VB, this was sent to me by a friend...My condolences ..Tola

Annandale woman dies after hit by speeding car
By Zoisa Fraser | 8 Comments | Local | Friday, October 28, 2011.

A 20-year-old woman died last evening hours after she was struck down by a speeding motor car on the Annandale Public Road, on the East Coast of Demerara.

Shafana Imran of Lot 91 Annandale West, was struck as she made her way to make a purchase at the market. The driver is in police custody assisting with investigations.

Imran sustained serious injuries to the head, hip, arm and foot during the incident, which occurred just before 11 am. She was also bleeding internally and was unconscious when she was rushed into the operating theatre of the Georgetown Hospital for emergency surgery. She died around 6:30 pm, moments after being admitted to the Intensive Care Unit post-surgery.

Based on the accounts given to Stabroek News, Imran, who got married in April and moved to Annandale with her husband, was heading in an easterly direction along the roadway when a speeding car, which was heading west, slammed into her. The woman was pitched several feet on impact and landed on the roadway. Her umbrella, cell phone and slippers flew in different directions.

Residents told Stabroek News at the scene that because of the speed the car was moving at, the driver took some time to slow down before eventually coming to a stop. One resident said that she noticed a traffic build-up and when she looked out she saw a woman with her face covered in blood lying on the roadway. The woman, she said, was gasping for air and her left hand appeared to be broken. The woman, who did not want her name mentioned, said that the left side of the silver grey car was badly damaged.

Another resident, who said that he was close to Imran and her husband, Rasheed, said that moments before the accident the woman asked him to buy some things for her and she was going to collect them on her way back home. He said that he last saw the woman walking at the side of the road, heading in the direction of the Annandale market. The man noted that the woman was facing the upcoming traffic and was at a loss as to how the driver could have collided head on with her.

After he learned of the accident, he contacted her relatives.

This newspaper was told that seconds before the accident a policeman on a motor cycle passed the area. He was later alerted to the accident, returned to the scene and accompanied the driver and the motor car to the Vigilance Police Station.

The unconscious Imran, meanwhile, was rushed to hospital by police. At the hospital midday yesterday relatives were in tears.

A woman who identified herself as Imran’s mother-in-law said that someone went to her house and informed her of the accident. She said that the young woman was her parents’ only daughter and had come to live at her house, two months ago. She said that they often warned her about the busy roadway.

Imran’s distraught husband Rasheed told this newspaper at the hospital that he was at work when he got the news of the accident. He said that the doctors from the beginning told her that she was in a critical condition. They said that “she break her hands, her legs and she is bleeding internally.”

Relatives described her as a willing and contented person.

This is the second serious accident to have occurred along the Annandale road recently. On October 5, Oma Devi Persaud, who lives opposite Imran, was stuck down by a speeding car. She remains a patient in intensive care at the Georgetown Hospital.

Reader Comments Âŧ

Post as â€Ķ
Showing 8 comments

YANA_de_BANA 8 hours ago

az de glaring negligence n incompetence continues unabated by this regime ...

dismal guvanance ...
Flag 1 person liked this. Like ReplyReply Singh_amsterdam 6 hours ago in reply to YANA_de_BANA

MODERATOR, WHAT REGIME HAVE TO DO WITH THIS ACCIDENT? WHY PRINT ALL THESE CRAZY THINGS THIS PERSON TYPE AND THE CHILDREN IN SCHOOL NEVER UNDERSTAND WHAT YANA DE BANA SAYING. WASTING TIME AND SPACE, THE CHILDREN SAYS GET RID OF HIM WHEN HE KEEPING TYPING WHAT THEY CANNOT READ ALL THE TIME.REST IN PEACE SHAFANA.
Flag 1 person liked this. Like BORAPORK 8 hours ago

When will the carnage end. Life in Guyana is cheap and disposable. Rest in peace Shafana.
Flag 4 people liked this. Like ReplyReply DennisTiamFook 8 hours ago

the guyanese people like they are blind on the streets.
Flag Like ReplyReply Kjagnandon 6 hours ago

its my cousin i'm so sorry for her the driver shold be in JAIL FOR LIFE
Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply OBSERVER 6 hours ago

I believe November will be observed as "Road Safety Month"...let's hope the carnage ceases. Condolences to the relatives and friends of Shafana Imran. RiP.
Flag 2 people liked this. Like ReplyReply kassee 4 hours ago

This is very sad.Some drivers never learn.It is very hard for the family to accept their loss.So young and full of life.R.I.P.
Flag Like ReplyReply dev_bhagwan 3 hours ago

Sadly, it could happen again next week, and the week after next.

