“APNU did not come to my rescue”

Former APNU Member Jaipaul Sharma

– Sharma says as JFAP quits coalition

By Svetlana Marshall

The CN Sharma led Justice For All Party (JFAP) has pulled out of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) coalition on Friday, one day after its member Jaipaul Sharma resigned as a Member of Parliament (MP) for the coalition.

Speaking with Guyana Times on Friday, the former APNU MP expressed disappointment that he was left out in the cold when Education Minister Priya Manickchand attempted to question his integrity.

On Tuesday during the heated budget debate, the Education Minister alluded to the then APNU MP while another Opposition member was addressing the issue of rapists and paedophiles. He said his father CN Sharma is unhappy that none of the leading APNU members sitting in the front row objected to Manickchand’s heckle.

“APNU did not do well in protecting the coalition. I was waiting for them, but when no one got up, I decided to protect myself,” Sharma explained.

Ban lifted

He recalled that it was the Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman who spoke out in his defence initially. The Speaker had banned the Education Minister from debating on the 2014 Budget upon her failure to apologise to Sharma.

On Wednesday, the ban was lifted after an apology was given to the House but not directly to Sharma.

Nevertheless, the former APNU MP said had it been a People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member who was offended, the response would have been totally different.

Justifying his position, Sharma referenced the June 27, 2013 incident when APNU MP Vanessa Kissoon heckled “Like father, like son.” At the time, Public Works Minister Robeson Benn was making an address in the House.

It is alleged that the Public Works Minister’s son had physically abused his ex-girlfriend. Sharma was keen on pointing out that Government’s Chief Whip Gail Teixeira almost immediately stood up in Robeson’s defence, asking the Speaker to have Kissoon withdraw the statement. Kissoon had apologised upon the request.

It was only on Thursday that APNU issued a terse statement condemning Manickchand’s posture in the Assembly, two days after the incident occurred.

Double standards

The former MP also chided the Education Minister for her apparent double standards, asking why she did not publicly chastise the Public Works Minister over allegations levied against his son.

“She is a woman of double stands. I was not the one speaking, but she heckled me. CN Sharma is not a rapist, I am not a rapist,” he lamented. “It is an allegation and it is yet to be proven. The matter against my father is in court and Priya, as a lawyer, should know this,” he added.

Sharma is contending that his move to resign from the National Assembly is not intended to sabotage the APNU over his displeasure. According to him, “I was well supported in the coalition, they saw me as an asset, but I can no longer be a part of the APNU.”

He explained that the JFAP would not have another sitting member on the coalition, noting that he was simply trying to protect the integrity of the APNU.

“The Government said that it will be cleaning up the city, so I will clean up the APNU. We don’t want anyone sitting on the coalition and when he or she goes to speak, then they are accused of being closely associated with rapists or paedophiles, so we are going to remove ourselves,” Sharma explained.

According to him, he is doing the coalition a favour. “I am helping the APNU.” The former APNU Member said based on his analysis of the 2014 Budget, there will be a snap election soon and the PPP/C is using allegations against his father as a political ploy to discredit the coalition.

“I am a principled man and my decision is final. I am going to return to my father’s party and we will contest the elections. I will remain in politics,” he said.

Full support

His father told Guyana Times that he was in full support of his son’s decision. When he was asked about a possible replacement on the coalition, CN Sharma said there was no one else in the JFAP that is capable of sitting on the coalition bench.

“We don’t mind if the Opposition puts one of its members there, because we don’t have anyone,” he said.

Speaking at the Leader of the Opposition’s Office on Friday, APNU MP, Dr George Norton told the press that Sharma was an asset to the coalition – someone specialised in economics.

While admitting that the coalition has not received a formal notification, Norton said APNU is now discussing a replacement for Sharma. He has, however, declined to disclose whether the coalition has shortlisted anyone for the key position.

The APNU must have a replacement if the coalition is to keep its one-seat majority in the House.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Granger treated  Sharma of the justice for all party, just as Burnham treated Peter Deguir of the United Force.

Interesting analogy. Can you imagine a PNC coalition where they seize full power and expel the minority partner? 

Granger treated  Sharma of the justice for all party, just as Burnham treated Peter Deguir of the United Force.

History always repeats itself. PNC fails to defend an Indo member.

Chandisingh, Vincent Teekah, even balram singh rai had a taste of the wrath of the P.N.C.  Those who forgets the past are condemned to repeat it.

Those who support the AFC must take note.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Look like dis bai get lil pay off.

Not everyone put themselves for Sale like you.

Aye yu wite mout. Go eat yu lil kackabelly and drink wite rum.

YUh Crabdaag YUh, guh suh wid yuh Fleas.

Crabdaags na gat fleas jackass. exit de basement and get lil freshair na. alcohol abuse gee yu wite mout.

Quote: CN Sharma is not a rapist..... - Jaipaul Sharma

I believe this will be proven incorrect. And when it does, my disgust for CN Sharma will grow even greater if that is even possible.

Quote: When he was asked about a possible replacement on the coalition, CN Sharma said there was no one else in the JFAP that is capable of sitting on the coalition bench. - CN Sharma.

