A STEADY DIET OF ELECTION-TIME PROMISES

April 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

As is their wont during election season, the PPP/C continues to demonstrate an appalling lack of imagination and creativity.  For the fifth consecutive campaign season, the party and its acolytes continue to parrot the same old promises to implement institutions and programmes for the people’s benefit. Arguably, about 90 percent of those promises never see the light of day when the elections are over and the party members re-settle into their cocoons to continue business as usual, devising schemes to rape the treasury for personal gain. Guyanese people are understandably tired of hearing the regurgitated promises for a better education system, for the holding of Local Government Elections, for an improved pension scheme for our senior citizens, for institutions that offer succor to domestically abused women and children. This list of failures (to implement effective social institutions) goes on ad infinitum. Let’s take a step back just three years to the run-up to the 2011 elections.  Then PPP/C General Secretary Donald Ramotar made this statement: “Development for us is an all-encompassing process, and while over the years significant progress has been made in deepening and entrenching an inclusive constitutional democracy, the PPP/C remains open to working with all stakeholders, including political parties, civil society and labour.” What inclusive democracy?  The PPP has spent an inordinate amount of time and resources discrediting the value of private enterprise and injecting itself into the business arena to compete for revenue with entrepreneurs in the media, agriculture, building and construction.  They embarked over a decade ago on a dedicated programme to retard the well established trade unions, showing preference for the unions affiliated with their FITUG pro-government movement. The PPP, originally dubbed the ‘Working Class’ party, has robbed public sector workers of years of earnings by unilaterally handing out 5 percent increases every year that are: 1) out of step with the rise of inflation; 2) a deliberate strategy to castrate the unions which continuously beg for the chance to negotiate on those workers’ behalf; 3) returned to the government’s coffers in the form of taxes; and 4) inadequate to meet the expanding needs of our workers with families and growing children to feed and clothe and educate. This constant promise of theirs to work with stakeholders is nothing but empty words. Producers of forest products – both raw timber and processed woods – had to establish tenuous partnerships with the likes of Bai Shan Lin (China) and Vaitarna (India) in order to earn revenue from their forest concessions. Too many of the indigenous peoples living in or near to the forest concessions in the hinterland have lost control over large swathes of their titled land which the government awarded to the aforementioned investors and a few others for timber harvesting, gold and diamond mining.  The true owners of the parcels of land in dispute cannot harvest timber and other products from the land.  Their food supply is dwindling because the miners and loggers hunt for the same food. These people are stakeholders, very valuable ones who are experiencing strange water- and mosquito-borne ailments, because little or no operating or environmental standards and controls have been applied to the hinterland business ventures. The people’s social problems are mounting.  Their young ones are hardly educated since the parents could ill afford to send them to schools that are miles away.  Since their accustomed revenue stream has been cut off, the Village Councils are forced to allow teenagers to work on nearby mining dredges, the same ones that pollute their waterways with dangerous chemicals and human waste.  And just as there are no schools, there are no medical facilities sufficiently equipped to treat the rising incidence of malaria, typhoid, chikungunya, gastroenteritis and other paediatric and adult diseases. This is an extremely high price to pay for a near criminal absence of consultation with stakeholders. It is no longer ironic, neither is it strange that just following the 2011 elections, after all the promises to “create opportunities for all Guyanese”, the state launched an attack on the bauxite mining town of Linden (just another in the long string of poorly treated depressed communities).   In his inaugural address in December 2011, President Ramotar spoke of the “exciting task” of providing those opportunities.  In March 2012, just 3 months later, he imposed a huge increase on electricity tariffs, without stakeholder consultation, on a community where 70 percent of the people are unemployed or severely under-employed due to a debilitating absence of employment opportunities.  The people, their Regional leaders and the parliamentary opposition repeatedly called on the President to meet with them to hear first-hand about their economic problems and to offer alternative solutions, but he refused.  The fallout from the Linden fiasco is now common knowledge – three dead and the town that was prosperous in the 1980’s continues to wallow in despair. REDUCE VAT AND OTHER TAXES   This promise was trumpeted throughout the 2011 campaign and ended with a false start.  In December 2011, soon after his inauguration, Ramotar disclosed the names of three people to comprise a special panel to review the tax regime and examine options to transform it into one that is more ‘family friendly’, i.e. one that would include conditional tax relief on personal income.  This panel was also expected to identify strategies to address the conditions of the poor and disadvantaged.   The public has not yet been informed of the outcome of this review, i.e. if it did indeed take place. There is ample reason to question the government’s commitment to this review of the tax regime.  The President on several occasions had stated rather pointedly that in his opinion, the VAT was not a burden on consumers and that he would work to erase this ‘misconception’.  His intention, he said, was to broaden the tax net to capture the ‘big professionals who hardly pay any taxes’.  Three years have since elapsed and the onerous 16% VAT on almost every consumable item continues to keep the ordinary Guyanese man and woman living on or below the poverty line. LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS It is now 20 years since our people were last able to choose their own community leaders, select the people who were familiar with their circumstances and who would be able to represent them at the national level.  The PPP/C’s 2011 Election Manifesto stated: “In the area of local government and governance, the next PPP/C government will ensure, within one year of the 2011 general elections, that local government elections are held bringing much-needed reinvigoration into local government entities.” This is just another in the long list of empty elections promises.  Since 1997 after the passing of the party’s leader and while the PPP/C enjoyed a house majority, they repeatedly passed amendments (over 12 consecutive years) deferring the holding of Local Government Elections (LGE).  The excuse was that the Local Government system needed to be reformed.  They have continuously demonstrated a marked unwillingness to introduce the Local Government reform that they touted as their reason for deferring the LGE.  Outside of parliament the President repeatedly told the populace that he was yet to decide when he would issue the order to GECOM to prepare for LGE.  In the meantime, the PPP set about installing hand-picked Interim Committees made up of party faithful who barefacedly usurped the functions of elected neighbourhood council officials. While they were posturing, the Chairman of GECOM informed the nation several times that the Commission was ready even for snap elections. “Anyone who asks me if I am ready for local government elections does not understand the process,” he was reported to have said. The idiocy and delay tactics were taken to a new low in 2014 when Local Government Minister, Norman Whittaker, declared that voters were not ready for local polls. The pundits would call this prevarication and rank deception. So here’s the conundrum.  The PPP/C proclaimed in its 2011 manifesto that reinvigorating local government by holding elections is a “necessary part of development”.  Over the next three years they have used every excuse to postpone Local Government Elections while accusing the opposition of being anti-development! One prominent member of the APNU+AFC Alliance had this to say: “I have truly searched for something complimentary to say about this period (2011–2015), but all I could find is controversy and conflict.  In a country where most of the people would be classified as poor, the Ramotar government celebrates things and calibrates its development based on big buildings, poorly conceived roads and brand name hotels rather than human development. “The level of unemployment in this country is unsustainable; the under-education of our children and the school dropout rate nationally is unsustainable; the crime situation and the lawlessness of our law enforcement agencies is unsustainable, yet this President has failed to lead on all of these important issues facing our nation.  Even if one graded on a curve it would be difficult to give this President anything but a failing grade”. (To be continued)

