Major political parties accuse each other of buying votes

May 4, 2015 12:43 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Radha Motielall

General Secretary of the PPP/C, Clement Rohee. [iNews' Photo]

General Secretary of the PPP/C, Clement Rohee. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The APNU + AFC coalition is being accused of having a plan to purchase votes on May 11 by General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C), Clement Rohee, who told the media that the coalition is proposing to pay $10,000 per vote.

Rohee said the PPP was “made to understand, and we’re trying to get the evidence to this effect, that the APNU is paying $10,000 per person who goes to the polling station, vote, takes out with their cell phone a photograph of how they voted and when they leave the polling station, they show that photograph to their people outside, who are supposed to be three yards away, they show how they voted to that person and they’re given the $10,000”.

When contacted, Co-Chair for the coalition’s campaign, Raphael Trotman told iNews that this is “absolute rubbish.”

Co-Chair of the APNU+AFC Coalition, Raphael Trotman.

Trotman stated that “such an act is illegal and we will not condone or support it and in fact we have information that such behaviour is coming from the other side. We are not sitting on the national coffers and using it and abusing it the way the PPP/C is.”

Explaining his counter accusation of the PPP/C, Trotman said from his conversation with overseas-based Guyanese, he was told that the PPP is offering to fly persons home to vote for them.

He said unlike the PPP, “we’re an Opposition; we don’t have access to that kind of money” and if Rohee has evidence to show that the coalition is involved is such practice, then “he should take it to the police”.

Trotman said whatever little money they have is being pushed into their campaign. Meanwhile, Trotman recalled persons exposing on social media, pictures of them voting for the PPP/C during the last elections.

In view of this, he said the coalition has asked that GECOM prohibit voters from taking cell phones into the polling booths. He said while such a decision is entirely up to GECOM, the coalition has made such a request.

yeah rite, like the Coalition has THAT kind of money to throw around

look, the PPP did this most notoriously at the last elections and is trying to get out front on the issue just in case evidence starts to come in that it's in their playbook again . . . foreigners paying close attention on the ground and all

worthwhile to listen closely to what rotee says on these matters . . . FH reverse psychology 101

what will Steve Surujbally do? . . . the world is watching!

Shaits

We know who has the deeper pockets this election.

Watch as dem AFC boys ball and scream when the PPP starts to do the same.

Yeh we all know, the people of Guyana have the pockets, the PPP/C government of Guyana slips their hands in the peoples pockets.

look, the PPP did this most notoriously at the last elections and is trying to get out front on the issue just in case evidence starts to come in that it's in their playbook again . . . foreigners paying close attention on the ground and all

worthwhile to listen closely to what rotee says on these matters . . . FH reverse psychology 101

Steve Surujbally will do what he knows to be right. He will do what is in the national interest.

what do YOU think that is?

He will perform his office and gazette the results.

dude you are muzzled by the dirty PPP money shoved up your craw

your D_G'esque response here is typical of your compromised kind

just look at the low spin of your topic header . . . worthy of councie!

What did I say that was inaccurate? I iterated then reiterated that de man will do his jaab. He gon count de Statements, tally dem up, gazette de totals, and apportion the National Assembly.

Whah moh yuh want de man to do? Mount the hustings and campaign fuh de Coalition?

Major political parties accuse each other of buying votes

May 4, 2015 12:43 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Radha Motielall

General Secretary of the PPP/C, Clement Rohee. [iNews' Photo]

General Secretary of the PPP/C, Clement Rohee. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The APNU + AFC coalition is being accused of having a plan to purchase votes on May 11 by General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C), Clement Rohee, who told the media that the coalition is proposing to pay $10,000 per vote.

Rohee said the PPP was “made to understand, and we’re trying to get the evidence to this effect, that the APNU is paying $10,000 per person who goes to the polling station, vote, takes out with their cell phone a photograph of how they voted and when they leave the polling station, they show that photograph to their people outside, who are supposed to be three yards away, they show how they voted to that person and they’re given the $10,000”.

When contacted, Co-Chair for the coalition’s campaign, Raphael Trotman told iNews that this is “absolute rubbish.”

Trotman stated that “such an act is illegal and we will not condone or support it and in fact we have information that such behaviour is coming from the other side. We are not sitting on the national coffers and using it and abusing it the way the PPP/C is.”

Explaining his counter accusation of the PPP/C, Trotman said from his conversation with overseas-based Guyanese, he was told that the PPP is offering to fly persons home to vote for them.

He said unlike the PPP, “we’re an Opposition; we don’t have access to that kind of money” and if Rohee has evidence to show that the coalition is involved is such practice, then “he should take it to the police”.

Trotman said whatever little money they have is being pushed into their campaign. Meanwhile, Trotman recalled persons exposing on social media, pictures of them voting for the PPP/C during the last elections.

In view of this, he said the coalition has asked that GECOM prohibit voters from taking cell phones into the polling booths. He said while such a decision is entirely up to GECOM, the coalition has made such a request.

Rohee rubbish as usual. That man believes other Guyanese have his sub-standard level of education and are likely to believe him. Looks like yuji22 believes Rohee already.

What did I say that was inaccurate? I iterated then reiterated that de man will do his jaab. He gon count de Statements, tally dem up, gazette de totals, and apportion the National Assembly.

Whah moh yuh want de man to do? Mount the hustings and campaign fuh de Coalition?

when u get marching orders from your paymasters, pay attention and actually read what they send before u post; check the extracted below:

" . . . In view of this, he [Raphael Trotman] said the coalition has asked that GECOM prohibit voters from taking cell phones into the polling booths. He said while such a decision is entirely up to GECOM, the coalition has made such a request."

arite?

when u get marching orders from your paymasters, pay attention and actually read what they send before u post; check the extracted below:

" . . . In view of this, he [Raphael Trotman] said the coalition has asked that GECOM prohibit voters from taking cell phones into the polling booths. He said while such a decision is entirely up to GECOM, the coalition has made such a request."

arite?

Trotman is very very clever. He's making a request to GECOM knowing it would fail just to score cheap points. This is further proof of the Coalition's attempts to deflect public attention from it's plan to rig on May 11th

arite?

Trotman is very very clever. He's making a request to GECOM knowing it would fail just to score cheap points. This is further proof of the Coalition's attempts to deflect public attention from it's plan to rig on May 11th

you know that as fact right?