Attack on Saudi oil field a game-changer in Gulf confrontation

(CNN)The attack on the world's largest oil processing plant early Saturday morning is a dramatic escalation in the confrontation between Iran and Saudi Arabia -- even if the Iranians didn't fire the drones or missiles responsible.

Several projectiles struck the Abqaiq plant, starting a series of fires that quickly took out nearly half Saudi's oil production -- 5% of the global daily output -- and sparking fears about the security of the world's oil supplies.
It's unclear when Abqaiq, which is operated by Saudi giant Aramco, will be fully operational again.
A satellite image taken Saturday, September 14, 2019, shows thick black smoke rising from the Abqaiq oil processing facility in Saudi Arabia.
Houthi rebels in Yemen claimed the attack, saying that 10 drones had targeted Abqaiq, as well as the Khurais oilfield. But attacks of this scale and accuracy would represent a sudden and remarkable increase in Houthi capabilities, and neither the United States nor Saudi Arabia is buying the claim.
The United States swiftly discounted the Houthi claim. Late Saturday, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo tweeted: "Iran has now launched an unprecedented attack on the world's energy supply." And he added: "There is no evidence the attacks came from Yemen."

I am always reluctant to make any accusations on Iran. Usually they are never responsible. That said whoever did this is stupid and destructive. As of now everyone still need fuel to power their economies.

Trump is currently softening up his position on Iran.  The Iranian FM made a surprise visit to the G7.  The French are floating a deal.  I find it hard that Iran will upset that potential break.

I would not put this pass the Israelis who oppose this opening.  Furthermore the Houtis are locked in a deadly conflict with Saudi Arabia.

I had expected such an attack for a while however, I thought of low flying kamakazi.  A drone seems rather sophisticated given the fact they will have no satellite use. If it’s a drone, someone there have some advanced and reliable technology!  Then again it could be local as Eastern Saudi is a tinderbox!

Whatever, this is why Guyana is important. The PPP needs to do a deal with Trump.  Give the USA exclusivity for 50 years with a revisit ever 10 years.  Collect a base rent from territory not exploited and royalties/profit from extracted oil.

Ayuh cane cutters need to stop Ayuh anti American shyte and cozy up to Emperor Trump!  Jagan dead, Rodney dead, Chavez dead, Che Guevara dead, Castro dead, Gadaffi dead, Marx dead, Allende dead, communism dead!

Ayuh put down ayuh cutlass and embrace the new Jerusalem!

Iran does not have stupid leaders like those Arab countries. They usually think before they act. I would be surprised if this does turn out to be an Iranian attack.

It was made too obvious to look like Iran!  It's like the PNC and their voters' list!  370k in a few weeks with the PPP boycotting!  People not stupid!

In the end the truth will come out. America isn’t Guyana. People here do strive to get to the truth. If it is really Iran, they will not be able to hide it. 

I don't trust certain US institutions.  Wasn't Sadaam 45 mins away from launching an attack on the USA!

Trump has to be careful and not fall like Bush and Obama!

In the end the truth will come out. America isn’t Guyana. People here do strive to get to the truth. If it is really Iran, they will not be able to hide it. 

I don't trust certain US institutions.  Wasn't Sadaam 45 mins away from launching an attack on the USA!

Mistakes are made sometimes but in the end everything is fully accounted for. We are not talking about the evil PNC here.

I dunno what PNC has to do with this, my post was a lil sarcasm made because they are blamed for everything. Anyway, hear nuh Kaz, wasn't it the evil PPP who made mistakes and fell?

They still have not learned after that fall, they are making another mistake with Irfart (and BJ) and will again take another fall.

Bai Cain, the PNC doesn’t have anything to do with the attacks. The comparison of the PNC was to the US who always seek to reach the correct conclusion. The PNC are evil because once again they are denying the voters their rights to vote. They cannot make their image better anymore as they are already squatting illegally in office. However, the longer they insist on disobeying law and order, they are making their image even worse.

Trump not stupid like Clinton he is relying on common sense not intelligence reports only. For example the Pakistan ISI had a mole in the CIA that tricked Bill Clinton big time. 

One thing with Trump, for good or for bad, he holds a certain skepticism about data feeds.  He saw Iraq, Libya, etc.  He is a war skeptic and will pull back. 

What he will do is tell the Saudis we have a solution for that hole which allowed those drones through. Buy it, $10 bil!   And the Wahabs will!  He will also use it to push his domestic energy policy!

Why could it not be an inside job done by Israelis encouraging US to attack Iran? Something had to be out of whack for the Saudi monitoring systems to fail to recognize nine drones attacking them. I find it hard to believe that Saudi Arabia purchased so much military hardware from America and they failed to purchase monitoring systems. I strongly believe those missiles were fired from Saudi territory.

I believe Israel did the attack to destabilize peace talks between Trump and Iran. With the big oil find in Guyana and the many capped wells in the US, Trump don't need the Arabs oil.

