President Irfaan Ali speaking today.

President Irfaan Ali

January 9 ,2021

This story is developing and will be updated.

President Irfaan Ali today condemned a decree issued by Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro on January 7th this year seeking to unilaterally fix land and maritime boundaries adjacent to Guyana’s Essequibo coast.

In an address to the Nation, Ali said the Venezuelan move was a “legal nullity”.

He also condemned Venezuela’s rejection of the recent International Court of Justice ruling establishing jurisdiction to hear Guyana’s case that the 1899 arbitral tribunal be declared as valid and binding.

Jackass Ali should be removed as president.   He is a crook and is incapable of leading Guyana in a fight against Venezuela. Not a blade of grass but the Venoes could have a jackass named Irfaan Ali.

Last edited by Totaram

Venezuela’s National Assembly establishing special committee ‘for defence of Essequibo”; asks UN Secretary General to restart dialogue with Guyana

Venezuela’s President Nicolas Maduro.

Venezuela’s national assembly will establish a special committee for the defense of the Essequibo region of Guyana, which the former nation claims, BN Americas reported.

The committee’s creation is part of an accord approved by lawmakers that rejects the International Court of Justice’s ruling in favor of Guyana regarding the tribunal’s jurisdiction in the territorial dispute.

The accord ratifies a 1966 Geneva agreement to resolve the conflict via bilateral negotiations, as Venezuela does not recognize an arbitral award of October 1899 in favor of its neighbor.

“It is ours; it belongs to the Venezuelans and we are going to reconquer it in peace, in national union, we are going to achieve it,” President Nicolás Maduro said following the legislative body’s decision.

Essequibo covers over half of Guyana and runs from the country’s coast on the border with Venezuela, south to Brazil. Saber-rattling on the part of Venezuela intensified as Guyana advanced toward first oil and included harassment by Venezuela’s navy of vessels carrying out hydrocarbons seismic work.

Venezuela’s President, Nicolas Maduro has written to the Secretary General of the United Nations (UN), António Guterres, asking him to intervene to promote  dialogue with Guyana on the border controversy. “It is necessary to count from their good will with their good offices, in the broadest sense possible, to restart, with the urgency that this controversy merits, direct talks between Guyana and Venezuela with the aim of advancing towards a peaceful and beneficial understanding for both. parts “, highlights the communication published by the Venezuelan Foreign Minister, Jorge Arreaza, reported El Universal.

In the letter, the Venezuelan president warns: “You have the ability to revive dialogue as a way to avoid decisions outside of international legality, which can seriously jeopardize the peace and security of the region.”

The Venezuelan leader said his country never consented to the role of the ICJ in the border matter.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Now we are going to see how patriotic are the members of the GDF. All soldiers past and present are recalled to the barracks and that includes the National service members who are still alive.

Here is where Rafael Trotman's strategy pays off.  The accelerated and perhaps less than optimal agreement with Exxon means the US will be on Guyana's side mainly to defend American economic interests.  Not a blade of grass but they could have a jackass if its name is Irfaan Ali.

@Prashad posted:

Madero dare not say this nonsense with a powerful Trump. Guyana should start drafting and training Venezuelans in Guyana as an anti- Maduro fighting force.

You post from lala land, huh, Prash? I won't trust any of them!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Now we are going to see how patriotic are the members of the GDF. All soldiers past and present are recalled to the barracks and that includes the National service members who are still alive.

Hahahahaha......Venezuela's armed forces are more than the total of all Guyanese alive, wherever they may be living!

@Totaram posted:

Here is where Rafael Trotman's strategy pays off.  The accelerated and perhaps less than optimal agreement with Exxon means the US will be on Guyana's side mainly to defend American economic interests.  Not a blade of grass but they could have a jackass if its name is Irfaan Ali.

You had better watch Commissar Jagdeo! He wants Guyana to join Venezuela's Commissar Manuro to create the United States of South America! Ali is only Jagdeo's surrogate! A sock puppet!

