Arif Bulkan

Jan.16,2018.

Attorney, Dr Arif Bulkan is to be sworn in as an acting Justice of Appeal tomorrow.

This was disclosed this afternoon by the Ministry of the Presidency

Bulkan is a Senior Law Lecturer at the University of the West Indies with specializations in Public Law, Constitutional Law, Caribbean Human Rights Law, and International Human Rights Law. He also co-founded the Faculty of Law UWI Rights Advocacy Project (U-RAP) at the Cave Hill campus, which is a group of law professors who engage in litigation and advocacy aimed at promoting human rights.

He was recently nominated by Cabinet to represent Guyana on the United Nations Human Rights Committee.

The next election for membership is scheduled for June 2018. The UNHRC is the body of independent experts which monitors the implementation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights by State parties.

warrior posted:

you low life ppp supporters say the collation is not hiring indians 

He is one Dutty Indian, he part of the team to defend the Rigging.

Bhai kp,

none of the brain boxes on GNI made that observation,one of the reasons i made the post.

The wannabe political posters doan know SHIT about politics in Guyana.

They are blowing hot air as usual.

Porters on the warpath tarass. Had a black person been given this position we would have read how the government is all for dem own black people, ow me laaaawd..Indians not given a chance.

The govt gave the position to an Indian ow me laaaawd he is a duttyy Indian..ow me laaawd.

You fkrs should face the truth..you're a buncha wimpy cryababy porters.

Porters on the warpath tarass. Had a black person been given this position we would have read how the government is all for dem own black people, ow me laaaawd..Indians not given a chance.

The govt gave the position to an Indian ow me laaaawd he is a duttyy Indian..ow me laaawd.

Guyana is a land of SIX races, how come Granger nah pick a Putagee?

Bhai,why worry they are like "go-kum" they doan know where they stand.

Guyana is a land of SIX races, how come Granger nah pick a Putagee?

You know any down there qualified for the position? You won't see me crying over it.

Dr Arif Bulkan sworn in as new acting Court of Appeal Judge.

Jan.17,2018

In light of the current shortage of judges at the Guyana Court of Appeal, President David Granger this morning appointed Attorney-at-law Dr Arif Bulkan as an acting judge.

Dr Christopher Arif Bulkan was today sworn in as an acting Court of Appeal Judge by President David Granger

His appointment seeks to reduce the backlog of cases at the Appeal Court.

Bulkan, who is the nephew of Communities Minister Ronald Bulkan, was interviewed by the Judicial Service Commission who then recommended his appointment to the Head of State.

In his address at the ceremony, which saw attendance from a number of distinguished guests including Chancellor of the Judiciary (Ag), Justice Yonette Cummings-Edwards, Chief Justice (Ag) Justice Roxane George- Wiltshire and Chief Magistrate, Ann McLennan, the President said that Guyana is a law-based state, where enforcement of the law and the efficient and timely dispensation of justice by the Courts are the fundamental bases.

In this regard, the Head of State said that the Judiciary is the vital organ in the preservation of our system of law and order.

“An efficient and independent judiciary ensures that citizens have access to justice and that this access is fair and swift. A full complement of judges, magistrates and legal offices promotes judicial efficiency and public confidence in the rule of law. This ceremony witnesses the appointment of an eminent Guyanese as an acting Justice of the Court of Appeal” said the President.

In 2017, Dr Bulkan was nominated by the Cabinet to represent Guyana on the United Nations Human Rights Committee (UNHRC). He is a former lecturer at the University of the West Indies (UWI) with specialisations in Public Law, Constitutional Law, Caribbean Human Rights Law, and International Human Rights Law.

Dr Bulkan also served as Deputy Dean in the Faculty of Law from 2013 to 2016.

He is also the recipient of the 2017 Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence in Public and Civic contributions.

In an invited comment, Dr Bulkan said that he is pleased with the appointment and looks forward to working with all stakeholders to address the backlog of cases, which currently plagues the judicial system.

Yep.  The same day I lost my Burberry coat.  He looks younger in person.  I was just looking at some pics we took together and for some reason he looks older in photos.

You doan have to go to Guyana to have someone tief your stuff, just go to a Guyanese function an dem people would huff it for not moving.

A couple weeks ago a cous and I went to a warehouse sale North of Toronto where I tried on some winter coveralls. After walking around for about twenty minutes checking out boots and other clothing I realized I did not have my coat which had my wallet with cash, credit cards, babes phone numbers etc even my darn cellphone was in the coat. My cous was all excited, running around the place freaking out while I just strolled as calm as a cucumber to a sales girl letting her know I had misplaced my coat. We walked together toward the cashiers and found the coat under one of the desks. Someone saw it lying around and took it up to the cashout area. Did I forget to mention this was not a West Indian/Guyanese area?

Yep.  The same day I lost my Burberry coat.  He looks younger in person.  I was just looking at some pics we took together and for some reason he looks older in photos.

You doan have to go to Guyana to have someone tief your stuff, just go to a Guyanese function an dem people would huff it for not moving.

A couple weeks ago a cous and I went to a warehouse sale North of Toronto where I tried on some winter coveralls. After walking around for about twenty minutes checking out boots and other clothing I realized I did not have my coat which had my wallet with cash, credit cards, babes phone numbers etc even my darn cellphone was in the coat. My cous was all excited, running around the place freaking out while I just strolled as calm as a cucumber to a sales girl letting her know I had misplaced my coat. We walked together toward the cashiers and found the coat under one of the desks. Someone saw it lying around and took it up to the cashout area. Did I forget to mention this was not a West Indian/Guyanese area?

Glad you found your coat and your belongings.  I had left mine in my car which was checked in to a valet parking and I didn't realize it was gone until I returned home.  I liked the coat so much, I tried to buy back one like that but they don't make that style anymore.