APNU/AFC fundraiser in NY overshadowed by massive protest

– Diaspora turns out in numbers, calls out Govt for breach of Constitution

A fundraiser organised by A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition Government in New York (NY) was completely overshadowed by more than one hundred protesters picketed the meeting, demanding elections and constitutional compliance.

Scenes from the protest

Held at the Richi Rich Palace on Atlantic Avenue in Richmond Hill, NY on Sunday, the fundraiser featured Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan representing the AFC, together with Georgetown Mayor Ubraj Narine representing APNU, and a small group in attendance.
The Minister and entourage arrived to be greeted by the large crowd of protesters behind NYPD barricades at the door of the restaurant, holding placards that read, “Ramjattan you sold AFC to the PNC”, “Ramjattan must go” and “(Ramjattan) a disgrace to Guyanese.”
Officers from the NYPD were also present, although they left the protesters alone and merely watched from a distance.
There were even placards aimed at Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Chairperson, retired Justice Claudette Singh. One such placard read, “GECOM Chairman stand by your integrity!”
The Minister and company quickly entered the building without engaging the protesters. Other guests arrived, but a few of the would-be attendees turned back upon spotting the large crowd of protesters awaiting them.
When someone attending the fundraiser did engage protesters, that ‘engagement’ took the form of an unidentified woman showing the crowd her middle finger before entering the Richi Rich Palace.
According to one protester who was interviewed by a member of the local media fraternity on the ground, the fact that Ramjattan hurriedly bypassed hundreds of the Guyanese diaspora picketing his Government just to speak to a few in the luxurious establishment spoke volumes.
“He (Ramjattan) cannot engage us because he has nothing to tell us. You look at the crowd outside? There are about 10, 15 people inside. There are hundreds of us outside. That alone tells you that the diaspora rejects the AFC and the Government,” the protester said.
“They cannot engage us. What is he going to tell us? They are illegal occupiers. When the AFC was formed, they claimed to bring fairness. They’ve joined with the PNC to bully the PPP and the Guyanese people, so there’s nothing he can tell us. He can’t talk about development, housing, finance, anything. All he can talk about is free Buju Banton tickets.”
The Minister’s failure to engage the crowd of protesters when he arrived did not sit well with the other protesters. According to one of them, Richi Rich might have in fact done itself a disservice by hosting the APNU/AFC fundraiser, since the American public would have seen the protest action against a cabinet the protesters contend is illegal.
“He (Ramjattan) has ten people inside, including the staff. The Minister came out, saw hundreds of Guyanese protesting and calling for elections now, and he going to 10 people inside including the staff of Richi Rich. This business has destroyed itself by hosting Ramjattan here today, with 10 people inside and hundreds of people outside calling for free and fair elections now. What are they doing?
Why are they dragging their foot? What is the Attorney General (Basil Williams) doing?” the passionate protester stressed.

Delays
Article 106 (6) of the Constitution of Guyana states: “The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.”
Meanwhile, Article 106 (7) goes on to say: “Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly determine, and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election.”
A no-confidence motion was passed against the Government since December 21 of last year. However, elections have not been held and there has been no resignation. Instead, the Government went through several levels of court litigation, unsuccessfully arguing that the no-confidence motion was not validly passed.
At the level of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), that final court of arbitration had thrown out the Government’s case and had handed down judgement saying that when the no-confidence motion was passed on December 21, 2019, Article 106 of the Constitution had immediately been activated. In addition, the court had noted that the provisions of the article were clear.
Instead of immediately starting serious preparations to hold elections in the shortest possible time, however, GECOM proceeded to carry out house-to-house registration based on the orders of unilaterally appointed former Chairman Justice (retired) James Patterson. A court case challenging this process and seeking to have GECOM comply with the constitution was in fact filed.
While that process was ultimately stopped by his successor, the decision to merge the new data from house-to-house registration with the national register of registrants and to prioritize the printing of identification cards, instead of seeking to have elections held as soon as possible, has been criticized by People’s Progressive Party (PPP) nominated GECOM commissioners as part of the Government’s delaying tactics.
Since then, the Commission, complete with Justice Singh and the six commissioners, have met with the two main political parties. At those meetings, assurances were given that GECOM would seek to hold elections this year.

Is it me...or is it...??? I dont see a lot of Afros in the crowd of protesters...

This looks like a personal protest with Indos in Queens who simply pissed off at 2 Indos supporting the coalition...

HOW COME DEM SAME PROTESTERS DONT GO TO BROOKLYN TO PROTEST AGAINST PNC OFFICIALS??

ARE THEY AFRAID?

They used their head and not emotion. 

Them  people in Brooklyn will strip you down to your Buxta Vish .. you knows that . 

