The low turnout at the IPADA-G Youth Forum with Professor Kimani Nehusi.

Internationally renowned Guyanese historian, Professor Kimani Nehusi on Sunday called for African-Guyanese organisations to unite, and he singled out the need for that racial group to have a sense of identity if they are to lobby the State to redistribute lands and spend some of the oil revenues on addressing the horrendous impacts of slavery.

Speaking at an interactive session at a poorly attended youth forum held at the Guyana Industrial Training Centre (GITC), Nehusi said the State should “look after the interest of every single section of the population” regardless of whether they are supporters of the government of the day. At the same time, he recommended that special attention be given to African-Guyanese because they have suffered the most and the longest in Guyana.

“Every State and especially the State that has the support of African-Guyanese should in duty-bound be taking up the interest of African-Guyanese and provide it relief, programmes, policies and projects that benefit specifically African-Guyanese that redress or begin to address the injury suffered by African-Guyanese,” he told the event organised by the International Decade for People of African Descent Assembly-Guyana (IDPADA-G).

Professor Nehusi rooted his call in the position that African-Guyanese played the most important role of developing Guyana as a habitable place since they were brought here as enslaved people from the African continent. “We humanised this land and we have not received our full benefits from the work we have done to build Guyana. We have not been compensated for our suffering,” he said.

He said it was time that African-Guyanese rid their organisations of egotistical and domineering people and instead join organisations that are progressive and demand that the leadership respond to what people are saying. “I can’t tell you how to approach which organisations. I can only say that it’s in the interest of African-Guyanese that all those organisations that say they represent us come together to try to put pressure on any government, not just the present government, to ensure that the interest of our people are looked after,” he said.

Well-respected across North America, Europe and Africa for his works, Nehusi made it clear that he was not advocating discrimination against any other section of Guyana’s population. “We are not advocating that the interest of any section or any other section of Guyanese be injured. This is not what we are saying, but what we are saying is that (the) State must redress the interest of African-Guyanese because we have suffered and we are continuing to suffer because we are Africans in Guyana, whether or not we recognise it, whether or not we know about it,” he said.

Professor Kimani Nehusi

Reparations, he contended, was not only about payment for injuries that African-Guyanese sustained, but also about empowerment to address “the ignorance among us”, an effort he said that could be partly funded by oil revenues. “The arrival of substantial monies in the coffers of the government of Guyana is an occasion from which the government of Guyana will be more able to have those policies, those programmes and those projects to begin redressing some of the interests of Guyanese people,” he said.

The adverse impacts of enslavement, he said, included cultural erosion, rape, induced promiscuity, sale of lands to freed slaves at exorbitant rates to import East Indians to work on sugar plantations, destruction of entrepreneurial activities and discrimination in rates of interest for loans.

Unlike Africans, he said East Indians did not suffer as they emerged with their history, culture and identity intact. “That’s one reason why when you compare Indian-Guyanese to African-Guyanese, Indian-Guyanese are a more dynamic group. It is not that they are inherently better or worse than African-Guyanese. It’s because they have something that most African-Guyanese do not have. They know who they are and because they know who they are, they know what their interests are and we, African-Guyanese more than any other body, we need to speak these truths. They may be uncomfortable for some of us and the fact that it’s uncomfortable should lead us into doing something about it,” he said.

Professor Nehusi called on African-Guyanese to face uncomfortable facts and cross those hurdles such as being unprepared to take advantage of the oil and gas sector. “We are not ready because we do not know who we are and if you do not know who you are, you would not know what your interests are, it’s as simple as that,” he said. He sounded a strong call on African-Guyanese to think, plan and strategise.

He lamented that governments, including those mainly supported by African-Guyanese, have “steadfastly refused” to allocate lands to African-Guyanese similar to demarcation of those that had been handed out to Indo-Guyanese. He partly blamed African-Guyanese for failing to unite in the struggle for land reform in their favour. “Even governments that look like us have not done it and I believe that part of the reason for this has got to do with the fact that African-Guyanese are not organised or organised enough to demand that governments do that,” he said.

Government has been silent on the outcome and recommendation of a Presidential Commission of Inquiry into ancestral lands.

Professor Nehusi stopped short of expressing concern about an apparent lack of disunity among a number of African-Guyanese organisations, despite the fact that they have all suffered during the period of enslavement and post-independence. “I can’t tell any group of people like the different organisations in Guyana how they must come together. I can only say that it’s in the common interest of people who are the same people, people who have had the same historical experiences and who have the same interest to get together,” he said. He noted that one of the legacies of colonialism is the “mental sickness” of individualism, with some of us having “over-sized egos”.

This man needs to start a small business and stop taking tax payers money. That way he can employ AfroGuyanese and together they can get money to buy their plane tickets back to Africa.

1.  Where in Africa would they go?  Were the nation states that were responsible for the slave trade still around now? No.  Nigeria as an entity didn't exist and neither did Ghana.

2.  Given that the major slave trading kingdoms snatched captives in wars with each other, or from weaker groups please furnish the documentation that will establish the "tribal" origins of those shipped to Guyana.

3.  Given that Afro Guyanese are a  diverse lot how will they establish their "tribal" origins to allow a modern sovereign state to admit them?  When the enslaved peoples arrived their specific ethnic identities were wiped out as the inter bred with each other.  In addition many Afro Guyanese have ties to Barbados, St Lucia, Grenada and other parts of the Caribbean, complicating this even more.