Y’all should be happy for Trump. He pushed for America to extract and export dampening OPEC, he pushed for reserves. Now the Guyana factor, the Wahabs matter less.  I would not put it pass the Saudi themselves.  They seem prepared to fix most of it before anyone knew the damage.  Remember, these are the same people who hacked up their own citizen in their embassy!

Never trust a Wahab!

The last incident with the American drone, the US has yet to provide evidence that they did not enter Iranian airspace. 

Trump is a skeptic and have every right to be.  

If this had happened under Obama, was panic and tomahawks flying and Dow off 2,000!

Trump flies his mouth and talk shit sometimes, but he settles of reason.  He juss like Nehru😁!!

Y’all should be happy for Trump. He pushed for America to extract and export dampening OPEC, he pushed for reserves. Now the Guyana factor, the Wahabs matter less.  I would not put it pass the Saudi themselves.  They seem prepared to fix most of it before anyone knew the damage.  Remember, these are the same people who hacked up their own citizen in their embassy!

Never trust a Wahab!

The last incident with the American drone, the US has yet to provide evidence that they did not enter Iranian airspace. 

If this had happened under Obama, was panic and tomahawks flying and Dow off 2,000!

Trump flies his mouth and talk shit sometimes, but he settles of reason.  He juss like Nehru😁!!

Be serious. When will Guyana see a penny from oils? Next Janam? Guyana might be like Equatorial Guinea or the African countries have oil and their people walk with big belly, broomstick legs, their ribs showing, and white mouth.

Never trust a Wahab!

Be serious. When will Guyana see a penny from oils? Next Janam? Guyana might be like Equatorial Guinea or the African countries have oil and their people walk with big belly, broomstick legs, their ribs showing, and white mouth.

Banna, get with the program.  This has little to do with Guyana. The relevant question is when does Exxon start extraction!

In anycase, if Trump is to take military action, it will be Venezuela.  He will not pick on tough nuts when easy pickings is right under his nose!

Never trust a Wahab!

Banna, get with the program.  This has little to do with Guyana. The relevant question is when does Exxon start extraction!

In anycase, if Trump is to take military action, it will be Venezuela.  He will not pick on tough nuts when easy pickings is right under his nose!

I know this does not involve Guyana. Why invoke Guyana in the conversation then? Just making my point about Guyana oil. America cannot depend on Guyana oil as yet.

Never trust a Wahab!

I know this does not involve Guyana. Why invoke Guyana in the conversation then? Just making my point about Guyana oil. America cannot depend on Guyana oil as yet.

I was LMAO wondering the same when he reference Guyana in his Subject. 

Never trust a Wahab!

It has and has not.  Understand what I said. 

Iran reverse technology an American drone that malfunctioned and crashed in Iran. Now they are manufacturing squadrons of top quality drones. They are continuing to develop drone technology. It has to be very worrying that Iran can combine those drones with nuclear waste and crash them on enemy territory thereby producing the effects of a dirty bomb. Nevertheless; a weakened Iran means a much more powerful Pakistan and that is not good for the physical and cultural survival of our people into the future.

This is not the right time to attack Iran without knowing all the facts behind the attack. Remember, he attacked George W. Bush for his baseless war on Iraq. He can't afford to make the same mistake that would cost him his second term as president in an election season. That will make sleepy Joe Biden president in hurry. 

The Republicans love to start a war close to election, it energizes their base. 

Don’t think Republicans, think Trump.  He is adverse to war.  I doubt he will go to war over Saudi oil. He feels the US should be self sufficient.  

If Sadaam had invaded Kuwait under Trump, he would have taken the Pat Buchanan position. Let’s make a deal, give me the oil and you keep the rest of the sand heap!  Everyone would be happy today!

Don’t think Republicans, think Trump.  He is adverse to war.  I doubt he will go to war over Saudi oil. He feels the US should be self sufficient.  

If Sadaam had invaded Kuwait under Trump, he would have taken the Pat Buchanan position. Let’s make a deal, give me the oil and you keep the rest of the sand heap!  Everyone would be happy today!

Baseman, different times has different praises and consequences on leaders action. If this or that would have happened, we would only look back and analyze what went right or wrong. I support Trump as you do, but I wouldn't be on the same page with you to say how Trump would have acted. 

Oh rass..$120 for my fill up now, I use 91octane. Rass man, how come the price of  guns and bullets doan go up in price instead ah fricken gas?

It should have been $200, guh fill it up with solar power!

Or better yet, fill it up with gunpowder in the trunk. It will get you where you want to go in a jiffy and cheap!😁

Let Trump drill more oil, Ayuh protest!

Gasoline prices up. 

I’m surprised at the muted response. A few short years ago, this was panic.  US energy policy paying dividends. Only simple-minded people don’t see the connection!

The bigger risk is America’s response!  Trump should let it be.  Saudi is killing babies in Yemen and this was a legit target.  They did not attack a city or civilian target!