Sanaa, Yemen (CNN) -- Muslim cleric Anwar al-Awlaki -- an American whose fluency in English and technology made him one of the top terrorist recruiters in the world -- was killed Friday in a U.S. drone strike in Yemen, U.S. and Yemeni government officials told CNN.

The strike also killed Samir Khan, an American of Pakistani origin, and two others who were in the same vehicle as al-Awlaki, said the U.S. official, who was briefed by the CIA. Khan specialized in computer programming for al Qaeda and authored the terror network's online magazine, Inspire.

President Barack Obama called al-Awlaki's death a "major blow" to al Qaeda, reeling still from the killing and capture this year of several top leaders, most notably Osama bin Laden.

"His hateful ideology and targeting of innocent civilians has been rejected by the vast majority of Muslims and people of all faiths and he has met his demise because the government and the people of Yemen have joined the international community in a common effort against al Qaeda," Obama said.

He said al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula, or AQAP, remains a dangerous but weakened organization.

"Working with Yemen and our other allies and partners, we will be determined, we will be deliberate, we will be relentless, we will be resolute in our commitment to destroy terrorist networks that aim to kill Americans," Obama said.

A Yemeni government official told CNN that the killing was the result of a "successful joint intelligence-sharing operation" between Yemen and the United States. The official asked not to be named because he is not authorized to speak to the news media.

A senior U.S. defense official also called al-Awlaki's death a significant loss for al Qaeda, but the Pentagon was not providing any details of the operation.

The United States regarded al-Awlaki, the public face of AQAP, as a terrorist who posed a major threat to American homeland security. Western intelligence officials believe al-Awlaki was a senior leader of AQAP, one of the most active al Qaeda affiliates in the world. It has been linked to the attempt to blow up an airliner over Detroit in December 2009 and a cargo plane plot last year.

Radical Muslim cleric killed in Yemen

Al-Awlaki death 'major blow' to al Qaeda "Anwar al-Awlaki didn't need subtitles to indoctrinate," said Sajjan Gohel of the Asia Pacific Foundation, who called al-Awlaki's death significant. "He spoke English, he understood how to impact the Muslim diaspora in the West."

Justice memo authorized killing of Al-Awlaki

Anwar al Awlaki's rise from American-born cleric to key terror plotter had put him atop the U.S. terror "hit list." Under the code name Objective Troy, intelligence tracked Awlaki for months near his hideout in Yemen.

Early Friday, a CIA drone found its target.

The Washington Post reports that a secret Justice Department memo sanctioned the killing of Awlaki, a U.S. citizen who became an al Qaeda propagandist and operational leader.

The document followed a review by senior administration lawyers of the legal issues raised by the lethal targeting of a U.S. citizen. Administration officials told the Post that there was no dissent about the legality of the killing.

The administration has faced criticism - and a legal challenge - over its targeting of Awlaki, who was born in New Mexico to Yemeni parents. The memorandum may represent an attempt to resolve a legal debate over whether a U.S. president can order the killing of American citizens.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories...y/main20114273.shtml

we can't trust these fullahs in the States
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Al Yuh need to live in a Bannana Republic Dictatorship. Al Yuh lack the most basic knowledge of Democratic principles but open Al Yuh mouth and pretend Al YUh know what Al Yuh talkin bout. [QUOTE]

Like closing down a TV station just because we condemn the Gov't...now that's a good BanaNA rEPUBLIC!!
YOu obviously is ignorant of the FACTS. I posted the FACTS before but will be willing to do so again if needed.
Originally posted by Chief:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Al Yuh need to live in a Bannana Republic Dictatorship. Al Yuh lack the most basic knowledge of Democratic principles but open Al Yuh mouth and pretend Al YUh know what Al Yuh talkin bout. [QUOTE]

Like closing down a TV station just because we condemn the Gov't...now that's a good BanaNA rEPUBLIC!!
Here are the FACTS. Sharma's Station have been warned, fined, suspended before for serious VIOLATION of THE Broadcasting LAWS. He continues to open VIOLATE THE LAWS even when on Probation. Finally, he was suspended AGAIN. I think our GREAT LEADER was very lenient by suspending the Station for only 4 Months. I would have done it for at least one year. Anymore info needed, I will be standing by to assist you.
What are the facts Bro Nehru?

Not allowing criticism?
Originally posted by Nehru:
Here are the FACTS. Sharma's Station have been warned, fined, suspended before for serious VIOLATION of THE Broadcasting LAWS. He continues to open VIOLATE THE LAWS even when on Probation. Finally, he was suspended AGAIN. I think our GREAT LEADER was very lenient by suspending the Station for only 4 Months. I would have done it for at least one year. Anymore info needed, I will be standing by to assist you.

Not allowing criticism?

Nehru the new Bhagdad Bob!!!
What is it you dont understand? I am here to explain it to you. I dont care if it takes me the whole day. I am here for you Bro.

Not allowing criticism?

Nehru the new Bhagdad Bob!!!

Not allowing criticism?

Sharma was not fined.
J
Originally posted by baseman:
Originally posted by Abu Jihad:
A must watch

Ah, he and the other guy got what they deserve. This is pre-emption at it's best, this is war. Wipe the bastards out regardless of citizenship or where they are.

What war, you mean a war on words, where you kill any one who opposes your point of view. That is usually called fascism.

Its now a war against whats in your mind now.
AJ
A must watch

Ah, he and the other guy got what they deserve. This is pre-emption at it's best, this is war. Wipe the bastards out regardless of citizenship or where they are.

What war, you mean a war on words, where you kill any one who opposes your point of view. That is usually called fascism.

Welcome to the post 9/11 world. As I said, pre-emption, the guy made his intention very clear so he was fair game. More to come.
A must watch

Welcome to the post 9/11 world. As I said, pre-emption, the guy made his intention very clear so he was fair game. More to come.

