Tola posted:

Gyal me gun wait fa you, doan tek annada man.

lil humor: Chap warn he wife that if she tek another man after he died he was going to dig his way out of the grave and strangle her. Few years after he dies and right after his wife starts sleeping around. One of her friends asked her, "gyal yuh nah rememba wha dah man seh?". Wife replied, " yes meh remembah, dat's why meh bury he ***** upside down".

No headstone for me. Throw my ashes into the river.

Bai Skelly play along na. 

Me also don’t want no headstone. Cremation, some prayers, singing, good food and laughter. Also I requested a basic coffin. Me done dead. Dress me up wid a dhoti, kurta, a gardland from the temple and my Vaishnava Tilak on my forehead.

Give half of what I have to the children and the other half to promote my spiritual beliefs.

Perhaps a very tiny PPP flag on my coffin. 

Thats how I will end my journey from this material world.

Me also don’t want no headstone. Cremation, some prayers, singing, good food and laughter. Also I requested a basic coffin. Me done dead. Dress me up wid a dhoti, kurta, a gardland from the temple and my Vaishnava Tilak on my forehead.

Give half of what I have to the children and the other half to promote my spiritual beliefs.

My philosophy is I did not come on this earth to own a piece of it. The earth owns us. Give it back in a better condition(if we can) than when we got here. My brothers and sisters in future generations need to enjoy it as much as we did. We are the keepers of this planet.

I agree about being keepers of the planet. Our family is very dedicated in doing our part for the environment. I even consider my diet as making a contribution to the planet. 

We all can do little things to save the planet for future generations. I am shocked every time I visit NYC for example and see how little is being done to recycle and reduce to save the environment. 

In our city, we even recycle vegetable peels. We have regular garbage and have to pay if we put out more than two bags, plus paper, bottles, plastic recycling, plus vegetable peels recycling plus we even recycle cooking oil. 

I cringe when I see folks elsewhere dumping everything in a garbage bag with no respect for the environment and Mother Earth

I am shocked every time I visit NYC for example and see how little is being done to recycle and reduce to save the environment. 

Me too. Last year I went to Queens, NY to attend my nephew's wedding. A friend said she was going to a waterfront to do a puja. I got excited about going to the beach, however, it was a filthy place where folks went regularly to do pujas and dump their garbage. 

The Hindu Community in NYC also need to share blame with their total disregard for the beaches by dumping Pooja items there. The Pandits and Temples need to work with city officials in eradicating this unacceptable practice. I was shocked to see folks leaving yards of cloth and other items floating in the water or left on the shores.

Years ago I used to fish by Cross Bay Bridge. I stopped because my line kept getting caught in cloth and the area became a haven for rats.

The Guyanese community appears to lack transformational community leaders. The Pandits also need to realize that Vedic scriptures inform them that Dharma has to adjust to time, place and circumstances.

They must be condemned for those unacceptable practices with no regard for Mother Earth.

They need to be educated and if possible provided with alternatives. Maybe there is some way the organic items can be disposed of in running water. What if there was a central collection point and disposal a few miles off shore? I am sure the fish can eat the fruits. I don't know. I'm shooting from the hip. More research needs to be done.

Here's an idea. How bout stop dumping stuff especially in public places...do that dumping in their own backyard.

An' doan tell Iman about ritual now because I see it the same as I see dem addicts who would juck their arms then throw needles onto the ground...their ritual...but it ain't right.

Like the Herb wear off, go roll another one.

There is a large community of Guyanese in the British  Virgin Islands, who first went there in the 1960s with British Pauling and company to build roads and bridges. Pauling built Berbice Black Bush Polder and Essequibo Tapacuma rice cultivation projects.

They have a vibrant Mandir at Sea Cow Bay near Tortola and when a death occurred, they were not given permission for a cremation and to dump the ashes in the tourist ocean.  They had to settle for a burial, that is stacked in the cemetary, due to limited land space.     

Tola posted:

There is a large community of Guyanese in the British  Virgin Islands, who first went there in the 1960s with British Pauling and company to build roads and bridges. Pauling built Berbice Black Bush Polder and Essequibo Tapacuma rice cultivation projects.

They have a vibrant Mandir at Sea Cow Bay near Tortola and when a death occurred, they were not given permission for a cremation and to dump the ashes in the tourist ocean.  They had to settle for a burial, that is stacked in the cemetary, due to limited land space.     

Why dem nah juss bun di dead.  Dass wah Hindu peoples dozz do!

But nice to hear about that community.  Thanks to the genocidal PNC, a small country like Guyana gatt people exile all ova the freaking globe!

Tola posted:

Why don't they cremate the bodies then bury the ashes,that will save lots of space. I remember when my mother passed away a few years ago we had the body cremated and the next day I collected a 12 inches by 12 inches box with the ashes which we placed in Lake Ontario, we took a boat and went out about 500 yards from the shore.

Tola posted:

Why don't they cremate the bodies then bury the ashes,that will save lots of space. I remember when my mother passed away a few years ago we had the body cremated and the next day I collected a 12 inches by 12 inches box with the ashes which we placed in Lake Ontario, we took a boat and went out about 500 yards from the shore.

Banna, me ask datt same same question is nuff nuff fewer words!

Tola posted:

Cremation might seem practical due to limited land space, but someone should go teach a minority race in BVI, how to  impose their will  on the majority.

Jus like  the harmonious  way they live in Guyana.

Not sure I get your drift!  Cremation is the way of most Hindus, and was nothing to do with space.  Isn’t that so?