To attend the Inauguration???  I see only one set of People at the Stadium.

Yes.  A big PNC Amazonian female who will scramble a girly man like you.

Dat would be the Day.  Not even you will ever try dat!!!  Can someone answer the question??

Last edited by Nehru
Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Aya hear dis keera mout racial Nehru. 

SHIT MOUTH, Can you answer the question or yuh mouth still full of shit yuh cant talk!!!!!!!!!!

Hey hey hey. Me done ansa yu queshton. Hey hey hey. Goh wipe yuh keera. 

Well with all the SHIT in yuh mouth, yuh not only talkin shit but we can also smell you.

Most Indian folks in Guyana despise the success of others, especially if they are black or mixed race. And I am talking from personal experience in my own family. The PPP supporters would rather live in poverty and give all they have to the PPP elite instead of getting behind a government that they cannot worship. If I was Granger I would just sideline and bypass them. Because no matter what he does to improve Guyana the PPP Indians are always going to claim that life was better under the PPP regime. Some slaves will always worship their masters.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Most Indian folks in Guyana despise the success of others, especially if they are black or mixed race. And I am talking from personal experience in my own family. The PPP supporters would rather live in poverty and give all they have to the PPP elite instead of getting behind a government that they cannot worship. If I was Granger I would just sideline and bypass them. Because no matter what he does to improve Guyana the PPP Indians are always going to claim that life was better under the PPP regime. Some slaves will always worship their masters.

Actually, I would agree with you on his with one exception, this sentiment is manifested in both camps, reflected in their core base.  However, there in a slice on both sides who are not that loyal and will switch based on facts.  The focus needs to be on those who will swing and this is where the broadening of the appeal matters.

Jimmy cliff sang "poor slave, they take the chains from his body and put it on his mind." This applies to both groups and continues to be a reality in our country. It is not a matter of invitation or whether people feel comfortable to be there. We have to structure activities so that we overcome these attitudes and other impediments. We have to be authentic in our approach instead of having people as tokens , as part  of an artificial narrativeDefinitely not a good moment in the "National Unity" government. The nation is as divided as it was before the elections. How can we bridge the divide so tha we really create a unity of purpose, experience and vision?

Z

I am looking at the Stadium right now and I am wondering if is Ghana

Nehru, seriously, attendance is free and all are welcome.

Why aren't Indians there?

[1] PPP boycott

[2] Indians simply don't want to be there

The government cannot drag Indians from their yards to the stadium.

I hope the PPP don't revert to he CBJ model, it brought nothing.  Fine, they upset and there are questions regarding the elections.  Regardless however, the PPP needs to do some serious reflection and soul searching on how they want to move forward or they will be relegated.  If Granger plays it correct and pacify the 49%, PPP will have problems.

The Guyanese black population have always been willing to work with whoever is in power. This is reflected in their presence in most aspects of Guyanese society even under the PPP. But many of the Indian folks in Guyana don't like the idea of a black person being above them in position or rank. This has had consequences in the police, military, and medical service. And look at the canecutters. They barely spoke up even when the PPP was busy destroying their livelihood. Now Granger is in charge they suddenly find their voice again to make demands. But I suspect that the treatment dished out to Sooba and Jagdeo is soon going to silence them. 23 years of the PPP has made many Indians forget to respect the rights of the black folks. It is going to be a shock to many of them to have to suddenly be polite to black folks they got used to cuss at for more than two decades.

Originally Posted by alena06:

These pictures show our country is more divided than it has ever been in History.

Does it? when was the last time that so many white folks dared to be seen together in such numbers in the last 23 years? Their lives would have been in danger from PPP bandits. People are now less scared to walk the streets of GT even at night.

These pictures show our country is more divided than it has ever been in History.

Guyana remains unreconciled.  Not sure what Granger will do to address. Thus far, not sure but we have to see.

Look, when Indians decide to put Country above PPP and Race, the demographic of Independence celebrations will change.

Remember the recent big hullabaloo about Moses not being Indian but Guyanese? Well, that is being reflected in the stadium. Sadly, many Indians consider themselves Indians first and Guyanese after.

I want to return to the PPP boycott. Nothing new. Before 1992, the PPP had unofficially discouraged its members and supporters from participating in national events. Just two examples:

[1] The Persaud brothers who made up the Merrytones orchestra were PPP supporters who performed at Party and GAWU events like fairs and gymkhanas. In 1972 or 1973 the Burnham government invited Merrytones to perform at the Independence celebrations and paid the guys handsomely. When the PPP read in the papers about that, the Persaud brothers became persona non grata at Freedom House.

[2] As a young PPP activist I had a chat one day with an older comrade who worked at the party's GIMPEX store on Regent Street, the same place where Ramotar once worked. He told me that his uncle, a senior civil servant, had taken him along to an Independence anniversary event at Government/State house, hosted by Governor-General Sir David Rose. He said that while there, Mrs Jagan walked up to him and said, seriously: "What are you doing here?" She probably thought he had defected to the PNC. He introduced his uncle to Mrs Jagan and the uncle explained the matter.

Indians are scared of their own PPP even to attend national events.

Nehru Bhai

We are still a divided nation. This is Independence celebration day but after 28 years of PNC rule and 23 years, we do not have much to celebrate about.

Let us give this administration 100 days before we can start passing judgement.

Where were the Indians on Guyana's Independence Anniversary?

Marching with the loser Ramotar in Port Mourant. Looking at these photos, one would think this is India.

port 2

port 3

port 4

Gil I found your India statement a bit troubling. I am sure that we would have heard about an Africa statement being racist.