Quite conceited. How does this make all the other members of the JFAP feel? I guess that if Sharma ends up in jail and Jaipaul doesn't care to lead the JFAP, it will become defunct.

Chandisingh, Vincent Teekah, even balram singh rai had a taste of the wrath of the P.N.C.  Those who forgets the past are condemned to repeat it.

Aye, keep Balram Singh Rai out of this. He was never a PNC man or in the PNC. The other two were there. Read you damn history.

History always repeats itself. PNC fails to defend an Indo member.

Well said, but some of us are still blind.

With an outburst like that, how can CN Sharma get a fair trial?

@Mitwah, what does Sharma trial have to do with his son resignation, he just felt he was not supported by Apnu members, and in a statement by Jairam , he admitted he is not qualify for debate, and we know what transpire in parliament. In fairness to him he make reference of Public works Minister and his son. But according to Jaipaul and his father , there is no other person qualify in JFAP   but themselves, leaving APNU smiling.

that is why they close down parlament,there is more to come start getting ready for a early election

Hey Warria,
I am going to go back and vote. I will also recruit a lot of PPP supporters and encourage them to vote early and often.

The PNC is the same AFRO based racist party.

Here again is the curse...bloody shit heads like you are always quick to massage the race card...those black folks will always be up to no good!

The Justice for all party has learn an important lesson, NEVER trust the PNC aka APNU. The JFAP is re-living the UF experience

Lets get something straight...the PNC never accused the fellow of any infraction.It is a plump PPP members with no standards who did the deed. That underachiever never saw any of the PPPite from Beri Beri, the good Pandit, etc as wrong doers. Further, she did not see the topic of sexual  abuse as worthy of being discussed.,... Like the crass ignoramus she is she  referenced another vile incident to derail any discourse on the measure. It has been her habit. She could never to the right thing.

BTW, what moral  grounds do you have  to speak of this? Why in the world do you think it is appropriate to paste the child statement on a public forum. Do  you know of the potential injury from such public knowledge of revelations given in confidence can cause this child?

You folks are scums. If it can bring a political coin then it is good for you! Such moral relativism can only find fertile ground in ass holes like you. A thing is moral only if it can bring you some personal gain!

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The PNC refused to defend Sharma because they didn't want their dogs out there watching to think for a second that they are Indian Party

What utter rubbish from you.  Only a mud brain can think like this.

Look we all know how the law of the land operates. If you are not part of the PPP close circle, you a guilty unless proven innocent in a kangaroo court. If you are with the PPP then you are innocent no matter what the circumstances of the case is.

“APNU did not come to my rescue”

– Sharma says as JFAP quits coalition

By Svetlana Marshall

The CN Sharma led Justice For All Party (JFAP) has pulled out of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) coalition on Friday, one day after its member Jaipaul Sharma resigned as a Member of Parliament (MP) for the coalition.

Speaking with Guyana Times on Friday, the former APNU MP expressed disappointment that he was left out in the cold when Education Minister Priya Manickchand attempted to question his integrity.

On Tuesday during the heated budget debate, the Education Minister alluded to the then APNU MP while another Opposition member was addressing the issue of rapists and paedophiles. He said his father CN Sharma is unhappy that none of the leading APNU members sitting in the front row objected to Manickchand’s heckle.

“APNU did not do well in protecting the coalition. I was waiting for them, but when no one got up, I decided to protect myself,” Sharma explained.

Ban lifted

He recalled that it was the Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman who spoke out in his defence initially. The Speaker had banned the Education Minister from debating on the 2014 Budget upon her failure to apologise to Sharma.

On Wednesday, the ban was lifted after an apology was given to the House but not directly to Sharma.

Nevertheless, the former APNU MP said had it been a People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Member who was offended, the response would have been totally different.

Justifying his position, Sharma referenced the June 27, 2013 incident when APNU MP Vanessa Kissoon heckled “Like father, like son.” At the time, Public Works Minister Robeson Benn was making an address in the House.

It is alleged that the Public Works Minister’s son had physically abused his ex-girlfriend. Sharma was keen on pointing out that Government’s Chief Whip Gail Teixeira almost immediately stood up in Robeson’s defence, asking the Speaker to have Kissoon withdraw the statement. Kissoon had apologised upon the request.

It was only on Thursday that APNU issued a terse statement condemning Manickchand’s posture in the Assembly, two days after the incident occurred.

Double standards

The former MP also chided the Education Minister for her apparent double standards, asking why she did not publicly chastise the Public Works Minister over allegations levied against his son.

“She is a woman of double stands. I was not the one speaking, but she heckled me. CN Sharma is not a rapist, I am not a rapist,” he lamented. “It is an allegation and it is yet to be proven. The matter against my father is in court and Priya, as a lawyer, should know this,” he added.

Sharma is contending that his move to resign from the National Assembly is not intended to sabotage the APNU over his displeasure. According to him, “I was well supported in the coalition, they saw me as an asset, but I can no longer be a part of the APNU.”

He explained that the JFAP would not have another sitting member on the coalition, noting that he was simply trying to protect the integrity of the APNU.

