Guards beaten, raped as bandits target N/A Secondary Schools

– $5M stolen By Andrew Carmichael

Several guards were tied up, beaten and raped as bandits, over the past week, targeted all of the Secondary

Berbice High School where the guards were tied up

Schools in New Amsterdam, while stealing over $5 million in the process. The school robbery spree started on July 29 when six armed went to the New Amsterdam Multilateral School, where two guards were on duty, and ducked taped the male guard before blindfolding the female and raping her. According to the guard, at least two persons raped her. The men then broke into the school and carried away $1 million in cash and $4 million worth in cheques. On August 1, bandits went to the Berbice High School, where three guards were presently on duty. They tied them up before taking away their cell phones. The men made their way to the school and stole projectors and other valuables. It is still not known exactly how much cash was removed in that operation. However guards at the school said that more security personnel are needed at that location which has seven buildings and only an allotment of three guards. The following night bandits focused their attention on Tutorial Academy Secondary. The two guards were beaten and bound. There are reports that the female guard was also sexually assaulted, the school broken into and $10,000 removed. The two other secondary schools in the country’s oldest town, New Amsterdam, which were so far not accounted for on the list of schools broken into during the August holiday are Berbice Educational Institute (BEI) and Vrymens Erven Secondary (VESS). However that quickly changed when both schools were attacked on the same night. On August 6, at about 2:00h, three men armed with cutlasses went to the three females guards on duty at BEI. “We were scared, knowing that they going to all the schools and so I tell the two other guards that all three of us will stay in the guard hut and we can’t sleep,” one of the guards recounted. She said at about 1:30h, the dogs in the area began to bark and they were on the lookout. The school is in a remote area and the fence is currently down as construction work is taking place to reconstruct a concrete fence. “I hear a noise and when I look, I see three men coming in, so I tell them look them coming. They run to the guard hut and one of them hold to one of the guards that went by the door and the other girl; she brake the louvers and jump out and I jump behind she and one of dem try fo catch she but she jump in the trench.” The guard said she was able to escape and get to the nearby bushes where she hid. The guard that was by the guard hut door was able to free herself and made it to the road where she screamed for help. She received a cut to the hand from a cutlass one of the men was carrying. “All three of them had one one cutlass and barefoot. They had on short pants and one didn’t have on shirt. The other two had on camouflage long sleeve shorts,” the woman said. Following the alarm that was raised, the three men who were all fully masked make their escape on foot. They did not get to go into the school. Meanwhile about 30 minutes, later the guards at VESS heard the dogs barking and went to investigate. “We have three dogs in the compound and all of them go to the back and start to bark. So we know something wrong.” At the time there were seven guards on duty at that school, including two males. “They didn’t expect that we had so many guards on duty and that we had men working,” one guard related to the Guyana Times. It is not known how many persons had entered the school premises at the time, but they all left after being confronted by dogs and several guards. Meanwhile the Police arrested several persons as they investigate the robberies and breakages. However none of their prints matched those which were gathered from the crime scenes. Police are continuing their investigations.

perhaps this will change when we have proper trained security at these locations rather than the underpaid matrons employed by the PPP 'security' contractors who are laughing all the way to the bank

nah suh bai?

perhaps this will change when we have proper trained security at these locations rather than the underpaid matrons employed by the PPP 'security' contractors who are laughing all the way to the bank

nah suh bai?

nah bai na suh, The People now look forward for the APNU/AFC to provide security, they don't want to hear excuse that the PPP/C is to blame. Get on with the job, try anything, make it work.............but do not come with lame excuses. If you have to flog these criminals at Market Square publicly, then  do so, or chop the hand and or foot off.........whatever it takes, but do something do not appear helpless. 

Everday there is serious crimes where the criminals are getting more daring.

with APNU/AFC throwing their hands in the air, feeling that it is not their jobs to reign in the criminals.