Everybody makes election promises bai. I am still waiting to see some that Obama promised six plus years later. I don't expect the Opposition to keep theirs either, especially the one about correcting Burnham's illegal Constitution.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Everybody makes election promises bai. I am still waiting to see some that Obama promised six plus years later. I don't expect the Opposition to keep theirs either, especially the one about correcting Burnham's illegal Constitution.

Give the Coalition lil credit bai.

So far they've made a strong Job Creation proposal in the form of employing nuff Vice Presidents.

I think we can safely believe them on dis wan

Maybe the PPP should promise everyone a house and a motor car. It's like negotiating. You demand more than the other side can deliver. When negotiations start, you start eliminating some of the more frivolous demands. It happens all the time.

Yea I notice how dem Opposition curiously silent about the Constitution, content to mumble some vague term like "Constitutional Reform" which could mean almost anything. Even amending the subparagraph to subsection so and so of section so and so of article so and so in chapter so and so of title so and so regarding the ordering of appended Schedules hereto annexed counts as "Constitutional Reform" strictly speaking.

I know dem smartman kinda language duh chap

I spent over a decade perfecting am

Yea I notice how dem Opposition curiously silent about the Constitution, content to mumble some vague term like "Constitutional Reform" which could mean almost anything. Even amending the subparagraph to subsection so and so of section so and so of article so and so in chapter so and so of title so and so regarding the ordering of appended Schedules hereto annexed counts as "Constitutional Reform" strictly speaking.

I doubt any Guyanese with the power granted by Burnham's Constitution will ever be open to dismantling it. Guyanese has a craving for power. Just look at dem RH bais fighting over a mindir. Same happens with masjids.

Maybe the PPP should promise everyone a house and a motor car. It's like negotiating. You demand more than the other side can deliver. When negotiations start, you start eliminating some of the more frivolous demands. It happens all the time.

This reeks of East Berbice strategy bai.

if the opposition started on about amending sub paragraph dis and dat, louts like u would be in overdrive complaining that the masses doan annerstaan all dat lawyerly nonsense and real voters want to hear bout security, wages, jobs and ting

smfh

I doubt any Guyanese with the power granted by Burnham's Constitution will ever be open to dismantling it. Guyanese has a craving for power. Just look at dem RH bais fighting over a mindir. Same happens with masjids.

It takes a great man to be elected to such an extremely monarchial office as the Presidency of Guyana and them diminish its powers to some reasonable and rational level. Guyana does not produce great men. Only little men who delude themselves that they are great.

We will not produce a Cincinnatus or a Washington who will serve the Republic, order its affairs for the benefit of the people, and then retire quietly to his farm to plough his fields in happy agrarian contentment.

if the opposition started on about amending sub paragraph dis and dat, louts like u would be in overdrive complaining that the masses doan annerstaan all dat lawyerly nonsense and real voters want to hear bout security, wages, jobs and ting

smfh

I agree. And no doubt these are much more attainable than Constitution reform. 

smfh

I don't want the Opposition to hold rallies on Constitutional Reform and bore voters to death.

