Money spent on overpriced drugs could

pay 20% increase to nurses, teachers –

AFC tells Ramotar

December 6, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

“The AFC deems the refusal to establish the PPC as a sad commentary on the presidency’s will to stamp out cronyism, favouritism and discrimination and the perception thereof, in the procurement process.”
By Abena Rockcliffe
The Alliance For Change (AFC) has identified that Guyana has suffered many financial disasters in the absence of the Public Procurement Commission (PPC) – one being the excessive spending on overpriced drugs. Nevertheless, the party is saying that it is not too late to curb the rampant corruption in the awarding of contracts. However, the government is seemingly not willing to give up the stronghold it has on the procurement process.

AFC leader, Khemraj Ramjattan

The AFC has long held the position that it is extremely keen on securing a level playing field for local contractors, and that one of the main measures in doing so is to ensure that Guyana gets a PPC.
As the party continuously seeks the reality of a functioning PPC, AFC leader, Khemraj Ramjattan initiated consultations with President Donald Ramotar. On November 29, last, Ramjattan wrote Ramotar saying that Guyana is in urgent need of both the Anti Money Laundering and Countering Financing of Terrorism (AML-CFT) Bill and an operational PPC.
Ramjattan stated in the letter that a PPC will have vast effects on the financial architecture of Guyana.
The politician said it would have put to rest the concern that government would have had saved $1.8B over the last two years, enough to pay all the nurses and teachers a 20 percent increase in salaries this year, if there was no cabinet involvement in the procurement in pharmaceuticals.
“It would have also removed any perception of collusion on the part of your government in the award of the Amaila Hydro Road project,” noted Ramjattan.
Ramjattan, in the letter, registered his party’s belief that the setting up and operationalization of the PPC will be a massive asset in partnering the fight against money laundering and financing of terrorism and sees their existence as “…wholly symbiotic. Therefore the necessity in having both must be appreciated and worked for by the lawmakers of Guyana.”
Ramjattan told the President that if all parliamentary parties work together towards having the Bill and the Commission set up and operational, both can be done before the next plenary meeting of the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF), set for February.

President Donald Ramotar

Ramjattan put forward that “A road map can see the nominations from the PPC being sent into the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) within a week, with the PAC then recommending its five names for parliamentary approval in time for the sitting on the 12th December. At this sitting the AML-CFT (Amendment) Bill can be also brought back and sent to the Special Select Committee after its first reading…Thereafter, the next sitting should see an item for the approval of the five members as recommended by the PAC and the laying of the financial paper for approximately $50M, to support this Commission and the passing of the AML-CFT Bill, which by then would have finished its work in the select Committee.”
It was noted that the AFC consulted with A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and no objection was forthcoming. But the government stands alone.
Ramotar responded that his executive does not view the Bill and the Commission as “wholly symbiotic. In fact there is hardly a nexus between the two.”
Ramotar said that obligations with the passing of the amendment Bill are time bound and if not discharged can attract sanctions which can have a crippling effect on the country’s economy. He said that the challenge will affect Guyana both regionally and internationally, as a nation stigmatized as engaged in money laundering and terrorism activities.
He then reiterated that the government will not call a deal unless cabinet can maintain its no-objection power.
Ramotar said “If the Cabinet’s role is removed from the procurement process, we will be left with the abnormal situation of having a constitutionally established oversight body reviewing a process which essentially has no executive input, role and participation…Another significant factor which must be addressed is who will be held legally responsible and liable for any act, omission, negligence or the infraction of any legal principle in the procurement process. Clearly if cabinet‘s role is removed, it cannot be the executive. Will the PPC accept and be in the legal position to discharge this responsibility?”

Dr Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop

Ramotar highlighted that in many countries the cabinet still awards contracts, and he added that the cabinet in Guyana plays the most minimal role in the PPC than in any other country in the Caribbean.”
But it didn’t stop there.  Yesterday the AFC wrote back, sticking to its position, still suggesting the use of the road map.
Ramjattan told the president clearly that the AFC sees the Bill and the Commission as a shield and sword to protect Guyana and eliminate dirty money.
“Corruption eats at the sinews of our society and unless we fix our systems to deal with dirty money and procurement deals in a complementary way, Guyana may very well become a pariah state with which no one would want do business or invest.
The AFC deems the refusal to establish the PPC as a sad commentary on the presidency’s will to stamp out cronyism, favourism and discrimination and the perception thereof, in the procurement process.”
Ramjattan dismissed the comparison to other states, saying that that comparison pales into insignificance when these states have functioning integrity commissions, ombudsmen and other watchdog bodies. He said too that those states don’t have some constitutional mandates like Guyana does.