Originally Posted by asj:

nah suh bai?

nah bai na suh, The People now look forward for the APNU/AFC to provide security, they don't want to hear excuse that the PPP/C is to blame. Get on with the job, try anything, make it work.............but do not come with lame excuses. If you have to flog these criminals at Market Square publicly, then  do so, or chop the hand and or foot off.........whatever it takes, but do something do not appear helpless. 

with APNU/AFC throwing their hands in the air, feeling that it is not their jobs to reign in the criminals.

i think the security contracts to alyuh flush, PPP skontracta bais like Roshan Khan are up at year end . . . come talk to me den

and stop yuh nonsense about flogging and Saudi-style amputations

u can argue better than that

nah suh bai?

i think the security contracts to alyuh flush, PPP skontracta bais like Roshan Khan are up at year end . . . come talk to me den

Bai, it bleeds my heart to see (everyday) so many Guyanese being brutalized by criminals and nothing seems to be done and you wake up the next day and it is all over again.

nah suh bai?

Bai, it bleeds my heart to see (everyday) so many Guyanese being brutalized by criminals and nothing seems to be done and you wake up the next day and it is all over again.

u think you are alone in your concern?

i am constantly cautioning my remaining relatives in Guyana to leave nothing to chance with security arrangements

however, what u are engaging in here is anti-knowledge, irresponsible and clearly part of the PPP campaign of antiman hysteria, lies and race baiting we will have to endure for (at least) the next 5 years

smh

nah suh bai?

i am constantly cautioning my remaining relatives in Guyana to leave nothing to chance with security arrangements

however, what u are engaging in here is anti-knowledge, irresponsible and clearly part of the PPP campaign of antiman hysteria, lies and race baiting we will have to endure for (at least) the next 5 years

smh

Good to see that quote 'i am constantly cautioning my remaining relatives in Guyana to leave nothing to chance with security arrangements'

But when you come here with your "antiman hysteria" "lies and race baiting" and "we will have to endure for (at least) the next 5 years" Seems like you do not have Guyana and Guyanese at heart. Why wait five years? why not start now to set things in motion.

You have just appears to lost credibility, you can do better.

nah suh bai?

smh

Good to see that quote 'i am constantly cautioning my remaining relatives in Guyana to leave nothing to chance with security arrangements'

But when you come here with your "antiman hysteria" "lies and race baiting" and "we will have to endure for (at least) the next 5 years" Seems like you do not have Guyana and Guyanese at heart. Why wait five years? why not start now to set things in motion.

what are u talking about "set[ting] things in motion"?

i clearly state that i am referencing the PPP antiman propaganda campaign . . . how am i or anybody in the coalition in control of that?

smh

nah suh bai?

smh

i clearly state that i am referencing the PPP antiman propaganda campaign . . . how am i or anybody in the coalition in control of that?

smh

Quote "what are u talking about "set[ting] things in motion"?

What I really meant (no offense to you) is that you would have joined me in voicing your opinion to the Authorities, so that something can be done.

It is not our job to fix the problem/s that is what they are being paid for.

I feel that the "stronger our voice" the more we can persuade Authority to do something. 

nah suh bai?

smh

smh

Quote "what are u talking about "set[ting] things in motion"?

What I really meant (no offense to you) is that you would have joined me in voicing your opinion to the Authorities, so that something can be done.

It is not our job to fix the problem/s that is what they are being paid for.

I feel that the "stronger our voice" the more we can persuade Authority to do something. 

i'm sorry, you are not voicing "your opinion" looking to a solution

where is your call for revocation of 'security' contracts to these NEPS cronys who employ housewives and claim they cannot pay the minimum wage?

you prefer engaging in opportunistic, lazy propaganda in service to the PPP . . . unserious stuff about flogging and amputations

i have no interest is "joining" such nonsense

nah suh bai?

Redux, even if we have proper trained security personnel at these locations, one thing is certain; they don't stand a chance. Bear in mind, that most of these people are unarmed for the most part and the individuals who're coming to pay them a visit are well armed and without a conscience as we've seen.
As I've always said, good intelligence is needed on the part o the GPF to stop these criminal elements from executing their plans and their victims. And as  we've seen, there seem to be an upsurge of criminal activity in the ancient county. whoever is responsible, need to be stopped. ASAP. Beside the usual robbery and murder,
I see rape has been thrown in as an added bonus. Not good.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

nah suh bai?

