TK posted:

PNC IS FILTH SO I EXPECT THEIR SUPPORTERS TO BE THE SAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You drunken fool...they cleaned up GT. The PPP made it into the most filthy city in CARICOM.   

YUH DUMB JACKASS, YUH KISS BHARAT ASS HE KICKED YOU, YUH KISS HOYTE ASS HE SPAT ON YOU, YUH KISS TROTTY ASS, HE THROW POSEY ON YOU, YUH KISS GRANGER ASS IN BROOKLYN AND HE URINE ON YOU YUH SHAMELESS DAAG!!!!!

YUH GUN GET MINISTER WUH WHEN THE ATLANTIC OCEAN DRIES UP YUH DUMB ASS!!!

TK posted:

PNC IS FILTH SO I EXPECT THEIR SUPPORTERS TO BE THE SAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You drunken fool...they cleaned up GT. The PPP made it into the most filthy city in CARICOM.   

YUH DUMB JACKASS, YUH KISS BHARAT ASS HE KICKED YOU, YUH KISS HOYTE ASS HE SPAT ON YOU, YUH KISS TROTTY ASS, HE THROW POSEY ON YOU, YUH KISS GRANGER ASS IN BROOKLYN AND HE URINE ON YOU YUH SHAMELESS DAAG!!!!!

YUH GUN GET MINISTER WUH WHEN THE ATLANTIC OCEAN DRIES UP YUH DUMB ASS!!!

So you is a smart ass? By the way, are you jealous that is not only you kiss Bharrat's ass?

T, If all the Indians left Guyana, there will be massive starvation. Most PNC backers(negroes) live in GT and they contribute nothing to the economy. Why you think Burnham did not get rid of the coolies?

And yet I don't see blacks starving in Jamaica, Grenada or Dominica, any more than they do in Guyana. And Indians flee to Barbados, St Kitts and other places to wash the bottoms of black babies.

T, If all the Indians left Guyana, there will be massive starvation. Most PNC backers(negroes) live in GT and they contribute nothing to the economy. Why you think Burnham did not get rid of the coolies?

And yet I don't see blacks starving in Jamaica, Grenada or Dominica, any more than they do in Guyana. And Indians flee to Barbados, St Kitts and other places to wash the bottoms of black babies.

Carib, why yuh tekking on Skelly? He could not be serious. When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met. Those ex-slaves already knew how to survive outside the sugar estates even though they weren't gifted 5-acre plots of land as the ex-indentured servants. 

What Skelly doesn't realize is that if all the Blacks decide from tomorrow to boycott Indian businesses and refuse to serve Indians in the hospitals and schools and government ministries, there would be massive exodus of Indos out of Guyana.

Indos and Afros share a mutual dependency. 

Carib, why yuh tekking on Skelly? He could not be serious. When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met. Those ex-slaves already knew how to survive outside the sugar estates even though they weren't gifted 5-acre plots of land as the ex-indentured servants. 

What Skelly doesn't realize is that if all the Blacks decide from tomorrow to boycott Indian businesses and refuse to serve Indians in the hospitals and schools and government ministries, there would be massive exodus of Indos out of Guyana.

Because his belief is broadly shared by Indians, and was used to stigmatize blacks when the PPP was in power.

Mr.T posted:
baseman posted:

Things are not really tight globally, that is hog wash.  China is transitioning to a consumer economy as such certain commodity-based economies are struggling.

With those words you just displayed your total lack of knowledge of the world economy right now. Is who feeding you the nonsense that the world economy is doing OK? The PPP?

If exports are so good for Guyana, why are the East Indians complaining? You admitting  that those Guyanese rass are lying just for teh sake of it?

What is happening is that a few Indian elites are screaming when they see that corruption remains in Guyana, except that they, being PPP affiliated, are being squeezed out of putting their hands in the cookie jar.

So they invent the lie that legions of ordinary Indians are being fired.

The coalition's time in power will certainly be a short one if they believe it is only the elites suffering and complaining. Even the public servants I know are saying that the $50000 cannot get them out of the hole - car payments, courts, electricity, school fees, money for lessons for children, food prices which have gone up I spite of the slow down, etc. The early budget might indicate how much the government hopes to inject in the economy to get it going. 

Z
Zed posted:
Mr.T posted:
baseman posted:

Things are not really tight globally, that is hog wash.  China is transitioning to a consumer economy as such certain commodity-based economies are struggling.

