Moses joined Ram to overcome the mighty Ganges and Red Sea. Else they would still be in the opposition earning a low pay. 

But it looks like they both got drowned in the River Nile.

Jagdeo is aware of the PPP Grassroot supporters who would like to see them return to the PPP.   

In the mind of PPP supporters, Moses and Ramjattan are damaged goods. While both of those guys were able to con some traditional PPP supporters to support them in the last two elections, that support has pretty much dried up as many of those supporters have realized that those two guys cannot be counted on. Even Carib has declared Moses, Ramjattan and the AFC meaningless to the Coalition. Granger and Harmon may also share that view.

Jagdeo thinks for the future. He isn't going to waste time with Moses and Ramjattan as their future is bleak.

Twelve years ago the AFC started off with a declaration that it would be a Third Force holding the balance of power between the PPP and the PNC. It was a brilliant idea that appealed to many folks who're fed up with tit-for-tat dead-end politics. 

Nearly 3 years ago, despite the then AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan asserting that the AFC would become "dead meat" if it allied itself to another political party, the AFC went ahead and coalesced with the PNC-dominated APNU.

Though bewildered, many AFC members and supporters gave the party the benefit of the doubt and gave their blessings. At the same time, some AFC functionaries like Sixtus Edwards opposed the move and left the party.

Shortly after the 2015 general election some AFC supporters like Gilbakka were stunned to know that the AFC supported the coalition's decision to hike ministers' and parliamentarians' salaries up to 50 percent, effective from June 2015, ie only one month after getting power.

Between then and now there is anecdotal evidence in the mass media and social media that grassroots support for the AFC has shrunk tremendously. Instead of honestly taking stock of this development, AFC leaders are blissfully carrying on as if everything is hunky-dory.

Today, the AFC is no longer the Third Force it had promised to be, thanks to the weaknesses and dishonesty of its founding leaders.

Twelve years ago the AFC started off with a declaration that it would be a Third Force holding the balance of power between the PPP and the PNC. It was a brilliant idea that appealed to many folks who're fed up with tit-for-tat dead-end politics. 

Nearly 3 years ago, despite the then AFC Leader Khemraj Ramjattan asserting that the AFC would become "dead meat" if it allied itself to another political party, the AFC went ahead and coalesced with the PNC-dominated APNU.

Though bewildered, many AFC members and supporters gave the party the benefit of the doubt and gave their blessings. At the same time, some AFC functionaries like Sixtus Edwards opposed the move and left the party.

Shortly after the 2015 general election some AFC supporters like Gilbakka were stunned to know that the AFC supported the coalition's decision to hike ministers' and parliamentarians' salaries up to 50 percent, effective from June 2015, ie only one month after getting power.

Between then and now there is anecdotal evidence in the mass media and social media that grassroots support for the AFC has shrunk tremendously. Instead of honestly taking stock of this development, AFC leaders are blissfully carrying on as if everything is hunky-dory.

Today, the AFC is no longer the Third Force it had promised to be, thanks to the weaknesses and dishonesty of its founding leaders.

You are a very decent person Gilly. No heaven can compete with a person's clear conscience. Ma'shallah.

Ramjattan did get one thing right. 

I think they are dead meat too.  I have no allegiance to any political party. 

Don't try to divert attention to the fact that you have failed to condemn Neemakharms Moses and Ramjattan.

In fact, you are scared that they will shove their shoes down your throat if you dare speak out again their dirty actions.

Grow some ball* man. Not because there is some family relationship involved. Stand on the right side and history and do the correct thing. It is good for your soul.

Take some lessons from brother Gil, he has done the honourable thing.

The search for a third force continues because the AFC is not it anymore since they have joined the PNC dominated APNU in a coalition and have sat on their mouths when confronted with excesses by this government. They sold themselves for power and from anecdotal evidence, many of their former supporters have deserted them.

These supporters have returned to the PPP, are looking for a third force or have become disenchanted with politics and the current set of political leaders and parties and will not participate.

Z

Well said Mr. Zed; except that I am not sure if supporters have returned to the PPP. What has become of the "C" section? 

Zed says: "These supporters have returned to the PPP, are looking for a third force or have become disenchanted with politics and the current set of political leaders and parties and will not participate." AFC supporters have made 1 of 3 choices. Back to the PPP is one. Dr Ramayya of Berbice is just a tiny representative of the multitude that is trekking back to their original political home. THIS is giving the coalition jitterbugs.

Well said Mr. Zed; except that I am not sure if supporters have returned to the PPP. What has become of the "C" section? 

Zed says: "These supporters have returned to the PPP, are looking for a third force or have become disenchanted with politics and the current set of political leaders and parties and will not participate." AFC supporters have made 1 of 3 choices. Back to the PPP is one. Dr Ramayya of Berbice is just a tiny representative of the multitude that is trekking back to their original political home. THIS is giving the coalition jitterbugs.

