The AFC and the Muslim Dilemma
From its inception the Alliance for Change (AFC) has presented itself as an all inclusive political entity with no barriers to race, religion or sexual orientation. In fact even the diaspora was included when the AFC announced during its 2011 campaign that should they win the elections they will give one seat to the diaspora primarily because of their contributions to Guyana’s economic development. Thus far this seems reasonable.
However we are met with a roadblock per se henceforth to be addressed as the Muslim Dilemma. During the 2011 campaign an incident took place which confirmed the suspicion many had of the AFC. A senior executive Member of one Guyana’s primary Muslim organizations was at the Shell Gas station on New Market Street refueling his vehicle. While conducting his business he was approached by an AFC activist soliciting his support for the AFC’s victory in the 2011 elections.
My friend requested information pertaining to the AFC’s plan for Muslims in Guyana inter alia who will represent them in Parliament, what will be done for them should the AFC win the 2011. The activist being put on the spot immediately took out his cell phone and called perhaps only who can be viewed as a senior party functionary who informed him that they will be looking into it. Well from all indications they are still “looking” and it seem that they cannot see anything.
The querries raised by my friend were very relevant taking into account the following factors.
A number of Muslims support the AFC and have campaigned for them. In fact the AFC’s good showing in Essequibo and Mahdia can be narrowed down to the efforts of two activists both of whom are Muslims. Their campaign manager is also a Muslim. Interestingly none of them made were good enough for a Parliamentary seat. One can conclude therefore that Muslims are not relevant enough to be represented in Parliament.
The AFC also condemned the high level Governmental delegations to the Middle East in the recent past suggesting that it would be more feasible to court the friendship of the United States. Qatar and Kuwait rank among the richest countries in the world and Guyana stands to benefit enormously from these countries. In fact Kuwait is perhaps one of the largest sponsors of orphans in Guyana. Yet the AFC condemned these visits.

Another factor that serves to undermine the AFC painting them to be anti Islam is their position on the Palestine problematique, an issue that is close to heart of every Muslim. One must understand that Muslims have a fraternal bond that extends beyond geographical space, our hearts are connected and we share the pain and love for each other. And so it is quite pertinent to note that the AFC has never spoken out against the ongoing ethnic cleansing of the Palestinian people by the Zionist forces. Instead they have a policy of silence when it comes to this issue.
Such is also the case of the ongoing genocide and occupation of Muslim lands of Iraq and Afghanistan; Tehran seems to be the next stop on the radar.
On the other hand, the PPP/C administration has no less than five practicing Muslims in Parliament. Further, the Muslim Community has been given the support of the Government whether it be in the construction of Mosques, Muslim Burial grounds, assistance to orphans and vulnerable children, Scholarships for students to pursue studies in the Islamic Sciences from Universities in the Middle East, assistance with the Hajj Pilgimage and finally something that we see is dwindling in other societies globally, but yet a integral aspect of any democracy, the freedom to practice one’s faith.
Additionally the PPP/C has time and gain voiced its condemnation against the atrocities in Palestine, Iraq and elsewhere and has trumpeted the call for more understanding and dialogue of this great religion instead of the “F-16 and Tomohawk” diplomacy as we have today.
So to the leaders in the AFC, unless you stop looking and start doing you will remain stagnant. Muslims constitute an estimated 12% of the population and their voices have been heard by the PPP/C. You can continue to ignore them and render yourselves into political oblivion. The choice is yours.

As-Salaam-Alaikum
Ibraheem Bin Jabbar

(Guyana Chronicle)

Abie nah want dem people hate politics come donk hay. We gatt we own prablims. CBJ screwed abie coolie wid he far away agenda and it nah do nutin' foa abie. Dem muslims a kill dem own mattie ova deh, leh dem salve dem prablims, leh dem fite wid America. Abie gatt da PNC and nuff dem Afros who wan' feed abie to daggs. Dah we problim Mr Bil Jabbar.
Question: What kind of plans do you have for Muslims in Guyana??

Answer: You get to worship God, this is a free country. Nobody said that you can't worship.

What guarantees do muslims want?

The palistines problem is not Guyana'a problem.

Construction of mosques and muslim burial grounds. This is something that muslims can't do by themselves so they want help from hindus to build their mosques and burial grounds. WOW.

What do the chief, churchill and Raymond, asf, Kari have to say about that?
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Me tell Ramotar, nah tie too much bundle wid dem bais dah, dem nah go no way, abie muss stick wid America, Europe, China, India, etc. Dem like foa fite and kill too much.

Muslims should be the advisors to the President on the middle east..
Originally posted by Vish M:
This could be another "Ghost Writer" writing for Ibraheem Bin Jabbar.

Maybe we can see some of his prior writing to be convinced.

Abrahim abdul jabbar Mohammed.