Canje man murders wife, kills self

August 6 2018

A Corentyne woman who attempted to leave an abusive marriage was chopped to death by her husband today and he then killed himself.

Rohanie Lakhan sustained a chop wound on her neck and on her arm. Her husband, Ramesh Ramdeen, 44, originally from Canefield, East Canje Berbice slit his throat after committing the crime. 

Stabroek News was told that the man would often abuse the woman. Today, the couple appeared at the Albion Magistrate’s Court. 

Rohanie Lakhan and Ramesh Ramdeen

According to information gathered, after the court proceedings the woman decided to move out of the house. She was accompanied home by a police officer and the man’s sister. 

However, after some time, the female police rank and the man’s sister left the house and it was during that time that the man beat Lakhan about her body before murdering her and killing himself inside their Kilcoy Housing Scheme, Corentyne house. 

Each village should have priests, elders and teachers who abused people can turn to for help. My parents counseled many distressed people, then set them on a path of happiness and fulfillment.

What you're saying is all well and good. Sadly, there are exceptions. I just dont get these people tho. If ayuh cant get along, go your separate ways. Doesn't have to end like this. Senseless.

Many male abusers have the mentality that if they can't have the woman or the woman leaves them, then no one else can have the woman, so they injure or murder the woman. Then knowing they would go to jail, the males commit suicide. That's why we need support groups and interventions.

Always thought so. What's the purpose of killing your spouse and or committing suicide? If you have children, it's worse. These idiots don't think before they pick up a cutlass or start beating their wives.

Domestic violence/alcohol abuse is a problem in the Indo Guyanese community. Education is the only solution and as Len pointed out, support groups and intervention are necessary.

This problem will escalate as economic hardships continue to rattle the once vibrant Sugar Belt.

What is the government's plan on addressing this problem ? The PPP failed and it appears as if the PNC is not any better.

Domestic violence/alcohol abuse is a problem in the Indo Guyanese community. Education is the only solution and as Len pointed out, support groups and intervention are necessary.

This problem will escalate as economic hardships continue to rattle the once vibrant Sugar Belt.

What is the government's plan on addressing this problem ? The PPP failed and it appears as if the PNC is not any better.

It's not the government who is failing. It is the husbands. These guys need to put themselves in the spouses' shoes and ask themselves what would happen if the tables were turned.

Always thought so. What's the purpose of killing your spouse and or committing suicide? If you have children, it's worse. These idiots don't think before they pick up a cutlass or start beating their wives.

I will always remember my village neighbors. One guy worked in G/town, then returned on weekends to be with his wife and kids in the village. He had a lover in town, and always drank before coming to the village. One night he came in late, then demanded that the wife cook duck curry. Where will the woman find a duck at that late hour? He started beating her, she ran over to our yard, he chased after her with a cutlass, beating and ripping off her clothes. We all ran upstairs, she cried out to my dad to save her but he was scared of the cutlass, so he threw down a sheet to cover herself, then yelled to the guy's older brother nearby to come over and help part the fight. Later, my parents counseled them, they migrated to NYC in the early 80s, the woman had cancer and died a few years later, then the guy died last year from diabetes. He was totally devastated for treating her so badly. 

What some of these pricks needed/needs is for some of her male relatives to get together and kick the shit out of them good and prapa.  You did not marry a man's daughter or sister to hit her!

If he want food any which hour, then learn to cook for yourself.

I'm so happy, my mother taught all her sons to cook!  She told us, you cannot just leave it all to your wife, not in our new world.

This murder/suicide is not the first and it wouldn't be the last, unfortunately. This is becoming a culture in our society among Indians. It's nice to see some of you give advice on how to curb the problem, but priests or the elderly is not like the older days. These young drunks don't have respect for the elderly and they too might get some chop up in the midst. This is when I remember Chief the most. Let's pray for these souls and ask God to protect the young from falling in the same footpath. 

Off track comments:

Yall remember every day that five coolie people dead, it's decreasing the PPP voting base and Jagdeo bragging that the PPP win by passing-wind aka fart. Eh gyal, Bibi?   

This murder/suicide is not the first and it wouldn't be the last, unfortunately. This is becoming a culture in our society among Indians. It's nice to see some of you give advice on how to curb the problem, but priests or the elderly is not like the older days. These young drunks don't have respect for the elderly and they too might get some chop up in the midst. This is when I remember Chief the most. Let's pray for these souls and ask God to protect the young from falling in the same footpath. 

Off track comments:

Yall remember every day that five coolie people dead, it's decreasing the PPP voting base and Jagdeo bragging that the PPP win by passing-wind aka fart. Eh gyal, Bibi?   

Fagdeo will make that up by targetting the gay community. 

HJ
Hugh Jorgan posted:

Off track comments:

Fagdeo will make that up by targetting then gay community. 

Sir, you don't know that Dr. Jagdeo is gay, and if he is, you have no respect for people that live a different way of life. I don't deal with people that come off on the wrong footing. Change your attitude.