Granger put on blast for claiming ‘no corruption’ in his Administration

APNU+AFC Coalition Leader, David Granger, was called out by Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, on Thursday (November 7, 2019) for his declaration that he has “not found corruption” within his administration. “This is the most corrupt government ever,” Jagdeo stressed, during his weekly news conference.

Last week when asked directly about the reports that have exposed corruption since the APNU+AFC Coalition took office, Granger said, “I have not found corruption.” Last month, Granger when asked the same question, had said, “We need to have ministers and public officials who are incorruptible… the people of Guyana must be satisfied that their ministers are honest. I am against corruption personally I am confident that my government is against corruption.”

MULTIPLE SCANDALS
Jagdeo, has said that the Coalition’s position on fighting corruption is in question, given the many scandals, a few of which include:

1 . The deposit of US$9,000 into the personal bank account of Public Infrastructure Minister, David Patterson.

2. The transfer of over $20M of taxpayers’ monies to the children of Minister Simona Broomes. Details on the matter indicate that in 2018, two transfers of US$25,000 each to the daughter of Minister Broomes, the Department of Public Service within the Ministry of the Presidency. In 2019, there was another transfer to Broomes’ daughter worth US$36,450 by the Department of Public Service within the Ministry of the Presidency. Minister Broomes’ son, in 2019, benefited from a fourth transfer of GYD$2.51M from the same Department. The disclosure from your Director General, Joseph Harmon, that the monies represented sums for scholarships raises more questions that remain unanswered.

3. The failure to account for the use of taxpayers’ monies on the multi-million dollar D’Urban Park Project. After months of delay, it is only recently that information has been finally handed to the Audit Office by the Ministry of Public Infrastructure. The 2017 Audit report pointed out that millions spent on the project could not be accounted for.

4. The continued breaches of Guyana’s procurement laws, relative to the feasibility study on a new Demerara River crossing. The Public Procurement Commission has pronounced on the illegal nature of this undertaking. The report said: “The PPC noted that the Minster of Public Infrastructure, by memorandum dated November 18 2016, made a request to the Cabinet for Government seeking consideration and approval to use funds from the Demerara Harbor Bridge Corporation to fund the feasibility study and to commence a contractual engagement with LievenseCSO as of the 1 Jan 2017.” The PPC noted that this request to Cabinet was not forwarded through the NPTA but submitted directly by the Minister of Public Infrastructure. The PPC also noted that Cabinet considered the memorandum submitted by the Minister of Public Infrastructure and in November 2016 approved a total sum of $161,514,420 to be used from the Demerara Harbor Bridge Corporation to cover cost for the feasibility study for a new bridge across the Demerara river.” To date, new information indicates that more than $$161,514,420 was spent – instead it is close to $300 million that was spent.

5. The use of public office by Minister Cathy Hughes to bolter her financial standing and that of her company, Videomega Productions. This was disclosed after the revelation that massive contract of $832,200 for sample work, paid for by the Department of Energy, a department within the Ministry of the Presidency, was given to Minister Hughes’ company. Since then, more information in the public domain, indicates that, in Minister Hughes’ Ministry of Public Telecommunications three contracts were awarded to her company, Videomega Productions: June 4, 2018 – Advertisement of Vacancies – $939,738; June 25, 2018 – Facebook Page – $119,670; and September 21, 2018 – CTU/ITC Roadshow 2018 – $2,291, 128, among several others. SHIFTING FOCUS Meanwhile, the APNU+ AFC Coalition Leader refused to make any other comment in direct response to this question.

Instead, Granger opted to shift the conversation to crime – as he has done before when pressed on the same issue. In shifting the conversation Granger said, “I have conducted many Commissions of Inquiry where people are culpable and the Commissions are always asked to determine blame worthiness. Right now Dr. Rishi Thakur is conducting an inquiry off the coast of Suriname. It would be difficult to find the culprits responsible, but once we find the culprits we will take action.