Vietnam revisited!

@Ramakant-P posted:

GDF only know how to beat up and kill Jagon koolie.

You had better watch Commissar Jagdeo! He wants Guyana to join Venezuela's Commissar Manuro to create the United States of South America! Ali is only Jagdeo's surrogate! A sock puppet!

Vietnam revisited!

You don't even know what Jagdeo wants. He is a patriot. He is the architect of progress and prosperity in Guyana. The last 4 months prove that.   His 12 1/3 year rule started it. He kept Venezuela at bay and will continue to do so.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You don't even know what Jagdeo wants. He is a patriot. He is the architect of progress and prosperity in Guyana. The last 4 months prove that.   His 12 1/3 year rule started it. He kept Venezuela at bay and will continue to do so.

YOU know, don't you?!! So, tell us! He kept which Venezuela at bay? Venezuela is afraid of the US having an excuse to invade them in 'defence' of Guyana, not impotent Guyana, you fool!

YOU know, don't you?!! So, tell us! He kept which Venezuela at bay? Venezuela is afraid of the US having an excuse to invade them, not impotent Guyana, you fool!

I may be a fool in your eyes, but I spoke the truth.  If Venezuela even tries to invade Guyana, they will have a rude awakening.   

@Ramakant-P posted:

I may be a fool in your eyes, but I spoke the truth.  If Venezuela even tries to invade Guyana, they will have a rude awakening.   

Yeah? Who willl wake them up? You, superJagdeo?

You will never guess.  You like to make jokes. Here is one for you.  Nehru's battalion is being assembled at the border as we speak.

Burnham once told me.  You hit the assailant first before the assailant hits you.

Nehru's battalion? In Guyana? What are they doing there? What COULD they do there? Bunham lied to you! And the rest of Guyana's buttheads! Not a blade of grass? Keep your grass, you jack! We, Venezuelans, a brave people, know which government to pick a fight with! We won't even have to use guns, unless the US interferes with what is none of their damn business! You're using your wrong end for bowel relief!

Now the US is claiming to support the ICJ hearing! Watch out! If the US and Venezuela settle their differences (Venezuela has oil AND refineries) and the US supports Venezuela's claim to the Essequibo region, what is Guyana, a sh*thole country with iggerunt, squabbling leaders in various shades of feces, going to do about it? Not a damn thing! Guyana will be the promised bride left at the altar crying! You had better get a refinery NOW before it's too late! Other projects can wait! You would still be able to service your fledglng industries by buying oil, even from Venezuela! Don't make Nigeria's mistake which has cost them billions! Oil, refined, is more costly than oil! Naturally! The refining's the thing! A country has NO friends! Only (temporary) allies! Don't count on Jagdeo's dream of collaborating with Manuro! The US will never allow a United States of South America! Their economy depends too heavily on South America! That's why so many Latin Americans go to America by hook or crook! They go where their resources are going! I've always wondered about the CCJ's (US influenced?) decision! The ICJ is next on the interference agenda! Quid pro quo is in the air! The US mostly ignores the ICJ, unless it suits their purposes!

Note: I posted similar comments on SN but they were taken down! I wonder why! Maybe DG or others will take this one down, too!

I've said my three cents worth of consarned iggerunce as a member of a sh*thole community (I still have dual citizenship! Remember?)

Under the PNC government, Guyana used to be a 'shytehole' country. Just look at the progress made By President Irfaan Ali, you will see that this country is becoming a Paradise everyone so dreamed about. Your post is a joke. Furthermore, Ali is the President, not Jagdeo. Stop living in the past and get on with the program of rebuilding the country.

Fool, Jagdeo is the Secretary of the PPP, the top man like Joe Stalin! Ali had better do as he told or else! What Paradise? The handouts have made you delirious, no doubt! Can afford more expensive liquor now, huh? You're so easily inebriated that it makes you see everything through pink eyes! Next time have some protein first, milk, a steak, roast pork! Old trick of mine to out-drink everyone else!  Sycophancy eventually breeds despair!

