APNU/AFC who signed Exxon’s deal now willing to support negotiation

AFC Executive, David Patterson.

Kaieteur News – Even after being a part of the coalition government that signed and failed to renegotiate the lopsided Stabroek Block Agreement, General Secretary of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and now Shadow Oil and Gas Minister David Patterson, has given his assurances that the coalition in opposition will support the People’s Progressive Party /Civic government if they wish to renegotiate the ExxonMobil deal.
Patterson made these utterances during a Kaieteur Radio programme, Guyana’s Oil & You on its end-of-year edition, where he told the panel of industry experts and listeners that during their five years in government, while holding the power and authority, the former A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) never got the chance to correct the poor provisions in the deal.
Examples of a few of these sub-standard provisions, which are crafted in such ways that Guyana would suffer significant value leakage, include Guyana paying Exxon’s billions of dollars in taxes; pre-contract costs discrepancies; unspecified interest rates expensed to Guyana for loans to the oil entities; weak environmental standards; Guyana’s inability to control the amount of oil being produced; and infrastructure cost anomalies between the Liza One & Liza Two Floating Production, Storage and Offloading (FPSO) vessels.
If the new PPP/C government wishes to renegotiate such a deal, Patterson indicated, the coalition will be offering their “unconditional support”.
Notably, during his time as Opposition Leader, now Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo had repeatedly trashed the Exxon deal. Even in late December, the VP had taken issue with the fact that some of the wording of the Stabroek Block Production Sharing Agreement (PSA) creates the impression that ExxonMobil and its co-contractors have sovereignty over Guyana.
He had said, in fact that “I do have problems with making it seem as though Exxon has sovereignty within a sovereign nation. I do have problems with that kind of configuration,” the VP had said, “and some parts, wording of the contract confers or creates that impression that they have sovereignty over the country.”
But even with these concerning reservations and criticisms, the VP and the PPP/C government have refused to renegotiate the contract.

Behold President Ali's loyal opposition.

What took them so long? Now Mitwah, Tota, and Tola can join their brothers in opposition and kneel before his excellence Dr. Irfaan Mohamed Ali. You can't beat them join them.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What took them so long? Now Mitwah, Tota, and Tola can join their brothers in opposition and kneel before his excellence Dr. Irfaan Mohamed Ali. You can't beat them join them.

Kneel before fraudster Irfaan Ali?  You head good?  The only time I would kneel before him is if it gives me chance to draw my sword and chop his ugly head off.

@Ramakant-P posted:

How could they? Your sycophantic mouth would make them gag!

@Totaram posted:

Kneel before fraudster Irfaan Ali?  You head good?  The only time I would kneel before him is if it gives me chance to draw my sword and chop his ugly head off.

You better get good knee pads because you know what you can do when you decide to kneel before him.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You better get good knee pads because you know what you can do when you decide to kneel before him.

You know, huh? Hahahahahahaha........

@Ramakant-P posted:

Please stick with the issues at hand.  This is a new year. You must have made some new resolutions.

Why yes! I decided to continue to be me! Incorrigible and iconoclastic as ever!

@Ramakant-P posted:

You fooking piece of shit.  You will always be chupid.  A crabdaaag coolie *****.  You are the one who is sucking Jagdeo's dead kak and you are writing shit here. Crawl back into your hole you braying dankey.   

@Django posted:

APNU/AFC who signed Exxon’s deal now willing to support negotiation

AFC Executive, David Patterson.

Kaieteur News – Even after being a part of the coalition government that signed and failed to renegotiate the lopsided Stabroek Block Agreement, General Secretary of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and now Shadow Oil and Gas Minister David Patterson, has given his assurances that the coalition in opposition will support the People’s Progressive Party /Civic government if they wish to renegotiate the ExxonMobil deal.

Stabroek block agreement was one of the best decisions we ever made- AFC Leader

By Editor - 0, Source - Guyana Standard - https://www.guyanastandard.com...ver-made-afc-leader/

Even though local, regional and international oil experts and organizations have criticized the Stabroek Block Production Sharing Agreement for being grossly in favour of ExxonMobil, AFC Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan still believes that the contract represents one of the best decisions the coalition ever made while in office.

During a late night live stream on the APNU+AFC’s Facebook Page, Ramjattan pointed to a few factors which influenced the deal Guyana negotiated and accepted.