“…the most important problem we face is security sector reform. You cannot investigate crimes or these allegations if there are elements in law enforcement itself which have been collaborating with the very criminals…you go to war with the troops you have… we inherited a Police Force which has got to be reformed. That process of reform is not complete. It is now taking place.” Jagdeo pointed out that prior to taking office in May 2015, the Coalition boasted and campaigned on “locking up” People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) officials – but time has exposed those comments as nothing more than rhetoric.

https://citizensreportgy.com/?p=13330

The Airport need to add to this list. Guyana got a smaller renovated airport under APNU / AFC as opposed to what the PPP government negotiated for. 

It now takes 20-24 hours to fly from NY to Georgetown.  Great progress with the new airport.

Hope PPP Jail them Skont Next Year. 

Minister David Patterson

The old terminal has not been torn down. Rather, it has been gutted and reused at the departure area.
Already inflated and with little or no explanations from Government where the money went, a number of contractors are now coming out, insisting that the kind of work done at the terminal building cannot be more than US$5M.
“A few walls were changed at the old terminal building along with a few zinc sheets. Then you have a building that is only accommodating arrivals. It can be built for not more than US$5M,” a contractor that has built several of the city’s properties insisted.
Another New York-based contractor who has worked on several projects has expressed alarm.
“You have a simple way of checking whether you getting value for mone. They would have to calculate per square foot. When you are doing construction, everything is about measurements. There is a constant cost. It is impossible for a terminal and runway to cost US$150M and you get what we have at Timehri. Somebody has to go to jail. It is impossible that it would be established that the price is inflated and then you learn that it is being modified to be smaller…all at the same price.
“Guyana in simple layman’s terms has been shafted. The Government has to come clean

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...or-us5m-contractors/

Coolie will forever think the worse of a Blackman party, whereas Burnham made coolie rich, give them free education and taught them the discipline they can't get anywhere else. This is what does piss me off with them. Them ungrateful. Them belly full and still looking to such PNC poke juice. 

Once upon a time in LaLaLand there was a President who proclaimed himself a prudent and wise leader. One day a kaieteurian kick-ass journalist asked the President to give his take on credible reports of corruption within his administration. The prudent and wise president puffed up his septuagenarian chest and declared: "I have not found corruption" throughout the length and breadth of LaLaLand, from Punta Playa to Takutu, from Roraima to Crabwood Creek. (Excerpt from "Children's Bedtime Story of LaLaLand" by Grandaddy Grangee.)

Burnham give ayuh free National Service, free uniform, free barracks ,free food and lil pocket change, just to Brain Wash ayuh head.

Today one Fat coolie boy in Queens still feel enslaved by Burnham Jumbie.

Coolie will forever think the worse of a Blackman party, whereas Burnham made coolie rich, give them free education and taught them the discipline they can't get anywhere else. This is what does piss me off with them. Them ungrateful. Them belly full and still looking to such PNC poke juice. 

Good Burnham teaches you nuff things,    why you run away from Blackman then. 
and for your information, Burnham didn’t put money into Indians pocket, they work hard for it. 

Maybe Burnham makes you rich after buggering you Arss . 

I was in the national service for two years. I didn't choose to be rum sucker like many coolies that were afraid to march with your plate on your head fuh lil white rice. 

Maybe you had NO choice or you were a delinquent.

and for your information, Burnham didn’t put money into Indians pocket, they work hard for it. 

Address the issue why collie always sees the negative of serving your country under the PNC and cut the BS.

I was in the national service for two years. I didn't choose to be rum sucker like many coolies that were afraid to march with your plate on your head fuh lil white rice. 

Maybe you had NO choice or you were a delinquent.

WATAX.

Address the issue why collie always sees the negative of serving your country under the PNC and cut the BS.

Why you kept your visit to Guyana a top secret and hide in a city hotel for your safety under Granger Government. 

That's FORCED LABOUR, without serving the Coolies get no job if they were DUNCEs from the start.

LOL

Soooo, dah 'appen tu dee Princess an' she ah tek am both ways.