This for sure is a lie, please post your source for this disinformation. Whenever you lips move a lie come out, whenever your fingers touch the keyboard, a lie is born. 

What is a lie.  That without Guyanese sugar cane in St Kitts and Barbados would remain in the canefields?  That was a known fact and still true in Barbados.

Face it your PPP reduced its own supporters to becoming the Mexicans of the Eastern Caribbean.  Doing "slave" work that the locals don't want to do.

I

You really expect us to believe that a cane cutter, chainsaw operator, combine/tractor/dredge operator all should be educated people?

Bookers used to have a whole school providing post secondary training that the MTA respects highly.  For that reason they also respect Trinidadians and Jamaicans whose skills were developed in the bauxite and oil industries.  

I can recall MTA having any respect for taxi drivers and bartenders.

I can see why Jagdeo destroyed Guysuco as he doesn't think that educated and skilled people are needed to build and maintain factories.  No wonder the Skeldon factory doesn't work!

Some one with only primary school education can be a taxi driver, landscaper, hotel cleaner, or bar tender. With basic high school education some one can function very well in a front office hotel position.

Druggie there is a reason why Linden traditionally had a higher % of people with post secondary education than elsewhere in Guyana, with only G/T having more. 

But you see the PPP doesn't respect this so squandered the opportunity to make Linden into an export processing zone. And don't scream that this isn't possible as other Caribbean countries with the same source of energy has Guyana has have succeeded in this.

Daily I can see why you adore Jagdeo the fake doctor.

Do you even know how many UG grads are currently unemployed under jackass Granger? In fact Guyana has a glut of educated people with no jobs. 

These people were also unemployed under Jagdeo. Even as many fled to volcanic peaks and coral reefs.  There was a time not that long ago when most of the professionals at the Caribbean Development Bank were Guyanese.

Why don't you suggest that these unemployed grads find work in some hotel in St Lucia if you think that Guyana is uniquely unable to employ its educated people?

Here is the problem with Guyana. No one gets out of school knowing what to do.  They need further training and exposure under people with experience, but none of these remain in Guyana. They began to flee in 1962 and have been up until today.  They fled the PPP and also flee the PNC.  

Guyana has the most incompetent set of governments since then, which is why what should be the RICHEST country in the Caribbean only manages to beat Haiti.  And this will not change as folks like you worship Jagdeo. Not because he is any good, but because he is Indian.

As a result Guyana has a dearth of people with both education/training and experience so its economy remains backward. Its industries are uncompetitive as it doesn't have the people with the skills to reposition them. 

In fact there are a whole battery of people with advanced training in aspects of agriculture, some even Phds.  Please don't tell me that you think that Exxon has a bunch of illiterates.  In fact their operations will be Trini dominated with Guyanese confined to cooking food.  This because the Trinis have the education and the Guyanese lack it.

For natural resource based economies to compete they need to employ the most modern technologies and management systems. One cannot attain this with only a primary school level education.

But I see illiterates from China built the Skeldon factory, and we now see the results.

2. Guyanese as a whole - from all ethnic backgrounds 

PPP supporters fled a PPP government even though they remain loyal which is why my focus. In addition cane cutting isn't known to be an occupation with huge numbers of PNC supporters so we can easily guess who went to cut cane on those islands.

The big explosion of Guyanese migration to the Caribbean began after 2000. Now some Afro Guyanese went to those islands as their grandfathers came from their so qualified to become residents with an opportunity to acquire citizenship by descent. Yes the grand kids of the same people who mention.

Indo Guyanese obviously lack this opportunity except for Trinidad and Suriname.  They don't have relatives in Barbados, Grenada, or St Lucia, yet many are there.

I am glad that you point out that Islanders once came to Guyana and under the PPP huge numbers of Guyanese, including those with no ties to these islands, fled there.  In fact over 60% of the Guyanese living in Barbados arrived after 2000. 

Prior to this most Guyanese in Barbados were black, but after 2000 Indians began to outnumber them, raising the ire of many Bajans who were disgusted with the racist attitudes towards blacks many brought with them. Islanders from Nevis, Tortola, Grenada and elsewhere had made the same observation, and in fact it is said that the Antigua gov't deliberately made it difficult for Guyanese Indians out of the same belief, based upon complaints made by others.

