November 5,2017

Dear Editor,

As representatives of  liberal democracies, I expect that the US Ambassador, Mr Perry Holloway, the UK High Commissioner, Mr Greg Quinn and Mrs Lilian Chatterjee, Canadian High Commissioner have an interest in defending Guyana’s fledgling democracy.

It is in this vein that  I noted, with some concern, Mr. Quinn’s  and Mr. Holloway’s brief statements on the Chairmanship of the Guyana Elections Commission. What I expected from the ABC countries, and particularly their representatives in Guyana, was an  unequivocal statement repudiating the Government’s action. That statement should have reminded the President that unilateralism  is anathema to genuine inclusionary democracy. The ABC envoys are all aware of the polarized state of Guyana’s polity, and the importance attached to their counsel.

I believe a brief reminder is necessary at this time.

In the run up to Guyana’s 2015 elections, the public observed, quite approvingly, that the American, British and Canadian diplomatic representatives were intensely involved in the elections process. The ABC Reps’ involvement provided a measure of confidence to Guyanese, both at home and abroad.

To this end, there were engagements with GECOM officials and other stakeholders, and they express-ed great confidence in GECOM’S preparation. No doubt, these public observations were  based on objective and verifiable evidence that the Commission was equipped, willing and able to conduct the elections in a credibly impartial manner. A review of print and electronic media at that time speaks to their (or their predecessors’) respective involvement.

When there were allegations with respect to the results, and the existence of  fake Statements of Polls, Mr. Bryan Hunt (then Chargé d’Affaires of the US Embassy), Dr. Nicole Giles (the then Canadian High Commissioner) and Mr. Quinn came out strongly in support of the declared results.  It was a bitterly fought election where the difference in votes secured by the two sides was  4,506. The change in administration proceeded uneventfully, and without massive street protests as happened in the past. The elections petition is still languishing in court.

Cut to 2017 and we are in the midst of a Government inflected political and constitutional crisis. As the envoys are no doubt aware, a convention evolved over the past 25 years with respect to the  selection of the Chairperson of GECOM.  As a matter of fact, the US Carter Center  was extensively involved in setting up the said Commission as Guyana transitioned into a democracy. Guyanese have come to look at GECOM to ensure that their votes count, and that elections do not hark back to the rigging days. Given the architecture of the Commission, the role of the Chairperson is extremely important.

As such, the  President’s decision to unilaterally appoint the Chairper-son of the GECOM is viewed with suspicion. It has raised fears about tampering with the voters’ list and the general conduct of the elections. Further, the unilateral appointment has sent shockwaves across the population and the wider diaspora. Guyanese are looking at the ABC countries to continue their intense involvement, and to act as a bulwark against an erosion of their hard-fought  fundamental democratic rights.

At  this pivotal moment, the ABC countries cannot be seen to be ambivalent in their commitment to democratic ideals. I trust that history will not repeat itself.

Yours faithfully,

Kowlasar Misir

we are in the midst of a Government inflected political and constitutional crisis
It has raised fears about tampering with the voters’ list and the general conduct of the elections

Ethnic voting is there to stay.  Members in Parliament should be selected by constituencies and not from a party list. Look how many square pegs we have in round holes currently.

Are out suggesting that we return to first pass the posts system? While I don’t disagree with this, the Constitution of Guyana will have to be changed. Cheddi Jagan promised to change the constitution and then abandoned the idea. BJ had a chance to do this when he amended the constitution to bring in the two term limit. 

Dondadda posted:

Ethnic voting is there to stay.  Members in Parliament should be selected by constituencies and not from a party list. Look how many square pegs we have in round holes currently.

Are out suggesting that we return to first pass the posts system? While I don’t disagree with this, the Constitution of Guyana will have to be changed. Cheddi Jagan promised to change the constitution and then abandoned the idea. BJ had a chance to do this when he amended the constitution to bring in the two term limit. 

They didn't want to,they were envisage on winning forever.An important amendment is post election alliance.

