Wow and Demerara waves on their facebook page confirmed 150 people I wonder if dem AFC bhais shared out any free food or if they had any entertainers and ting?

How many in kitty fuh ppp? 40?
Enmore 40
Enterprise 50

where is the peanut butter crew how come they are not posting pics and video tonight? Well this is one situation that has bit the PPP in the ass. Way to go guys albert and young taps, you chaps are doing an awesome job time for a raise go and ask Gail Texiera for piece of her 800k salary.
J
The thought occurs to me, that the good people of Buxton has displayed a sense of orderliness and keen-ness in providing for themselves seating accomodation in order to comfortably attend and listen to the AFC speakers. The leaders of the AFC must understand that this is an outstanding tribute they have been given, for it points to a display of warm welcome and respectful acknowledgement in that they, (the people of Buxton), came not for a free display of entertaiment and take-away chicken & rice, but to listen ardently while being seated comfortably. Surely this underlies that in Buxton there must be organised support amongst the rank and file for Guyana's only hope -The AFC!! flag
Originally posted by squingy:
I am/have been observing the tenor of both you guys (Bookman &Jags) in your posts. you are smart reasonable men. You are welcome to a change of heart. Switch, and make the "right" turn.

Jags, what you think about squingy's idea?
I think we should wait and see what Ralph, Moses, Komal and Navin doing, then proceed accordingly.
B
Originally posted by Dharry:
Originally posted by Chief:
Gerhard time for you to change that green shirt.

Great shirt Gerhard. Great meeting AFC. Great hug Rapheal and Khemraj. Great lost PPP.

Do you really think that they will steal some votes from the PNC? Why would the people in Buxton vote for the AFC? What is in it for Buxton?
i don't want to throw a wet blanket here but here are 2 reasons why the ppp is getting a low turnout:

1. the people believe that the underlings are corrupt and do not need to hear what they say, however, they feel that the president is doing a wonderful job.

2. meetings are for those who need to be convinced to vote for the party, they are already convinced that the ppp is the party they will vote for so they don't need to attend.

turnouts at political meetings are an indicator of the people's feelings, however, it may not translate to a vote for another party.
Originally posted by The Blade Runner:
i don't want to throw a wet blanket here but here are 2 reasons why the ppp is getting a low turnout:

1. the people believe that the underlings are corrupt and do not need to hear what they say, however, they feel that the president is doing a wonderful job.

2. meetings are for those who need to be convinced to vote for the party, they are already convinced that the ppp is the party they will vote for so they don't need to attend.

turnouts at political meetings are an indicator of the people's feelings, however, it may not translate to a vote for another party.

That's right, BR. Where the heck were you?

These crowds blade runner are not the PPP crowds you are correct in your statements but you need to qualify that better and put it in context.

When the PPP has crowds going to depreciation day yes that is a waste of time and you are right that is an entertainment factor where people are going because they have nothing better to do.

A meeting in buxton where 150 people show up for the AFC is important and indicative of potential votes

A meeting in kitty where 40 people show up for a PPP meeting is important and indicative of potential votes and interest.
J
These are peoplke who turned out on their own free will..tehy were not enticed by any entertainment but they were enthusiastic to hear their futire leaders apeak..The same is happening in corriverton, Tain, New Amsterdam, Blairmont, Enterprise, Enmore, Diamond, West Demerara, Essequibo and the Interior....."AFC ...AFC.....AFC..." is the talk of the town....."AFC"....is even the talk on this forum...You be th judge
Originally posted by jags:

These crowds blade runner are not the PPP crowds you are correct in your statements but you need to qualify that better and put it in context.

When the PPP has crowds going to depreciation day yes that is a waste of time and you are right that is an entertainment factor where people are going because they have nothing better to do.

A meeting in buxton where 150 people show up for the AFC is important and indicative of potential votes

A meeting in kitty where 40 people show up for a PPP meeting is important and indicative of potential votes and interest.

all i'm saying is that people who need to be convinced will most likely attend these meetings. it would be good if voter attendance at rallies mean votes for that party at the polls.

remember the number of persons who were present at the President Appreciation Day. Look out for the Babu John and Good Hope Rallies.
Originally posted by Noel:
Cooliw people in Berbice done sat that they gun go to the rally because it is free and collect all them have to get and then vote AFC on election day

Actually Noel a lot of Berbicians are doing that they are telling us that they are with us and when we ketch dem dey all up in AFC land suckin up to Ramjattan and hollering dem voting AFC, 2 faced bastards.
J
Originally posted by squingy:
Surely this underlies that in Buxton there must be organised support amongst the rank and file for Guyana's only hope -The AFC!! flag

In a small village with no distractions other than TV a political meeting should have been a major event. What happened to the other 2-3,000 voters who decided that watching TV is better?

The AFC has a problem and they need to fix it.

Dont worry about the other two parties and their empty meetings. The older voters will vote for them by habit. The younger votes will not vote. Its these younger voters who are less hard wired to vote race who the AFC must get. How many of them showed up?

The AFC must stop comparing itself with the PPP and the PNC. Its a new party so has a lower ability than the other two to attract reluctant supporters to hold their nose and vote. It will do well if voter turnouts are high. Poorly if voters stay away from the polls.

So to say that the AFC got 50 to attend a meeting and the PPP got 40 is not something that the AFC should use to celebrate.

I will add race and habit. This is why its the AFC who needs to get people to meetings. The PPP probably has a core 45% and the PNC maybe 25-30%. Its the swing voters who might decide not to vote, these being the ones that the AFc needs to excite with the possibilities of a New Day.
Originally posted by jags:
Carib i think your numbers are off they were comparing 40 and 50 (PPP) to 150. Thats not a difference of thousands but in a situation where voters seem completely tuned out that is interesting.

All in context oldie all in context.

You know some one said its those who need info and convincing who show up to meetings. Many Buxtonians will vote PNC out of habit and racial insecurity. Even if the PNC doesnt show up they will get those votes. Especially as all over the world its the middle aged and older who vote, not the youths.

Its those who are more flexible, or less inclined to vote race who are in play. Its these very voters who feel the whole process is a waste of time, the PPP bound to win, and teh PNC and AFc cant do anything for them. If they didnt come to the meetings maybe they have walready decided not to vote.

The AFC can take NOTHING for granted as they dont have a legacy of four generations of family voting tradition to fall back on.