https://s1.stabroeknews.com/images/2019/11/pmoath.jpg

Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan taking the oath of office before President David Granger on Wednesday. Ramjattan is performing the functions of Prime Minister in the absence of substantive prime minister, Moses Nagamootoo. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)

November 1 2019

A deal being hammered out between governing coalition partners APNU and the AFC to save the Cummingsburg Accord would see the AFC prime minister not becoming President were that position to become vacant.

Sources say that this and other matters were discussed yesterday when APNU Leader, President David Granger and AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan met. Also in the talks were PNCR Chair Volda Lawrence and AFC negotiator David Patterson.

Aside from the views in APNU that the AFC does not merit the primeministership this time around, hardliners in  the PNCR are adamant that the prime ministerial candidate – in this case Ramjattan – not accede to the presidency if the President had to demit office. Granger has been treated this year for Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and his Cuban doctors last week declared that he was in remission.

If this deal is clinched between APNU and the AFC for the 2020 elections it would mirror the formula used by the PPP/C in 1999 to have Bharrat Jagdeo become President ahead of the then Prime Minister Sam Hinds.

Sources say that the AFC would have to commit to only the prime ministerial position but not accession to the presidency. The two sides are to reconvene today to seal a deal though in APNU and within its main component, the PNCR, there are strong views that the prime ministerial candidate for 2020 should not come from the AFC.

APNU’s balking at the AFC’s choice of Ramjattan as the PM candidate has brought the elections-winning Accord to the brink as the AFC has held strongly to its position. Sources say that while APNU believes that the AFC has lost electoral clout and there is deep-seated resentment that one of its MPs brought down the government, there is a view that the alliance should be preserved.

“They are concerned about succession and if something happens to the President,” one source told this newspaper.

“Although the President is going to appoint the Prime Minister, the APNU will always have the presidency. It is that language that takes care of it. We are working out the details and one of the things we are also looking at is say Khemraj takes vacation [while Prime Minister] that an APNU will act as PM,” the source added.

Another said that the AFC is willing to agree to the terms of not having the presidency and while its negotiators would have indicated that to APNU’s delegation, it was met with reservation with some still adamant that Ramjattan not be the candidate proposed.

“We said ok, we can give language that assures you that we will not covet the presidency. The AFC is a party of principles so we would not and are not afraid to sign to that. Our word is our bond and it is why are holding, and I say this again and again and will ad nauseam, that we would not relent that the PM candidate is a part of the original agreement and we will hold to that. This is what the party wants and we are not moving from this,” another source close to the process said.

He believes that both sides will come to an amicable resolution soon and that the coalition can “in due course announce that it remains strong and will be going into 2020 the same as it did in 2015”.

Sources also explained that it was Ramjattan who requested the one-on-one meeting with the President. Given the “good relationship” the two have, the President agreed and set yesterday’s time and location. 

Following the meeting, Patterson told reporters  “We have made progress and will meet again within 24 hours”.

Last Thursday the AFC declared that negotiations on a revised Cummingsburg Accord had stalled.

Party executive Dominic Gaskin announced that negotiations on a new accord had stalled due to APNU’s failure to accept Ramjattan as the coalition’s prime ministerial (PM) candidate.

“The AFC finds it unacceptable that the matter of the presidential and prime ministerial candidates has been repeatedly deferred,” he told reporters, adding that  the AFC has therefore advised the APNU that it cannot proceed with any further discussions until the matter is resolved.

Though Gaskin indicated that the APNU was aware of his party’s dissatisfaction, Lawrence last Friday said she was surprised at the party’s claims.

“There was some element of surprise,” she observed, adding that for her, while negotiations have been “very tedious,” the two teams have made tremendous steps towards finalising a new accord.

The PNCR Chairwoman stressed that despite recent reports in the media, the coalition remains strong. She explained that from her point of view, the negotiations had paused only because Patterson, was out of the country.

