Region 6 runs out of money to purchase fuel .. these hardworking Indians pay their taxes and this racist government decide how much they should get back, while most of the hard earn sweat of Indians is spend in Afro Villages 

Govt cut fuel budget by almost $70 million – Chairman

The Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne) administration has run out of money to purchase fuel to pump water into the cultivation areas on the Corentyne and the Black Bush Polder. This is according to Regional Chairman David Armogan.

Regional Chairman David Armogan

In explaining the plight, Armogan said the administration was only able to pay for 90,000 litres of fuel, which is equivalent to about 20,000 gallons.
“This is far from adequate,” he said.
In the Black Bush Polder, where there are five pumps, 1200 gallons of fuel is needed per day. Hence, the fuel purchased is estimated to last for about 15 days if all five pumps are in operation.
“If you are operating only for 15 days, what happens to the rest of the crop after the 15 days would have expired? Then crops will spoil. It’s not the something that we want,” Armogan said.
An additional 40,000 gallons of fuel will be needed for the rest of the year but according to the Chairman, there is no money available to purchase fuel.
“The Government cut the fuel budget by almost $70 million which would have been adequate to purchase fuel to last us until the end of the crop. Unfortunately, that is not possible and I am very worried as to what will take place if some intervention is not made at this point in time by Central Government or by the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA). Farmers will be in trouble,” the Regional Chairman added.
Armogan told this publication that he has been meeting with farmers in the Black Bush Polder and explaining the current situation so that they can make informed decisions as to whether to go into the crop.
He explained that currently, only two pumps are functioning in the Polder since there is not enough fuel to operate all five of the pumps.
“This is the time of the year that the farmers need water to begin to crop and during this period normally all five pumps are put into operation.”
The water is also irrigated to the Corentyne and utilised by farmers in the 52-72 area.
“So, if Black Bush is not able to get enough water for themselves for the rice and cash crops within Black Bush Polder, and the front lands depend on water from the Polder, then there will be no production in the front lands.”
Meanwhile, the Rice Producers Association has also been apprised on the situation.
Farmers in the Yakusari [one of the four Polders that make up Black Bush] are faced with an additional problem. Two canals which take water to the farmers are blocked and even if fuel is sourced and all of the pumps are put into operation, water will not get to those farmers.
The canals must be cleared.
According to Armogan, the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA) has since been contacted.
The two canals are the YS Canal and the JY Canal.
The regional administration had given a contractor the job of cleaning the YS Canal several months ago. However, the contractor’s excavator reportedly experienced mechanical problems and he could not have done the work.
“Only now they have decided to call in the contractor when the situation has reached a crisis level,” Armogan said.
That contractor has now informed the administration that he is now in a position to execute the contract since his machine has been repaired.
However, the Regional Chairman said it would require two machines at this point in time to get the work done if farmers in the Yakusari area are to go into the spring crop.
Farmers between the 51 and Good Hope Villages are also dependent on the YS Canal.
The Chairman said the decision is now Government’s as to whether it wants farmers in the Black Bush Polder to proceed with the crop. He said the administration will continue to advise farmers on the current situation and they will have to decide whether they want to take the risk and start planting.
If they do this and there is no water available, the Chairman added, it will mean total destruction of all the crops planted.
“This is something we don’t want farmers to get involved in because these are people who still owe the banks large sums of money, and if they don’t get this rice crop going and if they do not make money out of it, they will not be able to meet their financial obligations to the banks that they are indebted to,” the Regional Chairman explained to Guyana Times (Andrew Carmichael)

O Rass, the PNC orchestrated genocide has officially commenced. In de meanwhile, dem so big eye dat dem give one of dem Mattie a piece of land bigger than Georgetown ! 
How de Rass Moses and de rum sucka Rumjattan ain’t speaking out ? Like dem rub black pat on dem face ? 

O Rass, the PNC orchestrated genocide has officially commenced. In de meanwhile, dem so big eye dat dem give one of dem Mattie a piece of land bigger than Georgetown ! 
How de Rass Moses and de rum sucka Rumjattan ain’t speaking out ? Like dem rub black pat on dem face ? 

