Originally posted by squingy:
Caribj bwoy, you are being a true victim of your own interpretations. Doan tek on worries, yuh shudda been at Linden las' nite!

600 in LInden is really nothing. Even the PPP attracted 3,000 to their events last time.

If there is one place where you all should be able to win its Linden, destroyed by the PNC, neglected by the PPP. This turnout doesnt indicate this.

OOH well I guess last time 10,500 people voted, down from almost 19,000 in 2001. This time maybe 7,000 will vote?????
Originally posted by redux:
Giving aid and comfort to the acknowledged enemy out of spite is never honorable.

If I go to the doctor and he tells me that I am well, but it turns iout that I am sick. I will sue him for malpractise.

If I tell the AFC that all is well when they can only get 50 to a meeting in South Gtwn then I am fooling them.

Consider this fact. The PPP is telling people that the AFC is not gaining traction. Empty meetings makes their claims credible. Full meetings do not.

The AFC doesnt have a reservoir of the ethnically insecure to guarantee a minimum vote. They have to prove that they have support. As of now I havent seen any one saying that they do. Why doesnt Freddie Kissoon talk about the AFC any more when he used to be their biggest supporter?
Originally posted by cain:
Good post redux, especially the part about giving de man a back hand Big Grin

Obama is now losing support among blacks in teh USA. Take a lesson from that. When folks who are intelligent think they can take for granted other folks some times the only people who they fool are themselves.

Now tell me why I dont see those huge meetings in Gtwn in 2011 that I saw in 2006? Where is the excitement gone? Why dont INDEPENDENT analysts even mention the AFC is having potential for a strong performance?

Now all of you AFCManiacs can dip your head in the sand but it is quite evident to me that the AFC and Obama share one characteristic. Their core base seems to have left them...its now easier for their enemies to peddle the "news" that they are weak. Obama has 14 months to fiox his problems. The AFC has a mere month.

Now amths would suggest to me that if a region offere 40% of the votes one wouldnt wait until the last meeting to get them. If the AFC were a true national party (evidently they are not) they could simulataneously go after rural and ,aybe even interior votes while still holding on to Region 4. It appears as if the cant walk and chew gum at the same time.

Please dont insult the AFC by talking about raod side meetings. If teh AFC has support it should be able to galvanize fior a huge rally in each district....and wit will not have to bus people either. They will get their on their own.

Go for it.
Originally posted by caribj:
Giving aid and comfort to the acknowledged enemy out of spite is never honorable.

If I go to the doctor and he tells me that I am well, but it turns iout that I am sick. I will sue him for malpractise.

If I tell the AFC that all is well when they can only get 50 to a meeting in South Gtwn then I am fooling them.

Consider this fact. The PPP is telling people that the AFC is not gaining traction. Empty meetings makes their claims credible. Full meetings do not.

The AFC doesnt have a reservoir of the ethnically insecure to guarantee a minimum vote. They have to prove that they have support. As of now I havent seen any one saying that they do. Why doesnt Freddie Kissoon talk about the AFC any more when he used to be their biggest supporter?

Caribj didnt Kissoon just post on Mark Benschop site that he is campaigning for the AFC?
J
I dont think you are accurately representing what Kissoon is doing and saying. I pay close attention to some of his trash writings.

Kissoon is in court today with 3 AFC top henchmen defending him against his Excellency.

He is no longer cussing out the AFC publicly as he has done in the past.

Now he has publicly said apparently that he is campaigning for the AFC those are quite potent in terms of where Kissoon is placing his bets no?

You say the AFC is not around and aware on the ground I am telling you I live here and I know different. My PPP buddies are like me we are biding our time and watching.
J
Originally posted by caribj:
Originally posted by squingy:
Caribj bwoy, you are being a true victim of your own interpretations. Doan tek on worries, yuh shudda been at Linden las' nite!

600 in LInden is really nothing. Even the PPP attracted 3,000 to their events last time.

If there is one place where you all should be able to win its Linden, destroyed by the PNC, neglected by the PPP. This turnout doesnt indicate this.

OOH well I guess last time 10,500 people voted, down from almost 19,000 in 2001. This time maybe 7,000 will vote?????

Where do you see me state that the crowd size was 600? Careful you don't strain and cause yourself an injury. I think Redux in on the mark in his post addressed to you!
In response [to CaribJ], I am constrained to repeat [again] that I speak only for myself and not the AFC. As far as I know, Gerhard and TK are the only contributors to this BB capable of speaking on behalf of the party.

First, your claim that the AFC is ignoring Region4/Georgetown is a (false) premise presented without evidence that herds your argument(s) into logical swampland such as: voters in Georgetown are refusing to attend (ignoring) AFC meetings because the AFC is ignoring them (by having these meetings?) . . .??!
The “don’t deserve to win” rhetorical flourish in your initial post is nothing but wish fulfillment on your part rather than analysis, and speaks volumes about your mindset.

Second, I have to remind you that drawing a crowd on the stump in Georgetown is but one metric to gauge future support at the polls. The history of Guyana elections under authoritarian conditions (1992?) should teach us that the optics of the ‘political rally’ must be placed in a larger (more intelligent) context if we are to engage in serious conversation - the recent PPP propaganda exercise at Providence Stadium is a case in point. Therefore, reducing the discussion to which party is currently pulling the bigger crowd at Georgetown street corners for an election whose date has not yet been set serves little purpose; and common sense would have cautioned a wait for the formal campaign season to start before all this pompous finger pointing. I will submit that messaging and media are more important than mass rallies in political campaigns today, and I suspect that is part of the reason why APNU is floating the absurd US$6M figure as a campaign fund raising goal. IMO, the AFC should be more aggressive and innovative in using new media tools such as Twitter and Facebook to get their message out as part of an asymmetrical approach to offset the massive PPP funding advantage for conventional media . . . but that’s a discussion on tactics that deserves another thread.

Finally, your baffling exhortation (challenge) to the AFC to “host a meeting with thousands” to prove (to you?) that they are “in the running” is devious and self-important in the extreme, deserving nothing more than the back of the hand. Sorry.

CaribJ, you have spoken many necessary truths on this BB in the couple of years I have been here and, from what I understand, you have been taking on the racist filth peddlers for nearly a decade before that. But what gives with the hate on the one party that can forever change the dynamics of politics in Guyana for the good? The first area of 'concern' you obsessed over was the AFC decision not to link up with APNU, and then it was the 'alienation' of Raphael Trotman and takeover of the AFC by ROAR. We are now left with an 'ignoring' of the “base” in Regions 10 and 4. That’s NOT tough love, Sir.

flag flag Well said, redux, my brother.
CaribJ, you have spoken many necessary truths on this BB in the couple of years I have been here and, from what I understand, you have been taking on the racist filth peddlers for nearly a decade before that. But what gives with the hate on the one party that can forever change the dynamics of politics in Guyana for the good? The first area of 'concern' you obsessed over was the AFC decision not to link up with APNU, and then it was the 'alienation' of Raphael Trotman and takeover of the AFC by ROAR. We are now left with an 'ignoring' of the “base” in Regions 10 and 4. That’s NOT tough love, Sir.

Caribj what is your response to this onslaught from the AFC cheerleading squad?
J