Irfaan Ali

Irfaan Ali

September 10 ,2020

Facing a major security crisis just over a month since taking office, President Irfaan Ali announced last evening that he is mobilizing help from the Regional Security System (RSS) of the Caribbean and the UK government to bolster the investigative capacity of the police force as they probe the murders of three teenagers in the village of Cotton Tree as well as the “criminality which led to the disruption of lives along the Region Five corridor.”

“We will seek to use all available tools in not only solving these crimes but also in getting a comprehensive and holistic picture as to all the events surrounding what took place thereafter,” Ali said in an address to the Nation.

Since Sunday, the West Coast Berbice has seen the blockading of roads, attacks on commuters and two murders following the discovery of the mutilated bodies of cousins Isaiah Henry and Joel Henry. Seven persons are in police custody over these two murders.

According to the President, also Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces,  he is confident that the Guyana Police Force (GPF) and the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) will bring the situation to order.

“They have assured me that they will be using all available resources and laws, in keeping with the protocols and guidelines, to ensure that the situation does not escalate,” he stressed, while calling on all Guyanese to refrain from endangering each other’s life.

This Government will work to bring justice to every single person who has been affected in these circumstances, he assured before explaining that in consultation with the GPF he has engaged the mechanism to reach out to the British Government  to come to Guyana in support of the Force’s investigative capacity.

The Regional Security System is a “hybrid” organisation, part of the Caribbean Community which works to ensure the stability and well-being of Member States through mutual cooperation, in order to maximise regional security in preserving the social and economic development.

Under the terms of the Treaty on Security Assis-tance (TSA) the RSS offers immediate and threat appropriate response to all situations, programmes to increase security awareness and high-quality comprehensive and objective research. It also offers intelligence and Trend Analysis in a timely manner to support effective decision-making.

According to Ali along with bolstering the criminal investigative capacity of the GPF he has asked the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs to explore, within the United Nations system, all means available to hold to account, all those who spread race hate and instigate racial strife.

He stressed that the events surrounding these horrific and barbaric acts of murder and the criminality that also saw the loss of property, people being chopped, robbed and brutally assaulted, require a more comprehensive and holistic review and as such, the country needs to get to the bottom of this.

“We need to understand who instigated, what was instigated and as a result, I am exploring the commissioning of an International Commission of Inquiry (COI) to look at every aspect of this situation, to look beyond what took place on the ground, to look at the behaviours that came about as a result of statements made. The COI is important for us to have a comprehensive understanding as to what took place,” Ali said.

He added: “The time has come for us to deal with this issue very frontally. The time has come for us to deal with it very seriously and no one must believe that they can use situations like these for any political gain. There is no gain whether politically, socially, economically, morally or culturally. There is no gain that you can get out of this. The only persons who lose are the families who are suffering, the people who received and who were inflicted with blows and loss of property and the country; the credibility and image of our country suffers greatly”.

The President’s resort to overseas aid for the police – not something that PPP/C governments have traditionally been in favour of – comes just weeks after sustained international support against the rigging of the March 2nd general elections helped Ali’s government to get into office.

Arya should whisper to Irfaan, "get rid of Jagdeo, he is only interested in counting abstract money while the country is falling a part."

Ali should not waste anytime, get the FBI from the USA. UK and the Caribbean can't even solve their own crimes.

Why do these PPP people think like shits. 

@alena06 posted:

9 Indian homes were burnt in New Amsterdam last night.  Great move from the President.  He should use this as an opportunity to reorganize the forces.

How come there was no report from the media ?

@Django posted:

It’s this attitude I don’t post anything here.....Guyanese already shared info through their social media ...doesn’t need anything from this site - self righteous stuck up bozos...

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

It’s this attitude I don’t post anything here.....Guyanese already shared info through their social media ...doesn’t need anything from this site - self righteous stuck up bozos...

Repugnant ,got to be special upbringing. Lots of fake news on Social Media ,have seen anything from any Media FB page.

@Mitwah posted:

When the APNU+ AFC coalition sought their help, the PPP was crying out that Guyana is a Sovereign nation. What has changed?

The Police force is still under the control of the PNC. The coalition was baggage boys. They were only interested in the soup. 

I was right all along.  The Police don't do their jobs and the PNC cannot run a country.  All they know is violence and disturbances.   The PPP is right to seek help from outside.

@alena06 posted:

9 Indian homes were burnt in New Amsterdam last night.  Great move from the President.  He should use this as an opportunity to reorganize the forces.

@Django posted:

@sachin_05 posted:

9 fires in NA as violence spreads to Region 6

…as protesters attack Fire Service vehicles

Nine fires were set in the town of New Amsterdam on Tuesday evening as violence associated with the killing of the two teenagers in Region Five (Mahaica/Berbice) spread to Region Six (East Berbice/Corentyne).
The Fire Service has also reported that an officer was shot after assisting Joint Services officers to clear up the roadway in Region Five (Mahaica-Berbice).
Following a protest at Main and Pitt Streets in New Amsterdam on Tuesday afternoon, rogue elements took to the streets and lit several fires around the town. The first was at Main Street and Shoe Lane, and then another was lit at Main and New Streets.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/9-fi...gfqW5hoIGgDFOUnvvL-c

GuyanaTimes said 9 FIRES ,not HOME WAS BURNT.

The blacks are really provoking the Indians to retaliate.  Granger warned that this was going to happen if GECOM didn't help them steal the election.  Rochelle also said that it is only the beginning.  My opinion of blacks in 1962 and 1964 is still the same.  They have changed.  A leopard cannot change its spots.

@sachin_05 posted:

You don't post anything here, because you got your head stuck up too far your poop chute. Yeh everything yuh need is up deh. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

The blacks are really provoking the Indians to retaliate.  Granger warned that this was going to happen if GECOM didn't help them steal the election.  Rochelle also said that it is only the beginning.  My opinion of blacks in 1962 and 1964 is still the same.  They have changed.  A leopard cannot change its spots.

You are still a racist, Ramakant_P.

@Mitwah posted:

You don't post anything here, because you got your head stuck up too far your poop chute. Yeh everything yuh need is up deh. 

A poster hea once said some tribes have their poop chute in their ear. 

@Mitwah posted:

You are still a racist, Ramakant_P.

Blacks are inciting violence against Indians and they must be stopped.

I say in Public what you are afraid to say in Private.  You should stop condoning violence against Indians.