Can’t remember what the constitution say, if the president can’t function in his position. I believe it’s the PM who moves up to this function.

Dr Django what the law say. I thought you would have follow up with such quotation as you normally do. 

Can’t remember what the constitution say, if the president can’t function in his position. I believe it’s the PM who moves up to this function.

Dr Django what the law say. I thought you would have follow up with such quotation as you normally do.

The Prime Minister becomes the President , if the President  passed on or becomes incapable to function during his term of office.

This is the hiccup that stalling the declaration of  the to be Prime Minister .

As stated in the article , it will mirror what happened in 1999.

the formula used by the PPP/C in 1999 to have Bharrat Jagdeo become President ahead of the then Prime Minister Sam Hinds.

With comrade Nagamootoo pushed out and Comrade Rum as PM the Coalition will lose.  Comrade Irfaan and Comrade Jagdeo will run the next govt.  I hear comrade Granger is still not well and might leave soon.

Zara posted:

With comrade Nagamootoo pushed out and Comrade Rum as PM the Coalition will lose.  

Comrade Irfaan and Comrade Jagdeo will run the next govt.

I hear comrade Granger is still not well and might leave soon.

That's good your party wins !!!

Zara posted:

With comrade Nagamootoo pushed out and Comrade Rum as PM the Coalition will lose.  Comrade Irfaan and Comrade Jagdeo will run the next govt.  I hear comrade Granger is still not well and might leave soon.

Sweet heart Zara, come see me I will make sure you get that monthly check. 

The Prime Minister becomes the President , if the President  passed on or becomes incapable to function during his term of office.

the formula used by the PPP/C in 1999 to have Bharrat Jagdeo become President ahead of the then Prime Minister Sam Hinds.

So DOC, them will try to pusser pusser the constitution. Nah bhai . 

and hear nah, look how AFC support PNC in good faith in the election, what the big deal if Ramnowneee gets the President position and  ganger go to answer his creator . 

- why ganger propping up himself and not giving the younger generation an opportunity. 

Zara posted:

You bribing people !!!

Zara posted:

With comrade Nagamootoo pushed out and Comrade Rum as PM the Coalition will lose.  

Comrade Irfaan and Comrade Jagdeo will run the next govt.

I hear comrade Granger is still not well and might leave soon.

That's good your party wins !!!

And your party lose...….

Zara posted:

Nagga pickney nah tek worries, Nagga will retire. He is in Canada seeking medical attention.

Zara posted:

You bribing people !!!

That’s not bribe Doc. 

So DOC, them will try to pusser pusser the constitution. Nah bhai . 

and hear nah, look how AFC support PNC in good faith in the election, what the big deal if Ramnowneee gets the President position and  ganger go to answer his creator .

- why ganger propping up himself and not giving the younger generation an opportunity. 

All the politicians does that with the Constitution , Guyana needs a more Democratic Constitution.

The coming March 2020 elections will be Prezi Granger last as a candidate , he is no spring chicken. 

PNCR may re-invent themselves in future elections , saw some whispering on FB , Volda Lawreance will  take over as president , if Granger becomes unfit , if they win the elections.

What happened to  the Canadian Aviator who visited Granger at State house donned traditional garb? Does he fly like that? With all the talk about Rumjaat becoming PM Shuman has certainly fallen off the radar screen.  

Would be PM Ramjattan be willing to relinquish his PM position so that Lawrence can be placed in the PM position prior to acceding to the position of President or is the PNC just going to have her hop over it Ramjattan thereby violating the constitution once again as they are famous for doing?

The will do the same what the PPP did in 1999 to get Jagdeo thru the back door.

Nothing wrong if they do that because it is permissible. The question is if Ramjattan will be fine with it or if they will do as they have been doing which is violate the constitution.