Thanks. I read it differently the first time. There are one of two young ones I am hoping to come forward and challenge Jagdeo for the 2020 Elections. 

Don't try to divert attention to the fact that you have failed to condemn Neemakharms Moses and Ramjattan.

In fact, you are scared that they will shove their shoes down your throat if you dare speak out again their dirty actions.

Grow some ball* man. Not because there is some family relationship involved. Stand on the right side and history and do the correct thing. It is good for your soul.

Suh you saying the Indo fellas of the AFC sell out Indians by partnering with majority Afro APNU Party.That will always be perceived by Indians supporters of the PPP,when one one looks at the Constitution and how Government are elected and formed,the continuous government of the PPP,was not healthy for Democracy and had to go,they became arrogant and govern without check and balances,wasted revenues on projects and gave out state resources to friend and families,allowed drug lords to roam freely,mismanaged the Sugar Industry,the current government is multi party and more healthier for Democracy.

That's the way i see it,if the current gov't goofed up let the voters decide.

Suh you saying the Indo fellas of the AFC sell out Indians by partnering with majority Afro APNU Party.That will always be perceived by Indians supporters of the PPP,when one one looks at the Constitution and how Government are elected and formed,the continuous government of the PPP,was not healthy for Democracy and had to go,they became arrogant and govern without check and balances,wasted revenues on projects and gave out state resources to friend and families,allowed drug lords to roam freely,mismanaged the Sugar Industry,the current government is multi party and more healthier for Democracy.

Eh eh Django,

Looks like your superiors made a phone call to you.

You have started to carry the slop can with pride once again. Carry on, it smells good on you.

Eh eh Django,

Looks like your superiors made a phone call to you.

You have started to carry the slop can with pride once again. Carry on, it smells good on you.

Bhai, my views are Independent,

Django tell alyuh,he nah sell he soul to no one,alyuh head suh haad and can't comprehend,suh alyuh saying fetching me know wha,

carry on smartly with alyuh dutty language,looks like it's typical of followers of Jagdeo.

So Ramjattan was a saint to tell the PPP to haul their As* ?

Moses publicly admitted to cussing up his grandchildren.

Is this perfect behaviour ?

I guess your handlers made a phone call to you and Mitwah that they will put their shoes in your mouths if you don't support them. 

Anyway, carry on. The stench of AFC/PNC slop smells good on you.

So Ramjattan was a saint to tell the PPP to haul their As* ?

Moses publicly admitted to cussing up his grandchildren.

Is this perfect behaviour ?

I guess your handlers made a phone call to you and Mitwah that they will put their shoes in your mouths if you don't support them. 

Anyway, carry on. The stench of AFC/PNC slop smells good in you.

Banna give it a rest,

most of what you are saying is rubbish,stick to the topic and let us have a decent conversation,I am not the Fish Market Type.

Wishing the Alliance For Change party all the very best on thier 12th anniversary.

They have done very well in this very short period of time. The highlight is being part  of  the coalition Government .

They are definitely a force to be reckoned with!.

HAHAHAHA  ASS KISSERS AND BATTY WASHERS.  I love the standard of this Chap, he proudly accepts incompetence, Scums and Namakaram!!

Kudos to Gil.

Who is Mitwah trying to fool ?

So far, he has not grown an ounce of Ball* to condemn Ramjattan and Moses endorsement of the Dictator Granger.

Please try again Mitwah. Speak the truth, it will make you free.

BTW, AFC is the scumbags party.

Yuji bai, I don't think this is fair. Everyone should be free to express their opinion without being seen as contrary to what they opine. 

Wishing the Alliance For Change party all the very best on thier 12th anniversary.

They have done very well in this very short period of time. The highlight is being part  of  the coalition Government .

AFC still exists?  What have they accomplished?  Please educate us.  You should let the folks in GY tell us of their positive experiences with the AFC.

We were at a party last night and ran into a Guyanese fella.   He is looking for a job in the US, holds a Master's degree.  Ramjattan blatantly told him his services are no longer required because he is a PPP supporter.  Just one example to show that  AFC=PNC. 

Nehru I will not stoop to your level and respond with name calling.

The AFC did make their mark as to how the people will view and accept them in the future is yet to be seen.

I agree to a degree that AFC is good as present that they are in power where the PPP would have like to be. The future of AFC doesn't matter any longer. They have a good chance to hold positions in government if the stay with APNU. PNC can't win 2020 election without them. But in 2025, the PNC are more likely to go solo in future elections. In ten years, AFC will be a memory of the past.

alena06 posted:

AFC still exists?  What have they accomplished?  Please educate us.  You should let the folks in GY tell us of their positive experiences with the AFC.

We were at a party last night and ran into a Guyanese fella.   He is looking for a job in the US, holds a Master's degree.  Ramjattan blatantly told him his services are no longer required because he is a PPP supporter.  Just one example to show that  AFC=PNC. 