I

You really expect us to believe that a cane cutter, chainsaw operator, combine/tractor/dredge operator all should be educated people?

Bookers used to have a whole school providing post secondary training that the MTA respects highly.  For that reason they also respect Trinidadians and Jamaicans whose skills were developed in the bauxite and oil industries.  

I can recall MTA having any respect for taxi drivers and bartenders.

I can see why Jagdeo destroyed Guysuco as he doesn't think that educated and skilled people are needed to build and maintain factories.  No wonder the Skeldon factory doesn't work!

Some one with only primary school education can be a taxi driver, landscaper, hotel cleaner, or bar tender. With basic high school education some one can function very well in a front office hotel position.

Druggie there is a reason why Linden traditionally had a higher % of people with post secondary education than elsewhere in Guyana, with only G/T having more. 

But you see the PPP doesn't respect this so squandered the opportunity to make Linden into an export processing zone. And don't scream that this isn't possible as other Caribbean countries with the same source of energy has Guyana has have succeeded in this.

Daily I can see why you adore Jagdeo the fake doctor.

You made a stupid claim that Guyana's economy can support educated people and I refuted this indicating that cane cutting, machine operator and rice farmers don't require education therefore people flee to the US, CA and GB to pursue academia. Now you go on another incoherent rambling about bookers, jagdeo, linden etc. I think you must be getting senile in your old age. 

You made a stupid claim that Guyana's economy can support educated people and I refuted this indicating that cane cutting, machine . 

Many machine operators make more than many with college degrees. Only in your infantile mind don't you equate post secondary school technical training as a sign of education.  

Bookers trained technicians as did the oil industry of Trinidad and as did the bauxite industries of Guyana and Jamaica.  These skills are well regarded by employers in NYC.  The fact that you don't respect it shows how ignorant you are.

In fact there is more scope for technicians in resource based economies than in tourist based economies.  Do you regard training in how to mix drinks, or smile and take orders, or how to make up beds and clean hotel bathrooms, a sign of an educated person?  How skilled does one have to be to perform those roles? 

Why is every description of Guyana's problems filled with complaints that it lacks skilled and educated personnel?  Every president including your champion Jagdeo used to literally go down on their knees to beg skilled and educated Guyanese to return.  We don't even have nurses who are competent enough to train nurses because our best nurses are training nurses in Barbados and Antigua.

Guyana along with Trinidad and Jamaica should have the most educated population in the English speaking Caribbean.  The fact that this distinction goes to Barbados shows how sick those societies are.

Well said Caribj. 

We friend yet or am I still a cannibal from the Congo?

I was just having fun with you. Keep it clean from the racist slants. 

Please educate me as to what I say that is racist. Note that discussing racism or inter ethnic attitudes isn't racist. 

Guyana is a divided society and unless we have some way of connecting with each other as GUYANESE, and we identify as GUYANESE first and as our ethnic group secondly we aren't going any where.  If our ethnicity is more important that our nationality then we are engaged in an undeclared civil war.

Well said Caribj. 

Please educate me as to what I say that is racist. Note that discussing racism or inter ethnic attitudes isn't racist. 

Guyana is a divided society and unless we have some way of connecting with each other as GUYANESE, and we identify as GUYANESE first and as our ethnic group secondly we aren't going any where.  If our ethnicity is more important that our nationality then we are engaged in an undeclared civil war.

Spot on.

You made a stupid claim that Guyana's economy can support educated people and I refuted this indicating that cane cutting, machine . 

Many machine operators make more than many with college degrees. Only in your infantile mind don't you equate post secondary school technical training as a sign of education.  

Bookers trained technicians as did the oil industry of Trinidad and as did the bauxite industries of Guyana and Jamaica.  These skills are well regarded by employers in NYC.  The fact that you don't respect it shows how ignorant you are.

In fact there is more scope for technicians in resource based economies than in tourist based economies.  Do you regard training in how to mix drinks, or smile and take orders, or how to make up beds and clean hotel bathrooms, a sign of an educated person?  How skilled does one have to be to perform those roles? 