With those words you just displayed your total lack of knowledge of the world economy right now. Is who feeding you the nonsense that the world economy is doing OK? The PPP?

If exports are so good for Guyana, why are the East Indians complaining? You admitting  that those Guyanese rass are lying just for teh sake of it?

What is happening is that a few Indian elites are screaming when they see that corruption remains in Guyana, except that they, being PPP affiliated, are being squeezed out of putting their hands in the cookie jar.

The coalition's time in power will certainly be a short one if they believe it is only the elites suffering and complaining. Even the public servants I know are saying that the $50000 cannot get them out of the hole - car payments, courts, electricity, school fees, money for lessons for children, food prices which have gone up I spite of the slow down, etc. The early budget might indicate how much the government hopes to inject in the economy to get it going. 

The budget will just add some short-term relief...nothing fundamental. The new govt is merely following this crazy idea you guys from PPP had at MOF that the cycle and trend are the same. The budget cannot fix the structural malaise of the economy.  

TK posted:
Zed posted:

The budget will just add some short-term relief...nothing fundamental. The new govt is merely following this crazy idea you guys from PPP had at MOF that the cycle and trend are the same. The budget cannot fix the structural malaise of the economy.  

Right now I don't think that the PPP nor APNU/AFC are looking that good.  Large segments of the population were extremely frustrated with the intense corruption, and growing income inequality which occurred under the PPP.  I just cannot imagine that the civil servants would seriously think that their lot would have been better under them.

If the PPP wins, it will be based on their ability to galvanize their race vote, and the fact that APNU support base is highly dissatisfied with them, and so mightn't vote.

To suggest that this will mean prosperity for Guyana is nonsense, as our number one issue for the country's malaise is that heightened sense of exclusion which both major groups suffer from.  So I don't know why some think that the PPP will benefit.

Guyana's problem is one of malaise.  Any number of CARICOM nations wish that they had the untapped potential that Guyana has.  While Guyana can develop a real agro/mining-industrial base, they are left with gimmicks like selling passports, and hosting off shore medical schools in order to survive.

Guyana's problems are the Guyanese.  The high level of alienation comes because Guyana has highly corrupt and unimaginative elites, and a population which is cynical, and has lost hope. 

The last straw was when the coalition gov't immediately rewarded themselves with pay increases, and now seem in cahoots with the PPP elites, as quite likely they cannot offer evidence of corruption, without implicating themselves.  Too many of them sucked up the droplets of soup which Jagdeo offered them, and so cannot do anything. Brazzy knows who to squeal on, so they leave him alone.

Will Clive Thomas be bold enough to drop the shoe, knowing that its not only PPP thieves who will be caught.

TK posted:
Zed posted:
Mr.T posted:
baseman posted:

to speak of an economic cycle in a primitive economy such as Guyana's is to miss the point entirely

When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met. 

Gil,

You are talking rubbish here.

Not one single historian has made any mention of this. Are you now rewriting the History books for the useless AFC/PNC ?

When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met. 

Gil,

Not one single historian has made any mention of this. Are you now rewriting the History books for the useless AFC/PNC ?

There were frequent references to the sickliness of the new arrivals, as well as how weak they were when compared to the local black, and the black immigrant populations. 

Comments were often made that one black could do the work of several Indians, and in fact the heavier work continued to be awarded to blacks, even though the planters preferred the more easily controlled (docile) Indian indentures.

It wasn't until the 1880s when Indians began to be seen as not a bunch of weaklings, so yes they did arrive from India starved. Note that it was a famine in India which induced the migration in the first place.

redux posted:

i don't think Clive Thomas is the problem

Reports are that Clive Thomas' hands are clean.

Remember that Brassington was a Hoyte appointee.  When he bawls "nuff story might come out"!

Excluded by the PNC prior to 1992, and by the PPP after that, Thomas hasn't had the opportunity to steal. Even if he were that inclined.

Reports are that he is quite zealous in ensuring that PPP thieves are put away.  Rumors are that some others in the coalition gov't are less zealous, as they are afraid that their names might be called, when PPP thieves attempt to defend themselves. 

Folks wonder if the MoF is protecting Brassington, and if so, why.  Recall that certain AFC folks were embroiled in the Amaila Falls fiasco, meaning that they might not be as innocent as some would want to think.

Rumors also persist that very high members of the coalition gov't have open palms waiting to be greased. They feel that if the PPP stole millions, then they must at least get a few thousand.  These old men need to steal as much as they can in 5 years, because even they don't know that they will be around after that.

