5 percent undecided at at today.  PPP polls.

Great elections - down to the wire.

Imagine that 5% of the Electorate are "undecided." 5% of the Electorate totaling 3 seats in Parliament doan want the PPP but also definitely don't want the Coalition. Who'd a thunk it that the AFC was in danger of losing 3 of its seats?

3 seats of whom I suspect are anti-PPP Indians who doan wanna vote for a PNC Presidency.

Ayuh geniuses are hovering between 30 to 31 seats.

Lemme clue you AFC cultists in: those 5% are anti-PPP Indians likely to hold their noses, cuss themselves, and vote for the PPP on May 11th.

There ain't no Moses Magic. There's only reality in elections. Cold hard unforgiving reality.

I wonder which APNU MPs are gonna get the sack so that AFC MPs can squat on their seats

It would be helpful to know the source of the polling and the methodology used. I do not know if the poll source is as independent or scientifically modeled as the ones I'm accustomed to in the US. You see we all need to know what expectation of accuracy there is in such polls. What's its history and track record? Otherwise, ho-hum. We'll have to rely on anecdotes, history and to some extent enthusiasm at rallies.

I am unable to reveal my sources as people would stop talking to me. This one is gonna have to stand as a Shaitaan seh suh. Make of that what you will.

I suggest since you and Moses the Magician are good pals, pick up the phone and chat with him. I have no doubt that he has some polling data which should mirror this. Ask he!

The PPP’s promises will become even more irrational as we move closer to May 11

MAY 1, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor, For more than 16 years, Guyana has labored under the Jagdeo jinx.  Between 1990 and 1995, growth rate in Guyana averaged some 7.3 percent.  Carl Greenidge was the Minister of Finance in 1990-1992, while Dr. Asgar Ally Minister from 1992-1995.  Since then, Guyana has never surpassed this average as the Jagdeo jinx prevailed. The first full year of Ally at the Finance Ministry saw a growth rate of 8.8 percent in 1993. Since assuming the Presidency in 1999, all we have been hearing from the cabal that surrounds Jagdeo is excuse after excuse.  But clearly these little boys have not recognized the words of Henry Beecher who said “real men always find excuses for others, but never for themselves”. So here again in 2015, the PPP boys have presented a manifesto, and the promises are flowing thick and fast.  The latest pitch from the PPP is that under their leadership they promise to “modernize Guyana together”?  So what have they been doing since Dr. Asgar Ally left?  Well, their poor leadership has given the Guyanese people an average growth rate of 2.7 percent between 1999 and 2014 vs. 7.3 percent under Greenidge and Ally. Is this how they plan to modernize Guyana with such pathetic growth rates? For Guyana to be modernized, we have to be growing at 8 percent and above; nothing less.  Clearly the Jagdeo cabal does not know what they are doing and seem heavily distracted from the real work that has to been done.  Since 1999 there has been a massive leak of financial resources from the Treasury.  If it was not for the over US$300 million in annual remittance sent to the homeland by mainly overseas based Guyanese,, this nation would have crash landed years ago. What is clear today, is that as the PPP move closer to May 11, their promises will multiply and become even more irrational.  Their manifesto is a clear example of their irrationality as they continue to foist old, unfinished and failed policy choices on the nation.  Such deceptions and subterfuge are being used to generate political momentum but the people are tired of the half truths and untruths from the PPP.  So what we have now is a damp squib from the PPP. The people do not believe they can achieve even a quarter of what they promised in this 2015 manifesto.  They have a track record and it is a dismal one. But clearly insanity is alive and well in Freedom House, because they have the audacity to question the commitment of the APNU+AFC to fund and pay a 10 percent across the board wage increase for all classes below a certain wage rate (with policemen securing 20 percent), when they have increased it by more in the past and inflation was never materially compromised. Might I remind Mr. Jagdeo that it was he in May 1999 who told President Janet Jagan that he can only afford four percent increases in wages.  But in September 1999, after the old lady ceded power to him, he accepted the ruling by the Armstrong Commission to pay the workers 58 percent wages increase over two years.  In the years 1999, 2000 and 2001, the inflation rate in Guyana was 7.5 percent, 6.1 percent and 2.6 percent.  What Jagdeo did not tell the nation was after granting the workers a five percent increase in wages in 2008, the inflation shot up by 8.1 percent. It was the IMF who said in one of their studies on Guyana that the major source of domestic inflationary pressures were “foreign inflows” Among external factors that affect inflation, the IMF thinks that the price we earn for our primary products can also have “a positive spillover effect” on domestic demand which can cause too much dollars chasing too few goods as happened in the boom days of gold. So in the final analysis, this 10 percent – pre-collective bargain payout that the APNU+AFC promises to dish out to the workers in their first 100 days will not significantly stimulate inflation, since we are in a period of low prices for our primary commodities.  What this salary inject will do is put real dollars on the table of the poorest especially the policemen, nurses and teachers. Stop these falsehood Jagdeo.  TICK TOCK.  IT IS TIME!  Sase Singh

