APNU/AFC spent $290M from lotto fund on 2020 Jubilee

…$88.2M for flag raising; $50M for Carnival, Buju Banton concert

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Amna-Ali.jpgFile photo: PNCR General Secretary Amna Ally distributing tickets for the Buju Banton concert in 2019

The 2019 Auditor General report has revealed that the former A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Government spent some $290 million from the lotto fund on Guyana’s 2020 Golden Jubilee, among other things.

According to the report, $600 million was budgeted for funds from the lotto fund under the category of miscellaneous revenue. However, the former Government only transferred $32.5 million to the Consolidated Fund. The rest was spent on a number of activities.

For instance, $290 million was spent on cultural activities related to the Golden Jubilee, which was held in February 2020 and featured a number of competitions and even commemorative pieces.

Further, $150 million was spent to rehabilitate grounds and recreational parks, while $88.2 million was spent on the flag-raising ceremony back in 2019. The former Government also spent $49.4 million to send Guyana’s delegation to Carifesta XIV in Trinidad and Tobago in 2019.

Meanwhile, $27.8 million was spent hosting the emancipation celebration activities. The AG revealed that a further $50 million was spent supporting the Guyana Carnival 2019 and for the Buju Banton “Long Walk to Freedom” concert.

In 2019, then Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo had lambasted the former Government for purchasing $40 million worth in tickets for the upcoming Buju Banton show, with hard-earned taxpayers’ dollars.

Jagdeo had revealed that the money was used to purchase 8000 tickets for the show which was held at the Guyana National Stadium and which were then handed out to the people. The cost of each ticket was $5000.

At the time, then Social Protection Minister Amna Ally had denied that Government monies were used to purchase the tickets. According to Ally, the monies were not taken from the public coffers but were, in fact, People’s National Congress (PNC) money.

The AG also found that $45 million was used from the fund to purchase equipment and do infrastructural work for the Linden Broadcasting Network, as well as $11.4 million for sponsoring Guyana’s senior football team to participate in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2019.

The former APNU/AFC Government has previously been red-flagged for its use of the lotto fund. In his 2015 report, the Auditor General had said that Government used millions from the fund for the building of the controversial D’Urban Park, Georgetown, without parliamentary approval.

According to Sharma’s findings, the Guyana Government was using the 24 per cent of the lottery proceeds it was earning to spend with Cabinet approval. Sharma, in his report, noted that at the beginning of 2015, that account held some $1.4 billion and it received an additional $421 million in 2015.

The Auditor General had said that following checks on the accounts, it was found that while Government transferred $1 billion of that money to the Consolidated Fund In 2015, it held on to just over half a billion dollars to remain under the control of the Ministry of the Presidency and it spent $305 million on various activities.

According to a breakdown of the expenditure provided by the Auditor General, $36.5 million went towards the rehabilitation of the controversial D’Urban Park; $63.7 million went towards Mashramani celebrations while another $51 million was utilised for “music”.

Free money is grappa sweet. It was so sweet that they dance the night away to Buju Banton. One of Granger's supporters was crying on Facebook when she hears the PNC was losing. She said if she had a gun she will kill Irfaan instantly and Granger should rig the election to keep them dancing to free money. Do you see how life is sweet with free money? So Grager put his effort in them old hogs to rig the election to keep the free money flowing.                                                                                     

Congrats to APNU/AFC   

Viper
@Prashad posted:

Guyana is a racist shithole failed State. There is nothing to celebrate.

Guyana will become like Dubai. Jagdeo and his boys will be the latest Sheikhs. They have been doing business with the Arab Sheikhs. Get on the bandwagon and start celebrating.     

@Viper posted:

Free money is grappa sweet. It was so sweet that they dance the night away to Buju Banton. One of Granger's supporters was crying on Facebook when she hears the PNC was losing. She said if she had a gun she will kill Irfaan instantly and Granger should rig the election to keep them dancing to free money. Do you see how life is sweet with free money? So Grager put his effort in them old hogs to rig the election to keep the free money flowing.                                                                                     

Congrats to APNU/AFC   

If you really want to see good life that is fueled with stolen money go to Pradoville.  A little PNC fete is a small time lime compared with the billions stolen from the state and spent in Pradoville and similar enclaves of the PPP crooks. 