Redux, even if we have proper trained security personnel at these locations, one thing is certain; they don't stand a chance. Bear in mind, that most of these people are unarmed for the most part and the individuals who're coming to pay them a visit are well armed and without a conscience as we've seen.
As I've always said, good intelligence is needed on the part o the GPF to stop these criminal elements from executing their plans and their victims. And as  we've seen, there seem to be an upsurge of criminal activity in the ancient county. whoever is responsible, need to be stopped. ASAP. Beside the usual robbery and murder,
I see rape has been thrown in as an added bonus. Not good.

i disagree

this is a barefoot opportunistic criminal element, armed with cutlass and the like

armed constabulary would have probably deterred in the first place

poor, unarmed, untrained women and eldery men should not be employed in these positions in the first place for that very reason

imagine, these NEPS crony 'security' scontractors whining that they cannot even pay these poor people the new minimum wage

Business community takes fight to criminals…$2M reward for arrest of restaurant owner’s killers

August 9, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Angered by the recent spate of brutal robberies, some members of the business community are saying “enough is enough” and have decided to take the fight to the gangs that seem bent on unleashing a new crime wave on the society.

Murdered restaurant owner: Zhenjz Su

Friday’s hacking to death of restaurant owner Zhenjz Su and the brutal assault on his wife appeared to be the last straw. Yesterday, some prominent city businessmen announced that they have posted a $2M reward for information that would lead to the arrest and prosecution of Mr. Su’s killers. Persons with information can call telephone number 662-4076 and all information will be confidential. “We are sending out a strong message to those who think that they can just come into our business places and homes and rob and kill,” one of the businessmen told Kaieteur News. “We will not sit back and let that happen. If the police aren’t getting anywhere, we are prepared to spend our money to get the information and help the police to put these criminals away.” Zhenjz Su, 35, the owner of the Jade Stone Restaurant in Mandela Avenue, was gagged, bound and chopped to death in the kitchen area of his restaurant. The killers also dumped sacks of rice on the body. There are reports that the intruders killed Su after he refused to open a money-safe for them. However, they made off with the day’s sales. The intruders also inflicted a savage beating on the businessman’s wife, 32-year-old Fei Su, who was attacked in her bedroom. She was battered into unconsciousness, with the attackers knocking out some of her teeth. Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum disclosed that police have detained a suspect. Kaieteur News understands that a cutlass, believed to be the murder weapon, was found at the scene. Detectives also found a piece of lumber that they believe the intruders used to club the man’s wife. The victims have five dogs, but no one apparently heard the animals barking while the family was under attack. The bandits had also tampered with surveillance cameras on the property. According to a police official, the killers gained entry from a door in the bottom flat that the business couple had mistakenly left open. Zhenjz Su, a source said, would close the restaurant at around 21:00 hrs and attend to customers through that door. A friend of the family said that after killing Su, the bandits used the dead man’s keys to open a door leading to the couple’s living quarters. Police said that Fei Su, the wife, was confronted in her home above the restaurant by a group of men who assaulted her and took away an undisclosed sum of money before escaping. On checking later, she found the body of her husband downstairs on the kitchen floor with chop wounds to his head. His feet were tied and his mouth gagged. Mrs. Fei Su said she never saw her attackers, but one of her sons said that he saw a man, who was masked, in the room attacking her. The businesswoman said that she was beaten into unconsciousness. She recovered about two hours later and found her husband’s mutilated body, partly covered with sacks of rice, in the kitchen. The businesswoman was unable to say how much cash was stolen, but believed that the killing of her husband and the beating she sustained were deliberate acts. “They didn’t come to rob, they come to kill,” she said, adding that her son is now terrified whenever he sees strange men. The attack on the Su family is just the latest in a recent spate of savage and senseless attacks perpetrated by robbers. On June 5, Ganesh Ramlall, the owner of Regent Multiplex Mall, was riddled with bullets by bandits in his La Jalousie home, West Coast Demerara. On June 9, businessman Mohamed Chand and land court judge Nicola Pierre were battered and robbed in their Felicity, East Coast Demerara home. Mr. Chand lost an eye, while Mrs. Pierre suffered a broken jaw. The men escaped with cash, jewellery and other valuables. Prior to that, a bandit posing as a passenger shot rice farmer Hardat Kissoon dead in a minibus, after trailing him from a city bank. And two Saturdays ago, surveillance cameras recorded a young man clubbing, kicking and stomping 77-year-old Carmen Ganesh to death in her home at Montrose, East Coast Demerara.

nah suh bai?