Rumjhattan gat to be a Rum Jumbie. He is an embarrassment to Humanity. No where in the World Civil servants are receiving increases and THIS BLOODY FOOL calling for a 20% increase in Salary. Where do these FOOLS come from, HUBU Backdam???????????!!!!!!!

Hubu Backdam is an honourable place. You come from Gaumont. 

man, you seem to lack reading skills

Corruption eats at the sinews of our society and unless we fix our systems to deal with dirty money and procurement deals in a complementary way, Guyana may very well become a pariah state with which no one would want do business or invest.

Originally Posted by raymond:

man, you seem to lack reading skills

And you have your head up your ASS as usual.

well, i could see from the discussion on this thread, this must be the peanut gallery

lIKE YUH JEALOUS YOU NOT GETTING ANY FROM THE GAL jb.

Maybe we can cut all the un necessary fun and jokes out and lets speak on the issue of US250.00 per month, being the salary nurses now received, it is like telling the nurses leave the country and go abroad where you can get more money, if the PPP/C cuts their corruptions by 1 percent they will have enough money to pay the Nurses and even have some left over to pay the pensioners,

What they are paying the nurses cannot do to live for a week in Guyana, it would seems that the PPP/C wants to open a country full of who?es. That is how dumb Ramotar is.

Originally Posted by asj:

Maybe we can cut all the un necessary fun and jokes out and lets speak on the issue of US250.00 per month, being the salary nurses now received, it is like telling the nurses leave the country and go abroad where you can get more money, if the PPP/C cuts their corruptions by 1 percent they will have enough money to pay the Nurses and even have some left over to pay the pensioners,

What they are paying the nurses cannot do to live for a week in Guyana, it would seems that the PPP/C wants to open a country full of who?es. That is how dumb Ramotar is.

How were they living when Massa asked " Do you want $14 per day or you want Venezuela tek over Guyana and Al Yuh Pum Pum"?????????????

$14 per day back then went a long way more than $250US per month now...

anyway, if you refuse to see the logic of what Ramjattan is saying, then you obviously support PPP over Guyanese...you don't care if they rob the country blind, once they in power

In that way, you are not much different than old time Burnham's supporters

Money spent on overpriced drugs could pay 20% increase to nurses, teachers –

AFC tells Ramotar

anyway, if you refuse to see the logic of what Ramjattan is saying, then you obviously support PPP over Guyanese...you don't care if they rob the country blind, once they in power

Ray, There is PLENTY TALK about robbing BUt not ONE  bit of evidence. I agree that there are many questionable Contracts and the Opposition and Civil Society need to demand answers.

There are need to be a more transparent and Competitive process for supplying Drugs and other items to Govt Institutions. The Opposition is too LAZY and probably incompetent to achieve such things.

Have to agree with you Ray, in those days 14 Dollars per day could have purchased a lot more than what US$250 per month can now purchase. It is unreasonable, in this days and time....to pay Nurses a meagre US$250. per month. 
By continuing with this meagre Salary, no wonder when someone goes to the Government Hospitals, they are expected to pay bribes in order for their sick family to get the treatment that is needed.

This way the Corrupted PPP/C becomes part to the problem, or rather the entire problem facing the Nurses.

You guys all live in Happy, Happy land far from Guyana,grunting and cursing. When you were back home you did nothing for change, today in the comfort of good life using this blog to talk crap. In U S A people are paid $4.25 per hour and living in poverty, in Canada at ever highway ramp people are begging, in London tons of people are sleeping on the streets and begging for food. Yes, Guyana has its problems, our foreparents came from Africa, India, China etc to Guyana and look where we are today, still searching for El Dorado, that golden city.

There are need to be a more transparent and Competitive process for supplying Drugs and other items to Govt Institutions. The Opposition is too LAZY and probably incompetent to achieve such things.

remind me how long PPP in power? 

Originally Posted by kp:

You guys all live in Happy, Happy land far from Guyana,grunting and cursing. When you were back home you did nothing for change, today in the comfort of good life using this blog to talk crap. In U S A people are paid $4.25 per hour and living in poverty, in Canada at ever highway ramp people are begging, in London tons of people are sleeping on the streets and begging for food. Yes, Guyana has its problems, our foreparents came from Africa, India, China etc to Guyana and look where we are today, still searching for El Dorado, that golden city.

what's your point?

remind me how long PPP in power? 

You are not getting my point. The PPP or any other Party will continue to do what they do as long as they have a LAZY and incompetent Opposition.

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

Are you serious Ray, you did not get his point?

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

since you get it, what is it?

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

No where in the World are employees satisfied with their Salaries. There is only so much that can be allocated.

