Pegasus owner, Robert Badal speaking at an AFC press conference

The motion moved by Alliance for Change (AFC) in the National Assembly on Thursday, to botch construction of the Marriott Hotel came as no surprise, but exposes the party’s defence of special interests, according to President Donald Ramotar.

The President says the motion moved by AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan is seeking to block government’s financial investment in the Marriott Guyana Georgetown that is being built at Kingston to lift accommodation services in Guyana to a world class level.

The president reiterated that the project will increase economic growth and open doors for investment opportunities locally.

At the Private Sector Commission’s 2012 annual general meeting in June, President Ramotar assured hoteliers that the project will not run competitors out of business. He said the government intends to move ahead despite numerous attempts to taint the investment.

In November 2011, the sod was turned for the US $51M hotel which will boast 197 rooms, a large ballroom, conference centre, a casino, nightclub, restaurant, a concrete walkway and all other amenities of a world-class hotel.

I raised this issue once Robert Badal run Pegasus as thought it was a house of ill repute, run down and not worthy of 1 star:

see review on orbitz

2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Shabby exterior. Peeling paint.Impressive foyer with large sections of ceiling missing.Small rooms grossly overcharged at $165 USD per night.Breakfast extra.No coffee making facilities. Extra charge for morning coffee.Broken room door.Moved to new room with a telephone which did not work, lights which did not work because of missing bulbs.No mirror in room.Getting into and out of the very high bed almost requires a step ladder unless you happen to be very tall. My aged mother-in-law required medical attention after falling off the bed as her feet could not touch the bare tiled floor with no carpets.The hotel was unable to provide details of available doctors,Grotty and tired bathroom.Wall tiles used on shower floors became very slippery when wet.Ill fitting balcony doors impossible to lock.Patio furniture spore infested and needs to be cleaned.Our gratitude to the staff especially Saleem and Camille who deserves recognition for their efforts to make amends for the shortcomings of the hotel.

Room Tip:Very small rooms, except for suites which are comfortable and represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011
person found this review helpful

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The ceilings in the corridors were oozing a black liquid which was running down the walls. One of my fellow travellers was woken in the middle of the night when his ceiling collapsed and flooded the room. The food in the cafe which doubled a breakfast room was fairly awful. The meeting facilities were barely air conditioned.........

In other parts of the world this would rate as a two star hotel at best.........

Dem AFC bais a do de right ting yasuh. Imagine NICIL a gee out de people money and nah get approval from Parliament. Dis project a wanada Jagdoe fantasy. Dem a waste de people money like dem do pun de sugah factory a Skeldon. Dem a waste de people money like how dem a mek substandard infrastructure all ova de country. Look how Irfatt dem mek da centre a Lenora fuh 500 mill dallah when de IDB people dem seh de ting should not cost more dan 250 mill. Dem a tief and waste de people money. Dem a rape de poor people treasury. 

I raised this issue once Robert Badal run Pegasus as thought it was a house of ill repute, run down and not worthy of 1 star:

see review on orbitz

2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Shabby exterior. Peeling paint.Impressive foyer with large sections of ceiling missing.Small rooms grossly overcharged at $165 USD per night.Breakfast extra.No coffee making facilities. Extra charge for morning coffee.Broken room door.Moved to new room with a telephone which did not work, lights which did not work because of missing bulbs.No mirror in room.Getting into and out of the very high bed almost requires a step ladder unless you happen to be very tall. My aged mother-in-law required medical attention after falling off the bed as her feet could not touch the bare tiled floor with no carpets.The hotel was unable to provide details of available doctors,Grotty and tired bathroom.Wall tiles used on shower floors became very slippery when wet.Ill fitting balcony doors impossible to lock.Patio furniture spore infested and needs to be cleaned.Our gratitude to the staff especially Saleem and Camille who deserves recognition for their efforts to make amends for the shortcomings of the hotel.

Room Tip:Very small rooms, except for suites which are comfortable and represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011
person found this review helpful

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The ceilings in the corridors were oozing a black liquid which was running down the walls. One of my fellow travellers was woken in the middle of the night when his ceiling collapsed and flooded the room. The food in the cafe which doubled a breakfast room was fairly awful. The meeting facilities were barely air conditioned.........

In other parts of the world this would rate as a two star hotel at best.........

Bar-Rat probably paid Coounscie or one of his other lackeys to write this review. I've stayed at the Pegasus a few times and it is nothing close to this description. It is not the best hotel in the world but nothing like what is described here. If you read the other reviews, you'll see that they verify what I'm saying.

Originally Posted by PRK:

Dem AFC bais a do de right ting yasuh. Imagine NICIL a gee out de people money and nah get approval from Parliament. Dis project a wanada Jagdoe fantasy. Dem a waste de people money like dem do pun de sugah factory a Skeldon. Dem a waste de people money like how dem a mek substandard infrastructure all ova de country. Look how Irfatt dem mek da centre a Lenora fuh 500 mill dallah when de IDB people dem seh de ting should not cost more dan 250 mill. Dem a tief and waste de people money. Dem a rape de poor people treasury. 