HOW COME DEM SAME PROTESTERS DONT GO TO BROOKLYN TO PROTEST AGAINST PNC OFFICIALS??

ARE THEY AFRAID?

Why waste time with hooligans. All they do is resort to violence.

ARE THEY AFRAID?

They used their head and not emotion. 

Them  people in Brooklyn will strip you down to your Buxta Vish .. you knows that . 

Nah tell Vish about buckta. De man gon get depressed.

Is it me...or is it...??? I dont see a lot of Afros in the crowd of protesters...

This looks like a personal protest with Indos in Queens who simply pissed off at 2 Indos supporting the coalition...

They "Afros" read some of the nasty comments on GNI where they are seen as below Indos, why would they care to have anything associated with them. I warned these guys (especially yugi and now Skeldonman) about this for a long time'it is not you guys here who will pay but the poor souls in Guyana. You speak for them.

Take a look at Skeldon man's post today where even as he does not support a blasted thing from Trump, he quoted a nasty racist statement from the buffoon. Speaks volumes doesn't it?

They "Afros" read some of the nasty comments on GNI where they are seen as below Indos, why would they care to have anything associated with them. I warned these guys (especially yugi and now Skeldonman) about this for a long time'it is not you guys here who will pay but the poor souls in Guyana. You speak for them.

Take a look at Skeldon man's post today where even as he does not support a blasted thing from Trump, he quoted a nasty racist statement from the buffoon. Speaks volumes doesn't it?

You behave as Putagees are altar boys. The vilest and most racist comments I heard on this site is from one of your people, a Putagee. Don't come around here pretending that Putagees are innocent people.

When PPP lose next election I will again rub your shyte in your face. You can go against someone without the use of derogatory and racist statements, that gets you nowhere.

ARE THEY AFRAID?

No, they have you as their representative.

LOL...den you know we gon win again....get ready for 28 years in the wilderness.  

ARE THEY AFRAID?

Not nice banna

Same shit in a different year. The first time Granger and his gang were at Richie Rich, he shook hands with coolie protesters. Ramjattan shuns off coolie by telling them to haul their asses.   Was Nehru there?

Princess....

Your friend Nehru was inside escorting Minister Ramjattan away from the protesters through an underground tunnel....

PNC sent two coolies to do their bidding but looks like it nah wukking. 😀

Rememeber what the Berbicians tole the Neemakaram Crabdaag. He told him you FOOL us once now frig off from here.

I was looking for you and the GNI crew in the protest.

I saw him.  

You did ??

There was only one GNI poster there.  And it was the person who organized the protest.

I still don’t know what the skont he expected after the self-admitted treacherous act against sugar workers.  He has some balls to show up in the middle of nuff coolies and cane cutters. 

I was thinking of going to ask him what the fk they were thinking but decided on a BBQ instead.  

I still don’t know what the skont he expected after the self-admitted treacherous act against sugar workers.  He has some balls to show up in the middle of nuff coolies and cane cutters. 

I was thinking of going to ask him what the fk they were thinking but decided on a BBQ instead.  

So you saw Nehru from the BBQ all the way there?

Me juss bussing Nehru chops!  Seems he was checking out Madrassi chicks at smoke park!  He leff he Mattie pon dem own to protest!

I went and buy a fowl cock and a Hen Duck and went to Ed Ahmad building for a while. He probable was passing the same time

Ed Ahmad doesn’t own Richie Rich anyone.  It’s owned by a Sikh guy.

ARE THEY AFRAID?

Not nice banna

It's only an observation. This type of behavior happens all over the world with black folks. Most blacks are good people, except in Guyana. Most Guyanese negroes are bullies and hooligans.

I went and buy a fowl cock and a Hen Duck and went to Ed Ahmad building for a while. He probable was passing the same time

Yuh see story hey.  Nehru bussing Ramjattan tail pon GNI behind he keyboard and all ayuh @real PPP gaane guh pickle Ramjattan and he deh battam House singing “Fowl Cak a knack a drum~~~~~~~!”

Bhai, I was very busy Sunday, big construction in the area with Water Pies being replaced, no parking and other jhan Jhat so I had to take care of business PLUS sweet homan got horny

"Water Pies"?  Dah musbe for losing weight nuh, hehe

Pointblank posted:

MASSIVE PROTEST DEM PISS POSEY PARTY  SOUP DRINKERS SEH

Image may contain: 3 people, people standing, crowd, tree, sky, shoes and outdoor

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, crowd and outdoor

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, people walking, crowd and outdoor

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, crowd, shoes and outdoor

Image may contain: 3 people, people standing, people walking, shoes, crowd, sky and outdoor

What's your problem? you drink PISS, can't you count. More people protesting than at the fundraiser.

