January 1 2020

Dear Editor,

I refer to the headline article titled, `Ali maintains he’s no Jagdeo puppet’ (SN December 31). I thought for a moment that Stabroek News mixed up its calendar in mistaking Old Year’s Day for All Fools Day.  Oh well, here I go.

Everybody is due the benefit of the doubt.  This is even when they themselves have mountains to scale in the credibility department.  And such is the case with the opposition’s presidential candidate.

This should have been a crowning moment for him.  It isn’t.  This should have been an hour when well-wishing competitors, from within his own fold, put aside envy and malice, rise to the occasion, and surround him with their enthusiastic, at the very least, spirited energies.  Rather frowningly and regrettably, little of that is present.  The man is on his own and he only muddles things when he opens his mouth to make what he believes are profound statements.  The trouble is that none are fooled (including the party’s own) and, thus, the only success registered is that he makes a bigger object of derision of himself.

Now he comes before the public, on this last day of a tumultuous year, to say he is not a puppet.  Score one for something; do not bother to look for it in the scrupulously honest area.  If it took all this time to squeeze that one out and save some face, reassure the wider public, and gain some measure, no matter how small, of regard, then what about actual decision making?  What about those crucial decisions that have momentous impacts on the present and future of this nation?  As I am in an inquiring mode, I continue.  Where was he when all the urgent and testing issues of the Guyanese day were unfolding in the heat of high temperatures and sharp acids?  To ask and answer, the candidate was nowhere in sight.

Let it be faced: he was not around.  He was hidden from sight for fear that he would hurt himself.  And when he did make an appearance for the sake of the record, he was mum to the point of being dumb.  Not a word.  Not me.  Not wanting to make a blunder and fall on face.  That was the body language (his), when the message being conveyed by the party’s propagandists, given a rabbit to remodel into a racehorse, was that he was off campaigning across the country.

Whose electoral race was it to take charge off and lead from the front in true presidential fashion?  Where was/is the personal pride, of at least going through the motions of a performance?  By all accounts, this was shaping up from day one to require the performance of a lifetime.  So far, he has fallen flat, as in on his face, and proven to be the biggest, but emptiest, of noisy barrels.  Well, there is certainly some downhill rolling in the mud that is electoral Guyana.

I will give him this: he is struggling to put up a manly fight at this ungodly hour.  He only succeeds in tying himself into more knots.  They do say, when a lie is lived, then one cannot afford to forget.  Ever.  Not the script.  Not the source of the script.  Not the sponsor.  And certainly not the objectives and ambitions of said champion of Russian style democracy.  But this business is so riddled with stupidity that they are still trying to get the story straight as to what the man will be and how he will be, in the biggest job in the land.  Yet even then, despite the armies of the king’s men and all the horses of the king, there is still massive fumbling.  It is not easy to put up a full-fledged lantern post using needle and thread only.  Some hearts are just not in it; they will admit, on the sly, they are in it for the overtime.

Let this other truth be faced: the man does not have what it takes.  The main man knows that, which is why he very artfully selected him, and has stuck with him, through all the clamouring and cursing.  I remember that big hit from James and Bobby Purify from yesteryear ”I’m your puppet.”  Well, what else is it?  Or, more pointedly, denials and all, what else is he?  Remember one of the lines: “pull the string and I’ll wink at you?  Or far worse, from a Guyanese perspective: “I’ll do funny things, if you want me to….  God help us on this one.  He himself must be having a good laugh at our expense.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

The slopsters should realize that the same was said of BJ after Janet.

Seems like a follower , and can't think for yourself. 

Only you with a political agenda has the ability of independent thoughts. 

Lall was one of those crabdaag coolie who assisted the PNC in fvcking his mattie coolie. Now he saying other PPP coolies are also crabdaags by not supporting Ali. Well if that is how PPP members want to roll then they too will help the PNC to fvck dem mattie coolies. Ali is no less or more qualified to run for President than J Jagan, Jagdeo or Ramotar was and if PPP coolies had no problem supporting them but have issues supporting Ali, then they will get fvcked mightily and they will deserve it. Fvck PPP coolies if they are that much of a crabdaag mentality bunch.

You do realize that to get a PhD, one’s thesis, dissertation has to add to existing knowledge, have some originality? And you have to defend it in front of internal and external examiners. Quit parroting and start thinking for yourself!

Z
Zed posted:

You do realize that to get a PhD, one’s thesis, dissertation has to add to existing knowledge, have some originality? And you have to defend it in front of internal and external examiners. Quit parroting and start thinking for yourself!

What's your beef ? where in my post  to Druggie are any references mentioned in your post.

Lall was one of those crabdaag coolie who assisted the PNC in fvcking his mattie coolie. Now he saying other PPP coolies are also crabdaags by not supporting Ali. Well if that is how PPP members want to roll then they too will help the PNC to fvck dem mattie coolies. Ali is no less or more qualified to run for President than J Jagan, Jagdeo or Ramotar was and if PPP coolies had no problem supporting them but have issues supporting Ali, then they will get fvcked mightily and they will deserve it. Fvck PPP coolies if they are that much of a crabdaag mentality bunch.

Blackman fuh blackman, coolie a daggg!!

This guy is a joker and attention seeker!  The people will decide if Ali or anyone else is right for the job!

I’ve never seen a fresh face, be it Jagdeo, Obama, Rajiv Gandhi, now Ali ever being ready!

If you ask me, sometimes I forget Granger is the President!

Guyana slowly will become a kingdom of some sort, the battle in particular is Jagdeo against the congregation of Guyanese negroes until one of them emerges as in character as Jagdeo. Then, it could be war in the land for ownership.  From then onwards, until a leader dies another will be appointed. Most likely family.

It was nice knowing that once there was a paradise.

Only you with a political agenda has the ability of independent thoughts. 

U have a right to your opinion like everybody else.

Zed posted:

Everyone is talking about Irfaan Ali's PhD.  In what discipline is his PhD in?   Just for my information.   

Reza R.  Rahaman
Reza R. Rahaman posted:
Zed posted:

Everyone is talking about Irfaan Ali's PhD.  In what discipline is his PhD in?   Just for my information.   

Is something to do with tekking empty land and building mansions!!

Reza R. Rahaman posted:
Zed posted:

Dat is not we expertise. Ask our mod DJ, he is good with that type of info.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:
Zed posted:

Updated October 10, 2019
DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY
UWI ST AUGUSTINE CAMPUS

Mohamed Irfaan Ali  - Urban and Regional Planning