AFC says it has evidence of secret PPP bank accounts

November 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

The Alliance For Change (AFC), which forms part of the coalition Government, says it has evidence of secret bank accounts and other assets held by the Opposition. The explosive claims were made yesterday by AFC in response to statements by the Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) over the postponement of Parliament on November 12. The Coalition Government had said that a number of important overseas fora which officials had to attend had prompted the postponement. The Opposition last week reportedly said that it believed that the postponement is as a result of the Coalition Government trying to avoid debate on a motion on a recent salary adjustment for Members of Parliament and Ministers. The AFC yesterday, however, said it finds this to be hypocritical for the simple reason that it was the PPP, when faced with a motion of ‘No Confidence’ in 2014, not only postponed the sitting of the National Assembly but shut down the House. “The PPP was fearful of that motion to the extent that it recklessly prorogued the Parliament which was derailed for a full nine months. It was the APNU+AFC Coalition Government that rescued Parliament and re-convened the Assembly after the polls.” AFC said that the coalition is ready to debate any motion from the Opposition which seemed to be playing a game of cat-and-mouse with Parliament. This was evident from its first boycotted important sittings, and then, not to lose pay for its MPs, quietly slipped into the House whilst petitioning the court to declare the Parliament illegal. “Our party is armed with cogent facts and statistics that would put the PPP to shame for giving its fat cat super salaries and perks for stashing away fabulous sums in secret bank accounts and causing the disappearance of vehicles and other state assets, all of which is coming to the public’s attention now with a series of revelations and disclosures.” The party said that it supports action to follow through the revelations with recovery of state assets which have been misappropriated and for prosecution where necessary. “The AFC sees the hullabaloo over salary adjustments as a red-herring to divert attention from the PPP’s destruction of the Guyana economy, bankrupting the sugar industry and failure to find alternative markets for rice when it became aware of the collapse, under its rule, of the Venezuela deal.” As a coalition partner, the AFC made it clear that it is fully committed to Parliamentary democracy and a functioning House but recognizes that important strategic Government business must be given attention in the national interest. “This is particularly at this time when, as a nation, we are organizing to secure our national petroleum assets and defend threats to our national sovereignty.” The claims by the AFC of secret bank accounts would come at a time when a former senior Minister, Dr. Jennifer Westford, and her personal assistant are facing criminal charges for the transfer of several state vehicles to themselves and others shortly before elections. Several audits into state agencies are underway. But there has been growing impatience at the pace of investigations and whether charges are likely for some of the accusations that have been levied by the coalition while they were in opposition- prior to the May 11 General Elections that they won. Recently, a lawyer wrote a local commercial bank, Bank of Nova Scotia, complaining that account details of Dr. Westford and her personal assistant, Margaret Cummings, have been leaked.

The AFC needs to focus on fixing Guyana's real and present problems rather than being the c00lie crab poodles of the PNC.  Why do c00lies feel they must be loved by the other side to feel important.  Still baffles me from where this crab mentality comes.

I look forward to the arrests pending from this discovery. Hopefully the bajan singer will see it fit to post these arrests on DG's thread to track PPP operatives arrested for fraud.

what about the PPP Funny Fella

at GPL who stole $28 Million...

If the Guyana Govt go after him

do that make AFC supporters 

c00lie crab poodles of the PNC.

If the Guyana Govt go after Nandalall

for using Guyana Govt money

to pay for injecting "Rasta Sperm" into the Poke...... 

If the Guyana Govt go after Jagdeo

for any of the Scams he was Involved in....

Like Skeldon Factory, Fip US$15 million,

Clico Scam, NBS Scam, NIS Scam,

Special Hospital Scam, Water Pump Scam,

Prado Ville 1 and Prado Ville 2,

New GPC Contracts, Sanata Textile Mill Scam...... 

If the Guyana Govt go after

Rohee, Prya, Robert Persaud,

Donald Daughter, Sheik Baksh

and other PPP Top Soup Drinkers...... 

If the Guyana Govt go after

Top PPP officials who Run up

$82 Billion losses at Guysuco ......

Leave the Sugar & Rice Industry Bankrupt,

Empty the Petro Caribe Fund Account,

Lose all Export market for Rice,

but Give their Friends $200 Million Secret Loan, 

I look forward to the arrests pending from this discovery. Hopefully the bajan singer will see it fit to post these arrests on DG's thread to track PPP operatives arrested for fraud.

Big Seed......

Baseman say if yu soak yuh Godey with Limacol

it should kill all them crab louse

that invade de Hydro Seed.

The AFC needs to focus on fixing Guyana's real and present problems rather than being the c00lie crab poodles of the PNC.  Why do c00lies feel they must be loved by the other side to feel important.  Still baffles me from where this crab mentality comes.

The AFC......being the c00lie crab poodles of the PNC

So you have examined the report, examined the makeup of the AFC and analyzed the PNC's motives and came to this conclusion?

