Min. Ally brings Easter to children in Reg. 5 and 6

DPI, Guyana, Wednesday, April 17, 2019

More than 700 children from Region 5 (West Coast Berbice) and Region 6 (East Berbice-Corentyne), on Monday, were all in smiles after receiving kites for the Easter holiday, from the Ministry of Social Protection.

Along with her team, Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally visited Number Five and Number Nine communities in Region 5, as well as Number 53 and Manchester village in Region 6 distributing kites which came “fully loaded” with tail and “balla”.

Some of the children checking out their kites.

Minister of Social Protection, Amna Ally distributing the kites to the little ones.

The minister made several stops along the route, happily surprising unsuspecting children, who were at the time either playing with their friends or on their way home. During the distribution exercise, Minister Ally urged them to fly their kites in safe areas.

“I know that you [children] are excited to go out into the field to fly your kites as soon as possible so I urge you all to be safe and use open spaces to do so. Do not fly your kites in confined spaces where it can be tangled up with electric wires. You are our future leaders and our most prized possessions, and so we look forward to you growing up to take over this country,” the minister said.

She also encouraged the children to be good to each other and reminded that the Easter Season not only speaks of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ but love and harmony as well.

This kite distribution is an annual exercise conducted by various Ministries in several communities across the country.

Neola Damon.

https://dpi.gov.gy/min-ally-br...dren-in-reg-5-and-6/

What a lovely sight. Happy Good Friday and Easter to everyone. Nothing beats Easter in Guyana, going to church, kite flying, etc. I have 3 brothers and in our youth they specialized in kite-making. The challenge was to see whose razors can cut the most kites, and I was the judge. Everyone was then invited to dinner at our house.        

One year back in the 70s, I made 30 something kites. One for each family member, some relatives and neighbors. I didn't even have a saw but I did have a plane. So I used a cutlass to split the wood and then plane them own. The knots in the wood made it even more difficult. They are all 2' kites. I made myself a 3' one. 

Y'all de lil wutliss with razor thingy. Lots of lil chirren would cry non-stop when dem kites either cut away or buss away. 

One year back in the 70s, I made 30 something kites. One for each family member, some relatives and neighbors. I didn't even have a saw but I did have a plane. So I used a cutlass to split the wood and then plane them own. The knots in the wood made it even more difficult. They are all 2' kites. I made myself a 3' one. 

Y'all de lil wutliss with razor thingy. Lots of lil chirren would cry non-stop when dem kites either cut away or buss away. 

Those days there wasn't much fun and it kept the youths away from the crime and drugs we see today in Guyana. Was a strict and tough life with school, church, and helping our parents with housework and their business ventures.   

I agree that it was tough back then thanks to Burnham and his nonsense. But internally regarding family, we had a memorable childhood. We did not grow up in a strict home as evidenced from my comments on our participation in other religions' activities. It is easy when one runs a shop to meet people of all walks of life. It is also depressing as we see our shop go from where there was np space for products to empty shelves. Again thanks to Burnham's nonsense. We closed the shop in 1980 and at that time, everyone and their mother owed us money as they always bought things by 'putting them on their list'. But putting a razor on my kite was never a chance I want to take as while I didn't actually use the term karma, it was still my guiding light. When a person use a cutlass and a plane to make his kite, losing it to a razor was not something he wants to contemplate. 

Made a bunch of these a couple of weeks before Easter 

My first pointer broom kite was a 12" green and yellow kite. Guess this hapless incompetent coalition stole my thunder 

Buying kite paper from the local shop and going into the bush to pick the wild berry paste....mmmm gud times

We used to make 'twine' to fly kites from pieces of 'old ropes'. We take them apart and join them with knots. Each knot should be carefully tied so that when flying yuh kite, the string won't let you down. Good times, good life...thank you kakabah 

My uncle(RIP) made a fancy star point kite one Easter. When he was flying it, the kite went up in the air an started to 'sing' and pitch like crazy. It landed in a school yard where a group of Afros were flying their kites also. One of them promptly snapped the twine and took off with the kite into their village 

Anan posted:

My first pointer broom kite was a 12" green and yellow kite. Guess this hapless incompetent coalition stole my thunder 

Buying kite paper from the local shop and going into the bush to pick the wild berry paste....mmmm gud times

We used to make 'twine' to fly kites from pieces of 'old ropes'. We take them apart and join them with knots. Each knot should be carefully tied so that when flying yuh kite, the string won't let you down. Good times, good life...thank you kakabah 

My uncle(RIP) made a fancy star point kite one Easter. When he was flying it, the kite went up in the air an started to 'sing' and pitch like crazy. It landed in a school yard where a group of Afros were flying their kites also. One of them promptly snapped the twine and took off with the kite into their village 

Bai, dem kankawa was easy to make but hard to fly. Not easy getting the dimensions right on that piece of paper. Was yours made with Burnham's exercise book sheet too? 

Anan posted:

Bai, dem kankawa was easy to make but hard to fly. Not easy getting the dimensions right on that piece of paper. Was yours made with Burnham's exercise book sheet too? 

Yep,

kankawa...thanks for the reminder.

With the abundance of stuff at the craft stores in North America, i never made a kite over hay..

Anan posted:

Yep,

kankawa...thanks for the reminder.

With the abundance of stuff at the craft stores in North America, i never made a kite over hay..

I made one for my daughter nearly two decades ago and I guess the wood I got from Home Depot was not the right kind as I couldn't even raise it on Hollywood Beach. About two years ago, I made a similar one for my son but I used the cardboard material that one use for sidings and that kite went up at our nearby park but eventually the wind destroyed the board. I just did them so my two kids can have at least one experience of our version of kite flying. I may make a better one some other time but it is not necessary. Maybe if I am still around when my grands are kite flying age, I may take on the task again. 

Anan posted:

@Former Member

Make a couple an decorate the living room.

Using them as decoration would be perfect as they wouldn't need to be able to fly nor to withstand any wind resistance. 

Anan posted:

@Former Member

dats the whole idea 

And if you are good, you can supply Pier 1 Import.  Run the numbahs 

Bai, at this stage of my life, I am looking at ways to do less. Me nah need any odda ocupashun. Playing accountant is alreddy more dan meh cyan handle. Especially since meh nah even kno dat peepkle duz file dem taxes online now. 

Anan posted:

@Former Member

dats the whole idea 

Bai, at this stage of my life, I am looking at ways to do less. Me nah need any odda ocupashun. Playing accountant is alreddy more dan meh cyan handle. Especially since meh nah even kno dat peepkle duz file dem taxes online now. 

My friends are stunned when they hear I prepare tax returns. The thing is easy like ABC, just read and follow the instructions.  

Anan posted:

@Former Member

dats the whole idea 

My friends are stunned when they hear I prepare tax returns. The thing is easy like ABC, just read and follow the instructions.  

True. No specific skill necessary.  

Anan posted:

@Former Member

dats the whole idea 

TurboTax for me. No problem