Home > TOP STORY > At Ankerville, Corentyne…
At Ankerville, Corentyne…
Leading Bollywood singer, Sonu Nigam, centre, cuts the ceremonial ribbon at yesterday’s opening of the Bal Nivas centre in Akerville, Corentyne. Flanking him, from left, are President Donald Ramotar and First Lady Deolatchmee Ramotar. At far right is GHDS President, Dr. Vindhya Persaud (Photo by Adrian Narine)

At Ankerville, Corentyne…

President Ramotar declares open multi-million-dollar hospice for abused children

PRESIDENT Donald Ramotar yesterday commissioned the multi-million-dollar Bal Nivas centre for children who have been victims of abuse in Ankerville, Corentyne, Berbice.
Addressing the hundreds who attended the event, he stressed that the social challenges Guyana faces in relation to domestic violence and child abuse demand a multi-faceted approach.

The newly-commissioned Bal Nivas centre

The President referred to Government’s efforts to create an atmosphere where domestic violence and child abuse are not tolerated, but are spoken against. In this regard, efforts include passage of new legislation and investment in the social sector.

The President said that when domestic violence and child abuse are eliminated, Guyana would have moved a far way and would have advanced in the right direction to ensure the protection of vulnerable groups.

He also congratulated the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha (GHDS) and its supporters for being able to turn the vision of the Bal Nivas Centre into a reality, and noted that the centre would benefit all Guyanese.

RESPONDING TO A NEED

A section of the substantial gathering that attended opening of the handiwork of the Guyana Hindu Dharmic Sabha

President of the GHDS, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, speaking at the commissioning ceremony yesterday, pointed out that the Bal Nivas centre responds to a need that evidences a real problem. “It is a sad day when we need this type of facility, but the reality is not one we are blind to,” she said, making clear the importance for vulnerable groups to have safety and security.

According to her, the facility is the result of a vision in 2009, and the support of its many stakeholders is greatly appreciated. She proffered the Sabha’s appreciation to Bollywood playback singer Sonu Nigam, whose sold-out concerts assisted the Sabha in raising funds for the centre’s construction. Sonu Nigam was present at the opening ceremony.

Dr Persaud, who stressed that the GHDS is committed to serving the people of Guyana, called on Berbicians to take ownership of the facility in order to ensure that it can continue to serve those in need for many years to come.

The newly-opened hospice, which will house 60 persons at a time, will target children, particularly those with single parents in the surrounding communities.

GHDS President, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, breaks the traditional coconut, according to Hindu custom, at the entrance of the centre during its opening [Photos by Adrian narine)

GHDS President, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, breaks the traditional coconut, according to Hindu custom, at the entrance of the centre during its opening (Photos by Adrian narine)

In January 2012, the GHDS signed the building contract with Kascon Engineering Service of Berbice, and the Government of Guyana donated the land for its construction.

In 2012 also, President Donald Ramotar and leading Bollywood singer Sonu Nigam unveiled the design of the building; and construction of Bal Nivas began in February last year, following numerous fund-raising activities and receipt of donations from individuals, families, businesses and the Sabha’s New York Chapter.

The facility will spearhead many programmes in order to educate communities throughout the country about domestic violence and parenting. Rehabilitation and counselling programmes will also be held to ensure that victims are ready to be placed in a safe environment.

One wing of the building was designated for the counselling centre and a skills-training facility. These are mainly to benefit women in the community who may be suffering at the hands of their partners. The intention is to re-integrate these individuals into the community and proper families after a period of time at the shelter.

The administration of the shelter will be handled by the Sabha, in collaboration with the Ministry of Human Services and the Child Protection Agency.

Also present at the commissioning of this facility were Prime Minister Samuel Hinds; General Secretary of the ruling party, Mr Clement Rohee; Government ministers, Members of Parliament (MPs), and Executives of the GHDS.

(By Vanessa Narine)

Is there a lot of abused children on the Corentyne?

There are too many abused children all over Guyana especially in the rural areas, it is heart breaking to know just how rampant child abuse is. There are some right-minded NGOs that are doing a lot for kids in some communities but the Government needs to do much more, set up safe houses, ensure that the new child protection laws are enforced, provide counseling and  skills training/ job opportunities (directly or through incentives to industry) in the more depressed  areas. The Government is not paying enough attention to social services.

Originally Posted by kajol:

There are too many abused children all over Guyana especially in the rural areas, it is heart breaking to know just how rampant child abuse is. There are some right-minded NGOs that are doing a lot for kids in some communities but the Government needs to do much more, set up safe houses, ensure that the new child protection laws are enforced, provide counseling and  skills training/ job opportunities (directly or through incentives to industry) in the more depressed  areas. The Government is not paying enough attention to social services.

Abused! Does it mean disciplined with licks, Sexual, Abandoned, etc,etc.

I trying to grasp really what is the problem. Growing up, there were isolated cases. From what you have stated, it appears to be rampant. Please a little more details.

Guyana, say Guyana, say SWEET SWEET Guyana. GOD BLESS THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA. WHAT A CARING AND COMPASSIONATE GOVT WORKING IN PARTNERSHIP WITH NGOS AND PRIVATE COMPANIES.  THERE IS NO STOPPING US NOW. TO THE MOON, TO THE MOON WE GO.