So will Clive be allowed to act?

Gil,

There were frequent references to the sickliness of the new arrivals, as well as how weak they were when compared to the local black, and the black immigrant populations. 

Comments were often made that one black could do the work of several Indians, and in fact the heavier work continued to be awarded to blacks, even though the planters preferred the more easily controlled (docile) Indian indentures.

It wasn't until the 1880s when Indians began to be seen as not a bunch of weaklings, so yes they did arrive from India starved. Note that it was a famine in India which induced the migration in the first place.

Quote from Historic sources. Books, authors, pages etc. Please be specific.

TK posted:
Zed posted:

Right now I don't think that the PPP nor APNU/AFC are looking that good.  Large segments of the population were extremely frustrated with the intense corruption, and growing income inequality....

If the PPP wins, it will be based on their ability to galvanize their race vote, and the fact that APNU support base is highly dissatisfied with them, and so mightn't vote.

The last straw was when the coalition gov't immediately rewarded themselves with pay increases, and now seem in cahoots with the PPP elites, as quite likely they cannot offer evidence of corruption, without implicating themselves....

Isn't this some funny shyte or what!  Income equality?  There will nothing to "equal" if there is none.  Alyuh NEVER learn, alyuh jump and prance behind short-termism and instant glory and believe every katahar economist.  And since when Indians are 50+% of the population?  And you are not the first to claim PNC insiders are being driven by the PPP.  So tell we nah, who ruling Guyana, is it Granger or Harmon or Nagamootoo or Jagdeo?

Gil,

Listen bwoi, many Afros got ill, died and were buried at sea.  That was one arduous journey on rocking ships enough to make anyone get dehydrated from sea-sick.  I happen to know my great grandfather who came on one of that last boats at age 14.  I was a lil boy, but I remember him telling us those stories.

You Blacks like to refer to Indians as "weaklings", well clearly the Brits saw something else.  It's those same "weaklings" on whose backs the economy was built.  Blacks played their part and I will not take that, but be careful how you castigate others.  It's those weaklings today who control the economy.  Don't get baseman started!  I'm being polite seeing is "alyuh pon tap" for now!

Is this your opinion or documented facts????

Documented facts.

Gilbakka said: “When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met.”

yuji22 said: “Gil, You are talking rubbish here. Not one single historian has made any mention of this.”

GILBAKKA'S RESPONSE:

Important point: We're discussing the year 1838.

Guyanese historian Dr Tota Mangar writes: “From the very inception, the indentureship system was plagued with controversy. True enough there were strong 'push' factors which motivated the people to leave their homeland such as high levels of unemployment, chronic poverty, indebtedness and even famine, and at the same time many were disposed to respond to promises of better times and what they perceived as 'greener pastures'.” [GUYANA CHRONICLE, May 5, 2014]

Please note the word “famine” which indicates starvation.

In his book THE GUYANA STORY, Odeen Ishmael writes: “Of the 396 Indians who arrived in May 1838, 48 had died by January 1839. By the end of the indenture period in 1843, an additional 50 died. It was clear that the immigrants did not acclimatize very well and fell sick very quickly.” At the end of 1843 when their period of indentureship ended, only 60 Indians chose to stay in Guyana, according to Odeen Ishmael.

So, from what Ishmael writes, within the first 5 years, 25 percent or one-quarter of the Indians died. Only 15 percent of the Indians chose to stay in Guyana when their contract ended. Clearly, the first batch of Indians that arrived in Guyana in 1838 were half-starved and not healthy enough to withstand tough conditions. 

baseman posted:
.  And since when Indians are 50+% of the population?  And you are not the first to claim PNC insiders are being driven by the PPP.  So tell we nah, who ruling Guyana, is it Granger or Harmon or Nagamootoo or Jagdeo?

A simpleton like you ought to know that elections are won, NOT by those eligible to vote, but by those who ACTUALLY vote. 

The biggest threat to APNU is that its support base are very frustrated by their failure to persecute corrupt PPP folks, and by the fact that they high handedly awarded themselves higher salary increase then that which they gave rte ordinary man.

So if 90% of the PPP base votes, and only 60% of the APNU/AFC base do, then the PPP wins, by screaming "coolie people party, black man done".

The dominant theme that I am hearing from those who were sympathetic to the coalition gov't is that they are NOT going to get their base out to vote in the near future, unless they do something radically different.