Why is every description of Guyana's problems filled with complaints that it lacks skilled and educated personnel?  Every president including your champion Jagdeo used to literally go down on their knees to beg skilled and educated Guyanese to return.  We don't even have nurses who are competent enough to train nurses because our best nurses are training nurses in Barbados and Antigua.

Guyana along with Trinidad and Jamaica should have the most educated population in the English speaking Caribbean.  The fact that this distinction goes to Barbados shows how sick those societies are.

Now you change your tune. The question was why Guyanese with aspirations in academia have to migrate overseas to pursue their academic goals, this is because the Guyanese economy can not support their academic goals due to the very nature of the economy depending on agriculture, mining and timber. Now you singing about machine operator making more money than college grads, which has nothing to do with the discussion at hand, 

Drugb, I am certain some of my truck drivers and BullDozer operators earn more than you. Your education as an IT coder is obsolete. Name one single AP that you have developed.

What happen deh, you stop book keeping and now driving Uber. Dont lie we all know you.

Hope you are feeling much better today. I see you are retired. I may have a security job for you. I need someone to bathe and walk my dogs. 

Drugb, I am certain some of my truck drivers and BullDozer operators earn more than you. Your education as an IT coder is obsolete. Name one single AP that you have developed.

What happen deh, you stop book keeping and now driving Uber. Dont lie we all know you.

Hope you are feeling much better today. I see you are retired. I may have a security job for you. I need someone to bathe and walk my dogs. 

Don't call your family names.

I see you have a sense of humor. I thought you were a 

To some  and especially elderlies like you, dogs are great companions and they become like part of the family. 

Just do your own home work. Too busy preparing for a charity show tonite. I am just on a short break. 

When I do so you call me a racist. When D2 attempted to do so he was also accused of the same.

I have done what I can do so its up to you all to lead a discussion on how the distrust between the two main groups can be dealt with.  And stop thinking that its solution is only political.  Our politics is a symptom of the distrust, not the cause of it.

Now you change your tune. The question was why Guyanese with aspirations in academia have to migrate overseas to pursue their academic goals, this is because the Guyanese economy can not support their academic goals due to the very nature of the economy depending on agriculture, mining and timber. Now you singing about machine operator making more money than college grads, which has nothing to do with the discussion at hand, 

Changed my tune with what. The moron that you are have a very narrow view as to what being educated is.  In fact having talented technicians with post secondary training is more that Guyana needs then yet another PhD.

Trinidadians will eat Guyanese for lunch as we lack a pool of talent that can be quickly trainable.  Exxon will hire them and fill their "local quota".  Given that Guyanese have been swarming into these islands, especially since 2000 there is not a thing that Guyana can do to stop a Trini invasion into the oil industry.

So yes this is an example of how a natural resource based economy does need highly skilled personnel, which Guyana lacks. 

Have you heard any demand for Antiguans to staff the Marriott Hotel?

Well said Caribj. 

Spot on.

I am actually interested in your take on this now that you know the characters that are involved.

Feel free to open a new thread.  Unless Guyana resolves this issue its chapter and the book comes to an end.  The kids showed us that it isn't impossible, but even with their success Druggie suffered a meltdown as the involvement of blacks in this multi ethic endeavor assaulted him.

Ignoring a festering wound doesn't make it go away.

So how do we learn how to connect as Guyanese at least the degree to which Trinidadians connect with each other?  They have their own issues with division by race (Indian and black) and by color (light skinned vs. dark) yet they proudly sing "Trini to D bone" and beam with pride as a collectivity when they do so.  Guyanese will murmur it and watch each other warily as they do so.

Now you singing about machine operator making more money than college grads, which has nothing to do with the discussion at hand, 

It does because they are skilled people with post secondary education and so are EDUCATED people.  You have an extremely archaic notion of what education is.

Guyana had to import Chinese to destroy Skeldon, the Marriott and hopefully they will not do the same to the airport. Now imagine if Guyanese had those skills.  Which they do by the way. Not just in Guyana.

Changed my tune with what. The moron that you are have a very narrow view as to what being educated is.  In fact having talented technicians with post secondary training is more that Guyana needs then yet another PhD.