How soon u going? Yuh teking anybody with you?

I trying to grasp really what is the problem. Growing up, there were isolated cases. From what you have stated, it appears to be rampant. Please a little more details.

No, no, I don't mean disciplining of children so that they operate within basic social norms and such like things. I am talking about things like sexual abuse and gross neglect, incest,  the things that violate and damage and destroy children. If you talk with the people from Save Abee, Help and Shelter, Restoring Hope International to name some of the NGOs that focus on alleviating these problems, you will get a better picture. A lot of the problems arise because of alcoholism and poverty, lack of education.  When last you visited the rural areas of Guyana? not just to enjoy the coconut water, and duck and wild meat and boat rides up a creek, etc. but to really look at that is happening with the bulk of the people in those communities? I think that it depends on the lens you choose to wear when you visit. I am not morbid and I do not look to detract from the obvious advancements that Guyanese as a whole have experienced since the early 1990s but there is a real problem in the country with violence and abuse, especially directed at the children. I tell you, it haunts me and I wish I could do so much more.  

And BTW, on Sunday, President Donald Ramotar in talking about the Bal Nivas facility  acknowledged/ stated that there is a real problem concerning neglect and abuse of children in Guyana.  I hope that indicates greater focus on alleviating the problem by everyone who can make a difference. Those few authentic NGOs that look after the children so deserve respect.

Opening an institution of this sort is not proof that the Ramouthar/Jagdeo clique is " kind and caring " ....Ramouthar should go to Skeldon and tell the sugar workers why he has'nt fixed the factory as yet, also he should go to the East Bank of Berbice and tell the farmers why he hasn't fixed the main road as yet.....These were two of the  numerous promises made to Berbicians during the elections campaign in 2011.....

Originally Posted by Churchill:

Opening an institution of this sort is not proof that the Ramouthar/Jagdeo clique is " kind and caring " ....Ramouthar should go to Skeldon and tell the sugar workers why he has'nt fixed the factory as yet, also he should go to the East Bank of Berbice and tell the farmers why he hasn't fixed the main road as yet.....These were two of the  numerous promises made to Berbicians during the elections campaign in 2011.....

Agreed Sir Churchill. President ramotar I hope you are seeing this. Those two items listed by Comrade Churchill must be addressed. In all fairness, these issues have been neglected for too long. I personally am NOT happy that the Chinese 100 MILLION US dollars Factory cannot be at full capacity. And I have seen the road at East Berbice and it is nothing to write home about. I noticed that Contracts are being advertised for the Road and hopefully it will get done by year end.

Last edited by Nehru

Agreed Sir Churchill. President ramotar I hope you are seeing this. Those two items listed by Comrade Churchill must be addressed. In all fairness, these issues have been neglected for too long. I personally am NOT happy that the Chinese 100 MILLION US dollars Factory cannot be at full capacity. And I have seen the road at East Berbice and it is nothing to write home about. I noticed that Contracts are being advertised for the Road and hopefully it will get done by year end.

shut up fool,you have no say in the ppp.you is just a collie racist

HEHEHE Hear deh COOLIE DAAG NAH.

you ever help build any thing in guyana,you and the ppp low life is only taking

Warrior built UG and NA Hospital. Big Up Warrior the great Guyanese.

And BTW, on Sunday, President Donald Ramotar in talking about the Bal Nivas facility  acknowledged/ stated that there is a real problem concerning neglect and abuse of children in Guyana.  I hope that indicates greater focus on alleviating the problem by everyone who can make a difference. Those few authentic NGOs that look after the children so deserve respect.

Hopefully employment could address many of those problems. That is no easy task. For the environs of GT and the hinterland gets most of the attention. I can understand the dilemma of the PPP. Is not sweet sweet as summootoo in Berbice as in GT.

Yugi, Why is Priya Maniachand not in the picture?

What is population count of abused Children in Corentyne?

Mits, only recently the AFC was calling out the PPP for not taking care of the less fortunate in Berbice. Now that the PPP has taken action, they are now jealous and still complaining.

As for Priya, I do not have any information why she was not there. I am excited that Vindhya is taking a lead role. She shows promise and is a woman who will protect her dharma and the working class.

I doan why America keep giving away its citizen's money to muslim fanatics in the ME and Afghanistan, old communists in Guyana with anti-american sentiments and an apetite for old american greed compounded with corrupted values.

I say, the State Department should dispose of the present crop of PPPites-bribed dem, they quick to take it. Do it quick before dey give the Chinese the whole damn country. 

I doan why America keep giving away its citizen's money to muslim fanatics in the ME and Afghanistan, old communists in Guyana with anti-american sentiments and an apetite for old american greed compounded with corrupted values.

I say, the State Department should dispose of the present crop of PPPites-bribed dem, they quick to take it. Do it quick before dey give the Chinese the whole damn country. 

How do you address the muslim fanatics in the Middle East?

The PPP did not build this.  This was done by the sweat of thousands of HINDUS who raised fund both in and out of Guyana to build this faiclity for all of Guyana.  Ask the SEE I OH GEE if they will every do something like this for all of Guyana.

Even my money in that facility since I made a donation.

GOD BLESS Madam Vindya. Persaud.