A new day begins at Richmond Hill High         

Community leaders lay out plan to remove trailer classrooms by 2015

<dl class="moz-border blox-social-tools-horizontal" id="story-font-size"><dt>  </dt></dl>

Posted: Thursday, November 13, 2014 10:30 am         

Advocates and leaders of Richmond Hill High School last Thursday announced that the school’s much-maligned classroom trailers will be removed and replaced with a playground facility by spring 2015, and that seven additional classrooms will be constructed within the building to accommodate students.

“The school is returning to its former glory,” said Vishnu Mahadeo, president and executive director of the Richmond Hill Economic Development Council, at a press conference in the school’s auditorium.

Mahadeo, flanked by Community Board 9 Education Committee Chairman Seth Welins and Barbara Sherman, deputy policy director for Public Advocate Letitia James, also announced that the school will be receiving three new computer labs, a refurbished swimming pool and other resources as part of an $8.7 million renovation project granted by the state.

“This came about because of the support of our elected officials,” Mahadeo said.

The playground, which for years has been inhabitated by classroom trailers, will be remodeled as a “state-of-the-art playground facility,” including a running track, community leaders at the press conference announced.

The trailers were placed at the high school years ago by the city Department of Education after RHHS began to take in more students than it had room for. The city also rented space at St. Benedict’s School, located a few blocks away, when the trailers also became overcrowded.

The de Blasio administration struck a deal to keep the annex open, after Bloomberg said the city would close it.

Sherman said the public advocate toured the trailers and was appalled at the conditions the teenagers were being taught in.

“No child should be taught in a trailer,” she told parents.

The seven classrooms that will be built with the $8.7 million from the state, Mahadeo said, will be more than enough to allow students to be taught in the main building.

“It looks like we will be able to accommodate all of them within the school,” he said.

Although three people stood at the front of the auditorium announcing the news of the trailers’ imminent removal, two of them said Mahadeo deserved all the credit.

“This has been a one-man crusade,” Sherman said of Mahadeo.

Community leaders also announced that the school was making internal improvements, with more teenagers completing their four-year program than in recent years.

Last year, the graduation rate at the school was 64 percent, up from 48 just a few years ago, officials announced.

The school also has an 88 percent attendance rate.

Leaders also praised de Blasio for adding the school to a list of 12 Queens institutions that will receive new funding for additional resources, in an attempt to improve test scores.

“I think it’s outstanding what this administration is doing,” Mahadeo said of the mayor’s initiative.

I want to THANK Vishnu and congratulate him on a Jod well done. Vishnu has been FIGHTING for our Community all by himself for too long. This Gentleman has a heart of GOLD. While Parents with children in the Bars talking SHIT, he is at Community Board Meetings, Hearings, Town Hall Meetings making the cases for an improved RH.  I PERSONALLY THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS YOU.

Many here and elsewhere in our Community can talk BUT you actually do things and get things done.

When our daughter went to school here in Toronto she was also in one of those trailers and we always spoke up on this. Trailers are ok for things like Woodwork or maybe crafts, but to sit in there during regular classes is a joke. In Winter these trailers are messy and much cooler than in school, some were also found to have insulation which was bad for health.

You get services based on the taxes paid. It is no secret that compared to other municipalities Queens residents pay insanely low taxes.

What is the average taxes paid by a home owner in curry hill?

I want to THANK Vishnu and congratulate him on a Jod well done. Vishnu has been FIGHTING for our Community all by himself for too long. This Gentleman has a heart of GOLD. While Parents with children in the Bars talking SHIT, he is at Community Board Meetings, Hearings, Town Hall Meetings making the cases for an improved RH.  I PERSONALLY THANK YOU AND GOD BLESS YOU.

Many here and elsewhere in our Community can talk BUT you actually do things and get things done.

Wow. Impressive.

I must take the humble approach and congratulate Vish for fighting for his community in a selfless manner.

Keep it up Vish. 

Sounds like da man is nothing like u eh?

On that note not to distract from the work Vish M, minus the pony tail has been doing.

Congrats, this is fantastic leadership fighting for your community schools and lobbying to get them to provide better services for the community and students.

I am surprised that the prime minister of Curry Hill and other "leaders" have not joined him to demand more for their community.

Suh wah yuh saying is dat Totaram and aunty Hassan aka Dolly will not show up if no cameras involved?

How about your boy Bisram the basement pollster none of these chaps who actually live in the Curry Hill would not even get involved in their own communities but they are busy wid Guyana eh?

Love it.

Vish M.  Thanks for the tireless work you are doing in the Queens community.  I know a lot of people who live and work in that area and they all speak well of you.  Keep up the good work bro.

Taxes are rock bottom in queens, the services reflect that.

This used to be true but it is no longer the case.  Under the Bloomberg administration property taxes increased dramatically.  The new construction homes pay higher taxes than the rest of Queens.

The tax rates are uniform. What skews the Queens rates lower is the archaic method of evaluation of real property. Yes, Bloomberg did make moves to address this. My property taxes went up too.