They are all good questions Kari. I wonder whether you would have asked all those questions had the polls been in favour of the Coalition? I don't think so.

Dear Editor, For more than 16 years, Guyana has labored under the Jagdeo jinx.  Between 1990 and 1995, growth rate in Guyana averaged some 7.3 percent.  Carl Greenidge was the Minister of Finance in 1990-1992, while Dr. Asgar Ally Minister from 1992-1995.  Since then, Guyana has never surpassed this average as the Jagdeo jinx prevailed. The first full year of Ally at the Finance Ministry saw a growth rate of 8.8 percent in 1993. Since assuming the Presidency in 1999, all we have been hearing from the cabal that surrounds Jagdeo is excuse after excuse.  But clearly these little boys have not recognized the words of Henry Beecher who said “real men always find excuses for others, but never for themselves”. So here again in 2015, the PPP boys have presented a manifesto, and the promises are flowing thick and fast.  The latest pitch from the PPP is that under their leadership they promise to “modernize Guyana together”?  So what have they been doing since Dr. Asgar Ally left?  Well, their poor leadership has given the Guyanese people an average growth rate of 2.7 percent between 1999 and 2014 vs. 7.3 percent under Greenidge and Ally. Is this how they plan to modernize Guyana with such pathetic growth rates? For Guyana to be modernized, we have to be growing at 8 percent and above; nothing less.  Clearly the Jagdeo cabal does not know what they are doing and seem heavily distracted from the real work that has to been done.  Since 1999 there has been a massive leak of financial resources from the Treasury.  If it was not for the over US$300 million in annual remittance sent to the homeland by mainly overseas based Guyanese,, this nation would have crash landed years ago. What is clear today, is that as the PPP move closer to May 11, their promises will multiply and become even more irrational.  Their manifesto is a clear example of their irrationality as they continue to foist old, unfinished and failed policy choices on the nation.  Such deceptions and subterfuge are being used to generate political momentum but the people are tired of the half truths and untruths from the PPP.  So what we have now is a damp squib from the PPP. The people do not believe they can achieve even a quarter of what they promised in this 2015 manifesto.  They have a track record and it is a dismal one. But clearly insanity is alive and well in Freedom House, because they have the audacity to question the commitment of the APNU+AFC to fund and pay a 10 percent across the board wage increase for all classes below a certain wage rate (with policemen securing 20 percent), when they have increased it by more in the past and inflation was never materially compromised. Might I remind Mr. Jagdeo that it was he in May 1999 who told President Janet Jagan that he can only afford four percent increases in wages.  But in September 1999, after the old lady ceded power to him, he accepted the ruling by the Armstrong Commission to pay the workers 58 percent wages increase over two years.  In the years 1999, 2000 and 2001, the inflation rate in Guyana was 7.5 percent, 6.1 percent and 2.6 percent.  What Jagdeo did not tell the nation was after granting the workers a five percent increase in wages in 2008, the inflation shot up by 8.1 percent. It was the IMF who said in one of their studies on Guyana that the major source of domestic inflationary pressures were “foreign inflows” Among external factors that affect inflation, the IMF thinks that the price we earn for our primary products can also have “a positive spillover effect” on domestic demand which can cause too much dollars chasing too few goods as happened in the boom days of gold. So in the final analysis, this 10 percent – pre-collective bargain payout that the APNU+AFC promises to dish out to the workers in their first 100 days will not significantly stimulate inflation, since we are in a period of low prices for our primary commodities.  What this salary inject will do is put real dollars on the table of the poorest especially the policemen, nurses and teachers. Stop these falsehood Jagdeo.  TICK TOCK.  IT IS TIME!  Sase Singh

