Sometime in 1619, a Portuguese slave ship, the São João Bautista, traveled across the Atlantic Ocean with a hull filled with human cargo: captive Africans from Angola, in southwestern Africa. The men, women and children, most likely from the kingdoms of Ndongo and Kongo, endured the horrific journey, bound for a life of enslavement in Mexico. Almost half the captives had died by the time the ship was seized by two English pirate ships; the remaining Africans were taken to Point Comfort, a port near Jamestown, the capital of the English colony of Virginia, which the Virginia Company of London had established 12 years earlier. The colonist John Rolfe wrote to Sir Edwin Sandys, of the Virginia Company, that in August 1619, a “Dutch man of war” arrived in the colony and “brought not anything but 20 and odd Negroes, which the governor and cape merchant bought for victuals.” The Africans were most likely put to work in the tobacco fields that had recently been established in the area.

Forced labor was not uncommon — Africans and Europeans had been trading goods and people across the Mediterranean for centuries — but enslavement had not been based on race. The trans-Atlantic slave trade, which began as early as the 15th century, introduced a system of slavery that was commercialized, racialized and inherited. Enslaved people were seen not as people at all but as commodities to be bought, sold and exploited. Though people of African descent — free and enslaved — were present in North America as early as the 1500s, the sale of the “20 and odd” African people set the course for what would become slavery in the United States.

Read more

Four hundred years after enslaved Africans were first brought to Virginia, most Americans still don’t know the full story of slavery

Read our essay on why American schools can’t teach slavery right.

With a hull filled with human cargo: captive Africans from Angola, in southwestern Africa. The men, women, and children, most likely from the kingdoms of Ndongo and Kongo.

Remember, it was the Chiefs who captured these men, women, and children and sold them. You can't blame the white man. If there was no supply there would not have been a demand.

Amazing. Blame the black man for the enslavement of blacks from which white people gained generations of wealth. That is masterful propaganda. It's what white people would like you to believe to mitigate their atrocious enslavement and genocide of their fellow man.

antabanta posted:

Amazing. Blame the black man for the enslavement of blacks from which white people gained generations of wealth. That is masterful propaganda. It's what white people would like you to believe to mitigate their atrocious enslavement and genocide of their fellow man.

So you want to tell us that the white man is to be totally blamed for buying slaves. You speak as if negroes are totally innocent of all accusations against them. 

antabanta posted:

So you want to tell us that the white man is to be totally blamed for buying slaves. You speak as if negroes are totally innocent of all accusations against them. 

I see you've been indoctrinated by fat white wildebeests from minnesota and montana. Black people had to help you in Guyana, then fat white folks had to take care of you in America for you to become something.

Blacks and whites instrumental in your survival. Then you boast you are a "proud Indian". And with all that help, you never amounted to much more than a gopher. You are a big fking joke. 

antabanta posted:

I see you've been indoctrinated by fat white wildebeests from minnesota and montana. Black people had to help you in Guyana, then fat white folks had to take care of you in America for you to become something.

Blacks and whites instrumental in your survival. Then you boast you are a "proud Indian". And with all that help, you never amounted to much more than a gopher. You are a big fking joke. 

Unlike you negroes, I believe in pride. I work for what I want. You don't see Indians burning, looting and fetching a whole refrigerator or stove on their backs.

antabanta posted:

Please list for us the gains and rewards to the black man from slavery. Show us all the rich Africans whose family's wealth was obtained from generations of slavery and the compounded wealth thereof. The total innocence of Negroes or lack of it is irrelevant to who created and benefited from the Atlantic slave trade. It is basic common sense the Africans who supplied slaves did so to preserve their own lives.

Unlike you negroes, I believe in pride. I work for what I want. You don't see Indians burning, looting and fetching a whole refrigerator or stove on their backs.

You cannot possibly be so sheltered and brain-washed to think that of Afros whose blood and sweat built the great USA you enjoy.

I guess the black folks who helped you on your way in life had no "pride". They must be turning over in their graves now knowing they helped gave a racist dog like you a life. They should have left you in the backdam to eat your "pride". Clearly you came from nothing. You needed strangers to bail you out.

antabanta posted:

You cannot possibly be so sheltered and brain-washed to think that of Afros whose blood and sweat built the great USA you enjoy.

He does, and he has been here since the 1970's!!!!!. And it's not just him, it's the majority of Indians who post here. 

antabanta posted:

It was because of all you Kunta Kintes who were sold into slavery. Why don't you blame them?

antabanta posted:

It was because of all you Kunta Kintes who were sold into slavery. Why don't you blame them?

Kunta Kinte is responsible for you being so sheltered and brain-washed?

antabanta posted:

Skeldonbanna don't know one shit of what he says, to him, using Kunta Kinte means he is degrading you and blacks but is ignorant of all fact. No need to school him and others, they too ole and got hard head along with the hatred instilled in them for them to ever understand what blacks endured and fought against....and still do to a lesser degree.

With a hull filled with human cargo: captive Africans from Angola, in southwestern Africa. The men, women, and children, most likely from the kingdoms of Ndongo and Kongo.

Skelly, the same with the Indians, he recruiters were Indians looking to make a Rupee and making promises that were too good to be true.

antabanta posted:

Skeldonbanna don't know one shit of what he says, to him, using Kunta Kinte means he is degrading you and blacks but is ignorant of all fact. No need to school him and others, they too ole and got hard head along with the hatred instilled in them for them to ever understand what blacks endured and fought against....and still do to a lesser degree.

Dem History books sey how alyuh ppl f,cked the negroes out of being wealthy. Suh doan come here seying yuh is wan of dem bruddahs.