As of now they are seen as "PPP light, minus the anti black racism".  Not good enough for those who voted for change.

Gilbakka said: “When Indians arrived in Guyana in 1838 they looked more starved than the Blacks whom they met.”

yuji22 said: “Gil, You are talking rubbish here. Not one single historian has made any mention of this.”

GILBAKKA'S RESPONSE:

Important point: We're discussing the year 1838.

Guyanese historian Dr Tota Mangar writes: “From the very inception, the indentureship system was plagued with controversy. True enough there were strong 'push' factors which motivated the people to leave their homeland such as high levels of unemployment, chronic poverty, indebtedness and even famine, and at the same time many were disposed to respond to promises of better times and what they perceived as 'greener pastures'.” [GUYANA CHRONICLE, May 5, 2014]

Please note the word “famine” which indicates starvation.

In his book THE GUYANA STORY, Odeen Ishmael writes: “Of the 396 Indians who arrived in May 1838, 48 had died by January 1839. By the end of the indenture period in 1843, an additional 50 died. It was clear that the immigrants did not acclimatize very well and fell sick very quickly.” At the end of 1843 when their period of indentureship ended, only 60 Indians chose to stay in Guyana, according to Odeen Ishmael.

So, from what Ishmael writes, within the first 5 years, 25 percent or one-quarter of the Indians died. Only 15 percent of the Indians chose to stay in Guyana when their contract ended. Clearly, the first batch of Indians that arrived in Guyana in 1838 were half-starved and not healthy enough to withstand tough conditions. 

This is an established historical fact. 

The planters, who wanted simultaneously to remove blacks from the estates, but also to destroy their villages, were disappointed that the initial low productivity of the Indians forced them to retain blacks for the heavy jobs, like maintaining the drainage canals.

baseman posted:

Listen bwoi, many Afros got ill, died and were buried at sea..

You Blacks like to refer to Indians as "weaklings", well clearly the Brits saw something else.  It's those same "weaklings" on whose backs the economy was built.  Blacks played their part and I will not take that, but be careful how you castigate others.  It's those weaklings today who control the economy.  Don't get baseman started!  I'm being polite seeing is "alyuh pon tap" for now!

Except that by the time the Indians had arrived the majority of the blacks were Caribbean born, and had long recovered from the Middle Passage.  In addition there is no reference to the African indentures being weak.  Africa wasn't a source because they had difficulty recruiting people to work in Guyana, as many were fearful that this was merely a renewed from of slavery.

The British did consider the Indians weak. Why do you think that they recruited blacks almost exclusively for the various militias and police forces. In fact in order to prevent the Indians from joining, they deliberately put in place height and weight requirements which few Indians at the time met.

Any way you can continue to claim that "Indians control the economy".  It is more accurate to say that a SMALL Indian ELITE control, as the masses of Indians are scarcely any better off than are the blacks.

And baseman you and the rest of the Indo KKK portray Indians as weaklings. Look at the fact that your biggest campaign slogan EVERY elections is "blackman gun beat ahbie, blackman gun kill ahbe, black gun rape ahbe daughters".

In fact this is your whole narrative of post 1957 Guyana.

These are the laments of weak and emasculated men who don't think that they can defend themselves.

The Indo KKK should blame itself if Indians are still seen, or see themselves, as emasculated weaklings.  It is clear that the Indo KKK (and the PPP) does.

"blackman gun beat ahbie, blackman gun kill ahbe, black gun rape ahbe daughters"

They say that in GT. In Berbice the blackman knows his place. He sits like a cat being watched by a pit bull. These days the younger generation is more militant than us, our fathers or grand fathers. They "ain't frikken no none". Why you think PNC stole guns and give to the negroes? Think about it.

"blackman gun beat ahbie, blackman gun kill ahbe, black gun rape ahbe daughters"

They say that in GT. In Berbice the blackman knows his place. He sits like a cat being watched by a pit bull. These days the younger generation is more militant than us, our fathers or grand fathers. They "ain't frikken no none". Why you think PNC stole guns and give to the negroes? Think about it.

Every year this is the scream of the PPP at Babu John.  Is Babu John in GT?

If the Indo KKK don't think that Indians are a bunch of weaklings, why was this the core of the PPP campaign?

No you actually got it wrong. Indians in GT are NOT afraid of blacks, and do NOT see themselves as weak people who need to be defended. Which is why large numbers of them do NOT support the PPP.