They can't. They will suffer the same fate as Rodney and Teekah did.

Bai, as Nehru would say. Dem mouth in dem kakahole. 😀

The AFC does not have a voice in this government and therefore it is a waste of time to seek their help.  They just can't help the people of region 6.

They don’t have Charandas’ courage and conscience.

Minister of Agriculture, Noel Holder [second from left) in discussion with rice farmers (DPI photo)

Minister of Agriculture, Noel Holder (second from left) in discussion with rice farmers (DPI photo)

Excavator to clear clogged canals in Region 6 – ministry

November 11 2019

The Ministry of Agriculture has told rice farmers in Region 6, that they are working on getting clogged canals cleared and fuel for pumps to irrigate the lands.The Department of Public Information (DPI) said that to this end, excavators have been deployed to the area.

DPI said that the issue arose when Minister of Agriculture, Noel Holder and a team visited Number 55 Village and Black Bush Polder on Friday.The farmers, most of whom have already prepared their fields, are awaiting water before they begin planting the next crop. They told the minister and his team that it is essential they start before the end of the year to avoid having to harvest during the rainy season next year.

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA), Frederick Flatts said that they had previously installed five pumps to address this situation.

Responding to concerns that only two of the pumps are functional, Holder said that this is due to negligence on the part of the regional administration. He said that the government had put systems in place to have NDIA handle the main Drainage and Irrigation (D&I) and the administrative regions handle the secondary drains. This, he said, was agreed in 2018, however, the Region 6 administration backtracked on the agreement, thus resulting in many of the issues currently being faced.

A meeting has been scheduled for tomorrow at the NDIA for follow-up intervention.

Reported by Stabroek News.

lemme help out DUNCEMAN Dave here

the term you are reaching so ineptly for in your topic title is "persecute" not "prosecute"

there is a difference, arite?

It's better than writing in brackets and dashes, dots, question marks, and other unexplained symbols. Us cane kuttahs na bin too far fuh learn de meanin ah dem big, big words. Dah doan me abie cyan't use dem. Peeple cyan handastan.

has told rice farmers in Region 6. Pay attention to the word TOLD. It would not happen in this janam. you might say coolies helped put them there. I agree.

that they are working on getting clogged canals cleared and fuel for pumps to irrigate the lands.The Department of Public Information (DPI) said that to this end, excavators have been deployed to the area.

Above is for clarity on the statement.

Noticeably there are no SOURCE for Dave article.

has told rice farmers in Region 6. Pay attention to the word TOLD. It would not happen in this janam. you might say coolies helped put them there. I agree.

that they are working on getting clogged canals cleared and fuel for pumps to irrigate the lands.The Department of Public Information (DPI) said that to this end, excavators have been deployed to the area.

Bhai Django, saying one thing and doing it is what I am referring to. PNC has demonstrated to its supporters that they only care for their own.

lemme help out DUNCEMAN Dave here

the term you are reaching so ineptly for in your topic title is "persecute" not "prosecute"

there is a difference, arite?

It’s a typo erro and thanks for the correction. 

Stop with your cheap shot. If you have focus and read the article in details, it says it below. Here is a mention of who write the article. Poor you!

You need look at the bigger picture here and what’s more important. 

Images (2)
  • mceclip0
  • mceclip1

Bhai Django, saying one thing and doing it is what I am referring to. PNC has demonstrated to its supporters that they only care for their own.

Skelly bai, this has been the norm with both parties. Nothing will change as long as the. PNC and.the PPP exist. It's a sad reality, and not many will accept this.  Guyana needs a party that will catering for the needs of all its citizens.

I agree. It's election time and votes are at a premium.

Stop with your cheap shot.

If you have focus and read the article in details, it says it below. Here is a mention of who write the article. Poor you!

You need look at the bigger picture here and what’s more important.

Source [link] and date of article needed, i am aware the article is from GuyanaTimes. Well every one aware of the destabilizing actions of Region 6 administrators.

Watch Dave's TV CH 8 [ not belong to you ] will get some facts.