I have not noticed any of the political parties saying anything positively about road safety - and safety in general!
Gerard Ramsaroop has written extensively about road safety, signage and road markings on GNI political.
Road safety in Guyana seems to be an attitude, where many drivers are inexperienced and lack consideration of others, word is, a person can easily buy a driver's licence and many young drivers are seen with expensive new cars.
Originally posted by Tola:
Gerard Ramsaroop has written extensively about road safety, signage and road markings on GNI political.
Road safety in Guyana seems to be an attitude, where many drivers are inexperienced and lack consideration of others, word is, a person can easily buy a driver's licence and many young drivers are seen with expensive new cars.

is there a government in guyana? i thought it was just a bunch of pigs at the trough. they don't give a rat's ass about the citizens of guyana. all they are concerned with is filling their pockets.
Originally posted by the new yorker:

is there a government in guyana? i thought it was just a bunch of pigs at the trough. they don't give a rat's ass about the citizens of guyana. all they are concerned with is filling their pockets.

New Yorker, this should be taken to political. Only after a person live for a while among ordinary citizens in Guyana, that the full consequence due to government policies,is seen regarding the struggles the people face daily to survive. Suicide due to hopelesness is the ultimate consequence.
The average speed for a car on Guyana highway is 120 KM/HR...The problem with people getting hurt is little consideration is given in crowded areas. Vehicles feel they always have the right of way.
The problem with speeding tickets on the highway is inadequate speed signs [ and police corruption]. The speed limit varies, but it is common sense to know that most drivers speed. Mini busses and 'H' cars are the worst.
Due to the lack of signs, I am unsure about the exact speed limit.

BUT, if it will help you, Belvedere school street is exactly 13 miles from New Amsterdam and duck is more expensive than chicken. Big Grin
The average speed for a car on Guyana highway is 120 KM/HR...The problem with people getting hurt is little consideration is given in crowded areas. Vehicles feel they always have the right of way.
The problem with speeding tickets on the highway is inadequate speed signs [ and police corruption]. The speed limit varies, but it is common sense to know that most drivers speed. Mini busses and 'H' cars are the worst.
Due to the lack of signs, I am unsure about the exact speed limit.

BUT, if it will help you, Belvedere school street is exactly 13 miles from New Amsterdam and duck is more expensive than chicken. Big Grin

120 is too high given the narrow roads and deplorable conditions. That limit needs to be drastically reduced, its not like they have to travel vast distances to get to their destinations.
Sunil
Originally posted by ksazma:
y'all nah mess up dis thread nuh. pleaseaa

I am sorry Ksa...me forget which thread it is.

But I also find, even though we need to be sensitive to some things in life, many are beyond our control. Thus we need to be a bit 'light-hearted' about it in order to cope a bit better.
Many of us might have serious traumatic experiences and know how difficult it is to cope. If everyone around us are 'down' at the same time, it makes it a bit more difficult to overcome the challenge.

This is how I feel at the moment and with all the 'election bikkering' happening on political, I find social to be a place to R&R, or leave the board altogether.
Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers and kind words.

i ended up coming to guyana......a bitter-sweet trip for me as it is my first time back after ten years.....but it was for the funeral of a beloved great-niece.

i read most of the responses and i do agree about the speed and reckless driving on guyana roads (speaking from my current experience).....but more than that I am disgusted with the corruption!!

the killer of my great-niece is completely in the wrong and was charged with dangerous driving causing death.....but get this....his daughter and his son-in-law works within the justice/court system and the accepted believe among everyone here in guyana involved in this is that he will get off!!! nothing will come of this they say!! we found out that last monday morning when he had to appear before the magistrate that the two family members were 'scrambling' to talk to all of the different officials including the police and the magistrate. am i angry?..... YES!! Mad

the magistrate imposed a million dollar bail.....his family got it reduced to four-hundred thousand and he is already back on the road....the killer!!

it is so very sad that everyone here accept the bribery and corruption as the norm Frown

no justice....unless you know 'someone' and are rich!! Mad Frown
Villagebelle
Originally posted by Villagebelle:
Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers and kind words.

i ended up coming to guyana......a bitter-sweet trip for me as it is my first time back after ten years.....but it was for the funeral of a beloved great-niece.

i read most of the responses and i do agree about the speed and reckless driving on guyana roads (speaking from my current experience).....but more than that I am disgusted with the corruption!!

the killer of my great-niece is completely in the wrong and was charged with dangerous driving causing death.....but get this....his daughter and his son-in-law works within the justice/court system and the accepted believe among everyone here in guyana involved in this is that he will get off!!! nothing will come of this they say!! we found out that last monday morning when he had to appear before the magistrate that the two family members were 'scrambling' to talk to all of the different officials including the police and the magistrate. am i angry?..... YES!! Mad

the magistrate imposed a million dollar bail.....his family got it reduced to four-hundred thousand and he is already back on the road....the killer!!

it is so very sad that everyone here accept the bribery and corruption as the norm Frown

no justice....unless you know 'someone' and are rich!! Mad Frown

Very disheartening indeed VB. Frown The good news is that no one excapes God's justice.