My family Comrade Nagamootoo is more fitting to be PM and President.  The PNC are smart to see Comrade Rum does not compare.  Comrade Rum is drunk most times and walk around the village with a push toe slipper and badly dressed!  When you see him at afternoon he looks like a fisherman!   He will not get any votes.

Nothing wrong if they do that because it is permissible.

The question is if Ramjattan will be fine with it or if they will do as they have been doing which is violate the constitution.

The AFC is one of the smaller party in the Coalition , so Ramjattan will have to agree. Regarding the Constitution,

Zara posted:

My family Comrade Nagamootoo is more fitting to be PM and President.  The PNC are smart to see Comrade Rum does not compare.  Comrade Rum is drunk most times and walk around the village with a push toe slipper and badly dressed!  When you see him at afternoon he looks like a fisherman!   He will not get any votes.

How come your family didn't disclose to you , he wants to retire.

The question is if Ramjattan will be fine with it or if they will do as they have been doing which is violate the constitution.

The AFC is one of the smaller party in the Coalition , so Ramjattan will have to agree. Regarding the Constitution,

So Doc, Granger again display his selfishness. His health is more important but he prefer to create enemy and division  with AFC for this PM position that all agree to in the cummingsburg accord. 

Naga is silent on this issue knowing the party elected Ramjat for the PM.

I agree on both of your observations. First that the AFC brings little in anything to the Coalition and secondly that the person ascending to the presidency must be the sitting PM. Let’s see with time who else agrees. 😀

So Doc, Granger again display his selfishness. His health is more important but he prefer to create enemy and division  with AFC for this PM position that all agree to in the cummingsburg accord. 

PNC Party paramountcy bai. 😀

I agree with Zara about how Ramjattan carries himself around with no apparent pride for his appearance. It shouldn’t take much for him to wear proper fitted clothes that are also tasteful. He always looks like he just crawled out of a rumshop. 😀

Zara posted:

He has been certified to WIPE BATTY and KISS ASS and sell his most precious assets for Power and wealth!!!!!!!!!!!!

So Doc, Granger again display his selfishness.

His health is more important but he prefer to create enemy and division  with AFC for this PM position that all agree to in the cummingsburg accord. 

No selfishness , it's  politics , President goes to the majority party in the coalition.

The silence of Naga , is due to retirement.

I agree with Zara about how Ramjattan carries himself around with no apparent pride for his appearance. It shouldn’t take much for him to wear proper fitted clothes that are also tasteful. He always looks like he just crawled out of a rumshop. 😀

Ramjattan is like a common man , he don't carry himself with pomp. He is also an honest guy [Did some digging to find that out ]  met him recently , even had a photo op.

So that meeting is from your recent state visit. 😂

Yep !!!  at the same meeting , found out my son father-in-law , cousin is with the AFC.

Agreed. I don't like Ramjattan's politics but I know personally that he is a simple guy. Politically he is sometimes arrogant but ordinarily he is humble, approachable and agreeable. 

Gill , his spouse from Leonora , didn't know that until a friend mentioned such. Stabroek News interview with her in 2012.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...-afc-says-wife-sita/

Comrades you might be talking of a different person.  Comrade Rumjhumbi is not liked by many.  He got few votes from his village in 2011 and also the Local Govt.  Now he do such bad job on crime no one cares.  I know this well because I have family living there.  They will not vote for him.  You don’t know him for real.  He now take photos for show and politics.

Zara posted:

Comrades you might be talking of a different person.  Comrade Rumjhumbi is not liked by many.  He got few votes from his village in 2011 and also the Local Govt.  Now he do such bad job on crime no one cares.  I know this well because I have family living there.  They will not vote for him.  You don’t know him for real.  He now take photos for show and politics.

You are playing in a One man band for Naga, yet he is a no show.

Like Zara Ketch sense. He finally realized that PNC will stab anyone in the back. Granger put a long dagger in Moses back. Tek dat Zara, you still trust the PNC ? 

banna stop talking to yourself!