Trinidadians will eat Guyanese for lunch as we lack a pool of talent that can be quickly trainable.  Exxon will hire them and fill their "local quota".  Given that Guyanese have been swarming into these islands, especially since 2000 there is not a thing that Guyana can do to stop a Trini invasion into the oil industry.

So yes this is an example of how a natural resource based economy does need highly skilled personnel, which Guyana lacks. 

Have you heard any demand for Antiguans to staff the Marriott Hotel?

Don't lie, we were discussing academia and suddenly you introduce machine operator. Now you have lilmohan who called you a cannibal, now offering critical support. 

I was discussing post secondary education from the beginning. Your primitive mind can only see "education" in terms of a college degree.

You couldn't understand this so I made it more explicit.

So less than 11% of Guyanese over 15 had completed any form of post secondary education.  Interesting to note that 16% of those in Region 10 had completed this, due to the high numbers involved in some sort of technical training.

Barbados had 17% with university degrees and 11% with other post secondary education. 

Meaning that just under 30% of all Barbadians have completed some form of post secondary education, vs. less than 11% of Guyanese.  Antigua, which does NOT have a university available to locals (it does have off shore medical schools for Americans), has 22% with some sort of post secondary education.

Note that the PPP had been in power for 20 years when the 2012 census had been completed.

Druggie as you can see from the beginning I was referring to post secondary school education.  Only 8% of Guyanese had a college degree in 2012.

So less than 11% of Guyanese over 15 had completed any form of post secondary education.  Interesting to note that 16% of those in Region 10 had completed this, due to the high numbers involved in some sort of technical training.

Barbados had 17% with university degrees and 11% with other post secondary education. 

Meaning that just under 30% of all Barbadians have completed some form of post secondary education, vs. less than 11% of Guyanese.  Antigua, which does NOT have a university available to locals (it does have off shore medical schools for Americans), has 22% with some sort of post secondary education.

Note that the PPP had been in power for 20 years when the 2012 census had been completed.

Druggie as you can see from the beginning I was referring to post secondary school education.  Only 8% of Guyanese had a college degree in 2012.

Then you may continue this discussion with yourself as the premise of my argument was that Guyana economy is not conducive to supplying jobs to those with academic aspirations, BA,BS and above. 

Only 8% of Guyanese had a college degree in 2012.

Is it possible that Guyanese who earn their college degree from other than UG are not considered in this stat?

The 8% is the number of Guyanese who in 2012 claimed that they had completed university.  Nothing to do with UG. 

I don't even know why you would ask such a question, given that those who graduated from places other than UG usually consider themselves to be of a higher caliber than UG graduates.

Then you may continue this discussion with yourself as the premise of my argument was that Guyana economy is not conducive to supplying jobs to those with academic aspirations, BA,BS and above. 

And yet the number one constraint to development in Guyana is the fact that it has a severe shortage of professionals. 

A fact that your hero Jagdeo alluded to many times when he used to beg Guyanese to return.  When he asked that you know he wasn't seeking the security guards and the home attendants.

And yet the number one constraint to development in Guyana is the fact that it has a severe shortage of professionals. 

A fact that your hero Jagdeo alluded to many times when he used to beg Guyanese to return.  When he asked that you know he wasn't seeking the security guards and the home attendants.

Nonsense, there is no shortage of professionals, there are no jobs for people with university degrees. Only blue collar work and politician. 

Pointblank posted:

Dr. Samantha Tross: First Black Female Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon in the UK.

Dr. Samantha-Tross

Only 6% of all surgeons in the United Kingdom are female, and Dr. Samantha Tross is one of them. She’s the first Black British woman to become a consultant Orthopaedic surgeon. Samantha was born in Georgetown Guyana on June 30, 1968 to Sammy and Gwendolin Tross. The second of their four children, she went to St. Gabriel’s Primary School before her diplomat father was assigned to England and the family relocated.

Samantha obtained a Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery degree from University College London in 1992 and entered the male-dominated field of orthopaedic surgery. Her surgical training was obtained at a number of London Teaching hospitals including St George’s Hospital, The Royal London and Guys & St Thomas’s. She also received Fellowship training overseas at world renowned centers in Toronto, Canada and Sydney, Australia, gaining further experience in Primary and Revision Hip and Knee Replacement, Computer assisted Arthroplasty, Hip Resurfacing and Knee Arthroscopy.