The former Minister said, “You had Venezuela coming down our backs and doing a decree that all the water out there belongs to them and they had chased ExxonMobil from working there.”

He added, “We also had people advising us who said that in a matter of years, when the world transitions to renewables, the price of oil will go down very very low so people said it is best that we have Exxon out there…”
Ramjattan was keen to note as well that oil, unlike Guyana’s sugar industry, is a money maker while adding that the economy stands to benefit greatly from it. The Opposition Member also sought to note that the former regime was able to negotiate a better deal than the 1999 one that was issued by the Janet Jagan administration. Referencing some of the “improvements” the coalition made to the deal, Ramjattan boasted that Guyana was able to get an US$18M signing bonus, a 50 take of profit oil, and a two percent royalty instead of one.

The former Minister said, “…So we got a better deal than Jagan… You have to remember that Exxon had a 40 year exploration contract and they could have locked off the Liza well and say we going and explore more . So what you think would have happened ? By 2020 we won’t have oil money…”

Irrespective of what the local critics may be saying on a daily basis, Ramjattan maintains that it is all noise in the face of the improvements he pointed to.

Since the release of the 2016 Stabroek Block deal in 2017, many local and international stakeholders have said that the contract leaves Guyana exposed to wanton abuse since it has no ringfencing provisions which prevent costs associated with other fields to be deducted from the revenue gained from a producing field. The deal has also been criticized for having a paltry US$300,000 contribution to local content as well as having no provisions in place for proper insurance coverage for oil spills.

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/KHEMRAJ-RAMJATTAN.jpg

========================

Interesting perspectives by Khemraj Ramjattan and David Patterson.

Totaram ...

Focus on the topic and cease with your unrelated statements  --

"APNU/AFC who signed Exxon’s deal now willing to support negotiation"

Thank you.

Demerara_Guy == Modertor

@Totaram posted:

You fooking piece of shit.  You will always be chupid.  A crabdaaag coolie *****.  You are the one who is sucking Jagdeo's dead kak and you are writing shit here. Crawl back into your hole you braying dankey.

@Totaram posted:

The truth hurts, isn't it?

Such grammar! Use doesn't it! Not isn't! Poorly educated PPP trash!

You better watch your own posts and make the corrections.   The post isn't about speaking grammatically correct English. It's about your dumb PNC and all the money they stole.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You better watch your own posts and make the corrections.   The post isn't about speaking grammatically correct English. It's about your dumb PNC and all the money they stole.

Suh dem PPP thieves must be smart crab daags, eh.

@Ramakant-P posted:

And you have proof, huh? Incidentally, to which posts of mine are you referring? The ones where Guyanese creolese are phonetically spelled? Your ignorance is unsurpassed! Be appreciative of that! At least!

@Totaram posted:

Mental breakdown.

Totaram ...

Thank you.

Demerara_Guy == Modertor

This response tells me that you are condoning his behavior. Nehru was suspended for saying less.

@Ramakant-P posted:

This response tells me that you are condoning his behavior. Nehru was suspended for saying less.

You are a big bully and a stupid bully.  You are stupid big bully.  You get a free pass writing crap and the moderator is cautioning me.  Now you want me suspended?  You are a big stupid bully.

@Totaram posted:

Totaram ...

Thank you.

Demerara_Guy == Modertor

@Ramakant-P posted:

Ramakant_P ...

Totaram has been advised; consequences will follow should he continue with such behaviour.

@Totaram posted:

You are a big bully and a stupid bully.  You are stupid big bully.  You get a free pass writing crap and the moderator is cautioning me.  Now you want me suspended?  You are a big stupid bully.

With a tiny head!

Ramakant_P ...

Totaram has been advised; consequences will follow should he continue with such behaviour.

You are being unfair. Your comments show how prejudiced you are.

@Mitwah posted:

You are being unfair. Your comments show how prejudiced you are.

Of course, he is.  He was before and he hasn't changed.  These are the kinds of people that I would like a shot at in real life.  What a tin pot dictator.  Let it be clear that I retaliate, I don't ever initiate attacks. 

@Totaram posted:

Of course, he is.  He was before and he hasn't changed.  These are the kinds of people that I would like a shot at in real life.  What a tin pot dictator.  Let it be clear that I retaliate, I don't ever initiate attacks.

Cry babies, please!