@Ramakant-P posted:

You will never guess.  You like to make jokes. Here is one for you.  Nehru's battalion is being assembled at the border as we speak.

Burnham once told me.  You hit the assailant first before the assailant hits you.

Bunum had bodyguards with him when he beat up people! The bully couldn't take any chances that he might be the one getting the first blow! How would that look to his faithful worshipping slaves?

Good!

Fool, Jagdeo is the Secretary of the PPP, the top man like Joe Stalin! Ali had better do as he told or else! What Paradise? The handouts have made you delirious, no doubt! Can afford more expensive liquor now, huh? You're so easily inebriated that it makes you see everything through pink eyes! Next time have some protein first, milk, a steak, roast pork! Old trick of mine to out-drink everyone else!  Sycophancy eventually breeds despair!

Hogwash!

I neither make nor drink alcohol! But hogwash seems to be your specialty! You're porcine undoubtedly!

For your info, I don't smoke or drink anymore since 2008. If you don't have anything to post then don't. You are behaving very stupidly. I would prefer to debate the issue on hand. You claimed to be intelligent but you are acting dumb.

@Ramakant-P posted:

For your info, I don't smoke or drink anymore since 2008. If you don't have anything to post then don't. You are behaving very stupidly. I would prefer to debate the issue on hand. You claimed to be intelligent but you are acting dumb.

Well, I had to adjust my level of responding! And where have I ever claimed to be intelligent? You tried flattery but I objected!

Canada joins US in rejecting Venezuela’s claims to Guyana’s territory

…says border controversy must be settled in ICJ

Canada has become the latest country to join in rejecting Venezuela’s recently renewed claims to Essequibo and its maritime space, reminding the Spanish-speaking country that the border controversy has to be settled at the International Court of Justice (ICJ), where the case currently rests.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Canada-696x393.jpgCanada, led by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, has joined in the condemnation of Venezuela’s decree

According to a statement on Monday from Canada’s Embassy in Guyana, Venezuela’s recent claims which are contained in a decree issued by their President, Nicolás Maduro, are concerning.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Ali-1-641x420.jpg

President Irfaan Ali

“Venezuela’s recent claim that it has sovereignty over the area adjacent to Guyana’s Essequibo coast is concerning. The decision is in the hands of the International Court of Justice and this judicial process must be respected,” the Canada embassy said.

It was only on Sunday that United States (US) Ambassador to Guyana Sarah-Ann Lynch made a statement on the issue in which she reiterated the need for a peaceful resolution to Guyana’s border controversy.

“The United States has long called for a legal peaceful resolution to Guyana’s border controversy with Venezuela and we reiterate that call today,” the diplomat had tweeted, also sharing a post from Assistant Secretary for the US’s Western Affairs Bureau, Michael Kozak, in which he condemned Maduro’s decree.

In his tweet, Ambassador Kozak reiterated that the US supports the ICJ’s December 18, 2020 ruling that it has jurisdiction in the Guyana-Venezuela territorial border controversy case, which he contended is the “legal and peaceful way forward.”

https://guyanatimesgy.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Maduro-2-630x420.jpg

Venezuelan President Nicolás Maduro

“The U.S. supports the ICJ’s 12/18 ruling that it has jurisdiction in the Guyana-Venezuela territorial border issue, which is the legal and peaceful way forward. Maduro’s aggressive claims don’t change this, they only show the world his disregard for his neighbors and intl. law,” the State Department official had posited.

The new decree issued by President Maduro on Thursday came days before the world court is scheduled to hold a case management hearing on Guyana’s application for a final and binding settlement of the border controversy with Venezuela.

