AFC councillor arrested for alleged assault of chips vendor

Jan 23, 2018 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ult-of-chips-vendor/

Alliance For Change Councillor, Abel Seetaram, who was fired from his post as Prime Minister Representative Region Five in May 2016, has once again found himself in the spotlight on an alleged assault launched on a chips vendor of West Coast Berbice.

Natram Rabindranauth, 54, is currently hospitalised at the New Amsterdam Public Hospital with a broken jaw, fractured nose and internal bleeding. The vendor explained that he was plying his daily trade along the No. 11 Public Road when he saw his son involved in a scuffle with Seetaram’s son.

Rabindranauth, the cousin of Seetaram stated that he stopped and attempted to intervene when Seetaram came out.

β€œI was passing same time and meh try to go and part the fight and then Abel come out of nowhere and lash me with a wood across meh head,” the injured man recounted.

He said that after he received the lash, he fell to the ground and was bleeding profusely from his nose when Seetaram reportedly walked away with his son in the direction of the Fort Wellington Police Station.

Rabindranath stated that shortly after he managed to compose himself and subsequently left for the Police Station with his son as well. A report was made and a medical document was given to him by the police to visit the Fort Wellington Hospital. Rabindranath was eventually transferred to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital where he was admitted.

Divisional Commander, Lyndon Alves confirmed that Seetaram was arrested for wounding and is presently in police custody assisting with the investigation. Alves also stated that Seetaram and Rabindranath’s sons were also detained and eventually released. He noted that the AFC councillor will remain in custody until the victim is released from the hospital.

Back in May, Seetaram was found guilty of three charges in relation to an accident involving a government SUV.

Seetaram, of Woodley Park, West Coast Berbice, was on trial before Magistrate Rhondell Weever at the Blairmont Magistrate’s court. He was charged with driving in a dangerous manner.

He was also charged with being an unlicensed driver and with breach of insurance. He failed to appear in court and was sentenced in his absence.

On the dangerous driving charge, he was fined $30,000 with an alternative of 32 days in jail. On the unlicensed driver charge, he was fined $25,000 or 21 days in jail, and on the charge of breach of insurance, he was fined $15,000 or 21 days in jail.

A committal order was issued for his arrest.

Kaieture News report is different from Newsroom article . Which one is the FAKE news!!! 

Regional Councillor of Region 5, Abel Seetaram has once again found himself at the center of an investigation after being accused of brutalizing a West Coast Berbice man on Sunday, January 21,2018.

Commander of β€˜B’ Division, Linden Alves, confirmed that Seetaram was arrested and is in police custody at the Fort Wellington Police Station for allegedly beating a Plantain Chip vendor. The man has been identified as 54- year-old Nateram Rabindranauth. He was rushed to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital where he remains a patient.

The victim: Nateram Rabindranauth
News Room understands that at about 18:30 hrs Sunday at Number 11 Village, West Coast Berbice, Seetaram and Rabindranauth had a misunderstanding which led to a heated argument.

According to reports, Abel, who represents the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition in the region, was overheard shouting at police ranks and telling them that he knows β€œKhemraj”, presumably the Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan. Seetaram also claimed that he is a β€œbig boy in the Government” and that no one can do him anything.

At the time of the incident, Rabindranauth, who was seated on a bicycle, which he uses to ply his trade, was dragged off by Seetaram, who reportedly proceeded to hit him several times about his body; he was left on the ground unresponsive.

News Room was informed that Rabindranauth’s son intervened and managed to rescue his father, who was also reportedly attacked by Abel’s wife. Investigations are ongoing.

Region Five councillor arrested in assault probe.

Jan 23,2018.

Stabroek News

A Region Five councillor was on Sunday placed under arrest after he allegedly assaulted his cousin at Number 11 Village, West Coast Berbice (WCB).

Nateram Rabindranauth, 54, a vendor of Lot 64 A Woodley Park Village, WCB was rushed to the Fort Wellington Hospital, after he sustained a broken jaw, fractured nose and suffered internal bleeding. Rabindranauth has since been transferred to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital, where he is presently admitted.