What an absolute ASS you are. You are the Poster thing for SHIT HEAD!!!!

nah suh bai?

Indeed the PPP had their own people hand picked for these contracts but the reality is a crime was committed where at least one guard was not in on the business if the security people were involved. It is about time what the present administration sought out and hired advisers and crime scene processing professionals to get these idiots who would have smeared the place with DNA and fingerprints and other evidence of their presence. We are beyond the excuse of the PPP incompetence.

I see no evidence of overhaul in Berbice where there are lots of inspectors Clouseaus are  on staff and no evidence that the administration has awaken. Were they intent on revamping the system the wife beating nether world connected Crime Chief and the liar/colluderer to murderer of the Linden protesters would have been gone.

By the way, the police have firm knowledge who the crooks are and do not open files on them to track them nor do they go in and search their places of residence. Note, in Guyana, the Police simply walk into your house when they so please! The place is ripe for crime from the top down and if the administration needs to get a handle on this they have to quit the excuses and call in help. It cannot be done internally. The culture of crime is embedded all across the system

nah suh bai?

Indeed the PPP had their own people hand picked for these contracts but the reality is a crime was committed where at least one guard was not in on the business if the security people were involved. It is about time what the present administration sought out and hired advisers and crime scene processing professionals to get these idiots who would have smeared the place with DNA and fingerprints and other evidence of their presence. We are beyond the excuse of the PPP incompetence.

I see no evidence of overhaul in Berbice where there are lots of inspectors Clouseaus are  on staff and no evidence that the administration has awaken. Were they intent on revamping the system the wife beating nether world connected Crime Chief and the liar/colluderer to murderer of the Linden protesters would have been gone.

By the way, the police have firm knowledge who the crooks are and do not open files on them to track them nor do they go in and search their places of residence. Note, in Guyana, the Police simply walk into your house when they so please! The place is ripe for crime from the top down and if the administration needs to get a handle on this they have to quit the excuses and call in help. It cannot be done internally. The culture of crime is embedded all across the system

i have no problem with what you are saying, but i think you are talking about crime solving while i am speaking to a narrow but important point regarding deterrence/prevention

the school at Linden was burnt by arsonists who presented themselves to the hapless woman contracta employee watchmanning the place, and she sensibly ran away . . . this is comedy

and i can go on and on and on

Crime is a serious matter but this is child's play compared to the shoot-out, kidnappings and the beheadings that occured a few years ago when it was not uncommon to wake up to news that 12 people were killed the night before or a headless body was found floating in the North Rd. canal. 

If anything, it seems as though the criminals have become less daring. Problem still needs to be fixed but don't go all sensational!

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

Crime is a serious matter but this is child's play compared to the shoot-out, kidnappings and the beheadings that occured a few years ago when it was not uncommon to wake up to news that 12 people were killed the night before or a headless body was found floating in the North Rd. canal. 

If anything, it seems as though the criminals have become less daring. Problem still needs to be fixed but don't go all sensational!

Humbly beg to disagree!! If I followed you analysis, I would take it to mean

that crime today is less than crime some years ago, not so, as I am privy to the police reports and according to them crime has risen considerably, in areas of murders, and robbery. Also I would not say that the criminals has become less daring, as I see it.......would say that the criminals has become more aggressive now, and that could very well means that when Politician like our President sees it wise to go and release so many dozens of criminals then this is what you get. 

I am not being sensational, but when you do have wrongs in our Society, then we need to have a louder voice so that someone in authority can hear our plights and do something.........this is what they collect Salaries for.

Do not get the idea that I am quiet when their are crimes that is like a plague to our country, I do raise my voice, unlike some people who praises the criminals, and put the blame squarely on the victims.

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

Humbly beg to disagree!! If I followed you analysis, I would take it to mean

that crime today is less than crime some years ago, not so, as I am privy to the police reports and according to them crime has risen considerably, in areas of murders, and robbery. Also I would not say that the criminals has become less daring, as I see it.......would say that the criminals has become more aggressive now, 

Show me the figures ......

And then let's make the comparison with the boldness of the criminals .....show me one crime today that resembles anything that happened during the reign of the phantom squad.

Many thanks.