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

No where in the World are employees satisfied with their Salaries. There is only so much that can be allocated.

But less to allocate when the PPP/C is syphon it off to their relatives and cronies... like overpaying for pharmaceuticals.

government would have had saved $1.8B over the last two years, enough to pay all the nurses and teachers a 20 percent increase in salaries this year, if there was no cabinet involvement in the procurement in pharmaceuticals.

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

But less to allocate when the PPP/C is syphon it off to their relatives and cronies... like overpaying for pharmaceuticals.

And everyone needs to deal with the issues of Corruption. Just screaming Corruption will NOT HELP.

government would have had saved $1.8B over the last two years, enough to pay all the nurses and teachers a 20 percent increase in salaries this year, if there was no cabinet involvement in the procurement in pharmaceuticals.

You know dat is a lot of HOT AIR.

Originally Posted by kp:

what's your point?

And everyone needs to deal with the issues of Corruption. Just screaming Corruption will NOT HELP.

Everyone wants to, except the PPP/C government.  Ramjattan, in his letter, registered his party’s belief that the setting up and operationalization of the PPC will be a massive asset in partnering the fight against money laundering and financing of terrorism

Govt discards GPSU's 15% pay demand 

Government on Friday rubbished claims by the Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU) that it has misused at least GUY$3 billion that have been set aside for public servants’ wages and salaries for 2013.

A senior official of the Finance Ministry explained that the GUY$GUY$4,403,509 that were allocated for the revision of government employees’ pay-packets was not confined only to those already on payrolls.

The official explained that money is usually set aside in the budget to cater for new recruits and employees who are promoted during the course of the year.

“That allocation is not to pay salary increases alone. That allocation is to pay a number of things including recruits, employment cost shortfalls in budget agencies,” said the official.

Ministries, government agencies, institutions and security agencies, the official said , does not have money set aside in their individual budgets for additional employment costs other than what is on each individual payroll at the time of preparing the budget. “It’s not predictable so we only budget for actual positions,” said the official.

Though the source did not mention this, government usually announces an annual one-month bonus for members of the Disciplined Forces closer to year-end.

The Finance Ministry official emphasised that “the economy is doing very well” but at the same time said government could not afford to pay more than a five percent wage and salary hike for 2013.

The comments by the official, who spoke on strict condition of anonymity, came against the background of the Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU) claiming that the money in this year’s budget was enough to make a 15 percent pay-out retroactive to January 2013.

GPSU President, Patrick Yarde has accused government of misusing the remaining GUY$3 billion on infrastructural projects.

The union’s General Council intends to decide very shortly on whether to issue a strike ultimatum to government.

Nurses at Guyana’s key publicly-owned hospitals in Georgetown, Linden, New Amsterdam and West Coast Demerara- were Friday on the last of a two-day sick-out.

At the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, mostly student nurses were on manning the wards and the Accident and Emergency Unit under supervision by the handful of Staff Nurses and Supervisors.

Prior to the sick-out, nurses at those hospitals as well as employees of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission and a number of other state agencies had been staging midday picketing demonstrations outside their places of work and the Office of the President.

Lamenting the meagre salary increase being offered, the GPSU has produced its own calculations to show that the lowest paid public servants who currently earn GUY$37,657 would now earn GUY$1,883 with the five percent. For more than 75 percent of the public service workforce, the increase would be less than GUY$2,500.00. A Meteorological Officer, Field Auditor and Staff Nurse would take home GUY$2,107 more after tax; an Accountant, Valuation Officer, Ward Sister, Superintendent of Works and a Guidance and Counseling Officer would earn an additional GUY$2,942 after tax and a Chief Accountant, Agriculture Officer, Fishery Officer and a Matron would earn GUY$3,583 after tax

On what authority do you purport to speak on behalf of all humanity? Is that not overly enthusiastic? At most you can speak for the PPP kneebenders and yourself. I assure you the I among others here do not wish you speak for us. As usual you PPPite operate in God mode and think is is within your authority to presume omniscience. You least of all barely   broaches sentience so clearly you cannot speak for us.

I do not think you pay attention to the things of your attention. You are making too much dumb mistakes on these issues. The opposition is trying their ass off to get the PPP to agree to some protocol for these things and they resist like the old communist they are to allow any intrusion to their authority. They do not think they are doing wrong since their operating paradigm io friends and family enrichment. This system for procuring pharmaceuticals and other hospital supplies enriches the Boob so it is  fully compliant with their methodology. His charging 8 times a product is worth retail does not bother them. Do not blame the opposition for a process the PPP clings to like a barnacle to a ship's keel.