Anything to do with job in NY  and holding a Masters , I think I can assist.

alena06 posted:

Anything to do with job in NY  and holding a Masters , I think I can assist.

Even if it is a PPP supporter Chief? Just messing with you. 

Thanks. I read it differently the first time. There are one of two young ones I am hoping to come forward and challenge Jagdeo for the 2020 Elections. 

Events in the future might prove me wrong, but I really believe that Jagdeo will not run for the presidency in 2020. 

I might be just a dreamer st this old age.

Z

Is it your argument that the coalition and the president's recent actions - selection of chairman of Geocom, interference in the work of the judicial, public service and police service commissions, etc.  makes it healthier for democracy in Guyana?

Z

The AFC at 12: The journey has ended

Yesterday marked one dozen years since the Alliance for Change came into being at the Ocean View Hotel, Liliendaal on October 29, 2005. I thought of doing this article yesterday, the actual birthday, but I considered the topic on the insensitivity of our leaders to poverty in Guyana more pressing and relevant for a Sunday column.
Has the AFC become a fading superstar? I think the final performance on stage will be 2020. It is definitely outside the scope of one newspaper column to analyse the twelve-year journey of the AFC. The AFC has not had an attractive birth or continuation of its life. It was essentially a middle class formation that followed Raphael Trotman out of the PNC, and Sheila Holder brought a few middle class admirers with her.
Khemraj Ramjattan was not very instrumental in winning over Indian constituencies at that time. The six seats it got in the 2006 elections came essentially from Linden and African districts in Guyana as a show of rejection of the PNC under Robert Corbin.
When Trotman reneged on the covenant of presidential rotation for the 2011 elections, Ramjattan secured an enormous amount of sympathy from AFC members, Indians disaffected with the PPP, wealthy Indian disapora personalities and ex-ROAR activists. In fact, the general manager for the AFC 2011 election campaign was a former leader of ROAR that the Indian diaspora paid a salary of US$4000 monthly and put him up at the Pegasus throughout the campaign.
After spending $80 million more than in the 2006 elections, the AFC only collected one more seat. Berbice played a factor in the tally of seats, since the PNC got back the five seats it lost under Corbin due to the birth of APNU, which in my opinion the WPA played a crucial role.
The 2015 election results for the AFC were disastrous. It showed that the top Indian leaders did not win over Indian constituencies. The expert in statistics, after going through GECOM release of votes by each station countrywide, may be willing to admit that the AFC did not bring in the ten percent that its partner, the APNU assumed it would.
As it stands today, the Coalition won Parliament by a single vote. It was a one vote difference in Region Eight that gave the Coalition a one-seat victory in Parliament.
From the time the election results were known, the relationship between the AFC and APNU became tense and it has been like that ever since. Top APNU leaders felt and still feel today that a party that couldn't get ten percent of the vote should not have received twelve seats and the ministries it got.
The other side of that argument is that APNU did not bring in the ballots by itself. In a complex way, it was not APNU or AFC that people voted but the symbolism and meaning of the Coalition. That's the way I see it.
We come now to the AFC post-2015. I would love to see the analyst describe for me how the AFC is going to survive electorally in 2020. I know one thing is a million times definite ÃĒ₮“ APNU will run as a coalition with the AFC but there will be no written agreement on anything. Even the most innocuous arrangement on a post 2020 government APNU will not entertain. What the AFC will get if the Coalition wins in 2020 will depend on who gets what votes in Indian areas all over Guyana.
The AFC will cling to the APNU in 2020. It has no other option. It will hope that the Prime Minister comes from the AFC but even that is not guaranteed. Sadly, I think the AFC's biology and physiology will die after 2020 and it will just be an appendage to the APNU.
What happened along the way? Briefly, the AFC turned out not to be the innovative, inspiring, transformative organisation we thought it would be once in office. It has the same backward culture as the PPP and PNC.
Secondly, it showed that it was obsessed with power as David Hinds accused it of. The AFC ministers are more interested in being Ministers than their APNU counterparts. The APNU leadership knows this and is not going to listen to any complaints about bad policies from the AFC.
Thirdly, its acquisition of power in 2015 led to a most depraved abandonment of its second and third tier leadership. After the election results, the AFC called one of its middle friends and offered her the Environment Ministry. This caused toxic resentment among many and it was the decisive factor in my change of attitude to the AFC. More on this, later!

Source:

Sitting here in Akumal, basking in the Mexican morning sun, Guyana is a like a place that never exists, for the moment. At this moment reading ur comment, I reflect. The ancients is an interest of mine. And Guyana's existence has been like mythology of the Hindu scenerios. Jagdeo and Granger are like rawans, so also is the past leaders. Their efforts has been more or less of the devil, reflections, memories and reading only dipicts ignorance. Of the highest order.