NICIL don't need the consent of parliament for investing the people's money. Way back in its inception under the PNC NICIL was set up that way by the AFC/pNC folks who now cry foul. ahahahah

So because the PNC was corrupt 20 years ago the PPP needs to be corrupt?  So yes there were scandals when Hoyte privatized many state corporations.  But does this mean that crony capitalism should be allowed to continue?  Where the govt protects their friends by reducing their risk in ventures which clearly these individuals consider high risk?

Druggie when folks like me criticized the Buddies fiasco folks like you sceamed that "rich" overseas Guyanese will ensure its success.  Andthat we were against "progress".

Well Princess gets no better reviews than does Pegasus and Buddies made millions out of that deal.  Buddies of course being a PPP supporter.

And the "progress" we see is a high class brothel and quite likely a venue for money laundering and worse.

So even you no longer bray about Buddies.

I repeat.  If the success of Marriott is 100% assured than it should be 100% financed by private investors.  The govt can assist by duty and tax waivers, subject to certain bench marks.

There is no rationale for the govt of Guyana to waste tax payers dollars in this investment, when the same folks scream that they have no money to adequately promote Guyana, or to work with the private sector to subsidize airlift by a major airline.  Maybe American or Virgin.

What is needed to develop Guyana is a better tourism product.  The second and subsequent generations arent any different from foreign visitors. 

So why not develop Heritage tourism which will educate these overseas born kids, and even many of their parents, of Guyana's history and culture.  So their visit will be packed with many things to do other than sitting in some one's bottom house watching people get drunk. 

I mean what are they going to do in this Marriott?  Is there any golf.  NO!!!! And yes many ofr your "rich" Guyanese do like to play golf...ask chief.

I am not against this product.  I am against Government getting involved in a venture in which is has no expertise.

In fact Buddy lost on the deal as he still owes the bank.  Any type of business in risky and he paid the price. Guyana needs a 5 star hotel if it is to continue the progress laid out under the Jagdeo administration. Any investor in partnership with govt is immediately labeled as cronies of the PPP so I take what you say with a grain of salt. 

Parliament is not the best controller of the funds of NICIl as the members use their power for political gain and to stymie the efforts of govt to move the country into the 21st century. 

Govt have reached out to American, Virgin and a host of others, only Delta saw opportunity and is now reaping a hefty reward as they outlast the smaller ventures via their deeper pockets.  

We already had the discussion about tourist product, Guyana is not blessed with white sand and blue oceans and the masses are not willing to battle malaria and hot sun to experience eco tourism. What Guyana has is nostalgia from the overseas expats, this is what should be exploited but it should not depend on govt to lead the charge, this has to come from the private sector and it is actually happening contrary to your claims. Do a search on eco resorts in Guyana and cry tears of sorrow at the progress made in this sector. Your tears will not bring the nation down. 

So because the PNC was corrupt 20 years ago the PPP needs to be corrupt?  So yes there were scandals when Hoyte privatized many state corporations.  But does this mean that crony capitalism should be allowed to continue?  Where the govt protects their friends by reducing their risk in ventures which clearly these individuals consider high risk?

Druggie when folks like me criticized the Buddies fiasco folks like you sceamed that "rich" overseas Guyanese will ensure its success.  Andthat we were against "progress".

Well Princess gets no better reviews than does Pegasus and Buddies made millions out of that deal.  Buddies of course being a PPP supporter.

And the "progress" we see is a high class brothel and quite likely a venue for money laundering and worse.

So even you no longer bray about Buddies.

I repeat.  If the success of Marriott is 100% assured than it should be 100% financed by private investors.  The govt can assist by duty and tax waivers, subject to certain bench marks.

There is no rationale for the govt of Guyana to waste tax payers dollars in this investment, when the same folks scream that they have no money to adequately promote Guyana, or to work with the private sector to subsidize airlift by a major airline.  Maybe American or Virgin.

What is needed to develop Guyana is a better tourism product.  The second and subsequent generations arent any different from foreign visitors. 

So why not develop Heritage tourism which will educate these overseas born kids, and even many of their parents, of Guyana's history and culture.  So their visit will be packed with many things to do other than sitting in some one's bottom house watching people get drunk. 

I mean what are they going to do in this Marriott?  Is there any golf.  NO!!!! And yes many ofr your "rich" Guyanese do like to play golf...ask chief.

I am not against this product.  I am against Government getting involved in a venture in which is has no expertise.

It's does seem backward that the GoG is into building a hotel but solicited private funds to build the Bbce bridge.  Sounds convoluted and strange.  Makes anyone wonder.

with the amount of tourist guyana gets it do not need a next hotel at least not fund by the government,this is just a front for the ppp crime family,the government sell their share in GTT when they were making a big profit,so why the hell they want to build a hotel that is uncertain.this government is pushing the people against a wall

It's does seem backward that the GoG is into building a hotel but solicited private funds to build the Bbce bridge.  Sounds convoluted and strange.  Makes anyone wonder.

You are buying into the proganda, the bbice bridge was a partnership between govt and private investors. It is pretty much the same with the Marriott, who is claiming that govt will be 100% share holder?  It is more like 20% with the rest being funded by private investors. 

