Amber Alert issued for three-year-old B.C. boy believed to have been abducted by his father

Canadian Press | Nov 15, 2012 8:21 PM ET | Last Updated: Nov 15, 2012 8:29 PM ET, Source

SPARWOOD, B.C. — Police in southeast B.C. have issued an Amber Alert for a three-year-old boy they believe has been abducted by his father.

The RCMP say they are looking for Alvin Barnet, who may be with his father, 39-year-old Robert Barnet.

The boy was abducted in the Elk Valley area near Sparwood.

Police say the pair may be travelling in a 2002 blue Subaru Outback with B.C. license 347S BL.

Alvin is wearing a red shirt and blue jeans, while his father is described as unshaven, with reddish blonde hair and a scar over his right eyebrow.

Police say anyone seeing the pair should not approach them, but should call 911.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

This is the first time I  am hearing of this case.  I am right here on the Alberta-Saskatchewan border but I did not hear anything about this case on the radio or tv.

You need to get off this blog and read/watch some real-life news.  Stop living in your "Jagans in Wonderland" fairy-tale world.

Search spreads to U.S. after Amber Alert issued for three-year-old B.C. boy

Keven Drews and David Lang, Canadian Press | Nov 15, 2012 8:21 PM ET | Last Updated: Nov 16, 2012 3:15 AM ET, Source

SPARWOOD, B.C. — The search for a three-year-old boy from southeast British Columbia’s has gone international, with authorities on both sides of the border saying they believe the child is in the United States with his father.

Police issued an Amber Alert on Thursday afternoon for Alvin Barnett, who they believe was abducted by his father, 39-year-old Robert Barnett, in the Elk Valley area near Sparwood, B.C., before they crossed the border and into the U.S.

Jennifer Viets, Montana’s Amber Alert co-ordinator, said the vehicle the father and son are believed to be travelling in crossed the border near the city of Eureka around 3 p.m. MST.

“We’re pretty worried about the safety of the little boy, so that’s why were using every possible resource to try to find him,” she said.

“If anybody sees anything or has any information, they should call 911, especially if they see him. They should not approach the vehicle or the gentleman. We do consider it a dangerous situation.”

According to officials on both sides of the border, the pair may be travelling in a 2002 blue Subaru Outback with B.C. license 347 SBL.

We have shared out Amber Alert with the state of Idaho and they’re re-broadcasting it there. We’ve also done a multi-state broadcast to all the western states like Washington, Oregon, Utah, Nevada so that other states are aware of it in case they pass through Montana undetected

Alvin is three-feet-two inches tall and 35 pounds, wearing a red shirt and blue jeans, while his father is described as five-foot-five with green eyes, reddish blonde hair and a scar over his right eyebrow.

RCMP spokesman Cpl. Dan Moskaluk said he doesn’t know whether or not Barnett holds dual nationality with Canada and the U.S.

“Information was disseminated to our counterparts at the Canadian Border Service Agency and U.S. border crossing points in the Elk Valley area, and at this point in time we do remain in contact with our U.S. law-enforcement counterparts,” he said.

Moskaluk said the child and father were together during a supervised parental visit, indicating the father had limited access to his child, and as a result the incident met the criteria for an amber alert.

He said he didn’t know why the father may have been on a supervised visit.

Viets said as soon as officials in her state were notified of the Amber Alert by the Mounties, the criminal justice system broadcast to all state and local police and sheriffs agencies the information and to be on the lookout for the vehicle, child and suspect.

At the request of the Elk Valley RCMP, officials then issued the Amber Alert, notifying the public and press.

“We have shared out Amber Alert with the state of Idaho and they’re re-broadcasting it there,” she said. “We’ve also done a multi-state broadcast to all the western states like Washington, Oregon, Utah, Nevada so that other states are aware of it in case they pass through Montana undetected.”

She said Montana is a big state that takes several hours to cross but because Barnett is believed to have crossed in the afternoon it’s possible he could have made it into another jurisdiction.

“We’re getting tremendous support from law enforcement everywhere, trying to help with this,” she said.

Eureka is a small city with a population of about 1,037 people according to the 2010 census, said Viets.

She described the area surrounding Eureka is mountainous, with lots of trees, campgrounds and cabins, and while beautiful it is rough territory, especially if the suspect plans to head off road.

“And we do have snow in that area right now. It’s another complication.”

I lived in Great Falls, Billings and Helena.  Great Falls and Helena are the best.  White people very friendly to us coolies.

You know I only saw one African American in Kalispell and he was working at the Mc Donalds(I am not insulting him). I saw a lot of natives in Kalispell. The people there are very friendly also. They keep a lot of guns; they like their guns. 

UPDATED: Abducted B.C. boy found in Whitefish, father in custody

10 minutes ago  â€Ē  , November 16, 2012, Source

KALISPELL — A 3-year-old Canadian boy was found in Whitefish Friday after his biological father abducted him and transported him across the border, Montana authorities said Friday.

An Amber Alert had been issued for the child taken in British Columbia, with authorities saying they believed Alvin Barnett was in imminent danger.

The alert was canceled Friday morning after officials said the child was safe and his father, Robert Barnett, was in custody.

Barnett kidnapped Alvin Thursday during a supervised visit in Fernie, British Columbia and crossed into Montana at the Port of Roosville that afternoon, authorities said.

Flathead County Undersheriff Dave Leib told the Daily Inter Lake that Barnett approached a man outside a Whitefish business that day and asked for money and use of a phone. The man agreed to buy Barnet breakfast the next morning and let Barnett sleep in his car outside his home.

On Friday morning, the man realized Barnett was the subject of the Amber Alert and called 911.

Barnett was arrested without incident by Whitefish police and Flathead County Sheriff's deputies. It was not immediately clear where the boy was being held.

Barnett has been charged in Flathead County as a fugitive from justice and for custodial interference, for the purposes of holding him while arrangements are worked out between the county attorney's office and Canadian officials, Leib said.

"I don't know when his return will be or what the circumstances will be," Leib said. "I've talked to the Canadian consulate and they're working on the details."

If it was not for the Jagans we as a people would still be in indirect indentureship. Long live the Jagans.

Lord, if it wasn't for the Jagans, Afros will still be slaves.  The world of Indians and Afros were liberated and no one knows of the Jagans.  They liberated the cane-cutters in Guyana from the Brits and kept them cane cutters under the PNC.  Long live the Jagans.

If it was not for the Jagans we as a people would still be in indirect indentureship. Long live the Jagans.

Lord, if it wasn't for the Jagans, Afros will still be slaves.  The world of Indians and Afros were liberated and no one knows of the Jagans.  They liberated the cane-cutters in Guyana from the Brits and kept them cane cutters under the PNC.  Long live the Jagans.

The Jagans had nothing to do with the abolition of slavery.

Originally Posted by FC:

You are a FC in every way.

Originally Posted by FC:

You would be better off hanging out with the other canecutters on Liberty Avenue and then going home in a drunken stupor and beating your wife.

Originally Posted by FC:

You would be better off hanging out with the other canecutters on Liberty Avenue and then going home in a drunken stupor and beating your wife.

Yuh lucky mi ain't "beating" yu wifey.