You can live in your fictive India, even though the REAL Indians don't want you.  And the extreme poverty of your distant relatives rotting in some village in Bihar or UP would appall you. 

Panday found his Indian family and Jagdeo might have as well.  Panday's begged him to take them to Trinidad.  Ironic that your relatives badly want out of India and yet you want to take their Guyanese kin back there!

Nehusi, is either blind, dumb or stupid NOt to know Indians have suffered at the hands of Afros at the command of the PNC. The Indos should be receiving more for their loss of lives and property!!!

And I bet that Kimani Nehusi is some make up name that the Africans will laugh at.   This is what happens to Caribbean people when they do NOT recognize that they are a Caribbean people.

Is the professor a Guyanese?

He is Guyanese.  But I bet his birth name was a nice English name like Sidney King, or Desmond Williams, or something like duh.

And he should have kept that name instead of making Africans laugh at his ignorance of Africa by adopting a name that cannot be linked to any ethnic group in West Africa.

His previous name was  Francis Drakes.  He hails from Queenstown Village on the Essequibo Coast. Prior to leaving Guyana, he was a strong supporter of the WPA. Maybe, he can really explain why in a village where the freed slaves purchased the estate, that there are so many Indo-Guyanese landowners, many of whom are prosperous.

Z
Zed posted:

His previous name was  Francis Drakes.  He hails from Queenstown Village on the Essequibo Coast. Prior to leaving Guyana, he was a strong supporter of the WPA. Maybe, he can really explain why in a village where the freed slaves purchased the estate, that there are so many Indo-Guyanese landowners, many of whom are prosperous.

Walter Rodney and others already explained the challenges that these freed villages failed in the 19th C, and why the most enterprising people from the original settlers left, and the others fell into poverty.

He is Guyanese.  But I bet his birth name was a nice English name like Sidney King, or Desmond Williams, or something like duh.

And he should have kept that name instead of making Africans laugh at his ignorance of Africa by adopting a name that cannot be linked to any ethnic group in West Africa.

Is ayo  brethren, why laughing the man if he adopts the Negro name. 

This is exactly what carib, along with others including myself has said many times. When any other race does something totally stupid, make errors, we speak out, Indos (at least the majority on this board) on the other hand stand quiet and accept any and everything done by another Indo (except those in APNU) regardless of how wrong it is (with the exception of horrendous crimes)

This man needs to start a small business and stop taking tax payers money. That way he can employ AfroGuyanese and together they can get money to buy their plane tickets back to Africa.

1.  Where in Africa would they go?  Were the nation states that were responsible for the slave trade still around now? No.  Nigeria as an entity didn't exist and neither did Ghana.

2.  Given that the major slave trading kingdoms snatched captives in wars with each other, or from weaker groups please furnish the documentation that will establish the "tribal" origins of those shipped to Guyana.

3.  Given that Afro Guyanese are a  diverse lot how will they establish their "tribal" origins to allow a modern sovereign state to admit them?  When the enslaved peoples arrived their specific ethnic identities were wiped out as the inter bred with each other.  In addition many Afro Guyanese have ties to Barbados, St Lucia, Grenada and other parts of the Caribbean, complicating this even more.

You can live in your fictive India, even though the REAL Indians don't want you.  And the extreme poverty of your distant relatives rotting in some village in Bihar or UP would appall you. 

Panday found his Indian family and Jagdeo might have as well.  Panday's begged him to take them to Trinidad.  Ironic that your relatives badly want out of India and yet you want to take their Guyanese kin back there!

I agree with some of the things that is said by the Carib.  Most of these back to Africa people got a white partner at home.

Cain quoted:

This is exactly what carib, along with others including myself has said many times. When any other race does something totally stupid, make errors, we speak out, Indos (at least the majority on this board) on the other hand stand quiet and accept any and everything done by another Indo (except those in APNU) regardless of how wrong it is (with the exception of horrendous crimes)

Easy fuh you tuh talk bai . Y’all race doan do nothing wrong. 😀

Cain quoted:

Easy fuh you tuh talk bai . Y’all race doan do nothing wrong. 😀

All races do wrong, it is when it is not acknowledged by some when their people do so but they go after others. I am still waiting to hear about Veira the racer and the coke charges that somehow went quiet.

Look yeh, I ain't got time for this, I have to go polish my halo.

Now we can have a discussion. Crime in Guyana is not linked to a single race and this new escalation is linked to a weak economy. 

Hopefully oil money will benefit all Guyanese despite who wins the next election. 

Guyanese are fed up with this constant race issue which is an impediment to economic development. This constant tit for tat must end and only a third force will bring balance. AFC lost a golden opportunity. 

I agree with some of the things that is said by the Carib.  Most of these back to Africa people got a white partner at home.

Just like how you, a "back to India" type masquerading as wanting an "independent sovereign state" fuh yuh Indian people, love to spend months in Harlem picking fare wid black men. And watching black p.orn stars.

Now we can have a discussion. Crime in Guyana is not linked to a single race and this new escalation is linked to a weak economy. 

Hopefully oil money will benefit all Guyanese despite who wins the next election. 

Guyanese are fed up with this constant race issue which is an impediment to economic development. This constant tit for tat must end and only a third force will bring balance. AFC lost a golden opportunity. 

As long as there are filthy racist pigs like you around, no "third force" will do anything. Racist dogs like you need to die out or stay out of Guyana's politics. Thankfully many of the younger ones coming up, both black and indian, are not afflicted with your disease.