Stop It: Indentureship was not Slavery

Dear Editor,
Nearly a decade ago I went to the Caribbean Studies Association Annual Convention in St. Lucia. My paper was on the subject of violence against indentured women during the 19th and early 20th century. Alissa Trotz was the discussant, and I recall David Hinds being in the audience.
I began the paper by stating that there is a rising Pan-Indianist grand narrative seeking to equate indentureship with slavery. I specifically wrote that this narrative is preoccupied with “the working and living conditions of indentured labourers with considerable effort expended to show how indentureship was actually a form of slavery” (Persaud 2001).
I objected to that discourse then, and I do so again. The matter is simple – indentured servants did not suffer nearly as much as African slaves.
Any such suggestion must be, at best, dismissed as misinformed. As I stated in St. Lucia, the fundamental difference between the servant and the slave was that the servant was never the private property of a master.
The Indian servant had a contract – that is to say, he/she had a legal instrument governing the terms and conditions of employment. The indentured servant was taken to Guyana by contract; the slave was taken there by force. At the end of the contract, the servant did not have to go through four years of apprenticeship as African slaves had to do after hundred of years of coercive exploitation.
I am well aware of the reports filed by people like H.V.P. Bronkhurst and Joseph Beaumont.
These reports did capture the terrible conditions in which indentured servants lived and were by a large accurate. But we must also understand that men like Bronkhurst and Beaumont were activists who wanted to end the indenture system. The reports were constructed to elicit horror in England (See Walter Persaud on this). They did.
What is striking is that so long after the end of the indenture system some writers have not understood the textual strategy of the anti-indenture activists. They take the reports at face value, rather than engage in the deconstruction of those texts. The whole notion that indentureship is similar to slavery was concocted by anti-indenture activists who knew that such an association would resonate among progressives in Britain. We should note that one such activist, Joseph Beaumont published a book called The New Slavery in 1871. Even book titles have their conditions of emergence and this historicity should not be ignored.
Whilst I am at it I may as well address why the indenture system began. Rum shop historiography has it that many people came before and could not do the work. More serious scholarly disquisitions point to labour shortage. Rum shop historiography is nothing other than a form of ethnic nationalism. Cease and desist! The labour shortage thesis has more scholarly traction but its explanatory power withers as you dig down.
Following Rodney, I argue that the real drive behind indentured labour was to dismantle an increasingly well organised African work force. There was absolute shortage of labour. If there was labour shortage sugar production would have suffered even before emancipation. But as I wrote in the St. Lucia paper “sugar production actually increased by 214% between 1812 and 1835.  Eighteen twenty-nine in fact, was one of the most profitable years in the colony, when 109 million pounds of sugar was produced” (Persaud 2001). I also argued then that “while emancipation did, in and of itself lend to labour withdrawal, the equally pressing matter was that a labour market had actually emerged.” The ex-slaves were now in a position to bargain for wages and better working conditions. Task Gangs were formed as a strategy of strengthening the bargaining position of workers. Significantly, the Task Gangs broke the absolute control the planters, managers, and overseers had in controlling every aspect of estate work” (Persaud 2001).
The disruption of plantation hegemony by the emerging African working class (in the technical sense of that term) was of great concern to the planters. Moreover, there had been periodic but intense protests in the years before emancipation. Between August 18th and 23rd 1823 for instance, there was a revolt on the East Coast. Martial Law was declared on August 21st, and it took musket fire and several dead and wounded to beat back the more than 2000 slaves in arms.
Forty-five slaves and a white missionary were sentenced to death for the revolt.
These were the circumstances that led to indentured labourers. Make no mistake about it; the planters wanted to break the back of a rising labour militancy in Guyana. This is why in January 1836 John Gladstone wrote to Gillanders, Arbuthnot & Co. specifically inquiring about Bound labour. Gillanders replied the order could be met, and that the Indian labourer was akin to a monkey, and has only paltry needs. Mangru’s work on this aspect of the labour migration is excellent.
There is much more to this story, but one thing stands out. By 1888, P.M. Netscher was in a position to write the following – “through the advent of those competing labourers, the people have made themselves completely independent of the caprices and extravagant demands of the creole workmen” (Netscher 1888).  The people as used here referred to the planters and the established classes of colonial society.
The suffering of Indians is not an empirical question. Indians did suffer. The question is -so what? In part you get the answer when the attempt is made to equate suffering in indentureship with suffering in slavery. In this context there is a shift from the empirical documentation of hardship, to an epistemological strategy of ethnic instantiation. Whereas the former is concerned with historical knowledge, the latter is driven by a politicized historical presentism.
The former is productive and should be encouraged; the latter is a dangerous potion that should not be swallowed, even by the descendants of the indentured servants.
Dr. Randy Persaud

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...hip-was-not-slavery/

Slaves had certain rights. Indentured had no rights, not even decent living conditions.

I doan care to equate the two.

It was terrible conditions for the first indentured indians, wherever they landed on this planet.

The White Englishman was not too kind to ANY OTHER RACE OF PEOPLE. He felt God was on his side and God muss be an Englishman.

@Spugum posted:

seignet, you are a liar and will be called out at every opportunity

You ought to read the accounts of the Headmaster at Belvue upon testify to Scobles about the conditions the cooolies were made to live in upon their arrival.

Not my words bro.

Suh, I muss assume as a slave he once lived in better conditions. And I would believe him. BECAUSE I READ MANY TIMES OF THE RIGHTS OF THE SLAVE.

