February 24,2020

Dear Editor,

I refer to Mr. GHK Lall’s letter in yesterday’s Sunday Stabroek announcing his support for APNU+AFC (`Why I’m voting for David Granger”). I’m flattered that an intellect and public commentator such as Mr. Lall finds me “appealing” but concluded that a vote for A New and United Guyana (ANUG), of which I am the presidential candidate, would be a “wasted” vote.

Mr. Lall, and those who share a similar view, should know that ANUG can win without securing the majority or a plurality of the votes at the elections. If neither of the large political parties obtains an absolute majority, and ANUG gets enough seats to hold the balance of power (three to five), ANUG would have the ability to ensure the implementation of its major proposal, namely, constitutional reform to change the structure of governance whereby the large political parties share political power equally and end the politics of ethno-political dominance in Guyana.

The three-party combination (ANUG, JLP and TNM) have committed that they will not join either of the major parties in a coalition after the elections nor will any of its members take a political office in the new government.

Yours faithfully,

Ralph Ramkarran

Presidential Candidate

ANUG

February 23 ,2020

Dear Editor,

As I prepare to exercise the franchise in the fast approaching elections, I share with fellow Guyanese for which group my vote is to be cast and why. I do this publicly, before all, whether those of like electoral mind, those who stand on the other sides of the fence, those on the fence.

My elections choice has nothing to do with oil; pays scant regard to the soapy promises embedded in glossy manifestoes and violates racial voting taboos. It is not influenced by who has lambasted their political opponents more accurately, more piercingly, or more ingeniously. It is not based on who has recruited and let loose the greatest number of the loudest, most raucous public parrots pretending at intellectual analysis, political cunning, or the inhuman insights of spiritualists.

Though most of those have their places of honour in this country, they matter not to me. This is because they all fade rapidly before what is special and uppermost to me. I think they are best articulated in a handful of questions that have extraordinary significance for me. They should mean something outside the ordinary for those who place emphasis and priority on such elements. Here are the questions as I survey the voting horizon, consider the possibilities, and envision the future.

First, who to believe? Second, who to trust? Third, in whom to have enough confidence to cast my precious vote to favour? When these are sifted and sorted through, these are the objectives of my thinking: which leader holds the keys to the way forward? A peaceable, positive, upbuilding way that is suffused with an inclusive, diverse future? Which one of them surges ahead and why?

For me, this is where all roads, amidst the cacophonies, lead. This is where (and for whom) that fateful, sometimes vastly troubling, decision and mark of an “X” lead to and mean in essence for me. Today, I would have preferred not to dwell on character and ethics or the moral and transformational; but I must. My choice has nothing to do with race; I wish I could be moved to vote for the one new group, more the person, that I find appealing: that would be the former speaker. But I think that would be a wasted vote, given my assessment of probability of success; the others flay about and flatter to deceive.

My choice and my “X” have all to do with who has what it takes – deeply and genuinely within -to be more and do more for what is good and needed. It is about which group, through its leader, is of the contemplations and visions that are of citizen and country, all of them and all of it respectively. And here is the crux: and intends (repeat: intends) to fulfill. It is less of the group and more of the man at the head. The one with the caliber and calling to view citizen and country not only as votes for self-empowering and self-enriching; but to see both as a sacred trust to be handled and cared for in the best traditions of prudence and an all-encompassing wisdom.

I do not think, I am unable to perceive, that the opposition possesses any such leadership elements. I am of the view that the sitting government – warts and all, weaknesses and all, and woes and all – does have in its leader, what is required. This leader or the other could arguably have better management or political skills. But they matter for naught, if the sinews of truth and character and caring for the people were historically lacking and are still palpably absent.  Because if the configurations of personal, political, and national character are not there, then there is nothing. All the grand plans wither and die on the vine, because they hold only tainted, poisoned promise. The last thing that this country needs now is a craven opportunist pretending at being a born-again reformist, though remaining an incorrigible recidivist.

Pardon me, but I do not believe anything that seeks to portrays honesty and integrity, as such, originates from the opposition; its leadership ranks have zero credibility. I believe that the coalition intends to deliver on some (some) of the promises made by its leader. If I am wrong about the man, then this society is doomed. I take this stand for the man (hence my “X”) because I sense that the man himself stands for something different, comrades notwithstanding, lack of flair and fury and fullness of self notwithstanding. I detect that he stands for God and family and country; and if a man does not have those things, then for what does he exist? Unlike opponents, and rather ironically, the man from the PNC does not have the dark ambitions, the incomparable viciousness and vindictiveness present elsewhere.