I'm perfectly fine with a published manifesto or some other kind of specific public policy commitment that I can take seriously as in that it is sufficiently detailed and not open to interpretation post-election.

That's all.

It takes a great man to be elected to such an extremely monarchial office as the Presidency of Guyana and them diminish its powers to some reasonable and rational level. Guyana does not produce great men. Only little men who delude themselves that they are great.

We will not produce a Cincinnatus or a Washington who will serve the Republic, order its affairs for the benefit of the people, and then retire quietly to his farm to plough his fields in happy agrarian contentment.

And none with their own free will, will make the assertion that Washington made regarding his own term limit. They are more prone to the Burnham recipe of President for life.

I don't want the Opposition to hold rallies on Constitutional Reform and bore voters to death.

I'm perfectly fine with a published manifesto or some other kind of specific public policy commitment that I can take seriously as in that it is sufficiently detailed and not open to interpretation post-election.

That's all.

So far, the most concrete promise made is regarding the allocation of Vice Presidents positions.

And none with their own free will, will make the assertion that Washington made regarding his own term limit. They are more prone to the Burnham recipe of President for life.

Yea juss look at Jagdeo. He gave Assent to the term limits constitutional amendment bill for Presidents and then turned around and argue he violated the Constitution in term limiting himself

De balls on dis chap I tell ya

That's all.

So far, the most concrete promise made is regarding the allocation of Vice Presidents positions.

Tits on a bull

That's all.

Yea, dem find the part of the Constitution that technically offers unlimited job creation potential. There really is no cap to Vice Presidencies.

Yea juss look at Jagdeo. He gave Assent to the term limits constitutional amendment bill for Presidents and then turned around and argue he violated the Constitution in term limiting himself

I guess at the time he didn't realize one can build mansions being president.

Dat chap is a genius by Guyanese standards I tell ya. Too bad he only put his genius to tiefin.

He PNC hates him so much because he castrated them successfully. Look how peaceful abbe PNC is today. Is it because they so love peace? Or is it because the PNC friendly organs of state have been successfully neutralized?

Dat chap is a genius by Guyanese standards I tell ya. Too bad he only put his genius to tiefin.

He PNC hates him so much because he castrated them successfully. Look how peaceful abbe PNC is today. Is it because they so love peace? Or is it because the PNC friendly organs of state have been successfully neutralized?

Jagdeo did what Jagan couldn't. He bought out all the PNC bad boys and left the PNC toothless.

Look how de man managed to sell free air to the developed world.

Jagdeo did what Jagan couldn't. He bought out all the PNC bad boys and left the PNC toothless.

Who woulda tawt de Leader of the PNC would be sharin out hugs to every coolie he can find?

Even today the man sharin kites to coolie pickney dem. Gone are the days when de Leader of de PNC would be shouting "slow fiah moh fiah" pon coolies

Now we gettin hugs

P.S....I even received wan lil personal gift from the Leader of de PNC . Not even dem PPP daag Minstas dem who me juss gee nice expensive gifts to ever give me anything in return

Who woulda tawt de Leader of the PNC would be sharin out hugs to every coolie he can find?

Even today the man sharin kites to coolie pickney dem. Gone are the days when de Leader of de PNC would be shouting "slow fiah moh fiah" pon coolies

Now we gettin hugs

P.S....I even received wan lil personal gift from the Leader of de PNC . Not even dem PPP daag Minstas dem who me juss gee nice expensive gifts to ever give me anything in return

Thanks to de great reformist, Jagdeo. Jagdeo's approach is if they don't be like you, you beat them into submission.

Now we gettin hugs

Don't expect to get anything in return from wan coolie bai.

Now we gettin hugs

Don't expect to get anything in return from wan coolie bai.

If any one a dem daags in de Cabinet ah read dis post, yuh sk**t know who I mean.

Yes you chap!

If any one a dem daags in de Cabinet ah read dis post, yuh sk**t know who I mean.

Yes you chap!

Next time, keep yuh money for yuh own sake. Dem politicians will never be satisfied no matter how much yuh give dem.   

Yes you chap!

Next time, keep yuh money for yuh own sake. Dem politicians will never be satisfied no matter how much yuh give dem.   

I man doan buy no cheap anything for those who know me. I ain't no tight fisted coolie. Daags dem

Which is why I always prefer Black people. No Black person ever stiffed me in my life (except that one duck curry incident in Guyana which I'm now over)

Yes you chap!

I man doan buy no cheap anything for those who know me. I ain't no tight fisted coolie. Daags dem

Which is why I always prefer Black people. No Black person ever stiffed me in my life (except that one duck curry incident in Guyana which I'm now over)

I gat mixed experiences. When I first came Merica, wan black ohman borrowed $60. form me saying she will return it after lunch. She neva came back tuh wuk. Had other incidents involving other blacks as well as Indians. I could say that white ohman served up she ting without asking for anything in return. Say what you will about white people but they do have their principles.