I find this video interesting...thanks for posting (I will watch the rest later). 

Buckley, who ran the National Review magazine, was a darling of American conservative philosophy. 

James Baldwin, of course, (of The Fire Next Time fame) was superb, often prophetic. In some ways, his welcome and treatment in Britain was probably better in London, that it ever was in the US.

Although "white privilege" was not necessarily the gist of Baldwin's presentation, he was more interested in exposing the hypocracy of the "American Dream" and the neglect of the "American Negro". 

However, I think white privilege, which I have been reading about lately, is alive and well in America today. White Americans, many of whom do not even understand their own history, either ignore or deny this historical past, often denying that such a thing exist today in this country. 

White privilege is very relevant today because although there are no segregation laws that have institutionalized racism, it remains a cultural phenomenon that affects people of color in this country. In simple terms, a white person, or a light skin person, is more likely to enjoy these privileges because the system gives them priority over people of color (in employment, etc).  

It will only end with time, as more and more people of color occupy position of power and authority, and as long as people are willing to challenge the remnants of institutionalized racism and cultural segregation (stereotypes, bias, etc). 

Antabanta, some of this stuff might be above the heads of some of the knuckleheads on GNI...(like Mitwah..)

Although "white privilege" was not necessarily the gist of Baldwin's presentation, .....

In simple terms, a white person, or a light skin person, is more likely to enjoy these privileges because the system gives them priority over people of color (in employment, etc).  

It's not the gist of the argument but what I gathered.

White privilege is what you say and much more. It is an inherent absence of the considerations a non-white must make 24x7. It is the absence of perpetual fear of police and the system. It's the absence of perpetual desperation and frustration. It's the absence of system-wide, centuries-old, institutionalized worthlessness.

Forbes Burnham had his negro followers striking fear in the East Indian communities. And East Indians came to America in escape. To the same white ppl country who margnalized Black Americans. And the East Indians did well.

Immigration is always an option. Why Black Americans doan give it some consideration. In Africa dey running away to white ppl country.

Maybe, Black Americans should return to Africa-balance out the transferr. 

All humans have the same wants, for they all have goodness and mercy as companions. For those who know Christ, they know how to walk avoiding the perils of life.

Know God and Peacefulness of the mind will prevail-avoidance of bigotted citizens.

Forbes Burnham had his negro followers striking fear in the East Indian communities. And East Indians came to America in escape. To the same white ppl country who margnalized Black Americans. And the East Indians did well.

Immigration is always an option. Why Black Americans doan give it some consideration. In Africa dey running away to white ppl country.

All humans have the same wants, for they all have goodness and mercy as companions. For those who know Christ, they know how to walk avoiding the perils of life.

Know God and Peacefulness of the mind will prevail-avoidance of bigotted citizens.

Good one Siggy. Black people in America know this is the best place for them to live. They see life in other parts of the world by just watching TV. They might only look stupid.

So the two of you are saying that black people in the US have it good? They are not victims of any discrimination in the country of their birth? They have not and are not marginalized, oppressed, and victimized in the country of their birth - THEIR country? You're saying that Afro-americans should not only overlook the brutality, the indescribable horror their ancestors - BORN AMERICANS - experienced and run from the country of THEIR birth - THEIR country.

Except for blacks? Christ was rammed down their throats but the brutality still persisted for many years.

This is one of Anta’s best post. It would be nice to see more participation in this thread. 

I agree with and disagree with some of Sigs assessment. Yes we suffered tremendously under the thug Burnham. 

It is a known fact that Blacks were marginalized in the USA and institutionalize racism still exists to this day. Have things changed ? Yes, we have come a Long way and still have a long way to go. I have seen the hopelessness in African American communities in the USA with my own eyes. 

How can we tell African Americans to move back to Africa ? It is the same as telling an Indo Guyanese to move back to India. 

God has many names, Christ, Allah, Jehova, Krsna and from what I have read, there would be zero injustices in this world if people truly follow the teachings of God regardless of what name we worship him as.

Yuji22

Perhaps, "white" and other races should return to their native countries and leave the US_of_A to its original inhabitants, First Nations, generally known/referenced as Amerindians.

The White man goes anywhere on this planet and out of this planet. They been doing it since they made boats that ferried them to those lands. One white man would hold thousands of natives at bay.

Yuh still sey dem ain dat powerful? 

They provide the human race with modern day civilization and their christian beliefs was willing to share it.

Sure they are racist, but I know other races of people who racist too.

Suh dem doan have dat right to dispise other ppl. No body is perfect.

There are eagles on here who sees everything, even though they have not gained altitude. 

It is better to watch where to tread. Citizenship is not equal and in America most definitely. But I like the benefits and 5000 years from now the white race will still dominate, going any damn place they feel like and marginalize any race of ppl they feel like. 

Mugabe, with all his splendor couldn't do without them. Burnham try to rob them and they cripple his economy. 

Black ppl better unlarn, relarn and larn, bcz dey harping like eagles about the unchristian ways of the white man. Dey better be like cooolie ppl, just mind dey business and LIVE.

antabanta posted:

Except for blacks? Christ was rammed down their throats but the brutality still persisted for many years.

Judgement is for the Lord. Get on with life.

The White man goes anywhere on this planet and out of this planet. They been doing it since they made boats that ferried them to those lands. One white man would hold thousands of natives at bay.

They provide the human race with modern day civilization and their christian beliefs was willing to share it.

There are eagles on here who sees everything, even though they have not gained altitude. 