Samantha’s practice reflects the skills gained in her general Orthopaedic training, where she has experience in diagnosing and implementing treatment on most Orthopaedic pathologies.  Her success is based on her high standard of providing excellent and efficient service for her patients at all times. She is a surgeon but a doctor foremost with a holistic approach to her patients.

Dr. Samantha Tross

Samantha is also an Associate Editor of the Journal of Medical Case Reports. She has been featured in the Black Britannea exhibition in the London Town Hall in May 2008 and in the Liverpool War Museum in August 2009.   She was also featured in the  β€œAt Home with Dr. Hiliary Jones guide to choosing your Consultant” March 2009 and on the front cover of β€˜The Vine magazine’, March 2009,  in their Celebrating Professional Women issue.Samantha is also a featured consultant on the Total Health website and was profiled in The Black Powerlist 2011 and 2012 by JP Morgan and voted one of the 100 most influential Black Britons.

Samantha’s biography is published in a hardcover book titled β€œSamantha Tross β€“ Surgeon: Black Profiles” written by author Verna Allette Wilkins.

Congratulations Dr. Samantha Tross on your impressive accomplishments.  You Rock!

Dr. Tross practices out of Middlesex and West London.  For consultations visit: http://jointreplacementsurgery...uk/consultation.html

Source:

http://www.totalhealth.co.uk

http://www.lacrememagazine.co.uk

www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk

Hey Idiots, this tread is about Dr. Samantha Tross.  You two guys should start your own tread and go and bugger each other there.

Drugb posted:.

Nonsense, there is no shortage of professionals, there are no jobs for people with university degrees. Only blue collar work and politician. 

So no need for doctors, engineers, nurses, agricultural specialists, accountants, finance professionals, marketing professionals, and other fields.  After all Guyana is in the Middle Ages so modern skills aren't needed.

Drugb posted:.

So no need for doctors, engineers, nurses, agricultural specialists, accountants, finance professionals, marketing professionals, and other fields.  After all Guyana is in the Middle Ages so modern skills aren't needed.

A few jobs in these fields are available but there is a glut. Doctors don't stay as they can make a hefty living elsewhere. Accountants, there is a glut, very few openings exists. Nurses don't require a BA/BS, a six month course is all you need to be a nurse in Guyana and they don't stick around as the wages are low. Agricultural specialists, don't know that there are jobs for these folks, farmers can't afford to pay them. Finance/marketing and other fields, same story, no large need as the country is small and have primitive processes in place that don't require university educated professionals. 

No need in Guyana for people with Samantha Tross' skills as Guyanese don't have bones.  So it doesn't matter that so many of those who accomplish things aren't in Guyana.

Its not about bones but rather profitability. Go tell Samantha to go back to Guyana and work for a pittance, she would put two slap pun yuh ignorant backside as this suggestion is akin to asking her to give up her mercedes benz and mansion. 

RiffRaff posted:

www.rknybookkeeping.com

God bless riff, even with a primary school education this fellow was able to prevail and open his own business, Chief also. Only lilmohan is the odd man out. 

primitive processes in place that don't require university educated professionals. 

Druggie 25% of Bajans between 25-29 have university degrees.  In addition to these people Barbados attracts Guyanese and Jamaicans and others with university degrees.  So in fact it actually has even more than the data on Bajans alone will suggest.  If these Guyanese, Jamaicans, and even some Trinidadians couldn't find work on that island they wouldn't be there.

Please tell me why Barbados can absorb all of these relatively recently trained grads and Guyana cannot.  Yes you are correct. As Barbados and other Caribbean islands advanced the PPP kept it primitive.

And yes druggie you scream at the low quality of nursing in Guyana.  The reason is that their trainers are under trained and under educated and so turn out a low caliber nurse.  The better educated Guyanese nurses can be found right there in Barbados as Jagdeo will easily tell you.

Every time Jagdeo found his way to a Caribbean volcanic peak or coral reef he used to get down on his hands and knees and beg the Guyanese there to return.  If it turns out that a Guyanese is making so much money in Barbados that they don't want to return to Guyana you ought to tell us why Guyana is so primitive that it cannot even keep its own people from fleeing to that coral reef.