The accused, Abel Seetaram, 36, of Lot 121 B Woodley Park Village, WCB was subsequently placed under arrest. Seetaram is an Alliance for Change (AFC) member and is employed under a ministry within the region.

The chips vendor yesterday told Stabroek News, that on Sunday around 7 pm he saw his son and Seetaram’s son β€œin a lil scramble”. Rabindranauth said he decided to β€œpart” the lads when Seetaram arrived at the scene  and allegedly β€œlash me with a piece of wood…When he come me been between them two boys a part them and he run up and just start lash me”.

Rabindranauth said that the regional councillor did not offer any assistance but began telling his cousin how many contacts he had.

β€œHe and he son lef (and said) that them going to the police station”, he said.

Rabindranauth said he and his son then also headed to the police station, where he was provided with a medical document to visit the hospital. From the station, he visited the Fort Wellington Hospital and then returned to the station.  However,  ranks after noticing his condition worsening decided to take him a second time to the hospital and he was then admitted.

Commander of B Division, Lyndon Alves, when contacted, confirmed that Seetaram is in police custody assisting with investigation. Alves noted, that the police had also detained the two lads who were fighting, however, they have since been released. He further noted that the matter will be thoroughly investigated.

Seetaram, a controversial political figure, has found himself in trouble several times in the past. In May last year he was terminated as the  Regional Representative of the Office of the Prime Minister for Region 5, days before he appeared in court to answer to charges of dangerous driving and breach of insurance. It was reported in May last year that Seetaram was driving a government SUV when he crashed into a fence, knocking out some of the uprights which held the shed for several structures at the Bath Market and causing considerable damage.

Three News Media reporting on the story.

Which is Fake and which is true ? Take your pick.

I was hoping you provide us the truth after your investigation. 

BTW what should be done with this government official ... I notice you abstain from the comment . 

Fire him,

his actions are of poor quality to represent people.

Clean the house get rid of "recycled and rejects".There are individuals of quality to take their place.

BTW what should be done with this government official ... I notice you abstain from the comment . 

Fire him,

JAIL his behind. 

Would you say a pint of coconut oil or bot of petroleum jelly is recommend when he arrive with the boys in the cell 

Fire him,

Clean the house get rid of "recycled and rejects".There are individuals of quality to take their place.

Ok ok take it easy, is early maning .

Fire him,

How is the PNC front man Indo representative going to get fired?

Abel is trying hard to rewrite the Old Testament "Cain killed Abel" story. Reversing aggressor and victim roles. 

And he got refugee status in Canada? Sum ting wrang hey.

Has it ever crossed your mind that you make corny jokes sometimes? Why do you step on a good man's corn? Did you ever consider asking him why he named himself Cain, whether or not it had to do with the Holy Bible or another book, a wutliss book perhaps? Do you have evidence to support your allegation that he was a refugee in Canada? Do you know that your statement can cause mental anguish and psychological pain to the gentleman concerned? Will you do the correct thing and retract that statement? Did you wake up on the wrong side of the bed this morning? Did you have a nightmare of a warrior tormenting you with a pitchfork last night?

Abel is trying hard to rewrite the Old Testament "Cain killed Abel" story. Reversing aggressor and victim roles. 

Has it ever crossed your mind that you make corny jokes sometimes? Why do you step on a good man's corn? Did you ever consider asking him why he named himself Cain, whether or not it had to do with the Holy Bible or another book, a wutliss book perhaps? Do you have evidence to support your allegation that he was a refugee in Canada? Do you know that your statement can cause mental anguish and psychological pain to the gentleman concerned? Will you do the correct thing and retract that statement? Did you wake up on the wrong side of the bed this morning? Did you have a nightmare of a warrior tormenting you with a pitchfork last night?

Jokes are not allowed on this site anymore. I am the one to always take offence when people label Cain as a druggie. I have said many times that I think Cain is an honest and drug free man.

Arright man. Don't mek me spoil yuh day.