Don't know all the facts about Marriot, so just commenting from afar.

In fact Buddy lost on the deal as he still owes the bank.  Any type of business in risky and he paid the price. Guyana needs a 5 star hotel if it is to continue the progress laid out under the Jagdeo administration. Any investor in partnership with govt is immediately labeled as cronies of the PPP so I take what you say with a grain of salt. 

Parliament is not the best controller of the funds of NICIl as the members use their power for political gain and to stymie the efforts of govt to move the country into the 21st century. 

Govt have reached out to American, Virgin and a host of others, only Delta saw opportunity and is now reaping a hefty reward as they outlast the smaller ventures via their deeper pockets.  

We already had the discussion about tourist product, Guyana is not blessed with white sand and blue oceans and the masses are not willing to battle malaria and hot sun to experience eco tourism. What Guyana has is nostalgia from the overseas expats, this is what should be exploited but it should not depend on govt to lead the charge, this has to come from the private sector and it is actually happening contrary to your claims. Do a search on eco resorts in Guyana and cry tears of sorrow at the progress made in this sector. Your tears will not bring the nation down. 

You will note that I mentioned NO WHERE in the previous post about eco adventure tourism because Marriott is not what that market wants.  High end eco lodges in prime eco areas would be the product.  Suriname has these and is developing a tourist industry beyond returning Surinamers.  Guyana, with a very similar product offering, even if a slightly less exotic range of cultures, choses not to.

Druggie if an investor gets the PPP to use taxpayers money to minimize risk on a venture that they arent sure of then they are cronies.  This project smacks of crony capitalism, just as Buddies did.  Now tell me what you think of Princess because you and I had teh SAME arguement over that and we see that Princess is a dismal failure.

If a 5 star hotel (By the way Marriott is NOT a 5 star brand) is so needed and its success is so assured then let the private investors fund the project 100% and assume 100% of the risks if it fails.

Given that the Guyanese who return home come for all parts of the country why a five star hotel in G/twn?  Put it in Berbice then if you feel that its sole market will be "rich" Guyanese who want to show off their success.  I mean Gtwn has some 3 star facilities.  How many of these does Berbice have? 

The nostalgia that overseas Guyanese have will be experienced in the parts of the country where they come from.  Are you trying to tell me that some one from Essequibo. Linden, or Berbice is going to stay in Gtown in "luxury" while all their friends and family are located elsewhere?

You undermine your own argument.

And I repeat if this venture is so urgently needed and assured of success why are the private investors afraid to assume the risk?

And you are a truly silly man if you think that people born outside of Guyana do not want to experience more of that country than wasting time with a bunch of old people over a bottle of rum.

So what offerings exist that will allow these "visitors" to learn more of Guyana and to experience its diverse culture and rich history.

Druggie do you know that very few Guyanese even know anything about Guyanese history?

What Guyana has is nostalgia from the overseas expats, this is what should be exploited but it should not depend on govt to lead the charge, this has to come from the private sector and it is actually happening . 

So why is the project not 100% funded by the private sector?  Governments know nothing about running hotels and should not be involved in them, aside from providing assistance in the form of tax and duty waivers, infrastructure improvements (where needed) and possibly subsidies in the form of start up promotion in key markets and guaranteed airlift.

Ok Folks,

Remember that the AFC holler about corruption and dishonesty ? We need to constantly be remind about the fact that we are still awaiting on their results of the inquiry regarding the Bush Doctor.

Again folks, the AFC is playing politics by playing to the tune of one of their alleged backers. If they loose an alleged major backer, they loose financial support.

Now folks, you need to ask yourself or ask your AFC politicians the question... why are they playing politics with the future of Guyana by blocking development in Guyana because one of their supporters is upset that there will be serious competition ?

Ok folks, the free market will dictate who stays alive in business... not the AFC. The AFC is now behaving like communists by blocking development. Yes folks communists ! They do not support free enterprise unless their backers are involved. Now Now... how does that sound and is it fair for the AFC to block development in Guyana ?

Now folks.. backtrack and remind yourself that the AFC are the ones who accused the PPP of the very act that the AFC is publicly displaying.

Now... do you really trust the AFC ? Be honest now and you will begin to see the true colours of the AFC.

And by the way folks... take a close look and you will see Trotman behind Badal in the picture. Take a close look......................

Here is the difference druggie.

The Berbice bridge is VITAL infrastructure which Guyana needs to move goods and people between East Berbice and the rest of Guyana.  Involving private sector funding reduced the demands on govt to fully fund this project.  I will not opine as to whether this venture is a success, but at least I understand the rationale for this.

Marriott.  According to you its core market will be Guyanese looking to spend US$300/night to wallow in "luxury" while they wax nostalgic for their homeland.  These Guyanese will return in any case and so I see no need for tax payers dollars to be used in this venture.  If a market exists as you describe, it is a low risk one as Guyanese will return home.

Now if the hotel was being used to jump start a new segment within the tourism sector then I can see a rationale for public setor involvement to reward the private sector  in a venture which will probably be too risky for them to fully.  But according to you, this is not the case.

It is another hotel aiming at the same markets as the existing ones, and not likely to increase the numbers of visitors.