APNU+AFC Councillor on the Enmore/ Hope Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) Deochan Singh is maintaining that a decision was indeed taken to sell the computers that were seized by the State Assets Recovery Unit (SARU) and the eGovernment Unit last Thursday.

In an interview with Stabroek News, Singh said that the council members did vote on the suggestion to sell the computers that were donated to the NDC by the Caribbean Development Bank-funded Basic Needs Trust Fund.

Singh showed a copy of the minutes, dated November 16, 2016, to Stabroek News. The minutes stated that he had inquired about the computers in the computer room at the NDC and a decision was made to sell. “The minutes have shown that a decision was made by the council and I cannot lie on the minutes,” Singh said.

On Sunday, acting NDC Chairman Mohammed Dawud maintained that no decision had been made to sell 15 computers and that the council was considering its options.

Deochan Singh

“We just made a suggestion in the meeting, we did not go for a vote, it was not confirmed. All that was written in the minutes was ‘Councilors decided to sell computers’ and it was not confirmed,” Dawud said.

Singh noted that the council comprises 16 People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) councillors and two A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) councillors. He said when the suggestion to sell the computers went for a vote, the 16 PPP/C councilors voted in favour of the sale, with Dawud as the intended buyer. “The council put it to him that he should look at the computers for the purchase and he decided to buy  it,” Singh told Stabroek News.

The councillor informed that he later made a report after he was informed by eGovernment Unit that it wanted to create an Information Technology Centre (ITC) in the community. “I said that Enmore already has an ITC and they had some computers there and I think the council made a decision to sell the computers,” Singh noted. He said the eGovernment officials had told him that the NDC cannot sell the computers because it belonged to the Basic Needs Trust Fund.

Singh added that since then he had made efforts to thwart the plans of the council to sell the computers and after the matter was reported, the team from eGovernment, accompanied by SARU went to seize the computers last Thursday.

Singh further explained to this newspaper that on the day of the seizure, the SARU and eGovernment officials had called him and explained that they wanted to visit the ITC at the NDC. He said that the team wanted him to accompany them to Enmore, which he did.

“When the team reach to the place, they told the clerk that they were there to view the ITC and they asked if it was working and the clerk told them that she would call the Chairman,” he said. He explained that as the team was going through the room, they uncovered the dusty computers. Singh noted that some of the computers did not look as if they were in a working condition and that they were in a bad state.

He explained that while the team was checking the computers, sometime after Dawud showed up. “He come with his cellphone and started to videotape me… I said vice-chairman you need to take the camera off of me or you need to ask me my permission and I am not here on this operation, I am just here to accompany these people,” Singh noted.

He added that the acting chairman ignored him and continued videotaping him. While Dawud has reported Singh to the police for allegedly assaulting him during the encounter, Singh said that he never assaulted the acting chairman.

According to Singh, the team collected the computers along with power packs and power strips, and a member from the eGovernment Unit signed a list documenting what they took and what was left in the room. He also noted that the overseer, who was present, signed as well.

Singh told Stabroek News that all the computers were taken away and the team told the overseer that the NDC would get them back as soon as they were ready “to put things in place.”

Singh said that the notion that the computers were in use by persons in the community was a lie. He said that the computers have never been used and there were never any classes. “There were no classes, since those computers went there, they don’t have money to pay a teacher to teach these classes,” he explained. “I don’t see nothing wrong with the people wanting to secure and repair the computers and to open the ITC… All they have to do before they get back the computers is clean up the rooms, set up back the office and create a programme for the community,” he added, while claiming that the NDC may never “put things in place” because the PPP members want to play political games to bring down the government.

A statement issued on Friday by the Ministry of Public Telecommunications said that upon learning of the impending sale, officials from the eGovernment Project Execution Unit, which has oversight of government’s ICT assets, responded to prevent the sale.

The ministry contended that the computers were donated by the Basic Needs Trust Fund for use by residents of the community and, therefore, they could not be sold.

However, the NDC has said the equipment belongs to it and that SARU and the government have no authority to interfere with its decisions as an autonomous legally-elected body that is independent of the government and legally authorised to make its own decisions.

“…We reject the Government’s attempt at justifying SARU’s illegal actions of trespass and unlawful deprivation of the property of the NDC,” it said in a statement last Friday, and added that it continues to maintain “that officers of SARU and the Ministry of the Presidency acted unlawfully, excessively and abused their authority when they unlawfully entered upon the NDC’s premises and seized the NDC’s property.”

Same old PPP. They still busy passing state's property to their friends. The computer5s were donated to Guyana. How come they get sold to the PPP instead of being given to a local school?

Mr.T posted:

Same old PPP. They still busy passing state's property to their friends. The computer5s were donated to Guyana. How come they get sold to the PPP instead of being given to a local school?

Point taken,

and they can be fixed if broken,lots of cheap parts around for older machines.