It is the rural Indian, living in terror of blacks, who do support the PPP< even though they know how bad the PPP was.

The PPP knows the PNC GDF and PNC police stole guns to arm the negroes who will support the PNC if they decide to burn, loot and kill in GT.

This scream is part of the "black people gun kill ahbie, and rape we daughter" wail.

Jagdeo was Commander in Chief and Best was his boy friend at the time, though has since jumped off the sinking ship.   The CoP who succeeded Felix was Jagdeo's partner in crime.

Don't tell me that it is credible that whole sale theft of guns from the GDF and the police was possible without the PPP putting a stop to it.

No the Indo KKK knows that rural Indians think that they are weak and emasculated and terrified of blacks.  So they scream this as a verse in the PPP manifesto.

Cobra posted:

No gloomy and depressing Christmas at the Dharm Shala. President Granger visited the institution today and promised to increase the government subvention to $1 million.

Early this morning President Granger visited these Indo women in the Public Hospital Georgetown where they had just given birth to  Christmas babies. They are not gloomy and depressed.

If that baby is a boy the parents should name him David. If its a girl, name her Amna.  

And if a antiman name it Cobra 

baseman posted:
.  And since when Indians are 50+% of the population?  And you are not the first to claim PNC insiders are being driven by the PPP.  So tell we nah, who ruling Guyana, is it Granger or Harmon or Nagamootoo or Jagdeo?

A simpleton like you ought to know that elections are won, NOT by those eligible to vote, but by those who ACTUALLY vote. 

The biggest threat to APNU is that its support base are very frustrated by their failure to persecute corrupt PPP folks, and by the fact that they high handedly awarded themselves higher salary increase then that which they gave rte ordinary man.

So if 90% of the PPP base votes, and only 60% of the APNU/AFC base do, then the PPP wins, by screaming "coolie people party, black man done".

The dominant theme that I am hearing from those who were sympathetic to the coalition gov't is that they are NOT going to get their base out to vote in the near future, unless they do something radically different.

As of now they are seen as "PPP light, minus the anti black racism".  Not good enough for those who voted for change.

Ok Mr non-simplton, leh mi mek it lil mo easy for you to decipher. May 2015 had one of the highest turn outs, maybe as high as 90% overall on both sides.  So, are Indians 49% of Guyana's population, not withstanding the fact that as much as 5% went AFC/PNC.

baseman posted:

Ok Mr non-simplton, leh mi mek it lil mo easy for you to decipher. May 2015 had one of the highest turn outs, maybe as high as 90% overall on both sides.  So, are Indians 49% of Guyana's population, not withstanding the fact that as much as 5% went AFC/PNC.

The PPP campaigned on a savage black man theme.  They told both Indians and Amerindians that if "blackman win, GDF gun kill you and rape yu daughter".

But by 2020 when Amerindians see that "blackman rule" didn't result in mass pillage by blacks they may be harder to scare.

What should worry APNU/AFC is if the black and mix voters think that they are no better than the PPP, except less racist towards them.  They voted for CHANGE, not the "PPP with black people hair".  They fear the same arrogant corruption as they saw under the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal, and are NOT impressed. 

When blacks/mixed aren't impressed, they don't vote. Corbin found that out.

BTW Indians+Amerindians=Africans+ Mixed.

The trick for the PPP is to woo more mixed, as Africans will take longer to trust them, as most still view Indians as vipers.

The trick for APNU/AFC is to woo more Amerindians, As Indians are too angry that Nagamootoo "sell out de country to blackman, and blackman a kill ahbe, plus blackman lazy and just want to rob coolie".

baseman posted:

The PPP campaigned on a savage black man theme.  They told both Indians and Amerindians that if "blackman win, GDF gun kill you and rape yu daughter".

But by 2020 when Amerindians see that "blackman rule" didn't result in mass pillage by blacks they may be harder to scare.

What should worry APNU/AFC is if the black and mix voters think that they are no better than the PPP, except less racist towards them.  They voted for CHANGE, not the "PPP with black people hair".  They fear the same arrogant corruption as they saw under the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal, and are NOT impressed. 

When blacks/mixed aren't impressed, they don't vote. Corbin found that out.

You seem to talk to everything except to the question asked.  Ok, let me simplify it lil more.  In 2015, are/were Indians 49% of the population?  If not, then who the heck stayed away from voting last May?