Only for idiots like you, for the rest of us, rule of law still matters. If you want to give up your freedoms and rights, then go right ahead. Maybe you are the next target and when do you think they will stop?
AJ

Only for idiots like you, for the rest of us, rule of law still matters. If you want to give up your freedoms and rights, then go right ahead. Maybe you are the next target and when do you think they will stop?

It was a sanctioned hit, within the war-powers act, perfectly legal. Don't sweat, we already gave up rights since 9/11. And to boot, dem security guys start feeling up we junk since al-Alwaki sent in his underwear bomber. Remember that?
A must watch

the rule of law is within the reach and jurisdiction of the law. If one joins with the enemy and becomes a soldier for their cause in their encampment then there is no option for the law to intervene. It is a matter of war. This gentleman has taken up the cause of the enemy and that is de facto and de jure a rejection of his citizenship. The US court felt that way when they threw out the case to take him off the kill list. That is the way the US sees it and I have no qualms with it. It is actually a way of looking at the law.
The laws were enacted when we were dealing with conventional ways of breaking them. Many things have changed since then and it is not possible to apply the law in the case of Awlaki. He could have taken his chances by petitioning Congress for a fair hearing on the things that bother him and hope for an audience or live with its denial. At no poing should he as a US citizen decide to take it upon himself to preach or act in ways that would cause injury or harm to Americans. And since he was not where he could be brought to a US court and tried for his actions, he left the government no other option but to remove him in whatever way necessary. Law enforcement at some poing of any investigation would request that someone of interest present themself to a law enforcing officer to answer questions and when they don't they are sought and apprehended however possible and sometimes that result in death without trial. Ron Paul is tajing this position because it differed from the one Obama took but Obama took the best available position and anyone who criticize him for it is terribly mistaken. I am not going to lose any sleep over this killing.
Looks like we get our news from two different sources. I dont know of any military action taken by this man.
indeed we get our news from different sources. I get mine from conventional channels you get yours from the noise in your head. If he give aid and comfort to the enemy and appointed himself their propagandist in chief and coerced others to join in the attack on civilian targets then he got what he asked for.
Originally posted by ksazma:
The laws were enacted when we were dealing with conventional ways of breaking them. Many things have changed since then and it is not possible to apply the law in the case of Awlaki. He could have taken his chances by petitioning Congress for a fair hearing on the things that bother him and hope for an audience or live with its denial. At no poing should he as a US citizen decide to take it upon himself to preach or act in ways that would cause injury or harm to Americans. And since he was not where he could be brought to a US court and tried for his actions, he left the government no other option but to remove him in whatever way necessary. Law enforcement at some poing of any investigation would request that someone of interest present themself to a law enforcing officer to answer questions and when they don't they are sought and apprehended however possible and sometimes that result in death without trial. Ron Paul is tajing this position because it differed from the one Obama took but Obama took the best available position and anyone who criticize him for it is terribly mistaken. I am not going to lose any sleep over this killing.

Wrong, the man was never charged with any crime. I am not aware of any crimes committed by him, do you?
AJ
Wrong, the man was never charged with any crime. I am not aware of any crimes committed by him, do you?

The government says he did. They associate him with the underwear intended bomber and the toner cartridge intended bomber. Because of suspicions of him Adam Center was placed under intense scrutiny and my relatives were worried since they go there. If he did nothing, he would have still been here with the opportunity to properly defend himself in court. Too much hate preaching going on. No different from then hate mongering going on on the other side. The time has come for a radical change in approach.

If he committed a crime, he should have been chaged and tried as an individual. However, no such charges were laid.

As for the hate preacing, thats a different story, this is a matter of civil liberties. The president should not have the right to assassinate an American, and I find that you of all people supporting such an action ironc, based on your previous posts.

I personally think the man was killed for his oratory skills and was of no signficant military threat.
AJ

If he committed a crime, he should have been chaged and tried as an individual. However, no such charges were laid.

As for the hate preacing, thats a different story, this is a matter of civil liberties. The president should not have the right to assassinate an American, and I find that you of all people supporting such an action ironc, based on your previous posts.

I personally think the man was killed for his oratory skills and was of no signficant military threat.

Abu, i think you are in a time warp. Incitement is taken more seriously these days. Live by the sword, die by the sword.
Originally posted by cain:
Abu/Kaz, I understand where you guys are coming from but the US did exactly what terrorists would do and this should give these terrorists food for thought.
The US is now playing their (terrorists) game. Regardless of where you are, we see you, we take you out.
Never mind the bullocks.

Good point, but an eye for an eye will make the world blind. Amrica should take the high moral ground and get these bastards and try them for the world to see then execute them.

You are not going to get any sympathy when you go out killing dozens of innocent folks for every bad guy.

A few weeks ago i posted clip by Professor Cornell West where he talks about the nhiggarization of America, where you willingly giving up your civil liberties because you are afraid of the unknown.

Dont forget also that this individual was imprisioned in Yemen for almost two years and he was released because there was no charges to be laid.
AJ
Originally posted by Sunil:
The only reason Al-Awlaki was taken out now is that he was perceived as a threat to Pres. Saleh. Saleh gave the US the go ahead last week, probably bowing to Saudi pressure. The Saudis are propping up his regime as they so not want Shia control in Yemen.

he was a terrorist, got his due.
Originally posted by Sunil:
The only reason Al-Awlaki was taken out now is that he was perceived as a threat to Pres. Saleh. Saleh gave the US the go ahead last week, probably bowing to Saudi pressure. The Saudis are propping up his regime as they so not want Shia control in Yemen.

More like Saheh saving his own ass. Hope them Shaia march all the way to Riyadh Wink
AJ