I  say this is the height of bigotry and the depth of uneducated rantings.

The only crab I  see here is you. Clean up your act. Why is examining corruption and recovering illegal gains at the expense of tax payers so anathema to you? Are you against the ordinary taxpayers of Guyana? Are you so much in love with defending illegal gains? Speak to this first then we can talk about the failings, as you see them, of the governing coalition.

AFC says it has evidence of secret PPP bank accounts

November 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

The Alliance For Change (AFC), which forms part of the coalition Government, says it has evidence of secret bank accounts and other assets held by the Opposition. The explosive claims were made yesterday by AFC in response to statements by the Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) over the postponement of Parliament on November 12. The Coalition Government had said that a number of important overseas fora which officials had to attend had prompted the postponement. The Opposition last week reportedly said that it believed that the postponement is as a result of the Coalition Government trying to avoid debate on a motion on a recent salary adjustment for Members of Parliament and Ministers. The AFC yesterday, however, said it finds this to be hypocritical for the simple reason that it was the PPP, when faced with a motion of ‘No Confidence’ in 2014, not only postponed the sitting of the National Assembly but shut down the House. “The PPP was fearful of that motion to the extent that it recklessly prorogued the Parliament which was derailed for a full nine months. It was the APNU+AFC Coalition Government that rescued Parliament and re-convened the Assembly after the polls.” AFC said that the coalition is ready to debate any motion from the Opposition which seemed to be playing a game of cat-and-mouse with Parliament. This was evident from its first boycotted important sittings, and then, not to lose pay for its MPs, quietly slipped into the House whilst petitioning the court to declare the Parliament illegal. “Our party is armed with cogent facts and statistics that would put the PPP to shame for giving its fat cat super salaries and perks for stashing away fabulous sums in secret bank accounts and causing the disappearance of vehicles and other state assets, all of which is coming to the public’s attention now with a series of revelations and disclosures.” The party said that it supports action to follow through the revelations with recovery of state assets which have been misappropriated and for prosecution where necessary. “The AFC sees the hullabaloo over salary adjustments as a red-herring to divert attention from the PPP’s destruction of the Guyana economy, bankrupting the sugar industry and failure to find alternative markets for rice when it became aware of the collapse, under its rule, of the Venezuela deal.” As a coalition partner, the AFC made it clear that it is fully committed to Parliamentary democracy and a functioning House but recognizes that important strategic Government business must be given attention in the national interest. “This is particularly at this time when, as a nation, we are organizing to secure our national petroleum assets and defend threats to our national sovereignty.” The claims by the AFC of secret bank accounts would come at a time when a former senior Minister, Dr. Jennifer Westford, and her personal assistant are facing criminal charges for the transfer of several state vehicles to themselves and others shortly before elections. Several audits into state agencies are underway. But there has been growing impatience at the pace of investigations and whether charges are likely for some of the accusations that have been levied by the coalition while they were in opposition- prior to the May 11 General Elections that they won. Recently, a lawyer wrote a local commercial bank, Bank of Nova Scotia, complaining that account details of Dr. Westford and her personal assistant, Margaret Cummings, have been leaked.

AFC is full of Shyte. Here goes another NANCY story.

Guyanese are now fed up of the daily lies. It worked once and it will NEVER work again.

Yuji. I see you're being Nehru-esque

I am quite angry that the AFC is trying to pull a fast one here while Guyanese are fed up with their Nancy story.

Time for these chaps to solve crime and deal with an economy which is  spinning out of control.

Election is done and over with.

Big Seed......

I warned you about personal attacks

Big Seed......

Why don't you warn Nehru too when that's all he ever contributes to this forum? I guess y'all are buddy friends hence the double standards.

Big Seed......

Riff, Limacol is the best after-shave. ?Maybe it's medically good for crab louse, nuh?!

Originally Posted by Zed:

If they have the evidence, then charge them.  It sounds like spin to me. Do it, don't just talk about it.

The little teasers the coalition has been sending out to the public are losing their appeal. One day we hear that the audits discovered money missing here, another day money missing there, but no one is providing concrete evidence on specific culprits. The government has not even tabled draft legislation to empower the State Asset Recovery Unit. And that GPL Deputy CEO Deonarine is still walking free after huffing $27 million.

Please don't get me wrong. The PPP regime had gotten involved in financial malpractices and there are a few PPP bigwigs out there who should be in jail. That they are still enjoying freedom even to openly taunt the coalition indicates some incompetence or unwillingness to prosecute charges.

Since the PPP lost power 6 months ago the alleged crooks have had more than ample time to squirrel away their booty.

I am still hoping that APNU+AFC can come soon with some substantial charges. If not, their credibility will be a big issue.

Big Seed......

Come on Riff, is dis why you ban de guy. Bai, people do worse hea, including me.

Once mo...... you are ugly and you mama wears army boots.

Go jump in an empty lake .