Singh showed a copy of the minutes, dated November 16, 2016, to Stabroek News. The minutes stated that he had inquired about the computers in the computer room at the NDC and a decision was made to sell. “The minutes have shown that a decision was made by the council and I cannot lie on the minutes,” Singh said.

On Sunday, acting NDC Chairman Mohammed Dawud maintained that no decision had been made to sell 15 computers and that the council was considering its options.

Singh noted that the council comprises 16 People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) councillors and two A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) councillors. He said when the suggestion to sell the computers went for a vote, the 16 PPP/C councilors voted in favour of the sale, with Dawud as the intended buyer. “The council put it to him that he should look at the computers for the purchase and he decided to buy  it,” Singh told Stabroek News.

Dave, any updates? 

Here is the update. 

The computers were given to the NDC. I have a relationship with management at a hospital in Toronto- I do work for them. Computers are used for 1-2 years and then thrown out. 

I picked up those computers and shipped them to Guyana of my own expence. 

The computers are given FREE to schools, religious Organisation etc. Some of these computers were given to Enmore NDC FREE. 

From what I understand, the computers were not in used. I believe any donation is the property of that organization. 

The computers were in used for the commmunity and some locals would donate their time to teach youths. However , because Enmore is a known PPP areas SARU size the computers to look for evidence if the computers were used to train the youths illegally.

When the organization was booming, Minister Ramjattan used to attend as part of PPP. The minister together with local AFC is behind the confiscation. 

Its all a political plan. 

Here is the update. 

The computers were given to the NDC. I have a relationship with management at a hospital in Toronto- I do work for them. Computers are used for 1-2 years and then thrown out. 

The computers are given FREE to schools, religious Organisation etc. Some of these computers were given to Enmore NDC FREE. 

From what I understand, the computers were not in used. I believe any donation is the property of that organization. 

The computers were in used for the commmunity and some locals would donate their time to teach youths. However , because Enmore is a known PPP areas SARU size the computers to look for evidence if the computers were used to train the youths illegally.

When the organization was booming, Minister Ramjattan used to attend as part of PPP. The minister together with local AFC is behind the confiscation. 

Suh lemme undastand dis.

a. See the parts of your post I bolded above. You understand the computers were not in use. But then yuh seh the computers were used "for the community". Which is it?

b. Suh you get these computers for free from donors overseas. You gave them to Enmore NDC for free. Bravo!

c. According to minutes of the meeting, the NDC decide fuh sell dem to dis Dawud man, mekking a buck off of computers you gave them for FREE.

Is that the summary of all this?

Here is the update. 

Suh lemme undastand dis.

a. See the parts of your post I bolded above. You understand the computers were not in use. But then yuh seh the computers were used "for the community". Which is it?

b. Suh you get these computers for free from donors overseas. You gave them to Enmore NDC for free. Bravo!

c. According to minutes of the meeting, the NDC decide fuh sell dem to dis Dawud man, mekking a buck off of computers you gave them for FREE.

Is that the summary of all this?

a. The computers were in used until 2015 ( general election ).

c. There were 3 organization within the compound of the NDC. Local authorities, policing group, Local organization training the youths in computers. After the last election, the policing group and the local organization closed shop.

The computers were given to all three organisation.

From what I understand, the computers were sitting under the roof of the NDC for over a year without used... it was then counted as part of the NDC inventory by the new government.

The offer to buy back these computers is the information on these computers were vital to the local organization. 

"In an interview with Stabroek News, Singh said that the council members did vote on the suggestion to sell the computers that were donated to the NDC by the Caribbean Development Bank-funded Basic Needs Trust Fund"

Suh who really donated the computers ?

Dave seh,he donate um.

The offer to buy back these computers is the information on these computers were vital to the local organization. 

That's bull pudding. Vital information would have been backed up and secured. 

You did not donate these computers. Else, you would have set the record straight from the onset. 

Now that I have flushed you out. I have memorialized your threat to my personal well being and life.

Have a great day.

You did not donate these computers. Else, you would have set the record straight from the onset. 

Now that I have flushed you out. I have memorialized your threat to my personal well being and life.

Have a great day.

As computers get old, they start slowing down. Eventually, their software becomes obsolete. I heard the parts are manufactured to purposely deteriorate forcing the user to get a new one.

"In an interview with Stabroek News, Singh said that the council members did vote on the suggestion to sell the computers that were donated to the NDC by the Caribbean Development Bank-funded Basic Needs Trust Fund"

Dave seh,he donate um.

I did not donate all the computers. 

Computers were given to the NDC before the Basic Needs Trust Fund. 

The NDC also took computers from the Policing group when some of theirs were not working, because all the three group were housing under one roof .

Have a great day.

You can go Fk yourself. You are scanning what time  members posted article. Go get a fk life ass hole.

As I said, you are fk around the wrong person. 