Condemnation

However, President Dr Irfaan Ali on Saturday declared that while this latest move by the Spanish-speaking nation is “deeply disturbing”, it will not deter Guyana’s resolve to seek a final and binding resolution at the ICJ.

“We have always chosen a path of peaceful resolution of the Venezuelan issue within international law… I remind that sovereignty over this coast, and the land territory to which it is attached, were awarded to Guyana (then British Guiana) in the 1899 Arbitral Award, whose validity and legally binding character Guyana is confident the International Court of Justice (ICJ) will uphold unequivocally,” President Ali asserted during an address to the nation.

According to the Head of State, Venezuela has violated at least two fundament principles of international law, that is, no State can unilaterally determine its international boundaries and the fundamental principle that “the land dominates the sea”, meaning that sovereignty over the sea and seabed emanate from title to the land that forms the coast to which those seas and seabed are adjacent.

To this end, the Guyanese leader said that Venezuela’s new border claim is a “legal nullity” that will not be recognised by Guyana or any other State in the world. Meanwhile, President Ali also disclosed during Saturday’s address to the nation that Venezuela’s Head of Mission in Guyana would be summoned to the Foreign Affairs Ministry over the decree.

Parliamentary meeting

However, the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Foreign Relations was provided with an update on recent developments concerning the Guyana-Venezuela issue by Minister Hugh Todd.

“The Committee takes note of the latest aggressive actions by the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela in furtherance of its spurious claim to Guyana’s territory and joins the Government of Guyana in condemning in the strongest possible terms, the implementation of any law by Venezuela with extraterritorial application and which seeks to give jurisdiction to Venezuela over marine and submarine areas solely on the basis of unilateral action, in contravention of international law and without due regard for the rights of Guyana.”

In a statement to the media after the meeting, it stated that the Committee supports the efforts of Government of Guyana to take all necessary actions to safeguard the national interests of Guyana and reiterates the sentiments already echoed that Guyana stands united and resolute in the protection of our sovereignty and territorial integrity.

Venezuela’s decreeing of sovereign rights to maritime border off of Guyana’s Essequibo Coast came the same day the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) announced that its Coast Guard and the United States Coast Guard would commence the first of a series of joint exercises off the coast of Guyana.

This is part of the operationalisation of the Shiprider Agreement ratified by Guyana and the US back in September 2020 during the visit of US Secretary of State, Michael Pompeo. The exercise will take place off the coast of Guyana and will focus mainly on illegal, unreported and unregulated fishing. It will be conducted in collaboration with the US Coast Guard Cutter STONE vessel, which is currently in the region for a multi-country tour.

Let's see! First, the Spanish stole the land from the natives, then the descendants of the theives stole the land from the Spanish crown, then the British stole a part of the stolen property from the weak thieves, then the British left the stolen  property to a weak nation who can't defend even a blade of grass, so they call for help from bigger and professional thieves with bigger arm(ament)s, to help them keep what they found but hardly know what to do with! So, the professionals will help themselves to everything stolen, before or now! Hahahahahaha......

Shuman, you go teef bak sum, too! Hahahahahaha......

Ali and Jagdeo took their shares already!

Teef frum teef mek Gawd laf! First the Spanish steal the land from the natives, then the British steal some from those who stole from the Spanish calling themselves Reublican(thieve)s, then the British left what they stole to those who can't defend themselves much less their stolen goods, so they call for help from a bigger and professional thief with big arma(

Let's see! First, the Spanish stole the land from the natives, then the descendants of the theives stole the land from the Spanish crown, then the British stole a part of the stolen property from the weak thieves, then the British left the stolen  property to a weak nation who can't defend even a blade of grass, so they call for help from bigger and professional thieves with bigger arm(ament)s, to help them keep what they found but hardly know what to do with! So, the professionals will help themselves to everything stolen, before or now! Hahahahahaha......

Shuman, you go teef bak sum, too! Hahahahahaha......

Ali and Jagdeo took their shares already!

You are wrong again.