“The Government said that it will be cleaning up the city, so I will clean up the APNU. We don’t want anyone sitting on the coalition and when he or she goes to speak, then they are accused of being closely associated with rapists or paedophiles, so we are going to remove ourselves,” Sharma explained.

According to him, he is doing the coalition a favour. “I am helping the APNU.” The former APNU Member said based on his analysis of the 2014 Budget, there will be a snap election soon and the PPP/C is using allegations against his father as a political ploy to discredit the coalition.

“I am a principled man and my decision is final. I am going to return to my father’s party and we will contest the elections. I will remain in politics,” he said.

Full support

His father told Guyana Times that he was in full support of his son’s decision. When he was asked about a possible replacement on the coalition, CN Sharma said there was no one else in the JFAP that is capable of sitting on the coalition bench.

“We don’t mind if the Opposition puts one of its members there, because we don’t have anyone,” he said.

Speaking at the Leader of the Opposition’s Office on Friday, APNU MP, Dr George Norton told the press that Sharma was an asset to the coalition – someone specialised in economics.

While admitting that the coalition has not received a formal notification, Norton said APNU is now discussing a replacement for Sharma. He has, however, declined to disclose whether the coalition has shortlisted anyone for the key position.

The APNU must have a replacement if the coalition is to keep its one-seat majority in the House.

This is a telling conclusion as to why Granja cannot win.

They think because Sharma does not talk them high class english he dumb, but that banna smart more than all of them put together in the field of finance.

Well except for Winston (now dead) and Carl (we 2 years from retiring)

APNU dead.  Who will be their economic spokesman, Tarron Khemraj.

Ashniu will make mince meat of him.

The dream of the APNU winning is OVER.

Who will be their economic spokesman, Tarron Khemraj.

Ashniu will make mince meat of him.

The dream of the APNU winning is OVER.

-----------------------------------------------

The PPP will make coconut choka out of the opposition AFC/PNC. Five more years.

Indo Guyanese are now seeing the true colours of the PNC. PNC Afro racism is alive and well.

Good for Sharma. The PNC kicked him to the curb. This must be a lesson for any Indo who wants to join the PNC.

Interesting analogy. Can you imagine a PNC coalition where they seize full power and expel the minority partner? 

Excuse me but where is Civic, you know that Bantustan set up by Cheddi to keep blacks from gaining any influence within the PPP, Sam Hinds being exhibit one of that?

The PPP will make coconut choka out of the opposition AFC/PNC. Five more years.

Indo Guyanese are now seeing the true colours of the PNC. PNC Afro racism is alive and well.

Good for Sharma. The PNC kicked him to the curb. This must be a lesson for any Indo who wants to join the PNC.

And Africans and mixed voters and many Amerindians have seen the true color of the PPP as well.  That is why your support fell from 54% in 2006, to 49% in 2011.

Continue to think that an appeal to Indian insecurities is sufficient to attract majority votes.  What you fail to understand is that the fast increasing segment of the voters are mixed people, the vast majority of whom vote either APNU or AFC, because they see the PPP as an Indocentric party packed with thieves and racists.

PNC is a wuss.  Trotman is a WUSS.

This was black man oppression of an East Indian.  All them Indians running back to PPP.

But still PPP cannot win 51 percent.

Look at your flawed logic. An Indian women criticizes an Indian man, because she thinks that he is a traitor because he isn't with the Indians.  APNU behaves as it always does.  It slumbers, periodically waking up to block some PPP initiative.

And now this is black man oppressing Indians.  Now explain to me how one Indian maligning another Indian becomes evidence of black racism? 

When has APNU initiated anything positive for Linden, instead of reacting when they think that the AFC might penetrate their base there?  How aggressive has APNU defended the people of G/twn against the PPP which deliberately ignores it, in a silly attempt to think that they can win PPP votes by making the G/twn City Council look inept? Recall that was NOT the PNC which was voted in to run G/twn in 1994.

PNC is a wuss.  Trotman is a WUSS.

This was black man oppression of an East Indian.  All them Indians running back to PPP.

But still PPP cannot win 51 percent.

Look at your flawed logic. An Indian women criticizes an Indian man, because she thinks that he is a traitor because he isn't with the Indians.  APNU behaves as it always does.  It slumbers, periodically waking up to block some PPP initiative.

And now this is black man oppressing Indians.  Now explain to me how one Indian maligning another Indian becomes evidence of black racism? 

When has APNU initiated anything positive for Linden, instead of reacting when they think that the AFC might penetrate their base there?  How aggressive has APNU defended the people of G/twn against the PPP which deliberately ignores it, in a silly attempt to think that they can win PPP votes by making the G/twn City Council look inept? Recall that was NOT the PNC which was voted in to run G/twn in 1994.

The East Indians in the PPP using their black stooge, Trotyman to do their dirty deed and the soft Granja oblivious  to the oppression and silence and NON ACTION ending up allowing the oppression to continue to oppress.

Trrottyman with his flawed logics cause sharma to run.

PNC sleeping, the smoke PPP drugs.