Is this another cut and paste Mits?

Yeah Yeah AFC definitely losing votes. PPP just need to sit back this election is all for the PPP/C WOOT WOOOT!!!!

Post the Coalition's internal polling numbers which show the Coalition past 47% of the National Vote! The fact is mudhead that ya'll are hovering in the 45% to 47% range and need a dramatic Region 4 Black/Mixed turnout to rescue ya'll. Basically ayuh need APNU to haul ayuh lazy fat rass over the finish line.

POST AYUH POLL NUMBERS HEY JACKASS!

Flour boy at it again.

I am unable to reveal my sources as people would stop talking to me. This one is gonna have to stand as a Shaitaan seh suh. Make of that what you will.

I suggest since you and Moses the Magician are good pals, pick up the phone and chat with him. I have no doubt that he has some polling data which should mirror this. Ask he!

So we are asked to believe this phantom poll because "Shaitaan seh suh". Flashback a few days ago and Shaitaan was screaming that Indo women and children were being assulted with missiles and acid. We were told that PNC supporters were the culprits because "Shaitaan seh suh". As it turned out, it was because of a fight on the Guysuco truck between a few drunken PPP'ites. "Shaitaan seh suh" doesn't really carry much weight on GNI.

Originally Posted by Mars:

So we are asked to believe this phantom poll because "Shaitaan seh suh". Flashback a few days ago and Shaitaan was screaming that Indo women and children were being assulted with missiles and acid. We were told that PNC supporters were the culprits because "Shaitaan seh suh". As it turned out, it was because of a fight on the Guysuco truck between a few drunken PPP'ites. "Shaitaan seh suh" doesn't really carry much weight on GNI.

Good Morning Mars,

I am not asking anyone to do anything. I posted it here for those who have an interest to read it and make what they will of it. Whether or not you Mars think what I say is absolute nonsense is again your opinion.

I'm not gonna engage you in some back and forth personal attacks because I always find it to be beneath both of us.

Regarding the No. 51 village incident, I posted an article here (not analysis but a news item) and relied on Guyana's libel laws to prevent the publishing of outright lies. There is sufficient reason now to take no position at all on that story. Even leading PNC MPs such as James Bond took to Facebook to condemn Opposition supporters for this so they were similarly misled.

I don't know why you insist on this search for absolute zen level truth in a political campaign. The best we can hope for is a high level of accuracy.

With that said, we have posters here on GNI who have a habit of posting outright lies based on "sources" and others who post credible information which are not in the public domain. One has to wade through them and discern as best as one can between the two. Added to this is the fact that honest people can receive false information that is believed to be genuinely true.

Anyways, there has been no published polling data on this election and we have 9 days to go. As a favor to my fellow armchair posters, I posted the results of one internal poll which pegs Coalition support at 45%. It is perfectly possible that I was fed wrong information (I don't believe I was.) It is also perfectly possible that the poll no longer represents Coalition strength. It is also possible that the methodology used was flawed.

The only thing I am saying is that Shaitaan seh he got a firsthand account of a particular poll and shared it for the benefit of the Board. Nothing else. That you think so lowly of me that I am given to just making up shyte and posting it here as propaganda is disappointing as we've been posters here for ages.