like we subjugate you ahready bai. After all, you and yuh cohorts talking that ethnic cleansing in progress and indian holocaust in de works. Plus all yuh trigger man and bag man get ketch and ready fuh sing. And all alyuh doing is digging and smelling yuh beetie.

Is alyuh who getting belly-wuk.  BJ traveling fuss class.  Deal with it.

We gon see bai. De noose tightening fuh yuh frens. All while BJ in fuss class.

you.

Hey jackass, see my post, where did I embrace Mad-uno. 

Oh you do when you scream that the PNC is responsible for the loss of the Venezuela market.

Maduro published a map and issued threats against Guyana, and is attempting to damage the Guyana economy by trying to force EXXON out. 

Rather than you as a Guyanese supporting Granger, as he does all that he can do to protect Guyana, and that is to engage in aggressive diplomacy, you whine that he didn't acquiesce to Maduro, by accepting Maduro's version of the border dispute.

Now go and peddle those Venezuelan ID cards.  I already here you screaming "BLACKMAN" to scare the Indians, as you did on May, 11.

. Plus all yuh trigger man and bag man get ketch and ready fuh sing. And all alyuh doing is digging and smelling yuh beetie.

Oh well, the PPP put Guyana at the mercy of Venezuela, just because the US Ambassadors told them to stop peddling drugs.

They also put themselves at the mercy of black milk drinking criminals.  Those thugs are now ready to sing now that the PPP milk bowl is empty.