Look at "bring it on" Amna Ali smiling with Buju Banton ticket in her hand. The old PNC girl was happy till she gets kicked out by Granger. Do the devil's work and if you cant mech meh data walk and talk, you no good. 

Viper
@Viper posted:

Look at "bring it on" Amna Ali smiling with Buju Banton ticket in her hand. The old PNC girl was happy till she gets kicked out by Granger. Do the devil's work and if you cant mech meh data walk and talk, you no good. 

You are now writing unadulterated crap. 

@Totaram posted:

If you really want to see good life that is fueled with stolen money go to Pradoville.  A little PNC fete is a small time lime compared with the billions stolen from the state and spent in Pradoville and similar enclaves of the PPP crooks.

No, Ram! I think it was drug money mostly!

As a Guyanese East Indian with some West African and Chinese ancestry, I have always felt much much much more welcoming/accepted around black Jamaicans than black Guyanese. Black Jamaicans are my sisters and brothers. So I guess it is good to have Buju there.

@Prashad posted:

As a Guyanese East Indian with some West African and Chinese ancestry, I have always felt much much much more welcoming/accepted around black Jamaicans than black Guyanese. Black Jamaicans are my sisters and brothers. So I guess it is good to have Buju there.

That's because of hair! Some people just ent blak enuff fuh dem! Hahahahahaha.. .

They will never grow the fk up! Only grow more hair for their Afros!  Hahahahahaha......

Jamaican  Ns are far more welcoming! That is undeniable!

@Ramakant-P posted:

The Lotto fund has been originally created for the purpose it was used.  That is anything to do with sports and entertainment. There was no crime reported.

It was used to buy votes, via free concert ticket to PNC supporters.

@Prashad posted:

Guyana is a racist shithole failed State. There is nothing to celebrate.

People are celebrating the progress that is being made under the Leadership of Dr. Irfaan Mohamed Ali. Guyana is rising up from the mess the Coalition Government left the country in. Good things are coming.

Old saying "Seeing is believing!" 'the Coalition Government left the country in.' The PPP only got 2 more seats than the coalition, so the coalition must have been doing something right! Well 3, if you include the seat of the deceptive buck man whose party was financed by Jagdeo! Stop straining your bowels! You're going to have hemorhoids!

Guyana will always be a will country. Prashad remember when Demerara Guy and Burnham told the nation that Guyana will become the hydro energy supplier to the Caribbean. Must be a hydro seed they were talking about that will occur after lifting all of those rotten scrap iron. He also remember when Ray and Burham told the nation that KSl will make the small man the real man. Must be a penis pump they were talking about.

Old saying "Seeing is believing!" 'the Coalition Government left the country in.' The PPP only got 2 more seats than the coalition, so the coalition must have been doing something right! Well 3, if you include the seat of the deceptive buck man whose party was financed by Jagdeo! Stop straining your bowels! You're going to have hemorhoids!

'Seeing is believing'.  Have you seen the progress being made by the PPP/C government?  The majority (50% + 1) rules even if that majority is by two seats only. Stop crying the PPP won. "Abe on tap"

No! Tell me! Buying people's votes at the Local Government elections with handouts? Like he bought the deceptive buck man, Shuman! Everything else is promises, promises! When the  handout money is finished, you will have to go back to bush rum but will find that the price is inflated due to the handouts!

"Abe on tap"? I always heard that as "Awee on tap"! You must have grown up in the more ignorant part of Guyana!

Have you ever heard about Nabaclis and Golden Grove Village?  They produced the most doctors, lawyers, engineers, Professors, teachers, civil servants, and police officers in the country.  That's where I am from.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Have you ever heard about Nabaclis and Golden Grove Village?  They produced the most doctors, lawyers, engineers, Professors, teachers, civil servants, and police officers in the country.  That's where I am from.

How come you are so stupid?

@Ramakant-P posted:

How come you are such an ass and a lowlife coolie, the worst ever.

See? How easily your racism is provoked because your 'intelligence' is questioned!

@Ramakant-P posted:

WoW!  You are now taking lessons from Totaram whose ignorance has surpassed his stupidity.

Just how is that possible, tell me please! If you're stupid, ignorance doesn't count, dearest Ramakunt! It's not possible! Hahahahahahaha.......

Is it so much above your head to comprehend my rhetorics?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Is it so much above your head to comprehend my rhetorics?

I guess you may be right! I was just thinking how pleasant it would be if I porked you! THAT would shut you up I'm sure!