FROM THE ARTICLE YOU POSTED AND IT WAS MENTIONED MORE THAN ONCE

"Ramjattan hurriedly bypassed hundreds of the Guyanese diaspora picketing his Government"

Pointblank

Very few ppl read more than a couple lines. To be well informed one needs to read and read a lot of material. 

Black ppl doan read anything about cooolies, it woudn't change their perceptions of cooolie ppl being racists. Suh, why would they come and read this site. 

Drunkie Nehru at the front in he beige and brown communist shut and pants and he black "commander" hat. He wearin brown, cuz if dem black PNC people come out and confront he, he brown shit gon mix well wid he brown pants.

ahole like you can only bray because that is what a donkey does!!!!!!!!!

Weak! Suh girly. Ah notice yuh didn't deny dat the packoo dressed in communist brown outfit with Commandante hat was you. Ah hope yuh wearing yuh brown pants when ICE haul yuh anti american, white hating ass from behind yuh aluminum desk and send yuh back to Bharat.

Nah, dah was commandante Anter Banter!

Those words are straight out of the mouth of Mitwah.

Pointblank posted:

What's your problem? you drink PISS, can't you count. More people protesting than at the fundraiser.

"Ramjattan hurriedly bypassed hundreds of the Guyanese diaspora picketing his Government"

Big FAT LIE , took a video of the protestors.

Pointblank posted:

Where is the Video? 

Pointblank posted:

You were not there.

Pointblank posted:

I know someone who attended the meeting, not a GNIer, and said the protest was sizable!

I don’t know why Somar thought a fund raiser in the middle of Queens was a good idea just after Ramjattan admitted the AFC led the sugar estates shut down!

Pointblank posted:

I know someone who attended the meeting, not a GNIer, and said the protest was sizable!

I don’t know why Somar thought a fund raiser in the middle of Queens was a good idea just after Ramjattan admitted the AFC led the sugar estates shut down!

Not much people , i interacted with the crowd while taking the video . One guy tried to be a bully , he was told to get behind the protest barrier by NYPD Officer. It wasn't  really a fund raiser.

Pointblank posted:

Not much people , i interacted with the crowd while taking the video . One guy tried to be a bully , he was told to get behind the protest barrier by NYPD Officer. It wasn't  really a fund raiser.

It was a fund raiser.  I know someone involved in the initial organizing who did not want it as a fundraiser, but Somar wanted it.  Now they punting it was not, because it was sparsely attended and no one was willing to donate!

For what Ramjattan said the did to the sugar workers, Queens people guh spit at them. 

Pointblank posted:

E2A39ACC-03EC-4A42-82D9-9F646E093D43

• E2A39ACC-03EC-4A42-82D9-9F646E093D43

When some people tell yuh walk, run laka Skont, stinking LIARS they are!!!

DHARPOKE !!!  LYING isn't my forte , was looking for you in the protest.

Did you see me at Richie Rich.

Who are these people?  Other than Ramjattan family. And George Correia.

E27F58E5-F116-44A9-827F-F3CA61D20BF6

• E27F58E5-F116-44A9-827F-F3CA61D20BF6

I think Mitwah is in that photo.

Mits not there.

George Correia , is a humorous guy.

Django I don’t see you.

He lied. He is a PNC front man on GNI just like Mitwah an unpaid goon..

I have the info on him

For the last time, don't have to lie , i video the protestors, also i am in the picture taken with the group of people.

Maybe will have to shut alyuh up, by posting a few seconds clip of video. Will think about it.

Mr. Kp what ever info you have good for you, i have the right to choose who i want to back, Django have nothing to hide , never a soup drinker and will never be one, i will rather eat salt and rice.

Django I don’t see you.

I have the info on him

For the last time, don't have to lie , i video the protestors, also i am in the picture taken with the group of people.

Maybe will have to shut alyuh up, by posting a few seconds clip of video. Will think about it.

Mr. Kp what ever info you have good for you, i have the right to choose who i want to back, Django have nothing to hide , never a soup drinker and will never be one, i will rather eat salt and rice.

Could it be you are the one bending in front of Rumjaat, no need to stoop for attention.

Django I don’t see you.

I have the info on him

Could it be you are the one bending in front of Rumjaat, no need to stoop for attention.

I man got class , don't have to stoop to no politicians. Had a brief discussion with Prak, it's the first time met him.

Anyway end of conversation, you have info on Django peruse it.

Roger Khan coming in Friday Night,  Fire works in the City.

Granger Batty gun bite.

Worry about your hero BJ.

You are the only poster in GNI history that eat,,sleep and talk of  president  B Jagdeo.  You prove he is you Hero or boy friend who knows , only you can tell. Fantasy.