Liberty and Justice Party leader, Lenox Shuman to give up Canadian citizenship

Lenox Shuman

The leader of the newly-formed Liberty and Justice Party, Lenox Shuman, Saturday evening announced he would be giving up his Canadian citizenship.

“I will be giving up my Canadian citizenship,” he told a well-attended launch of the Liberty and Justice Party at the Georgetown Club, Camp Street, Georgetown.

He said his decision was motivated by the need to abide by Guyana’s laws and constitution.

Shuman said he would soon make another attempt to discuss relinquishing his Canadian citizenship with Canada’s High Commissioner to Guyana, Lilian Chatterjee.

The former Vice Chairman of the National Toshaos Council and former Toshao of St Cuthbert’s Mission also told reporters after the JLP’s launch that he had been a Canadian citizen for more than 20 years.

Asked whether he had planned to return Canada, he remarked that “those plans have been dealt with”. His wife and children were not seen at the launch.

This looks like the new norm......this is what 28 years and 23 years has done to Guyanese.....forcing people to look for a home all over creation....the political leaders are no different....they are playing it safe....if tings dont work out in Guyana, then they have a plan B.

....they are part time "hyphenated" citizens of Guyana....not genuinely concerned about the people in that god forsaken country.

WHO ARE THE 1/3 MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT WHO HAVE DUAL CITIZENS??

BTW....I wish this dude success....he could become the "THIRD" party Guyanese need.....not the 2 other parties that are being led by the 3 Stooges....

I will believe it when I see it. Is he going to disclose a document stating that he is no longer a Canadian citizen? 

Good point, let the Guyanese see the documents of renouncement.Clean the house of these Foreign Citizen holders, abide by the Constitution.

Giving up the citizenship and hold on the Canadian residents status. 

Enjoying the sugar from both ends and not breaking the laws of the home country to pursue his political aspirations. 

Could a Canadian resident same time be a full time resident in another country?

You can be a Canadian resident if you live 2 years within a 5 years period and the 2 years doesn’t have to be continuous . It can be accumulate. 

only allowed 6 months out of the country, citizens as well as immogrants. canada is a flexible country, they never check up unless they feel income is derived in another country. being taxed.

US is very strict on the 6 months + 1 day rule.  There are few other tests, but this is the most popular.

Income matters not as you have to declare WW income regardless and take credit for taxes paid anywhere else!

Where is big mouthed Ronan...are the PNC politicians going to relinquish their citizenship to adhere to the constitution if they are so pedantic about the matter?

well, since they do not care to confide in me

i will have to hazard a guess that they will comply with the LAW

having no choice and all that, rite?

Zed posted:

There is no limit on how long a Canadian citizen may live abroad. Recently, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled also that they are still entitled to vote in federal elections. 

Same goes for US citizens, also you have file tax returns.

Bai Vish, me see you mek up you own headline. Wah kine ah rass you put up deh bai? Me bin ah hide andah Skelden Skats School, but me does cheat wen abie get test and me does pass wan wan time doe. You prappa good.

Canadian immigration is very strict. They use to check carefully how much time I spent living in America every time I came back to Canada to keep my Canadian residency.

They do keep a record of the number of months you are away,this will come to play when you reach 65 years and applying for Old Age Benefits.

His citizenship is the least of his problems.  He is a piss poor speaker. Babbling from notes that sound like he copied it from somewhere. His entire speech, he did not once say what he has to offer the Guyanese people.  He has no track record. No agenda. Nothing.

If duh duh du, Ramotar and Duh Duh du Iffart are are PPP viable I do not worry about that. One has to have goals and beliefs that support those goals and in time that will come. 

None of the Gimpex U people had a track record when they took office in 92, Most barely finished high school. Speaking to t he needs of Guyanese in general and Amerindians in particular is no problem. And there are many to help.

@Former Member. Sometime back in mid to late 70s, an Amerindian family was living at my grandparents' home. My grandmother had a habit to saying yes whenever anyone ask her if she had space for someone to stay. The Amerindian family's last name was Narine. They consist of father, mother, two brothers and one sister. Their initials in like order were P.N., E.N., S.N., J.N., & V.N. Any relations to you?

If duh duh du, Ramotar and Duh Duh du Iffart are are PPP viable I do not worry about that. One has to have goals and beliefs that support those goals and in time that will come. 

None of the Gimpex U people had a track record when they took office in 92, Most barely finished high school. Speaking to t he needs of Guyanese in general and Amerindians in particular is no problem. And there are many to help.

No need to resort to name calling if you don't have a proper rebuttal.  This guy is completely out of touch with anything that goes on in Guyana.  He shows up at his party launch with 6 pages of paper that he reads in a monotone.  Ramotar and Irfaan way out of his league.

You are really slow. You have no argument. You said the man is a poor speakers. I give you illustrations of truly horrible speakers, one a president and the other aspiring to be president. I told you that if he has a firm understanding of what he is to do he will be fine. Your fixation with him is to be contrasted with the PNC fixation with him and for t he same reasons. He stand to put a wedge in your party aspirations.

@Former Member. Sometime back in mid to late 70s, an Amerindian family was living at my grandparents' home. My grandmother had a habit to saying yes whenever anyone ask her if she had space for someone to stay. The Amerindian family's last name was Narine. They consist of father, mother, two brothers and one sister. Their initials in like order were P.N., E.N., S.N., J.N., & V.N. Any relations to you?

We always had our own home where ever we were.  My father's parents were not poor and my father did not trust anyone with my sister and I except family. After he passed we were never away from my aunt or my mother.  My aunt ( father's sister) was dropped out of university to look after us.  She took us everywhere she went. My brother came when we were pre teens. His father is different. He was dutch. All of us were out of Guyana in the late seventies. My Amerindian families that I know of were not town people. They lived in Kaikan and Muruka. 

Thanks. I was just wondering given that you spoke recently about coming to GT so your mom can further her education. That family was very nice and friendly. I don’t think they spent much time at my grandparents home but I am not sure if they went back home or moved to their own place. Thanks to my grandma I was able to fall in love with this Brazilian girl. She was probably twice my age and I was probably under 10 but I knew I love her. I don’t know where she and her sister went after they left the house. Lots of people stayed there including a family who were there when my grandma passed leaving no other survivors there.