CJIA’s US$150M and counting… Not yet commissioned, Arrivals terminal inadequate

A modified terminal building at the Timehri airport is already facing constraints, and it is not even commissioned as yet.
Passengers disclosed that the brand new Arrivals terminal, located at southern side of the old terminal building, can barely accommodate three plane loads of passengers.
In fact, lines are curling into those corridors that lead to the air bridges when there are just three planes.
Should there be four or five planes landing, of the Boeing 737 size, the problems would be multiplied, a number of stakeholders complained.

The smaller terminal building, one-storeyed, could only hold the Arrivals section, and even then, it is too small.

This would not be what was envisaged when the fixed price, Design and Building contract was signed in late 2011, at the end of the Bharrat Jagdeo administration.
In the “Background” of the agreement that the then government signed justifying the US$150M project, it was explained that the Government of Guyana has identified tourism as a priority in the country’s economic development plan and recognizes that improvement of Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) is of paramount importance in order to promote a sustainable tourism industry. It was specific on the space issue.
In fact, this is what the contract says on the justification, “The existing airport terminal building is not currently capable of meeting peak traffic demand, or of expanding to meet the desired growth in passenger volume. It also cannot accommodate state-of-the-art airport terminal systems for passenger comfort, convenience and efficiency.”
The agreement with the contractor, China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC), further said that one-storey terminal building cannot accommodate aircraft boarding bridges forcing passengers to walk to and from the aircraft along the apron.
“The ability to generate revenue from concessions, airline office space and ticket counter usage is also limited. Expansion capabilities of the existing terminal are compromised due to the current terminal configurations.”
However, several things have gone wrong with this project with three administrations unable to explain how one contractor, a Chinese company, could have held Guyana at ransom like this without any known sanctions.
A project that was supposed to see a brand new, two-storey terminal building, to house the Arrival and Departure section, and more concession space, has been significantly modified.
An Arrivals section has been built and instead of the old terminal building torn down or used for something else, it was gutted renovated to include the Departure area.
Millions of dollars, and this is US dollars, would have been saved from the modified project.
The problem is that Guyana has not been apprised of the details of the modifications and the reasons.
In fact, according to Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday, attempts to raise the matter in the National Assembly over time would have been them being shut down by one-line answers by the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, which is in charge of the project.
He said that under a new government of the People’s Progressive Party, it will review what went wrong.
Kaieteur News had raised several questionable expenses in the contract.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...terminal-inadequate/

Oi man what derass with you and constantly calling fo "jail" people? You are just as f#dup as Trump is with his dumass cries about "lock her up" shit when he is the friken creep who should be incarcerated.

Will Patterson be the first PNC minister heading to jail ?

Should the PPP win the general elections in March it would be interesting to see what they uncover in their investigations.  I hope they find the US$ 18 million.

Me thinks the chickens are counted before they are hatched.

Aren’t you interested in APNU- AFC corruption. 

Where have i condoned such ? , can count all in the 3+ yrs.

Can you tell us what guidelines should be used to determine the severity.

Fair. Lots of twists, turns & leaps could unfold between now and March. Meanwhile, instead of counting chickens, let's chant: "33 greater than 32 but 34 is de Greatest." 😁

Should the PPP win the general elections in March it would be interesting to see what they uncover in their investigations.  I hope they find the US$ 18 million.

This by the way was the PPP plum graft scheme as was the Marriott. If the PPP gets back into power t hey have not demonstrated that they are a better set of humans. We will have a return of the same crooks who will immediately re initiate every parasitic and leech program in their portfolio. Hopefully, the Amerindians can check them.

The treasury is empty. The country is broke. 33,000 jobs lost and these dictators want to violate the constitution and govern despite being voted out with a no confidence motion. 

Jagdeo will find a way to remove these shameless thugs. 

This by the way was the PPP plum graft scheme as was the Marriott. If the PPP gets back into power t hey have not demonstrated that they are a better set of humans. We will have a return of the same crooks who will immediately re initiate every parasitic and leech program in their portfolio. Hopefully, the Amerindians can check them.

I think that with you as their leader, they can accomplish this. Go for it. Start shouting SHUMAN! SHUMAN!

Fair. Lots of twists, turns & leaps could unfold between now and March. Meanwhile, instead of counting chickens, let's chant: "33 greater than 32 but 34 is de Greatest." 😁

I warned a lot of people about Granger and the PNC before the last election. No one listened. Looks like Guyanese will have to hit the streets to remind this administration that they are illegally holding on to office 

Which and where ?  Some of you hoping for a clash, then will say i told you so.

The Coalition Gov't can't stall, they have to succumb.

I think that with you as their leader, they can accomplish this. Go for it. Start shouting SHUMAN! SHUMAN!

Bai, Shoeman 👠 has zero political exposure and representation. The PPP has no fear of 👠 shoeman. It will take him at least five years to really make an impact. PPP has some heavyweight Amerindian MP’s. This election will be all about PPP and PNC.

PNC is making another blunder by challenging the no confidence vote. It really hurts their credibility. Desperate people do desperate things. The international community is watching. 

D2 is dreaming about 👠 Shoeman. 

Bai, Shoeman 👠 has zero political exposure and representation. The PPP has no fear of 👠 shoeman. It will take him at least five years to really make an impact. PPP has some heavyweight Amerindian MP’s. This election will be all about PPP and PNC.

PNC is making another blunder by challenging the no confidence vote. It really hurts their credibility. Desperate people do desperate things. The international community is watching. 

D2 is dreaming about 👠 Shoeman. 

The Amerindians almost always vote for the PPP. They are thankful that Columbus labeled them Indians after the East Indians.

Look at this POS bunch of lies. The PNC has Zero evidence of corruption. Zero. Dem bais seh shyte does not count. Prosecute or just shut the hell up with BS claims. 

The PNC wasted billions and stole $ 700 million for an independence celebration fete and wine down stadium which is already falling apart and look at this POS poster talking about Corruption.

The emperor has no clothes. 

Word of warning. Ronan may get on your case for predicting things. He prefers to wait until they happen before commenting.  

I do not write here for anyone but me. And I will argue my position with anyone as long as I know I am on the right side. I can be convinced but if the response is nonsense I will also play...I always like a fight. I will even fight with Cain for his rock hard tennis rolls because I want to.

aBibi Haniffa posted:

Charrandas rushed out of the country fearing for his life. Them bannas will rush out with their suitcases full of cash. 

aBibi Haniffa posted:

Charrandas rushed out of the country fearing for his life. Them bannas will rush out with their suitcases full of cash. 

One is allowed to bring in any amount. Over 10K, Canada requires you to declare it.