These are nonnegotiable things on which I am unwavering. Like I said earlier, this is not about political savvy and glorious manifestoes (Mao and Stalin had them in spades); it is about what is at the core of the political creature.

At the end of it all, matters condense to this: Who do I believe? Who do I think could deliver in the heat of things to come? I say Mr Granger.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

Long winded bullshit from Lall. Now that Burnham and Hoyte are dead, Granger is the only living Guyanese President who has violated the constitution, the most sacred trust of any political leader anywhere in the world. The fact that his article virtually began with him stating that he is not seeking oil soup screams that he is indeed seeking or was promised oil soup. The denials people make usually belie their denials.

Comrade Granger Comrade Nagamootoo best for all Guyana peoples. Comrade Lall good India Guyanese who make better Guyana for all we peeples. More like comrade Lall makes unite Guyana and good live.. Coalition win 36 seat nex week.

Long winded bullshit from Lall. Now that Burnham and Hoyte are dead, Granger is the only living Guyanese President who has violated the constitution, the most sacred trust of any political leader anywhere in the world.

The fact that his article virtually began with him stating that he is not seeking oil soup screams that he is indeed seeking or was promised oil soup. The denials people make usually belie their denials.

Is that all ,the Opposition got ? do they recall their past transgression of the Burnham Constitution.

Long winded bullshit from Lall. Now that Burnham and Hoyte are dead, Granger is the only living Guyanese President who has violated the constitution, the most sacred trust of any political leader anywhere in the world.

The fact that his article virtually began with him stating that he is not seeking oil soup screams that he is indeed seeking or was promised oil soup. The denials people make usually belie their denials.

Is that all ,the Opposition got ?

Isn’t that more than enough bai? How much more you need?

No, more are needed.

Now tell us which part of the world ,there were three persons on a billboard ,running for Elections.

No, more are needed.

Now tell us which part of the world ,there were three persons on a billboard ,running for Elections.

Bai, I only have a short time left here. I don’t plan spending it in futility. 😀

The PPP operates as a party where all are included.

Nagamootoo’ pictures were plastered alongside Granger’s back in 2015. Why isn’t Ramjattan’s pictures included with Granger’s this time?

No, more are needed.

Bai, I only have a short time left here. I don’t plan spending it in futility. 😀

Nagamootoo’ pictures were plastered alongside Granger’s back in 2015. Why isn’t Ramjattan’s pictures included with Granger’s this time?

Accepting defeat !!! one will assume ,supporters of the PPP will be around to celebrate and laud the the developments the party prophesying.

Regarding your last statement ,not a matter of serious concern ,Khemraj Ramjattan is the Prime Minister Candidate for the Coalition of SIX Parties. The Electorates across  the country are aware of that.

Comrade Ralphie is taking a calculated risk and it's worth it. Many PPP'ites are not happy with Ali being selected as the  Puppet for Jagdeo's third term, plus Ali has credibility issues. They are most likely to vote for ANUG. Comrade Ralphie stands a good chance of holding the balance of power if he can secure those 3 to 5 seats. This then gives rise to the possibility of Shared Governance and Constitutional Reform.

The big "IF" in Ralph's letter should be "if" the elections are free and fair then his party might have a chance given the scenario he mentioned. 

This " Lall Man" is a lazy and unproductive member of Guyanese society despite his witty articles which appeal mostly to those missing one side of their brain.

No, more are needed.

Bai Dave, it was reported in the media that the PNC election consultant advised them that Ramjattan the AFC are an embarrassment to the coalition and don’t have any support hence Granger’s poster only should be plastered all over the place. Ramjattan is like dog Shyte to the PNC. 

No, more are needed.

Bai Dave, it was reported in the media that the PNC election consultant advised them that Ramjattan the AFC are an embarrassment to the coalition and don’t have any support hence Granger’s poster only should be plastered all over the place. Ramjattan is like dog Shyte to the PNC. 

What happened ,not enough sleep ? Kazma in the conversation.

