AFC is in a sad political shape – Jagdeo

…to have to prove it is not dead

The announcement by Alliance For Change (AFC) leaders that the party intends to go to the local polls alone to test its strength is being viewed by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, as a symptom of the minority party’s political shape, according to him, a sad one.
Jagdeo addressed the issue during a recent press conference where the former President expressed suspicion that both the AFC and its A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) partner are aware of the party’s evaporating support at the grass roots. It is a point, Jagdeo noted, that his party and the coalition could agree on.
“Imagine the leaders of the AFC said they have to prove to APNU and Guyana that they are not dead… I suspect that in the APNU circle, they have formed the same impression that we (People’s Progressive Party) have formed – that AFC is dead on the ground as you have seen,” Jagdeo observed.
In addition, Jagdeo noted that there are efforts to create an impression that the AFC is separate from the majority APNU; when in fact, he said, the AFC themselves are culpable.
“In trying to create this impression that they’re different, they’re saying to people that the APNU group in Government is the corrupt group. They are not. They’ve started spreading that on the ground; that the AFC people have been struggling internally within the Government to fight against corruption but the APNU people are dominating them. They’ve started in Berbice again saying ‘oh they were opposed to the closure of the sugar industry’ which is not substantiated by facts,” he posited.
According to the Opposition Leader, the fact that the AFC is not claiming responsibility for the corruption taking place under the coalition Administration is laughable, when the performance of several portfolios are considered.
“We have them defending the closure vociferously, even more than the APNU people and it was Nagamootoo who took that message of closure, long before the decision had been made to close Rose Hall estate.”
In fact, Jagdeo asserted that Nagamootoo does very little but “live off taxpayers”. He pointed to the Agriculture Ministry and noted that the Ministry has, since the coalition took over, cut millions from the Budget; sums that would have been used for drainage, irrigation and construction of roads to the market.
In addition, Jagdeo referenced the increases in water and land charges from $3500 per acre annually to $15,000. This is not to mention the thousands of sugar workers who have been dismissed from their employment as a result of Government’s downsizing of the industry. Nor was Jagdeo impressed by the handling of the natural resources and business portfolios – both of which are run by AFC Ministers.
“(Natural Resources Minister Raphael) Trotman, who is the leader of the AFC… said we did not receive the US$18 million signing bonus. He was the one who led the renegotiation of this contract that the whole country has concluded now is stacked mainly in the favour of ExxonMobil and not in the favour of Guyanese… under performance,” he maintained.
“(Public Security Minister) Khemraj Ramjattan, another leader of the AFC, is totally lost in fighting crime. He gives excuses, he whips out a series of statistics, showing some reduction in crime and I really believe the statistics now are fudged, when you compare that with the reality of what’s happening.”
On Sunday last, the AFC announced that they will be contesting the Local Government Elections (LGE) on November 12, separate from APNU. This decision was reached following the inconclusive negotiations with APNU, the party had stated.

At the same time, it had maintained that this decision only applies for the 2018 LGE and does not affect the APNU/AFC coalition Government, nor does it, change the AFC’s position on coalition politics at the national level. At a press conference following this announcement, Trotman had struck a matter of fact tone. In fact, Trotman claimed the decision was made since last year.
“Since last year we decided that we were going to contest the elections independently and we spoke to APNU about the matter. There were little points on which we were able to come to an agreement on. At the national level, it was easy to say 60/40, but LGE is different and it wasn’t easy coming with that same share to the table. Both sides sought to find common ground, but it didn’t materialise because of the particulars… but we still remain cordial on the matter,” he said.
“Going independently will refresh and strengthen the coalition for 2020, so that the people will get the best of both parties. Being in Government sometimes makes you complacent and you lose touch with the people and the coalition needs to be refreshed. This will augur well for us. We expect to be in competition with each other, but in battle with the PPP,” he had added.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/afc-...itical-shape-jagdeo/

Ex-AFC councillor Haseef Yusuf says today that there are corrupt AFC councillors in Berbice who are awarding lucrative contracts to themselves and friends. Even AFC official Gobin  Harbajan has condemned them but they want to silence him.

What's new, political hacks are there to fatten themselves,they come in all shades.

DJ, let me get this straight. Are you saying that it is ok to steal and support corruption ?

AFC campaigned to end corruption.

It looks like the AFC bout are stealing left right and centre. This could one of the reasons why Granger is moving in on them. He cannot stand to bear the level of corruption among AFC thieves. 

DJ, let me get this straight. Are you saying that it is ok to steal and support corruption ?

Where did i condone corruption ? i detest thieves and crooks.

Dj

You can start by holding the AFC leadership responsible for not addressing massive theft and corruption. How about we hear that from you ?

Follow the news from the AFC leadership,they don't encourage corruption.

Dj

You can start by holding the AFC leadership responsible for not addressing massive theft and corruption. How about we hear that from you ?

They just don't speak up about it, they are complacent and turn a blind eye at the massive corruption perpetrated by the PNC. Back in PPP time they didn't hesitate to hurl accusations but today like you, they quiet like a mouse, protecting their lil paycheck.

Dj

They just don't speak up about it, they are complacent and turn a blind eye at the massive corruption perpetrated by the PNC. Back in PPP time they didn't hesitate to hurl accusations but today like you, they quiet like a mouse, protecting their lil paycheck.

Hey hey hey...when abie see PPP and PNC tiefman abie dish out lash pon dem. Yu want yuh mattie tief. 

Dj

Where did you pull that from ?

List the massive corruption by the PNC.

Freedom House trying hard and coming up empty,maybe you can give some advise where to look.

@ Labba

Bai, Yuji predicted their implosion but I did not expect it to happen this early.

This is fun to watch. 

Hey Hey Hey

Bai when de clock bruck it does be right two time every day. Ask Mr DrugB. Hey hey hey...

Dj

Freedom House trying hard and coming up empty,maybe you can give some advise where to look.

Just as I stated, you are in serious denial or have been living in a cave away from all civilization the past 3 years.  Look how PNC have sweetheart deals with the Chinese, Exxon, BK, just to list a few. For all the claims against PPP, you pnc apologists have yet to speak out on how the PNC gave away billions in concessions to Exxon, a drop in the bucket compared to what you accuse Jagdeo. 

Dj

Just as I stated, you are in serious denial or have been living in a cave away from all civilization the past 3 years.  Look how PNC have sweetheart deals with the Chinese, Exxon, BK, just to list a few. For all the claims against PPP, you pnc apologists have yet to speak out on how the PNC gave away billions in concessions to Exxon, a drop in the bucket compared to what you accuse Jagdeo. 

Is that your list of massive corruption ?

Billions of US dollars given away to Exxon is not sufficient for you sloppy boys to bow your head in shame?  What else do you need but the most serious act of corruption being the giving away of billions to a foreign company for a few million kickbacks to pnc ministers? There is lots of other smaller stuff that is well documented in the newspapers over the past 3 years, starting with the Durban park fiasco, Harmon trip to China with BK, drug bond kickbacks, Saru scam, but the Exxon give away takes the cake due to its massive implications now and later on when the oil wells have to be capped and Guyana have to bear the cost.