Have a great day.

You can go Fk yourself. You are scanning what time  members posted article. Go get a fk life ass hole.

The Durham Bubba is waiting for you.

Have a great day.

The Durham Bubba is waiting for you.

The real one is coming your way. Don"t mistake me for someone else you Fk ponk. 

NDC own computers are property of local government for its function. There is no reason to size these computers. 

The sizeure was done to the Enmore policing group and Enmore youth group computers, that was put away in storage. This storage room house older computers from the NDC. 

the policing group and local group should have remove their computers after the last election. 

NDC own computers are property of local government for its function. There is no reason to size these computers. 

The sizeure was done to the Enmore policing group and Enmore youth group computers, that was put away in storage. This storage room house older computers from the NDC. 

the policing group and local group should have remove their computers after the last election. 

These computers might be obsolete now. They were cheap anyway. No use arguing about them. Somebody bought fools gold. It will cost more to recycle them than they are worth.

Bhai, guyanese don’t give a crap about computers real use. They are still Stone Age. Business sector don’t utalize computers that much. 

The blackout in Guyana damaging electronics easily. 

Dave,  your deceits and lies catching up with you. Bhai, I am too busy looking for shutters and blinds for new houses.  Have a great day.

Go FK yourself, worry what’s catching up with you soon. 

I HAVE NOTHING TO FEAR. You operate  as a sneaky bitch. Get a fk life you son of a bitch

Dave seh,he donate um.

The NDC also took computers from the Policing group when some of theirs were not working, because all the three group were housing under one roof .

DAVE which is it 

or

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

Dave seh,he donate um.

DAVE which is it 

or

When I said I did not donate all the computers, I meant, I am NOT the only one who donate computers to Enmore NDC building 

The NDC had one computer before  Basic Need Trust give them any. In addition to myself, private citizen both in US and Canada send 4 computers. 

The intent of private donation of computers was not meant for NDC, but for the policing group and the local group. 

These computers were store at the NDC building and they asked for a few computers since the ones donated by Basic Trust Fund was not working properly. 

In conclusion to this matter, from my understanding its a close case. SOCU did not find what they were looking for. 

Did the computers returned ?

I was told they were. 

....heh heh heh. Dis thread gat melody. I love de part dat 16 PPP bais vote fuh sell out de computa to dis Dawud fella. Suh donated computa getting sell to dis man. And wheh de money going? Dave bai dem tek de computa yuh donate and selling it to dis Dawud fella. Yuh na mad?

Pointblank posted:

Dave seh,he donate um.

DAVE which is it 

or

When I said I did not donate all the computers, I meant, I am NOT the only one who donate computers to Enmore NDC building 

The NDC had one computer before  Basic Need Trust give them any. In addition to myself, private citizen both in US and Canada send 4 computers. 

The intent of private donation of computers was not meant for NDC, but for the policing group and the local group. 

These computers were store at the NDC building and they asked for a few computers since the ones donated by Basic Trust Fund was not working properly. 

Pointblank
Last edited by Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

Dave seh,he donate um.

DAVE which is it 

or

What’s your point... need some clarity.

I picked the computers from a hospital in Toronto , pay Laparkan to ship same. 

I am not in person to deliver any computer, don’t have that time. 

I asked in Guyana that these computers be given to anyone who needs them.

I don’t need an ounce of credit, I feel good in my heart doing so. It’s my way of giving back. 

Looks like jiggery-pokery concerning the seized computers from Enmore NDC.

Django, the jiggery - pokery came about with the last general election. The NDC compound was a gathering point for PPP helpers and computers were in use to tally data ( not the seized computers ) SOCU with direction from Rumjat was send to seize the computers in hoping to gather information about PPP.

Where is Guyana any other NDC has computers seize which are part of local government asset. Government auditors have access to local NDC computers. 

Hope this clarify the jiggery Pockery computer melody.

Django, the jiggery - pokery came about with the last general election. The NDC compound was a gathering point for PPP helpers and computers were in use to tally data ( not the seized computers ) SOCU with direction from Rumjat was send to seize the computers in hoping to gather information about PPP.

Where is Guyana any other NDC has computers seize which are part of local government asset. Government auditors have access to local NDC computers. 

More melody,why the NDC compound was used for PPP party work ? me thinks that's not right.

Of course it’s not right. That’s the way Guyana politics is for all Government. Nothing will ever change in this curse country call Guyana. 

Brother Dave. HK.

Please do not provide or give out too much information at GNI.

Based on what I read, you gave out the goodness of your heart. Most of those who are critical of you should step up and donate. This is the reason why some people deist from donating.

Yuji

Dave, whenever you mentioned Rumjaat name , Mitwah does get stupidy. That's his family, Rumjaat does forward article for him to post on GNI, even the Dumb and Stupid ones, when he cuss and misbehave that's his own doing.