It is better to watch where to tread. Citizenship is not equal and in America most definitely. But I like the benefits and 5000 years from now the white race will still dominate, going any damn place they feel like and marginalize any race of ppl they feel like. 

Mugabe, with all his splendor couldn't do without them. Burnham try to rob them and they cripple his economy. 

Black ppl better unlarn, relarn and larn, bcz dey harping like eagles about the unchristian ways of the white man. Dey better be like cooolie ppl, just mind dey business and LIVE.

You admire their brutality and disregard for people and the world in general, simply because you have been indoctrinated with their religion. How pathetic. An old Russian gentleman explained to me the foundation of European culture which permeates American white culture - take what you want. If you can't have it, destroy it so no one else can. You admire this?

antabanta posted:

What??? Better get your head out of the sand and face the real world. If you can't make sense, keep your BS for your brethren.

antabanta posted:

So the two of you are saying that black people in the US have it good? They are not victims of any discrimination in the country of their birth? They have not and are not marginalized, oppressed, and victimized in the country of their birth - THEIR country? You're saying that Afro-americans should not only overlook the brutality, the indescribable horror their ancestors - BORN AMERICANS - experienced and run from the country of THEIR birth - THEIR country.

Many black american made it.  

antabanta posted:

What??? Better get your head out of the sand and face the real world. If you can't make sense, keep your BS for your brethren.

Bhai! if you must read wah write, then your choice is to ignore or when see seignet juss speed away. Is dat attitude mek alyuh get into trouble.

antabanta posted:

You admire their brutality and disregard for people and the world in general, simply because you have been indoctrinated with their religion. How pathetic. An old Russian gentleman explained to me the foundation of European culture which permeates American white culture - take what you want. If you can't have it, destroy it so no one else can. You admire this?

Yep.

If I live to be a hundred, they will still rule the world and I would benefit from their ascendency. 

antabanta posted:

Many black american made it.  

No. Few black Americans made it. The vast majority don't stand a chance.

antabanta posted:

Bhai! if you must read wah write, then your choice is to ignore or when see seignet juss speed away. Is dat attitude mek alyuh get into trouble.

Really? Because your posts are so eloquent and profound? Wake-up. You post mostly crap. I've kicked your ass on this forum many times. Fool yourself all you want.

antabanta posted:

Yep.

If I live to be a hundred, they will still rule the world and I would benefit from their ascendency. 

You mean like a soup-drinker? No interest in the betterment of your fellow man? So you're just another Christian fraud.

antabanta posted:

Really? Because your posts are so eloquent and profound? Wake-up. You post mostly crap. I've kicked your ass on this forum many times. Fool yourself all you want.

You did not take the time to carefully read what I wrote. Basically, what I said in your words, if I writing crap, then ignore my comments. If I juss piss you off bcz yuh see my handle, then pass it by. 

On this BB, I never comment in considerations of eloquence or being profound. You make a Post and I do what moves me and I make a comment. Tell me, you wish for me not comment on your topic? And I will honour your wish.

I din realize all these years we bin fighting-changing point of views is never accomplished overnight. Who knows, maybe later in life I may come to change my views. For the time being, I consider all dis a lil gaff. 

antabanta posted:

Yep.

You mean like a soup-drinker? No interest in the betterment of your fellow man? So you're just another Christian fraud.

If I cannot bring about betterment for my Guyanese countrymen then w hy should I worry about Black Americans. I can't even have a decent conversation with you of opinions.

I am not an ingrate to a system instituted by whites that provides with quality life and security. Sure they beatup on Blacks.

Become a Christian first then you will be learned and have the necessities to decide which christians are frauds.   

antabanta posted:

You did not take the time to carefully read what I wrote. Basically, what I said in your words, if I writing crap, then ignore my comments. If I juss piss you off bcz yuh see my handle, then pass it by. 

On this BB, I never comment in considerations of eloquence or being profound. You make a Post and I do what moves me and I make a comment. Tell me, you wish for me not comment on your topic? And I will honour your wish.

I din realize all these years we bin fighting-changing point of views is never accomplished overnight. Who knows, maybe later in life I may come to change my views. For the time being, I consider all dis a lil gaff. 

You're missing something very fundamental... Are you begging me to ignore your crappy comment instead of telling you it's crap? Perhaps you should let intelligence motivate your comment instead idiocy. You're free to comment all you want on any thread, as long as you can handle the response.

antabanta posted:

Yep.

If I cannot bring about betterment for my Guyanese countrymen then w hy should I worry about Black Americans. I can't even have a decent conversation with you of opinions.

I am not an ingrate to a system instituted by whites that provides with quality life and security. Sure they beatup on Blacks.

Become a Christian first then you will be learned and have the necessities to decide which christians are frauds.   

Christians are learned? No thanks. I'll pass on the blind faith that you consider being learned and use my brains instead. Had you taken the time to watch the debate you might have learned the point being made in the debate is that the system you treasure was provided at the expense of blacks. For that reason, the only people deserving of your gratitude are blacks. It's difficult to entertain a discussion of opinions with extent of ignorance you display. For example, your statement makes it clear you have no idea that the system for which you are grateful establishes a hierarchy and a structure in which the majority of people are kept at a certain level. Were you a learned person you would understand it is whites who are primarily responsible for you running from your homeland to embrace a system created by those same whites who made you run from your homeland. There is no point in entering a debate with someone who is so clueless.

Last edited by antabanta

Sadly, Anta killed his own thread. It would have been a thread for a very good discourse.

I would feel a sense of loss had I any confidence in your ability to discourse and had I any assurance that you had something to discourse. But your focus on the death or life of a thread speaks volumes for your motive on this forum.