A railway service is an Amerindian idea
Written by ASHTON SIMON – MBA, President – National Amerindian Development Foundation
Saturday, 31 December 2011 00:46

NOT because the editorial of a newspaper recognises the need for a rail service in 2011 it means the topic was not discussed before. Ashton Simon from the National Amerindian Development Foundation tried to impress then President Jagdeo that there was vital need for a rail service in Guyana, if we were to follow a sustained development path.

The first time I proposed a rail service for Guyana was at a National Toshaos Council Conference in 2009, then again at the launching of the third draft of the LCDS at the Umana Yana in 2010.

Subsequently, the former president must have recognised the excellent concept of a rail service for Guyana being championed by the Amerindians. A railway service for Guyana is an Amerindian idea which we now recognise as being partnered by media houses, individuals and presidents. I am proud to be recorded as the indigenous person to have made this observation and to have made efforts to be heard by the highest forum in our country.

I was quite confident that maybe at that time it might have seemed irrelevant but ‘ideas’ don’t die and a time will come when it becomes relevant. I see this time of relevance fast approaching and my ignited interest keeps the concept alive. As was mentioned in the KN editorial, December 29, 2011..

Guyana needs a rail service. And while Guyana can only sit and wonder what if others are planning to construct railroads, Bolivia’s President Evo Morales is planning a railway linking his country to Peru. This railway would run from the border with Brazil to the Peruvian port. The reason is that it is cheaper to ship cargo by rail than by road.

I need to add to this.. we need our rail service to open the hinterland, tap and exploit our natural resources, open opportunities for the indigenous peoples, improve our social services, improve hinterland education standards, increase tourism etc.

Our leaders in the past blundered on the railways and we cannot afford to do it again..Let’s look to China for help. I have seen impressive railway systems there. Our railways must head South to our giant neighbour Brazil and in the process divert to indigenous areas to make life better for them and create an economic strategy that will benefit all. This is my dream.

Guyana Chronicle

Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Does D2 have an input on this brilliant idea? coffee

In 1848, the railway tracks first of its kind in South American was laid from Georgetown to Plaisance.

The Emancipated Blacks who swore never to work for their slave masters again flocked to the new modes of transporation.

In the city, tram cars were introduced. The Blacks -the only free labour in the colony became conductors, operators and maintenance personnel.

For the Railway Service, it continued until the tracks were laid from GT to Rosignol. There again the free labour Blacks dominated the service.

Ferry services on the rivers was a major employer of Blacks.

Schools were built by the Churches and once again blacks lead the way in the teaching profession.

Hospital were built and there again blacks lead the way in taht services.
Originally posted by seignet:
Does D2 have an input on this brilliant idea? coffee

In 1848, the railway tracks first of its kind in South American was laid from Georgetown to Plaisance.

The Emancipated Blacks who swore never to work for their slave masters again flocked to the new modes of transporation.

In the city, tram cars were introduced. The Blacks -the only free labour in the colony became conductors, operators and maintenance personnel.

For the Railway Service, it continued until the tracks were laid from GT to Rosignol. There again the free labour Blacks dominated the service.

Ferry services on the rivers was a major employer of Blacks.

Schools were built by the Churches and once again blacks lead the way in the teaching profession.

Hospital were built and there again blacks lead the way in taht services.

Then the railroads were decommissioned and the Blacks lead the way there too.
The country fell into dismal economic conditions and the Blacks lead the way too. ahhahahaha

Then the PPP gave milk and the Blacks lined up and lead the way but they did not vote PPP. ahahaahh
They can't even build and maintain roads during the flooding in the interior. How they hell will they maintain railroads in the bush?

Like you want to kill off the amerindians with train fatalities. All you deed is a downed tree or a flood to derail the train.
Originally posted by Nuff:
They can't even build and maintain roads during the flooding in the interior. How they hell will they maintain railroads in the bush?

Like you want to kill off the amerindians with train fatalities. All you deed is a downed tree or a flood to derail the train.

A good way to achieve afro ancestral rights.

Tell dem deh. Coolies only know to cut cane and drink rum, this is why Guyana gone to the dogs. Pity how we coolies screw up dat good ting di PNC gi abie. Mi tell dem bais, gi di country bak to dem PNC and is progress galore juss like we had di fuss time aroun', roads, rail, electricity, water, nuff nuff food and clothes. Lang live da PNC.

Many countries have railroad in the bush. hahhaha

The terrain chosen has to be proper and the forest has to be cleared properly. Singapor, Costa Rica, Burma, Brazil just to name a few.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:

Many countries have railroad in the bush. hahhaha

The terrain chosen has to be proper and the forest has to be cleared properly. Singapor, Costa Rica, Burma, Brazil just to name a few.

deh man doan hve wisdom-that is a gift from the ONE who created the universe. he is believer in big bang.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:

Tell dem deh. Coolies only know to cut cane and drink rum, this is why Guyana gone to the dogs. Pity how we coolies screw up dat good ting di PNC gi abie. Mi tell dem bais, gi di country bak to dem PNC and is progress galore juss like we had di fuss time aroun', roads, rail, electricity, water, nuff nuff food and clothes. Lang live da PNC.
i did not know that any body had the country,thanks for telling me
A railway service is an Amerindian idea
Written by ASHTON SIMON – MBA, President – National Amerindian Development Foundation
Saturday, 31 December 2011 00:46

NOT because the editorial of a newspaper recognises the need for a rail service in 2011 it means the topic was not discussed before. Ashton Simon from the National Amerindian Development Foundation tried to impress then President Jagdeo that there was vital need for a rail service in Guyana, if we were to follow a sustained development path.

The first time I proposed a rail service for Guyana was at a National Toshaos Council Conference in 2009, then again at the launching of the third draft of the LCDS at the Umana Yana in 2010.

Subsequently, the former president must have recognised the excellent concept of a rail service for Guyana being championed by the Amerindians. A railway service for Guyana is an Amerindian idea which we now recognise as being partnered by media houses, individuals and presidents. I am proud to be recorded as the indigenous person to have made this observation and to have made efforts to be heard by the highest forum in our country.

I was quite confident that maybe at that time it might have seemed irrelevant but ‘ideas’ don’t die and a time will come when it becomes relevant. I see this time of relevance fast approaching and my ignited interest keeps the concept alive. As was mentioned in the KN editorial, December 29, 2011..

Guyana needs a rail service. And while Guyana can only sit and wonder what if others are planning to construct railroads, Bolivia’s President Evo Morales is planning a railway linking his country to Peru. This railway would run from the border with Brazil to the Peruvian port. The reason is that it is cheaper to ship cargo by rail than by road.

I need to add to this.. we need our rail service to open the hinterland, tap and exploit our natural resources, open opportunities for the indigenous peoples, improve our social services, improve hinterland education standards, increase tourism etc.

Our leaders in the past blundered on the railways and we cannot afford to do it again..Let’s look to China for help. I have seen impressive railway systems there. Our railways must head South to our giant neighbour Brazil and in the process divert to indigenous areas to make life better for them and create an economic strategy that will benefit all. This is my dream.

Guyana Chronicle

The writer may have "proposed" it. But the idea of the railway is written in the National Development Strategy which was prepared since the late 1990s.

The PNC tried to run them out of the country to venezuela. The GDF burned down their houses.

I can't help noticing how you people always try to underplay productive ventures by your negative thinking..