Is this the change that you are promoting ?

Listen, we are still a very divided nation. It will take time to heal.

Where were the Indians on Guyana's Independence Anniversary?

Marching with the loser Ramotar in Port Mourant. Looking at these photos, one would think this is India.

port 2

port 3

port 4

Gil I found your India statement a bit troubling. I am sure that we would have heard about an Africa statement being racist.

Is this the change that you are promoting ?

Listen, we are still a very divided nation. It will take time to heal.

yuji22, I was giving the rebuttal to Nehru's observation earlier in this thread. Apparently you overlooked it. Here:

Like Like (0 likes)
PermalinkReport This Reply To Site ModeratorsView Printer Friendly FormatMulti-quoteReply With Quote Now

6 hours ago

I am looking at the Stadium right now and I am wondering if is Ghana

SInce when are you missing the fact that coolie people did not put him in office and his constituency will be represented everywhere he goes. His duty is to go beyond that and rule for all of us despite if some may have rejected him. He has no other obligation. He cannot however be blamed if indians do not turn up.

Originally Posted by Zed:

I do not like in getting into this but the diversity we have in this nation is not represented in the inauguration ceremonies at the stadium and the attendance. This is disturbing and is not an indication what we should be as a nation. We should all be celebrating our country's independence/ 

So would you have been happy if the GDF went to Indian homes and frog marched them to the event?   They didn't want to go, and that is their right.

Guyana remains ethnically divided and if it was Ramotar/Jagdeo being inaugurated the lack of ethnic diversity would have been just as apparent, though of course you would have blamed black people for not attending.

Guyana remains unreconciled.  Not sure what Granger will do to address. Thus far, not sure but we have to see.

Look, when Indians decide to put Country above PPP and Race,

This is the root of the African insecurity dilemma.  The notion that Indians cannot be trusted to see themselves as Guyanese and to link themselves to ALL of Guyana.

Shaitaan and I had an argument several months ago.  Two cultures exist in coastal Guyana.  A creole culture and an Indian one.  The creole culture prides itself in the multi ethnic, multi cultural, and multi religious nature of being what Guyanese is. The focus is "unity in diversity".

The Indian culture focuses on an identity based around being "Indian" and a strong identification with India.  It views non Indians as outsiders.  It focuses on the Indian position within Guyana.  It sees no connection to other ethnic groups.  It views any sign of creolization (acknowledgement that Indians have been impacted by the cultures of other groups, as they have also impacted the cultures of these other groups) as a retrograde step and sharply polices those Indians who move beyond this.

So when Moses was quoted as putting his nationality ahead of his ethnicity (he never denied that he was Indian) that cost him thousands of votes, and drove to the polls many Indians who would have been otherwise too disgusted with the PPP to vote.

Guyana will have to settle that problem, or there will be no end to ethnic distrust.  Trinidad for some reason has done a better job with all of this.

Look, when Indians decide to put Country above PPP and Race, the demographic of Independence celebrations will change.

Remember the recent big hullabaloo about Moses not being Indian but Guyanese? Well, that is being reflected in the stadium. Sadly, many Indians consider themselves Indians first and Guyanese after.

I want to return to the PPP boycott. Nothing new. Before 1992, the PPP had unofficially discouraged its members and supporters from participating in national events. Just two examples:

[1] The Persaud brothers who made up the Merrytones orchestra were PPP supporters who performed at Party and GAWU events like fairs and gymkhanas. In 1972 or 1973 the Burnham government invited Merrytones to perform at the Independence celebrations and paid the guys handsomely. When the PPP read in the papers about that, the Persaud brothers became persona non grata at Freedom House.

[2] As a young PPP activist I had a chat one day with an older comrade who worked at the party's GIMPEX store on Regent Street, the same place where Ramotar once worked. He told me that his uncle, a senior civil servant, had taken him along to an Independence anniversary event at Government/State house, hosted by Governor-General Sir David Rose. He said that while there, Mrs Jagan walked up to him and said, seriously: "What are you doing here?" She probably thought he had defected to the PNC. He introduced his uncle to Mrs Jagan and the uncle explained the matter.

Indians are scared of their own PPP even to attend national events.

Indians are viewed by Afros as "squatters" in Guyana, always been that way, nothing to do with 1992 to 2015.  Indians are Indo-Guyanese, not Indians and very very few Indians view India as an alternative homeland.  The fact that many upkeep certain tradition, does not make them "Indian".

Why do not you be honest.  Indians who support the PPP are squatters in Guyana.  They have no loyalty to Guyana, only to fellow Indians, so they refuse to participate in any event not dominated by Indians.  In addition they lambaste those Indians who view themselves as Guyanese first, and Indians second.  Look at the extreme bigotted harassment that Moses had to endure for saying exactly that!

They then have the bold facedness to think that others must run and beg them to participate. If PPP Indians refuse to celebrate Guyana's independence with other Guyanese, and instead have some Indo only event in Berbice they have a right to do so.  But others also have a right to question their commitment to being Guyanese, and to be interested in building ties with Guyanese of other ethnicities.

As Guyana becomes more multi ethnic, with a declining Indian population, such childish behavior will result in those who refuse to particiapte in symbols of Guyana's nationhood being left out of what it is to be Guyanese.

Increasingly people will tire of the sulking and just hit the "ignore" button.

A multi ethnic nation CANNOT function unless all see each other as being united.  Just look at Cyprus if you doubt.