Dondadda posted:

Cheddi Jagan promised to change the constitution and then abandoned the idea. BJ had a chance to do this when he amended the constitution to bring in the two term limit. 

den he change he mind

Dondadda posted:

They didn't want to,they were envisage on winning forever.An important amendment is post election alliance.

It’s Called power drunk.  Just like Hilary, Harry Reid and the rest of the Democratic cabal in the USA. 

The bj cabal was so drunk, they never saw the train coming.

Dondadda posted:

Cheddi Jagan promised to change the constitution and then abandoned the idea. BJ had a chance to do this when he amended the constitution to bring in the two term limit. 

den he change he mind

I have as issue with this.  Challenging your own amendment, no credibility!

Djajgo, your information how PPP came to two term is misleading.. stop peddling  lies.

In 1994, a constitutional reform committee of the national assemble was established , headed by DeSantos to look at this Constitution Reform, which was promised by Dr Jagan in his campaign prior to 1992.

The process takes a much longer time before the committee was able to complete there work, the life of parliament ended.. as a result the 1997 General Election approach.

With the PPP victory at the polls, brought widespread protests, burning, looting street violence, raping of Indian women, all instigated by PNC.

Caricom intervene and establish the Herdmanston Accord which embrace the constitution reform.

Piloted by PPP in parliament 1999, a commission was legally established. The commission comprised of political parties, religious organisation, private sector, labor movement, ethnic based movement, women origination , Amerindians organisation, bar association and a few more. This commission headed by Ralf Ramkran and Haslin Paris ( PNC) as secretary was given a mandate to consult with every stakeholders geographically.

This commission work for over 2 years and produce over 200 recommendation which was refine into 180 amendments that were incorporate in the 1980 constitution. 

In terms of Executives President, the controversial immunities which  the president had after demitting office were remove and replace with a compendium of immunities which most commonwealth head of state enjoy. The power which the president had to appoint a chancellor, Chief justice and Gecom chairman are now share with the opposition leader. The President was mandate to act upon the recommendations. 

The two term limit was imposed on the Presidency, the president was mandate to have meaningful discussion with the opposition leader as defined by the Constitution.

Regarding parliament.. for the first time an opposition can remove a government by virtue of a no confidence motion.

The above is just a few of the changes which were made by the PPP to the 1980 constitution mandated by this Reform Committee. 

Prior to 1992, your gods of war had all the power vested and impose by them. 

With the Hermandonson Accord imposed by caricom on PPP( this same caricom who was blind before 1992) it leaves a BIG question as to their court ruling by the CCJ on BJ. 

The two term limit was imposed on the Presidency . . .  

With the Hermandonson Accord imposed by caricom on PPP (this same caricom who was blind before 1992) it leaves a BIG question as to their court ruling by the CCJ on BJ. 

ah wha you really saying bai?

Dondadda posted:

Hey Don,

AFC loudmouths Moses and Ramjattan campaigned to change it. How about you start questioning them about this matter ?

Djajgo, your information how PPP came to two term is misleading.. stop peddling  lies.

Bhai,your haste to discredit have blinded you to follow the discussion on this thread.

I understand how the two term presidency and other constitutional amendments came about,gathered from the documents below.

SEEKING A DEMOCRATIC PATH: CONSTITUTIONAL
REFORM IN GUYANA
Honourable Hari N. Ramkarran*

Dave, the man has to work for that extra paycheck. It's part of his employment agreement peddle lies on GNI. 

Same thing me seh,YUh does talk fuh talk sake.

You didn't read the conversation on the thread,reread and point out where lies were told.

You didn't read the conversation on the thread.

It's Friday. Time fuh some licks pun you.

Where are the licks ?

Alyuh getting braced to wall daily.

Where are the licks ?

I don't know how you can take so many lashes and return for more. You are like the Timex watch.

Where are the licks ?

I don't know how you can take so many lashes and return for more. You are like the Timex watch.

Every lash equals $1 more to his paycheck.

Where are the licks ?

Every lash equals $1 more to his paycheck.

Yuh railee cheap.