Indentured has NO RIGHTS,WHATSOEVER.

@seignet posted:

Slaves had certain rights. Indentured had no rights, not even decent living conditions.

I doan care to equate the two.

It was terrible conditions for the first indentured indians, wherever they landed on this planet.

The White Englishman was not too kind to ANY OTHER RACE OF PEOPLE. He felt God was on his side and God muss be an Englishman.

you are a confounded liar.

your motive was to make out as though black people shouldn't make too much of slavery on emancipation day, that indentured servants had it worse. to do such is to either have no knowledge of what slavery was like in the colonies or to just be damn wicked. i believe it's the latter

@seignet posted:

tell us what rights slaves in guyana had? please provide the evidence. thank you

Last edited by Spugum
@cain posted:

Siggy you is one messed up banna, slaves had rights?  To do what, pick their slave master?

different times bro. Rev. John Smith went to BG to enforce the rights passed in the British Parliament. Much to the dismay of the planters.

Demerara rebellion of 1823

The Demerara rebellion of 1823 was an uprising involving more than 10,000 enslaved people that took place in the colony of Demerara-Essequibo (Guyana). The rebellion, which began on August 18, 1823, and lasted for two days, was led by slaves with the highest status. In part they were reacting to poor treatment and a desire for freedom; in addition, there was a widespread, mistaken belief that Parliament had passed a law for emancipation, but it was being withheld by the colonial rulers. Instigated chiefly by Jack Gladstone, a slave at "Success" plantation, the rebellion also involved his father, Quamina, and other senior members of their church group. Its English pastor, John Smith, was implicated.

The largely non-violent rebellion was brutally crushed by the colonists under governor John Murray. They killed many slaves: estimates of the toll from fighting range from 100 to 250. After the insurrection was put down, the government sentenced another 45 men to death, and 27 were executed. The executed slaves' bodies were displayed in public for months afterwards as a deterrent to others. Jack was deported to the island of Saint Lucia after the rebellion following a clemency plea by Sir John Gladstone, the owner of "Success" plantation. John Smith, who had been court-martialed and was awaiting news of his appeal against a death sentence, died a martyr for the abolitionist cause.

News of Smith's death strengthened the abolitionist movement in Britain. Quamina, who is thought to have been the actual leader of the rebellion, was declared a national hero after Guyana's independence. Streets and monuments have been dedicated to him in the capital of Georgetown, Guyana

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wik...ra_rebellion_of_1823

Last edited by Spugum

Man go and research it. If i tell you, yuh nah goan believe me anyway. Smith demanded slaves be given teaching to read. He came to enforce those laws. Education was also a law passed in Britain for the education o slaves. Going to church was a law passed for them to attend.

The British were a decent nation, they provided for their subjects in the colonies.

@seignet posted:

Man go and research it. If i tell you, yuh nah goan believe me anyway. Smith demanded slaves be given teaching to read. He came to enforce those laws. Education was also a law passed in Britain for the education o slaves. Going to church was a law passed for them to attend.

The British were a decent nation, they provided for their subjects in the colonies.

You're a waste of time

@Prashad posted:

That is grounds to beat, hate and kill the inferior, subhuman koolie because white master brought the inferior subhuman koolies to take away we jobs.

How come a subhuman like you survived?

@Spugum posted:

You're a waste of time

He is a racist old dog. Imagine, he is overseas for over 50 years and still hates black man. No wonder he was in love with the other old racist dog shally wally. Both shouting the N word at black people.

Step back 80+ years into his time and imagine what black people had to deal with from people like this Seignet

He is a racist old dog. Imagine, he is overseas for over 50 years and still hates black man. No wonder he was in love with the other old racist dog shally wally. Both shouting the N word at black people.

Step back 80+ years into his time and imagine what black people had to deal with from people like this Seignet

it certainly boggles the mind that even with that much exposure to a so-called first world country they remain prisoner to the erroneous belief in race superiority

The N word is a word. You want ppl to stop using it? You do know there are places named with N word as identification of locations. There was a Bound Yard referred to Bound Cooooli Yard. I doan get upset for that.

Eighty years ago, in GT, Indians were looked down upon by Blacks. In the rural areas, Indians were coming into Black villages, buying land and building houses. Dey get along well, that is until 1955.

I have respect for everybody, you as well as Shallyv. I do not canvass for anyone to get banned on this site. It is a forum of expressions, nothing said on here is not public knowlegde.

You hate Indians-I know so, that doan make you a pirana. That is the reality of life, hate.

A DOG bro, that is a bit extreme. Sometimes, I think you is D2, same types of expressions every so often. Muss be how the moon fixes in the heavens.

@Spugum posted:

it certainly boggles the mind that even with that much exposure to a so-called first world country they remain prisoner to the erroneous belief in race superiority

Until Chrsit returns, race will be an issue.

You must the real young. Still naive. In time you will mature on race issues.

I was called the N word in Canada twice. Never got called the N word in America. Iguana hates me so much that he will call me a combined NC words.

@seignet posted:

Until Chrsit returns, race will be an issue.

You must the real young. Still naive. In time you will mature on race issues.

it is your right to believe that some saviour has to come to purge the world of its ills, i happen not to subscribe to such a belief. it is for us to make the change. racism is an idea and harmful ideas need to be challenged

you are part of the problem so i challenged you