Django bhai,

You scrub very hard for the PNC, but the place is still dirty. It's not that you are not a good scrubber. The problem is that dirt is so ingrained in the house that it requires demolition and new construction.  I urge to exercise your democratic right for a better purpose. Your short-term gains from your scrubbing will be obliterated by the losses in the long-term. Your family and friends will cuss you in future days to come if this country remains in the hands of the PNC.  You are old enough and hopefully intelligent enough to know that Guyana was reduced to the rank of pauper state under the PNC which governed undemocratically from 1964 to 1992.

DJ is on the wrong side of history.

We escaped PNC apartheid and they want to whitewash the atrocities committed by the PNC. Granger raped the constitution, ignored CCJ rulings, illegally appointed a GECOM chairman and the Lowenfield was given that position because he is a Blackman. He was less qualified than Gunraj but was still given the position by the illegal Patterson. These are terrible acts and no amount of whitewashing can erase it.

DJ is certainly on the wrong side of history.

I am concerned that the former AFC stalwart, Mitwah, is being mesmerized and dazzled by Django.

Nope. I see him taking a neutral stance.

I am for Shared Governance and Changes to the Constitution.

I am concerned that the former AFC stalwart, Mitwah, is being mesmerized and dazzled by Django.

Well not me alone ,nuff people in the same canoe.

I am for Shared Governance and Changes to the Constitution.

Probably didn't see my post ,battles ahead for periodically change of government , mentioning the PPP will have to re-tool and come back.

Nuff people on a canoe simply means less than a dozen. Not a lot when it comes to the big event. 

This is not about the PPP re-tooling and returning.  This is about getting the PNC to respect the constitution and the rights of the people of Guyana.  Don't turn a blind eye to constitutional violations and electoral fraud. 

Nuff people on a canoe simply means less than a dozen. Not a lot when it comes to the big event. 

Dozen !! there are thousands .

I hope you are not watching him through the lens of the AFC leader. 

How exactly do you mean?

Since the AFC morphed with the PNC its leaders have become blinded to many of the social ills in the society as well as  to the unethical people who are scrubbing and kissing their way through congress place. 

This is not about the PPP re-tooling and returning. 

This is about getting the PNC to respect the constitution and the rights of the people of Guyana. 

Don't turn a blind eye to constitutional violations and electoral fraud. 

Already had a conversation with Kaz on the subject .Seems like that's all the PPP got. To my mind that's a weak push ,Guyanese are smarter.

How exactly do you mean?

Since the AFC morphed with the PNC its leaders have become blinded to many of the social ills in the society as well as  to the unethical people who are scrubbing and kissing their way through congress place. 

The social ills were inherited from the PPP after 23 years. Scrubbing and kissing their way through Freedumb House happened, but you never complained. Were you blind then?

How exactly do you mean?

The social ills were inherited from the PPP after 23 years. Scrubbing and kissing their way through Freedumb House happened, but you never complained. Were you blind then?

I did complain about the scrubbers of FH who continue to ply trade at Congress Place via AFC. You may have missed some of my posts attacking corruption from all corners.

That is not Mitwah writing deh bai. 😀

Y’all have my sympathy then because that canoe is going overboard. 😀

Long winded bullshit from Lall. Now that Burnham and Hoyte are dead, Granger is the only living Guyanese President who has violated the constitution, the most sacred trust of any political leader anywhere in the world. The fact that his article virtually began with him stating that he is not seeking oil soup screams that he is indeed seeking or was promised oil soup. The denials people make usually belie their denials.

This is a lie. Jagdeo also violated the constitution by not holding Local Government Elections when they were due. 

For the supporters ,that doesn't count ,his entire term of office none was held.

No, more are needed.

The last time I looked at a world map, Guyana was part of the world. Lol

but seriously, I think that they are stressing the team, instead of just one. Irfaan Ally said something like this when he was elected to be candidate by the PPP central committee. 

Z

That is not Mitwah writing deh bai. 😀

Who is it?

Zed posted:

No, more are needed.

The last time I looked at a world map, Guyana was part of the world. Lol

but seriously, I think that they are stressing the team, instead of just one. Irfaan Ally said something like this when he was elected to be candidate by the PPP central committee. 

Yep most knows that ,Guyana is probably the only country three man team ,displayed on bill boards running for office.

Zara posted:

PPP comrades foolish tink make govt. Coalition 36 seating just wach.

The wisdom and intelligence of GNI is centered here

Typical Sophia Univ graduates

Yuh see story deh, eh bhai Nehru.

Zara with her/his profound gobbledygook.

Zara ah wan prappa foolish wan.