Coolie ppl know your ppl and there history.

Since we on schooling.

Putagee behave yuhself.

antabanta posted:

Dem History books sey how alyuh ppl f,cked the negroes out of being wealthy. Suh doan come here seying yuh is wan of dem bruddahs.

Since we on schooling.

Putagee behave yuhself.

Yes, history shows that so how yall always mention the Blacks and Portuguese get along and we want do away the Indians?

Let me tell you why.....again.  We got along for the good of the country, to stomp out what was seen as Communism, this may seem to you and other Indos as "getting rid of Indos" or some such bullshit, good of the country, got that?

antabanta posted:

Since we on schooling.

Putagee behave yuhself.

Yes, history shows that so how yall always mention the Blacks and Portuguese get along and we want do away the Indians?

Let me tell you why.....again.  We got along for the good of the country, to stomp out what was seen as Communism, this may seem to you and other Indos as "getting rid of Indos" or some such bullshit, good of the country, got that?

I think your ppl took off for Trump's Country. Forbes was a Communist as well. One Black Communist and one Indian Communist, the Putagee join the Black one intent on genocide.

Seigy, is only a couple of Binnies I knock not the whole tribe

was results good from the sample size/lot 

GREAT!! Could not ask for more. The experiences since have not been up to Par. Dem Binnies know how to wine and gyrate

antabanta posted:

Since we on schooling.

Putagee behave yuhself.

I think your ppl took off for Trump's Country. Forbes was a Communist as well. One Black Communist and one Indian Communist, the Putagee join the Black one intent on genocide.

Whatever you say banna, if that is how you see it. But it seem like you and thousands were missed in this genocide bullshit yall talking about.

antabanta posted:

Since we on schooling.

Putagee behave yuhself.

Whatever you say banna, if that is how you see it. But it seem like you and thousands were missed in this genocide bullshit yall talking about.

We will NEVER let it happen again. We Have Jagdeo.

...be careful wid dat Siggy. Granger told Jagdeo who the Gecom chairperson would be and Jagdeo fuhget he own list and say "yes sah Brigadier"! Now he in a corner muttering while the coalition continues to hold office!

Cainman, who whipped Coalition asses with the NCV?

No one did. It took a piece of slime to vote against his own party, the slime bore hole in he plate after eating from the Coalition pot.

Cainman, who whipped Coalition asses with the NCV?

No one did. It took a piece of slime to vote against his own party, the slime bore hole in he plate after eating from the Coalition pot.

So yuh saying yuh is a rubber stamp supporter? Yuh is wan hippie bai. Hippies don’t tek orders from no wan. 😀

I just don't like the idea of putting the Guyanese people through the same shit again. Why did so many go against their party (PPP) there must have been things the party stood for which they never believed in, so why put them in office again, have they changed any? No they have not, instead BJ did something stupid by placing Irfart in Prez position. Why should anyone believe this is any better than what they now have other than the fact...dem govt people ain't coolie.

...be careful wid dat Siggy. Granger told Jagdeo who the Gecom chairperson would be and Jagdeo fuhget he own list and say "yes sah Brigadier"! Now he in a corner muttering while the coalition continues to hold office!

Take a step back, forget about race and racism. Do you think that is right for the country? Both of those individuals are wrong for the country but ppl vote for them regardless. Suh the ppl in general are not too bright or perhaps, Guyana has no white man thinking leaders. 

To lead requires good sense and non-sense too, bcz some ppl are full of non-sense.

Well vote PNC yuh already got change, well in your demented and empty head you did!! Lad ah Mercy, talk about people shooting themselves in the foot! Meh neighba seh plenty on GNI done stupid and when yuh stupid yuh done stupid!!!

I just don't like the idea of putting the Guyanese people through the same shit again. Why did so many go against their party (PPP) there must have been things the party stood for which they never believed in, so why put them in office again, have they changed any? No they have not, instead BJ did something stupid by placing Irfart in Prez position. Why should anyone believe this is any better than what they now have other than the fact...dem govt people ain't coolie.

Some Indian ppl are independent, putagees are not, they seek refuge among the negroes.

Django, why you upsetting Black ppl. You should know they do not wish to be reminded of their scars. You are a wicked chap.

Article is from The New York Times Magazine, it's a 1619 Project by some folks. I get daily news feed, thinks it's interesting to post. Also it's history and we should be reminded how  humans was treated.

Bai, the voters gave the Coalition the benefit of the doubt in 2015. Since then, there were two LGE and in both cases, the voters demonstrated their lack of confidence in the Coalition. All Jagdeo and the rest of the PPP did was advance the voters’ lack of confidence in the Coalition at the National Assembly. That is how politics work. One has to be matured enough to exist in the political arena. There is no crying in politics. Based on the voters’ sentiments, the Coalition’s time is up.

Slavery was inhumane. If we travel down the road of history we will find that even White People were once in slavery or bondage.  I'm sure Chinese can find evidence of slavery in their society. 

The problem i have with all this talk about slavery in Guyana is that it is used to make Indians feel guilty about a horrible period our history which they had nothing to do with. Lectures on slavery must not be used to incite hate against other groups.  PNC's leader Volda Lawrence has been of the leaders who scream out to Afro supporters of the PNC telling that "Guyana is yours!".  To send a message to one segment of the population that this country is theirs is nothing more than sowing racial division. Guyana belongs to all of its people regardless who came first or who came last. The Amerindians were the first people to inhabit the country but they don't go chanting "Guyana is ours". 

Oil is coming and we are already in hearing them singing about "backpay for slavery"  and reparations for slavery.  These people are sowing racial divisions. This can lead to serious consequences.